Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

ivy

Went to the Rasa Bridal show today.. and heard that they will be doing a bit of renovation on Pavilion...

amerlinelee

i had my solemnization outdoors and dinner in the Pavilion in Oct'03....

my advice is try to hold the event on a weekends as a typical s'porean perception of Sentosa is comparable to some ulu part of SG like mandai....so complaints are inevitable! guests would also linger longer on weekends.....

parking is a guest and not a bride issue, most impt is that u like the place....u can't please everyone, so why not just do sth to please urself....my dear, u are the one getting married, not ur guests! if they really are happy for you, even u hold ur dinner in the most ulu part of SG, they will turn up!!

the outdoor dinner is very nice but of coz u really got to pray for great weather....it showered on my solemnization and i had to call it off abruptly....so its a big risk u are taking...lucky my dinner was indoors, so not that bad disruptions.....

sentosa's restaurant/ballroom setup emphasised on NATURE....so no dry ice and other fanfare....they focus on floral and natural relaxed settings.....

i guess when u choose Rasa as a wedding venue, u shd be choosing it for the ambience it creates....and outdoor and Pavillion shd be a preferred choice.....if u just want a typical ballroom event, maybe any hotel in town will fit the bill......

just my 2 cents worth... : )

anhl

Hi Amerline,
Thanks for your very good and frank sharing. Actually, I have the same idea as yours. Have my wedding service outdoors, facing the sea, followed by indoor dinner at the Pavalion. When I casually mentioned to my dad and aunt that I might consider Sentosa, they really freaked out... like I'm holding my wedding at some end of the world. I was so mad that I almost suggested that if they want convenience, I might as well have it at our HDB void deck! ;p Anyway, I'm still exploring more options as my wedding will only be in 1Q2005. By the way, may I just check with you on costs, etc... what does your package include etc? I can be contacted at this email: [email protected]. I have just ROM-ed last month, now waiting for my apt to TOP (end 2004) and also making wedding preparations. Cheers & Thanks!

tsubame

Just return from trip to Cairns
. That's why have to block date, cos I can't attend the bridal show Ivy attended. Was informed that they are changing the carpet for the Pavilion too. Did they say they're changing anything else Ivy?

Only complaint abt the Pavilion is the ceiling bit too low. But the view with the curtains drawn is quite nice. Like having the cocktail party on the terrace outside. And that there's only 1 ballroom on the floor unlike other hotels where you might have to share the foyer with other couples on same day. So I agree with Amerline.
But a bit sad no dry ice...

I agree with Hoshi that weekend is better for Sentosa. Mine's 6th Mar is a Sat, so my guest can take their time. Think the carparking should be no problem.

Anyway, does anyone knows if the guests can go into the island earlier? Think some relatives may wanna go in for a family day in the afternoon.

Hi Angie, my mum was actually quite excited at having it at Sentosa.
She thinks it's quite unique. And as have buses to pick up her friends she no complaints. You may want to explain the logistics to your parents.

anhl

Hi Cat,
Thanks for sharing. I did explain to my parents... guess their minds are super fixed, thinking that Sentosa is in some far flung part of the world. Sigh! Anyway, I don't think I'll have it my way. Like what Amerline said, its MY wedding, and I can't please everyone.

Amerline, I've seen your wedding photos link. It's soooo nice to have a service at the lawn. Really romantic and I liken it to the garden scene at "My Best Friend's Wedding"...That's my dream wedding.... (minus the Chinese sit-down dinner...eeeks!)

Perhaps the Rasa brides can share with me the costs involved? I do have limited budget. Do we have to pay extra for using Rasa's lawn?

Thanks & Cheers!

yshu

Hi Angie,

I am planning for my wedding dinner at Sentosa (at the Siloso Ballroom). I will be having the solemnisation at the waterfront lawn prior to dinner...think the dinner cost is quite fixed, but for the early use of the lawn plus the set up, i will need to pay an additional $1,000, depending on the number of guests for the ceremony.

Maybe u can call up Rasa and speak to one of their coordinators. it's better to get a feel of the costs and wat u will be getting....all the best.

tsubame

Hi Angie,

Mine's just the Chinese Dinner thing
So dunno cost for using the lawn. Best you check with the coordinators like yshu said.

Where you saw Amerline photos? Izzit a website? Can I take a peek too Amerline?
I would like to see an actual wedding setup at the Pavilion. Let me prepare myself mentally for the actual thing

Will be meeting up with Rasa next Wed to go over the contract. Any advise girls? Especially the ex-Rasa brides. Anything I have to look out for?

anhl

Hi Cat,
Amerline's link is: http://community.webshots.com/user/amerlinelee
Really lovely pictures and so romantic.

I've emailed Yan of Rasa and she said the use of the lawn is dependent on the number of pax. Theatre style chair arrangement for 150 - 200 pax costs S$1000++. Their bridal shows will be sometime in Feb / Mar (not confirmed)

amerlinelee

hi angie

i paid $1000++ for the solemnization....includes theatre style seating of up to 300 (thats max of my dinner pax), sound system, basic floral deco and cocktail.

They do not charge by number of pax....each location got fixed price, see how many chairs they can squeeze in only ahhahaha....

my dream wedding was from the show "Wedding Planner" trying to imitate, but out of budget ahahahhahaha.....those bride without a budget shd attempt to try it out....

bubbletea

Amerline, hope I am not intruding. I saw your pics. thanks for sharing them. I like yr solemnization location. Very romantic. Good choice. I like yr dinner dress also. May I know who did yr gown and photos? I am having outdoor dinner and a little worried that it'll rain. Praying hard! =)

tsubame

Will be going to settle the contract tomorrow night. Any advise ladies?

BTW, the contract says that no corkage charge for all duty-paid hard liquor and the Hotel reserves the right not to serve duty-free liquor. Does that means that I can't bring in those liquors brought from DFS? What abt wine?

Also, can we request that they allocate 1 waiter to 2 tables (saw in a previous thread that svc a bit lacking so 1 to 2 better)?

Any advise appreciated. Thanx.

amerlinelee

hi bubbletea

my EG & CS by Ted Collection....Photographer is Kenji from Natural Shots....WG is from Everbliss....

in the movie "the wedding planner" the dinner was held outdoors, setting was very lavish and flowers were beautiful...created a SUPER romantic mood....

hi cat...

its not the qty of wait staff that matters...its the quality....most are students and they even have problems remembering orders and carrying the heavy dishes....

tsubame

Hi Amerline, what am I to state regarding svc then? "Can you kindly ensure quality/experience staffs during my banquet?" You had problem with them during your banquet?

bytjolia

Hi!! I'm so glad to see so many ppl as intrigues about Rasa as I was when I saw the venue. =)
Understand from Cathy that the next show will be in March. I think 20th or something but it's tentative. Anyone went for the last bridal show in November? Can tell me what they offered?

We're planning wedding in Jan 2005 (Hari Raya)so dunno whether it's worth taking the risk and waiting for the bridal show...

amerlinelee

hi cat.

i had BIG problems with them.....they actually spilled shark's fin on my mother-in-law and beer all over my uncle....all kinda butter fingers...

there is nothing you can do...just cross ur fingers and hope for the best...but i managed to get them to compensate me with $$ off the final bill....well someone have to bear the responsibility....can u imagine my MIL walking ard with a stained dress....

tsubame

Oh god Amerline, my MIL will not stand such a thing. My HB side very particular abt food and svc. Die liao...

Haven't had chance to meet up with hotel recently. Will sound them out on their waiter svc standard when collecting the invites. Shld be sometime end this month cos wanna distribute during CNY.

bubbletea

Hi girls, My wedding will be an outdoor buffet... went for food tasting at their Silver shell cafe and the food tastes quite bad. Both parents don't like the food... How??? Quite sad. wedding is in 10 days time. Any idea whether the actual day buffet will be good?

btb04

hi, did u communicate ur concern to ur co-ordinator? Try to ask them and see what they reply. Those brides that held their wedding dinner earlier had no problem abt food leh?

tsubame

Opps, previous comments didn't say their food was bad, that's why I 'gan gan' take up the hotel even though food is high priority with my In-Laws. Really about to cry already what with bad svc and now bad food feedbacks

Yah Bubbletea, did you feedback to your coordinator? What did they say?

My food tasting for my banquet is in Jan.

btb04

Hi Cat, don't have to worry so much. I think the food is not that bad after all...

Can any ex-rasa brides comment on this?

Btw, when is ur banquet? mine is in July04.

popples

Hi Cat,

I'm a ex-rasa bride...my food tasting wasn't good so we comment alot & wrote it all down on the paper. We even change some dishes. Then we went for another round of food tasting, but this time we paid for it. It was veri good, wat we wrote on the paper was wat we wanted. Those changed dishes are also good, coz the chief more or less know wat we wanted.

But the best was on tat actual nite. My parents & in law said tat the food was better than the food tasting. Even our guests said was excellent.

So why not just pay for a 2nd food tasting & ask them to cook to your preferance/comments?

tsubame

Hi btb04, my banquet on Mar 6th. Using the Pavilion.

Elaine, how much you pay for the 2nd food tasting? Good for you that the AD food better than food tasting. Normally the other way round.

BTW, can anyone advise how the food tasting is conducted? Cos there are menu A & B to choose from right? So are we limited to one menu, or can we mix and match dishes from different menus? How many dishes can we try up to? And like when tasting we find that we dun like a dish, can we order an alternative to try immediately? Will the coordinator be present?

Have to explain to The Parents you see, so must be clear.
Thanx.

popples

Hi Cat,

I can't remember how much was the 2nd round food tasting but as for ours, not all the dishes we rejected. Only those tat had problems & those we wanted to change. Therefore we only paid for those dishes we re-tasted/ate. So I guess if you request for the whole menu to be re-tasted, it'll be the cost of your per table price (for 10pax). Like wise if you only have 6 people re-tasting the whole menu, it would cost lesser too.

Yes, you can mix & match from either A or B, & you'll be tasting your choosen food for your food tasting.

<font color="gray">eg. Choose either fried rice or ee fu noodle. After choosing, you'll be tasting the whole menu tat you've chosen during your food tasting session. Afterwhich, if you dun like eg fried rice, you either comment or change to ee fu noodle. However you'll not be tasting their ee fu noodle at all unless you pay &amp; go for the 2nd round.</font>

If your package is 8-course menu, then you only choose the menu (A or B) between the 8-course. And you'll try all the 8-course dishes. Like wise if yours is the 9-course menu.

No, you cannot immediately order the alternative, coz they need time &amp; place order for the ingredient for tat particular dish. They're not really a chinese restaurant therefore not possible. You need to book another date to re-taste.

No, your co-ordinator will not be present but if he or she is on duty tat nite on your food tasting, he or she might pop by after the food tasting. The chief will definately pop by after the food tasting to ask about the dishes &amp; your comments.

Hope this clears your doubts

tsubame

Hi Elaine,

Thanks a lot.
Cos I asked my coordinator but she haven't reply yet. Not working this Sunday I suppose.

Any dishes you'll recommend?

BTW, anybody try replacing the shark's fin with something else? Me wanna be 'environmental friendly'.

btb04

Hi Elaine, just to check with you when you commented that you don't like some of the dishes on the menu, did the chef showed an angry face?

How long is the gap between the 1st food tasting and the second?

Did you serve any wine during the pre-cocktail and dinner? If yes, did you get the wine fm Rasa at ard $25? And for liquor, i heard that those bought fm duty-free are not considered duty-paid and therefore subjected to corkage charge, is that true?

popples

<font color="orange">Cat</font> - I like dessert &amp; I think their red bean paste is veri nice...partly is thick, sweet &amp; fine.

<font color="red">btb04</font> - No, the chef did not show face, he actually smile &amp; said is usual to get a whole list of comments.

It's up to you to choose which date for the 2nd food tasting...mine was 3 weeks after the 1st one.

Yes, I did serve wine both cocktail &amp; dinner &amp; the wine was from rasa at ard $25. I brought duty-paid, just to save all trouble. I think there'll be a corkage charge for duty-free.

tsubame

Hmmm, izzit they just changed chef? How many chefs they have anyway? Cos my nite have another couple in Siloso ballrm.

Hi btb04, my coordinator said she'll they'll shut an eye for duty free liquor cos I said I not too many. Dunno if will run into trouble on AD or not.

I intending to get the wine from rasa too if the 10 bottles that's wavied that I'm bringing runs out.

The thing is actually how much beer I'll run up.

btb04

Hi Cat,
Do you mean you managed to get wine corkage waiver for 10 bottles of wine? how do you bargain for it? how many litres of beer do you have?

Btw, how many tables do you have?
If duty-free is okay, better get them write down somewhere in black n white.

tsubame

Hi btb04, got the wavier cos she mentioned when showing us around that they can shut an eye for around 10 duty free bottles. Got her to put down in B&amp;W in the contract. But didn't managed it regarding the duty free liquor. (Cos was HB liasing with her, I wasn't free that day
)That's why dunno if will have problem on AD for liquor.

My package is the promo they offered during the Wedding by the Sea bridal show. Have complimentary 1x30l and 1x20l beer.

I have 30 tables.

btb04

Hi Cat,
I also booked my banquet at the show. Got the same free barrel of beer. Me also got 30 tables for the time being

Did you managed to ask for 2 nites stay?

As for the wine, do you think 10 bottles is enough?

tsubame

Hi btb04, you got 2 nites stay? Izzit you bring forward your anniversary stay? Anyway, I wanna be able to finally start living in our new house so didn't think of staying one more night.

I think 10 bottles enough for me. The relatives dun take much red wine. Only unforseenable is consumption by colleagues, cos my friends only a couple of them like to take wine if available.

Anyway, a bottle of wine from the hotel is same price as corkage already, might as well give them some biz.

Then hard liquor pple seldom take nowadays, cos most drive. So as I mentioned, main concern (at least pertaining to my relatives) is beer.

tsubame

Am collecting my invites tomorrow (they actually let you collect at Shangri La so no need go Sentosa again
). Any recommendations for printing?

BTW, how does one incorporate the maps into the card? The Sentosa map very big you know.
But essential for pple driving in.

Any advise?

bubbletea

Ok! I ve just finished my wedding dinner! Mine was a buffet. Remember I told you girls the food tasting was pretty bad? On the actual day, the food was much better so parents were happy. My coordinator is excellent! My Husband and I are full of praise for her. (Her name is Cathy Wong). She's very thoughtful and takes note of our special requests and tries her best to meet them. Overall, we had fun and the wedding was beautiful. =)

btb04

Hi bubbletea,
Congrats! and nice to hear that everything went on smoothly.
Now that i know the AD food is okay, quite happy
, hope that they will maintain their standard.
Btw, where did u had your buffet, is it an outdoor one?

tsubame

Congrats bubbletea. My coordinator is Cathy too. Very nice lady but a bit hard to contact cos she's always busy.

Good to know that the food turn out ok. Will be going down for food tasting b4 CNY. Hope it will be ok.

Happy New Year everyone!

bubbletea

Mine was an outdoor buffet. Very nice atmosphere. Prayed for good weather and God gave great weather with a gentle breeze even.
My friends came to decorate the place with flowers and tie backs.

Buffet: Chinese relatives not too used to buffet. So some left early. Our friends and colleagues liked the atmosphere and hung around. My mum's friends were very happy there was a bus to take them there and back.

I am leaving on my honeymoon. Will try to answer your questions if you need help. Overall, I am very happy I chose Rasa Sentosa. Take care, girls!

icequeen

Hi, I'm new to this thread.
Currently 'shopping' for possible venues to my banquet. Rasa is in my list.

Any advice from their svc and food or anything i should take note during negotiation?

Any other hotels u gals can recommend also?

tsubame

Hi girls, am in the mist of selecting menu. Any recommendation for the following?

Golden Roast China Town Duck with Chinese BBQ sauce vs. Steamed Chicken with Chinese Herb in Lotus Leaf

Live Prawns with Chinese Rice Wine vs. Stir-fried Prawns with Fresh Australian Butter

His family and my family have differences on the above.

amerlinelee

hi Cat

i recommend the golden roast CT duck &amp; Live Prawns! more presentable and tasty too! : )

hi icequeen,

since we are all rasa brides here, of coz we recommend rasa, not very ethical for us to recommend someone else....right?

meagan

I am holding my solemnisation in Rasa Sentosa. I have swapped my wedding cards for a one nite's stay at the hotel. Understand that guests need to flash their wedding card to gain free entry into Sentosa. But for my case, will my guests need to pay admission? Any ex-Rasa brides who used their own cards can let me know their experience? I have emailed the coordinator abt this but she hasn't replied.

Gals, if you have a map of Sentosa or the instructions on getting to the hotel, can share with me as well? My email add is [email protected].

Thanks a lot!

tsubame

Hi Amerline, thanks for the recommendation. Took the golden roast CT duck to try. If not nice then will switch to my parent's choice of Herbal Chicken in Lotus Leaf. You took the roast duck?
We took the Stir-fried Prawns cos my HB says easier to eat then Live Prawns. Then if not nice then we switch. Cos HB says live prawns all taste the same, depends on freshness rather then cooking skills.

Hi Meagan,

Dunno about the issue cos I used their cards. You'll have to wait for your coordinator to revert.

Your coordinator should be able to send you a map of Sentosa, and a map of the shuttle stop in Harbourfront. Cos I got those from mine. If you want a hard copy, pick up a Sentosa brochure. The centerfold is the Sentosa map.

If you still need the maps, post again. I'll send to you then.

When's your solemnisation?

meagan

Hi Cat, can you send me the shuttle stop map? I have the map of Sentosa, but it is quite big and detailed. Thought it will be better to have the outline of Sentosa, the roads and just the Rasa Sentosa location. Thanks.

My solemnisation is in June =)

amerlinelee

hi cat

yuppz...i took the CT duck...it was not so good on food tasting day...but turned out great on the actual day....live prawns depends on freshness...and they are really good!

actually the 2nd nite can be free, just move out of the bridal suite and into a normal seaview suite and they can entertain you for another 1 or 2 nites depending on occupancy. no need to sacrifice the cards...its another rasa trademark : )

btb04

Hi Amerline,
I asked to move us out of the bridal suite to have a 2nd nite free, but they said that we must hit 35 tables then they will give us e nite free

Did u got ur 2nd nite free? and who is ur co-ordinator?

tsubame

Hi Meagan, u've got mail.

Dun have a simple map of Sentosa though, only the detailed one given. However, you should receive copies of a small map of the location of Parade Square Carpark to be inserted into your invites. Ask your coordinator. I've got mine when I collected my cards. And I'll be collecting my car passes coming Sunday when we go for food tasting.

Your solemnisation only in June, so should be settling abv issues only in Apr. Now may be a bit early to chase your coordinator for the maps. Go easy on yourself.

tsubame

Hi Amerline,

Listen to you say, I a bit regretting not trying the live prawns.
You got to eat during your wedding? I am wondering how to sneak some bites. Bit waste that can't eat my own wedding dinner.

btb04, my coordinator say I can have the 2nd nite if I exchanged it with my anniversary stay leh. I only 30 tables so also no 2nd nite free? How many tables you took Amerline?