Shangri-la Hotel

biba8169

Hi Georgia(can't help but wanna u 'pita'),

Glad to see ya buzy here too. hahah..
How's pics? Collected ya? I bet must be gd!!!! Can't wait for urs...dun forget me oki.

Hey,me & HB oso coming to 9years of relationship!! wow,we r in the same boat! I din know dat I can make it this long when I was young then. I ROM in '03. 'Pita',we have so much in common!! I really hope to meet up with u. Btw, U did not buy WG from DC ya? I have not collected back from them,dunno if they have dry-cleaned all?...

Hi count,
Yup,me & Georgia are Shang + Divine brides! Oh yes, my AD is over last dec. Everything is smooth. Yes,I have JM as my decor. Not too bad lar but can be better I think ...hahhaa..if I have got more ideas & time to co-ordinate.
I used cream,pinkish tone florals.Hmm..i suggest u explore further options b4 deciding on any florists. This is my thot.
Trust ur instinct if u can,it won't go wrong. Well, mine a little swayed but thk god,it did not deviate much to my expectation,tho there was. But Shang is great & your wedding will be in good hands,no worries oki.

Btw,u mentioned abt King size bedding to fit a flat master room. No prob, i guess. Mine is 5-rm,I have a King size platform bed, there's still allowance. But I did not have wardrobe besides, as I convert the next room into master-room, a 2 in 1 room with a walk-in wardrobe solved our big bed prob.
But it can be costly buying quilt cover set & fitted sheets as it is much exp.hahahha...

count

Georgia
U are really blessed to get someone to do floral deco for u at a reasonable price! I'm still looking ard. Hopefully can find someone. In fact, finding helpers may be a problem cos there is a church retreat tt wkend and my CGL and wife will have to go overseas and cannot help with worship. Boo hoo

Wah biba, 9 years is very long! Seems tt the girls here have pak tor-ed for a long long time. Ur hubbies must be amazing guys for u all to last for this period! I think size is a problem for the newer HDB flats cos Duxton is only abt 101 sq m for a 5-rm. tt's why. In fact, i was looking at bed sheets and realise tt most of them won't fit my Sealy mattress cos they are only 10" and Sealy neesd 13"

Can share pics of ur flowers at Shang? Cos i'm intending to use Dolly but have yet to see pics of her work. Only saw the ballroom in the midst of set-up. Thinking of red, pink mixed with creamy colours as well. My email is [email protected]
Have u gone on honeymoon yet? Heh. Btw, where is ur flat at? So envious tt u can shift in immediately after marriage. My flat is still a piece of empty land, with a slight depression/hole for the foundation!

Whiteangelz, sent!

Kyrie, next time go try the mattresses on a week day evening or during less crowded hours, so u can lie on the mattresses and ask the sales pple questions. Then when a sale comes ard, go and get the mattress! Tt's what we did! Cos at least u can think it over, try other places then decide. After all, the mattress is quite ex! Not intending to have children soon, but prob 1-2 yrs after marriage. Want to have children before 30, so we decided tt we shd get married early, enjoy couplehood then start trying. But it'll prob be before the flat comes

verylastminute

Hi count, have you decided on Dolly for your flowers yet? I used Stefii's and I thought the ballroom turned out beautifully. Was a bit nervous 'cos of the mixed reviews I've read abt them, but I'm glad I followed my instincts.

kyrieleison

Hey count, hee yah will do that. How long ago did you start your mattress hunt? Initially i was also struggling with (infact still wondering and wondering) whether we should have kids earlier cos my FH hopes to be a daddy before he turns 30.. however, I really do hope to move into Pinnacle and spend some couple time together before the baby comes. It's pretty tough moving house with a young kid in tow too.. Anyway, dilema.. Hee whatever it is, i don't think I'm ready for a kid within the next 2-3 years. Glad my FH understands the internal struggle i'm having. Heehee

count

Hey verylastminute,
I haven't decided on florists. Have only gone down to visit Dolly and will prob visit Stefii's and Sebastian's soon. But heard tt Sebastian's is very ex and most brides go with Dolly. Would love to have a look at pics of ur flowers, so i could better decide! Can email me pics, pretty pls? Am sure the pics would enable me to make an informed decision cos so far, it seems tt u will only know the actual effect after the entire ballroom is done up. After all, the florist may not be able to reproduce the look u want!

Kyrie, yep we tot abt couple time too. Guess we'll wait and see how we feel abt children after marriage. Cos giving birth at 30 generally allows the mother to regain her figure faster, and FH would be 5 years older so i don't want such a huge age gap btw the children and their daddy. But the tot of staying in Duxton, just the 2 of us, is so tempting as well...
Oh btw, do try the San Marino and Manchester mattresses at Robinsons. Among the reasonably priced ones lah (below $3K with bed frame). The sales person said most young couples pick btw these 2 Sealy mattresses. Can try Simmons as well =)

verylastminute

Hi Count,
Sure, what's your email address? I didn't bother to go to Sebastian's since I also had the impression that it was very ex, so I went to Stefii's and Dolly. However, I found Stefii's much more accommodating in terms of trying to work within the very limited budget. I ended up topping up a small amount but I'm very glad I did. It was money well-spent.

whiteangelz

Count, thanks!

Verylastminute, i was considering Steffi's till i heard otherwise before. Would love for you to share your pics of what Steffi has done for u. Many thanks in advance! [email protected].

Kyrie, hhhmm.... ya, u can say 9 yrs long time. well, during that time, we wanted to settle in career first, plus i was studying out of twn for awhile. So kinda hard to settle down.
How abt urself?

kyrieleison

Count, yah guess the 'getting back the figure' part is kinda worrying. hee

I'm still pretty lost about the florists part..but i guess i'll give them a visit before deciding. Will prob start in June or July..

Hi whiteangelz, hee i'm only 24 this year. So I guess this is kinda the earliest to settle down. In fact, i never thought i would get married at 24..
I met my FH when I was 15. Hahah

count

Verylastminute dearie,
Thanks for sending the photos! The stage deco is very elaborate and pretty. Unfortunately, i cannot see what flowers u used. What flowers did u use? Also do u have pics of the table setting with flowers and floral stands along the aisles? How much did u pay to top up, or is this the basic floral deco by Stefii's? Sorry for asking so many questions. Still very new to the work done by florists. Hahah. Been taking a break from wedding preps cos busy planning for a US trip in March... =)

Kyrie and Whiteangelz, we're supposed to go to the florists tog! Hahahah. Can bombard them with questions already.

Georgia and Biba, got pictures to share of floral deco by Dolly? =)

Just to ask - how did u all decide on florists? Show them pictures of ur ideal deco, and ask them for quotes or just tell them abt ur colour scheme? Cos biba, u mentioned doing more research. Any gd magazines to recommend for floral deco? I've only found one magazine on bridal bouquets, but not church or venue deco

Kyrie, time flies hor. Tt time when we were chatting here, it seemed like our AD was so far off. Now it's less than 12 months and it feels like so many things are undone!

biba8169

Hi Count,

Not to fret much abt decor. take ur time to look at mag,u can pop by borders to have a look at their bridal mag,like flowers for wedding etc. They r costly to buy tho. I used to buy them but realised its a waste as they may not be wat i wanted. U still got so much time gal...anyway, my photos not out yet as my AD was late Dec 05. I will probably get them late Jan. My VG/PG buzi w/other weddings.

You can tell them ya color theme,wat flowers u like to use. But even w/dat,sometimes it can be disappointing as during my AD, i did not have the one dat i wanted,neither my 2nd choice. I am so very disappointed but well, its over.
So make sure u communicate w/ya florist clearly what u wanted & if they can't provide,let them know ur options. Better still, confirm w/them earlier,I do not see the reason why florists can come back to you last min & say those you wanted is seasonal. My advise is,meet them early even if they insisted u dun. Tell them your expectation early.

whiteangelz

Hi verylasminute, thanks for the pic. But like count, i cant really see the flowers very clearly. Care to enlightened? Would be much appreciated.

Count n Kyrie, sure, we can go bombared them with loads of qns... but we must prepare first lah.

Count, wah, now u seem like matterss expert.... u seem to be progressing fast... wish i was at ur stage. Havent found a place yet! Think aft cny will be rushing like crazi. Btw, thanks for the info (planner).

count

Biba,
Thanks for ur useful advice. Must start collecting pictures of floral deco already! I've only bought 1 mag on flowers so far and heart pain already so will prob stop buying. What type of flowers or colour scheme did u want? Was it very rare? In any case, i feel tt the florist shd have told u earlier tt they couldn't do it, or tt a top up was required. Will definitely keep ur advice in mind and show them lots of pictures and make it clear what i want. U going on honeymoon anytime soon? Where to?

Whiteangelz, no mattress expert lah. Just tt we were researching and checking out mattresses over the past few months, then surfed the net for reviews and asked friends who bought the mattresses. Picked up a few pointers here and there before finally deciding on mattress. My progress is not fast at all! Hahaha. Stopped wedding preps after deciding on major items, now just taking my time. Figure tt the urgency will only hit us 3 months before AD, when we start sending out invites and cfming last min things!

Kyrie, it's a timeline for the wedding, and checklist of what things have to be done and how far in advance before the wedding. If u want i can send to u when i'm in office? =)

biba8169

Count,

No prob. Well, i had cream & pinkish kinda floral. The funnier thing was I m using roses & the type of pink i wanted is so simple. I still thot that the florist did not do a gd job on this. I topped up more than a thousand for the decor but i did not expect this last minute. Anyway,like i said,its over & the rest of the vendors are excellent in their area. There are bound to have hiccups but it maybe indifferent to others,however brides always got high expectation. Well, I certainly hope u gals have a smooth wedding day!!!Be a princess....

verylastminute

Hi count and kyrie,
Sorry, I don't think my photographer took pics of the guest table flowers, which is what I topped up for. What you see is the stage and VIP which I did not top up for, so I guess yes, that could be considered to be part of the basic deco.
As you will no doubt find out when you meet the florists, the Shangri-La budget for flowers is extremely low, which makes is difficult to get a decent looking setting without topping up. I don't want to badmouth the florists here, but basically I found it much easier to work with Stefii's.
I used red and carrot/ orange roses as I wanted deep colours.

mypita

I do have some pics of the tower ballroom from my wedding but i haven upload yet. Will get it done and share with you here.

Hi Kyrie,
Sorry, suppose to email you the church details and all, will send it you asap oki. Sori for delaying, bcos i was out of town last week.

whiteangelz

Hi georgia,
would be great if u cld email me ur pics as soon as u've uploaded it all... [email protected].

Hi verylastminute, thanks once again, will take note of ur advice.

Hi biba, care to share on any tips for decor? Mine is a few wks before count.

verylastminute

No problem. Glad to be of help. Basically, I think Stefii's has had unfairly negative reviews on this forum. I'm really happy with what they did for me. My guests were all commenting on how nice my flowers were. I don't think I would have had the same comments if I'd gone with the other florist.

kyrieleison

Hi Georgia,
Got your pics, thanks! You used the tower ballroom? I thought the church decor looks nice!
Finally got to see the photos of how SFA looks like when done up. Really appreciate your help.

Hi verylastminute, will take note of what you shared and go to all the florists with an open mind.

count

Sorry for being MIA so so long. Had to work the entire weekend cos i was rushign some work out. Now got some time to take a breather before ploughing on. Tired!

Verylastminute, yes i did hear abt the low budget for flowers from my friends. In any case, i tot ur flowers were well done by Stefii's. Will go and check out Stefii's esp since Choc also used them. Thanks dear! =)

Georgia, could i take a peek at ur photos as well, both of the ballroom and church? Still sourcing for ideas on church deco, so would appreciate some pics and ideas. Btw, which florist did ur church deco? My addie is [email protected]

btw, it seems like my floral deco will be similar to both Georgia and Biba. Thinking of sth pinkish or red, but with roses. Cos i figured roses are the cheapest?

Whiteangelz and Kyrie, have u all got pictures and ideas for ur WG and EG already? No time to search so far, and quite undecided on EG. Argh! And i'm meeting my designer before CNY! That leaves me 2 weeks to source for ideas! *tearing hair out*

count

yes, and also busy with planning our trip to US in march. Pita, u mentioned tt u're going to US and Canada for honeymoon sometime in the future? If i do any research and find nice hotels for western side of US will keep u posted. Right now, we're trying to figure out how priceline works and the itinerary for our trip! heh

kyrieleison

Hi count!

It's really sad to be working even during weekends. Me too.. During weekends, i have to prepare lessons and mark books. Hai.. but i always try to complete them in the mornings. I have put on hold my gown design. Hee have arranged to start only in March. You have any idea how you want your gown to look like yet?

count

Pita, thanks for sending the pics! Love the way u did up the ballroom with the flowers and lights. Very elaborate and pretty! How much did u have to top up for the ballroom deco?

Can't wait until my AD... *swoon*

Kyrie, not honeymoon. Just a trip to visit friends, travel overseas tog. We've never travelled alone cos of strong parental objections, but this time, my parents finally agreed! And we tot tt we shd grab the chance cos who knows, scali become pregnant soon after marriage and cannot travel already! FH's friend was "lucky" enough to kena 1 month after the wedding...

I still don't know how i want my gowns to look like. Even colour wise, i'm undecided. Tot of red EG so can get red roses, but then again, my CS will prob be red. But if blue EG, then can only use white flowers? U girls have any suggestions as to colour schemes for flowers if i wear a tiffany blue/green EG?

Yes, biba, i am also eagerly anticipating ur photos! Hahahaha

kyrieleison

Hi count, that's nice!
Hee i guess my parents are also not agreeable to us going travelling alone until we're officially married (though i haven't asked before). Tiffany blue/green EG?

mypita

Hi Biba,
I uploaded only some pics of Tower Ballroom & my church decor for btbs here (just for reference). I had around 1200+ AD pics and thus not intending to upload them into the web, it will take ages i think! Will bring my albums to the next DC gathering and we share ok.

Hi Count,
I had a blue EG too for my wedding

count

Kyrie, yep i know what u mean. Cos we nearly booked a package and my parents objected at the last min. So this time we decided to go. After all, we've told them tt we already decided long ago to wait until marriage so they shd trust us not to be silly. AD is not too far off what, as if we cannot wait after almost 3 years! ;)

Georgia, cool! Same idea! Thinking of tiffany blue/green as EG. I noticed tt u used white flowers for the aisle deco and red petals for the table. Was red suggested by the florist? Cos i tot of red but was wondering if it would go with a blue EG. Oh and what were the other flowers on the tables, quite unique, but i don't recognise them. Did u top up for the flowers? Sorry for the many questions, but find it very very intriguing tt we will prob have similar coloured gowns and so ur floral deco may be helpful in my research. Btw, i think ur flowers turned out great despite ur disappointment. Liked the stage set up and the table arrangements. Seemed as if the florist (Dolly?) was generous with the flowers...
Wah, so many AD pics. Yes, shouldn't upload all cos it'd be too time consuming for u =)

Jesmine, u're back! Congrats dearie on ur marriage and may u both have a blissful marriage and remain loving always! Heh. How was the entire day for u? Tiring? Did u have church/ceremony on same day as the banquet? Did the food turn out all right in the end? =)

biba8169

pita,

wow! 1200 pics!!!dats alot!!! I dunno how many I have got tho...dun think it'll be more than 500.
Sure,if we gather,do show me ya!!!

Hey Jasmine,
Welcome back! Hope ur wedding was smooth!! Share with us ya details of the day?!!!

mypita

Hi Count,
Yup, Dolly did up the ballroom for my wedding. In fact, I'm pleasantly surprised that she can do up the ballroom exactly we wanted it to be.

We wanted to have a white wedding, and she gave us a good combination of white snapdragons, lilies & eustomas. The 'flowers-stands' along the aisle & the crystal trees (w/ tea-light candles) really gave a 'garden' yet romantic feel. I like the stage especially, love Shang's fairy lights! The VIP table is beautifully decorated with a tall flower stand, on the table with red roses petals & small cups of flowers (the one u saw in my pic is a white snapdragon).

For our guests' tables, no we din use flowers, we chose the erected tea-light candles crystals stand to match the crystal trees (theme), also w/ purpose to give our guests a romantic ambience, esp. when the ballroom lights are shut to complete darkness before our march-ins.

From the pics u saw, its the standard package from Dolly, we did not do any top-up
Mel was commenting that Dolly is generous with the flowers she gave us. Glad that the ballroom turned out just the way we wanted it to be, and our guests love it too!

count

Hey Georgia, yes i heard Melanie say tt Dolly was generous with flowers. Haha. Oic, the flower on ur table is a snapdragon. Very unique but i couldn't place it. Intend to use the fairy lights too, cos they give a very magical and romantic effect *swoon*

Btw ask u girls - can we seat 11 or 12 persons with Chinese menu at one table? Does Shang charge per table or per person? Cos i have some groups of friends/relatives which are 11 or 12, and it'd be awkward if i split the odd ones out and place them at another table

Still busy at work these few days. Sigh. Am looking fwd to CNY when i can eat a lot! But now must watch weight cos PS in July! Sob sob. I love pineapple tarts and new year goodies *pouts* Going to start baking them this weekend!

mypita

Hi Count,
I also had a few tables of 11 during my banquet. I did not add on per head charge, had requested for 11 seats with 10pax servings. Rest assure the portion of food is more than enough. I had so many comments from my guests that the portion is too much.

whiteangelz

Hi jesmine, welcome back! Bet u had a great time.... care to share? Looking forward to your input on anything...

Count, wow! u sure are a planner.... already got ur dinner seating done?

Georgia, thanks for letting us know what flowers u used... really like the whole setting that Dolly had done for u... yah, i believe that u managed to really get a bargain on the decor.

count

Aiyo girls, i'm not a fabulous planner. Rather, it was a case of looking at my guest list so far and realising tt some discrete grps of friends such as church mates had 11 pple. Quite easy for me so far cos 35 tables for relatives and seating is left to PIL and my parents. Will only do table seatings for our bosses and helpers(5-8 tables). Intending to invite friends and others to the church instead cos we want to keep the dinner small.

Yes georgia, u got a really really good deal on ur deco! Shall tell dolly this when we meet her, and ask her for similarly generous flowers too!

Whiteangelz u settled ur gown yet? when is ur first appt with ur BS?

hey girls i am quite excited cos i am going for my first appt next sat! kekekeke =)

meow_chloe

Hello Count, you're wtih Sil right? Remember some time back that you have not decided on the look u want.. so have u decided?

Its so nice to hear abt the wonderful flower decor... I once saw some crystal stands along the aisle... are those done by Dolly or Sebastien? anyone can enlighten?

whiteangelz

Count, nope havent settle on any gown yet. Havent made appt too. Wah, so early? When i last spoke to them in dec, they said anytime after cny wld be gd. hhmm.... maybe i shld give them a call soon. So have u thot of what designs u like?

count

hey meow_chloe, have u decided on Shang yet? yep, haven't decided on a look yet. Going down to Sil this sat for my 1st appt and try on gowns. Perhaps i'll have a better idea then. Heh

Whiteangelz, i actually tot of low back bustier, until one of the BS pple told me tt they heard horror stories of a bride whose gown dropped cos the BS didn't do a gd job with the low back. Aiyo. So must reconsider now. Prob have to get a safe and secure choice. Argh. Love low back gowns. When is ur PS? Cos mine will be in July so perhaps the designing starts earlier. But ur AD is oct so PS in July or August? If Aug, shd be able to get ur album in time. Sept may be too rushed? =)

count

Btw, i think the crystal trees are by Dolly. Yes, they look great and very romantic esp if the ballroom lights are turned off. Sure to impress guests. Heh

count

Georgia,
Since u put 11 pple at a table for some tables, does tt mean tt u got the waiters to bring the huge dish to the table and then distribute there? Or was the dish apportioned at the side?

Kyrie, how's ur furniture search? =)

marque

Hi all.. noticed that you all talking about the florists like DOlly and steffi.. are those reccommended by Shang?

Count, Where's dolly from?
I thought they only had sebs.. and one more from sing nee soon or somethings like that..

I think 11 for some tables is allright.. can get the waiter to distribute accordingly.