Shangri-la Hotel

ger

Hi Eileen,

I did three change and also change my hairdo for the 2nd march in...l do not see a prob with it...juz that u got to be fast in changing.

count

Hey girls,
Wow! Okie, i see tt u all are quite discerning drinkers. Hahah. I'm allergic to alcohol so when Shang provided house wine, we just decided to go with whatever they gave. So didn't negotiate for waiver of corkage if we brought in our own wine. Prob going to take their house wine unless i can find a better deal elsewhere

Eileen, hi 5! Cos i'm also looking for a CS as well. Are u looking for MTM or OTR? I've been looking ard but still undecided. Have a few more places to check out

Germ, ur AD is just over right? Care to share ur photos? Would love to look at ur gowns and ballroom deco and any other pics! Btw, u're a Ted Wu bride right? Cos i seem to recall u and Jesmine being Ted Wu brides
My email addie is [email protected]

Btw Eileen, are u using island ballroom? Cos most of us are using tower, so the deco of the ballroom will not change by our AD. Germ, u used island right? What colour were ur gowns? *very excited* hahah. cos i love to look at ballroom deco and flowers and wedding stuff in general. But don't think i have the time and perseverance to go to Shang every wk end to take photos...

Germ, how was ur AD? Update us leh. Did Shang do a gd job? Did u have the ceremony and dinner on the same day? How was it?

teddyboyboy

Hi Count,

Actually I'm not very good with my wine. I recall "condemning" a bottle of "good" french before. Oops.

I'm looking for MTM CS. Amor Meus at the Esplanade came highly recommended. I dropped by once and quite like the stuff there. Yet to follow up on it though. Then there's this article in "urban" that listed the numbers of a few CS makers (eg Fann Wong's). I'm also quite tempted to check it out.

You're right that we're using Island. I can't imagine what it'll be like after the renovations. I suppose I can drop by Shang since I'm always around that area on weekends. As long as they don't think I'm too thick-skinned!

Germ - Did you take photos at individual tables? We're kind of freaked out by the time required. So scary! 55 tables * 2 minutes = nearly 2 hours! Need to be very quick at the changes I supposed. ;)

meow_chloe

hi ladies...

I'm also considering a CS .. though I'm worried there might not be enough time to change and 'display' the gowns..

Count and Eileen, what kind of CS are you looking for...

i like the Ah Ma type that is heavily beaded. Visited Ted Collection and was very tempted by the full lace and beaded ones... Have not made up my mind as I still have not even decided on a BS yet..

count

Hey Eileen, do u still have the contact for the seamstresse featured in Urban? Seem to have misplaced the article...

Btw, u are lucky to be using Island after its reno! Brand new ballroom. So exciting! Not thick skinned to take photos lah. I would if i went to Shang often. But alas, often busy on weekends so hardly go down. Only saw Tower with deco a couple of times when we went to meet Melanie

Meow and Eileen,
I'm looking for a simple, understated elegance kind of CS. More for PS rather than for the banquet. If u all have the budget, can go to Kang's boutique at Concourse. They have wonderful CS, and i saw a couple of heavily beaded CS. Workmanship is wonderful but out of my budget. But the price range shd be abt the same as Amor Meus which is not cheap, so u shd go down to visit and check out his fabric samples. Gary is pretty friendly and nice. And his works are wonderful!

Went down to Ted Collection but didn't find anyt tt caught my eye there. So still considering... Will have to decide by next month or so cos my PS is in July...

Hey girls
Very diff to keep track of who's AD is next. Hmmm anyone knows how to do up a table?

Gothique and Ling, u girls still ard? Long time no see... What have u all been busy with?

teddyboyboy

Hi Count,

The contacts as extracted from Urban

1. Shanghai Tang (02-09 Ngee Ann City) - $1000 up
2. Yue Hwa Chinese Emporium (6538-4222) - $200 to $500
3. Lily Wee (9639-4147) - $200 to $500 {Fann Wong's}
4. Lok's Tailor (6221-0376) - $600 to $2000

I think that's all that were featured.

mypita

Hi Count, Whiteangelz, Kyrie,
We ordered our wines from The Red Cellar @ Stamford Court. Good service and they have good tasting wines of different price range. After adding the corkage fee, we managed to have some cost savings.

Not recommended to serve wine during cocktails as expected to have wastage. We requested to only serve wine when guests are seated in the ballroom. Well, but still, its really up to your preference and arrangement with the hotel.

mypita

I have heard good reviews of Dang making very nice CS. U gals might want to check that out. I bought mine from Allure Charix, not those traditional kind, its like a 'east-meet-west' combination piece.

teddyboyboy

My maiden attempt at creating a table. Tell me if I'm short of anything...

<table border=1><tr><td>nick</TD><TD> ROM </TD><TD> AD </TD><TD> Venue </TD><TD> BS </TD><TD> PS Photog</TD><TD> AD Photog</TD><TD> Lovenest </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Eileen</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">30 Sep 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">1 Oct 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Island / St. Ignatius</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Blush Blush</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">River Valley</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Count</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">11 Nov 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">11 Nov 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Tower / Paya Lebar Methodist</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> The Pond</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> The Pond</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Pinnacle@Duxton</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Kryie</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">9 Dec 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">9 Dec 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">- / St. Francis of Assisi</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Golden Horse Awards (GHA Tampines)</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">GHA</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Eulee</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Pinnacle@Duxton</font></td></tr></table>

count

Hey Eileen, thanks for the info cos i misplaced the article! And for the table as well. Think Kyrie's nick is spelt wrongly tho, and my AD PG is Ray Ong =)

Btw, Whiteangelz, Meow, Georgia and verylastminute, would u like to update ur details as well? Even if u've graduated, u're still welcome!

Georgia, oh yes. I've heard of Red Cellar. The other one tt was recommended was Winebozz as well. But me being the suaku one abt wines, will prob get FH's friend to help us pick the wines. Intending only to serve wines during the dinner itself, unless FH's parents insist otherwise

Btw, Georgia, how much did u pay for ur CS from Allure? I saw a couple of CS from Allure tt looked very pretty but somehow, no sizes left. Sob sob

Eileen, i'll be at Shang in a fortnight. Going to The Line for lunch. Will try to take photos then. If i manage to do so, will send to u. Hee

Eileen and Meow, so far where have u checked out for CS?

Kyrie, getting quite kan cheong already. Realised tt many things are still undone. Still haven't started hunting for wedding bands. Ahh.... and now still must hunt for furniture for FH's room cos he's shifting house in April. No hurry for ur furniture hunting yet right? =)

kyrieleison

Hi Eileen,

Thanks alot for the table!
Hee really sweet of you.

Hey count, hee good to get kan chiong earlier. I'm still not kan chiong at all leh.. like nothing much to do at this stage. Nope, we'll be doing furniture hunting only in Nov. Hee still early. Have you shortlisted the jewellers yet?

Hey Georgia, thanks alot for the info. Yah red wine consumption really very high these days.. think i won't serve wine during reception too.

meow_chloe

Dear count.. I've been most nuah... the only place i've checked out was Ted Collection!!... but with all the other suggestions listed above will take a look too!!

heee... can someone pls update my details (dunno how to do so
AD: 22 Dec
Venue: Island/ Shangri-la
Everything else: TBC!!

teddyboyboy

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-1">nick</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">ROM</font> </TD><TD><font size="-1"> AD</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-1">Venue</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-1">BS </font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">PS Photog</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">AD Photog</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">VG</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1"> Lovenest</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Eileen</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">30 Sep 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">1 Oct 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Island / St. Ignatius</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Blush Blush</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Fabian Lim</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">River Valley</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Count</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">11 Nov 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">11 Nov 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Tower / Paya Lebar Methodist</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> The Pond</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ray Ong</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Pinnacle@Duxton</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Kyrie</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">9 Dec 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">9 Dec 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">- / St. Francis of Assisi</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Golden Horse Awards (GHA Tampines)</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">GHA</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Eulee</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Pinnacle@Duxton</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Meow_chloe</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">22 Dec 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Island / -</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></td></tr></table>

Updated - Meow_chloe's details, amended spellings for Kyrie and Count

teddyboyboy

I've kind of scanned through the postings and gathered the following information. Do correct me if I'm wrong. At last the list looks quite decent

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-1">nick</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">ROM</font> </TD><TD><font size="-1"> AD</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-1">Venue</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-1">BS </font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">PS Photog</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">AD Photog</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">VG</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1"> Lovenest</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Choc Cowgirl</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">26 Nov 05</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">27 Nov 05</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Tower / -</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Silverlining</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> Ray Ong</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Meng &amp; Assoc.</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Telok Kurau</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Ashie</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">10 Dec 05</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">10 Dec 05</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Tower / Toa Payoh Methodist</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Chris Ling</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Eugene (Chris Ling)</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Katong</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Jasmineang</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">7 Jan 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">7 Jan 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Island / -</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Ted Wu</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tucks</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Tucks</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Strathmore Ave</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Gothique</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">6 May 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">-/-</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Eileen</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">30 Sep 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">1 Oct 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Island / St. Ignatius</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Blush Blush</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Fabian Lim</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">River Valley</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Whiteangelz</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">14 Oct 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">15 Oct 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">- / -</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Count</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">11 Nov 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">11 Nov 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Tower / Paya Lebar Methodist</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> The Pond</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ray Ong</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Pinnacle@Duxton</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Kyrie</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">9 Dec 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">9 Dec 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">- / St. Francis of Assisi</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Golden Horse Awards (GHA Tampines)</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">GHA</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Eulee</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Pinnacle@Duxton</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Meow_chloe</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">22 Dec 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Island / -</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Ling</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">7 Jul 07</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Island / -</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Varsity Park</font></td></tr></table>

count

Wah Eileen, great job! So efficient! Until now, i haven't figured out how to do up a table! Hee. Saw tt u're staying in River Valley after AD? So when will ur house be ready? Poor me and Kyrie have to wait for our houses to be built... Boo hoo

Btw, have u started looking ard for PG already? Cos u have settled BS and VG already

Ashie, Choc, Gothique, Ling
U girls still ard here? Wonder how Ashie's AD was. Last i heard she was busy shifting house and running errands for AD. And don't know if Ling is still in s'pore...

Meow, no worries. Ur AD is in Dec so u can do PS in Sept/Oct. So u still have time to look ard for CS

Btw, i called Lily up and will meet her in a fortnight. Will keep u posted on how it goes. She seems quite friendly over the phone tho. Am supposed to meet Kim, another tailor in Tampines tm. Quite a lot of forummers like her so i tot i'd go down and speak to her as well

Kyrie babe, still haven't decided on what type of wedding bands to get. Prob plain platinum bands from Lee Hwa cos FH's relative works there and can get us better prices. Intend to spend less on wedding bands cos most pple's fingers tend to expand and the wedding bands cannot be worn after 10 yrs or so. And now quite broke already. So if we get sth more reasonably priced, can upgrade in 10 yrs time when our fingers get fatter! ;)

Just realised tt Eileen, Kyrie and me are having church ceremonies, so can discuss ideas as well! Heh. Quite excited cos it's less than 10 months to go for us! By the end of this yr, we'll all be "Mrs" already *grins*

kyrieleison

Hey Eileen, thanks a million!
you did a wonderful job of adding in all the details.

Yo Count, i got mine from Lee Hwa too. The Jorn Rainer series. They're pretty comfortable too. Hee can consider if you're looking at Lee Hwa.

teddyboyboy

Hi Count/Kyrie,

No worries. It's not too tough. Now trying to figure out how to "widen the column" for "ROM" and "AD". I hope the rest would give me more details to update

Our place would be ready latest by end of the year, but we're keeping our fingers crossed that it'll be in time for the wedding. Otherwise, we'll be staying with the in-laws. Not sure about you, but we quite enjoy seeing the building progress layer by layer.

Don't worry so much for the wedding bands. Take your time as they'll always be around (specially brands from LH, SK, etc). If you have decided, then check around for inhouse promotions. Sometimes they have good discounts, etc.

ger

Hi count,

Ya my AD is over... having a hard time uploading the pics as its size is 2 big. Shang service that nite is fantastic and the food is great..alot of gd feedback. As for the decor...its gd enug for my std. U will be using the new ballroom..so nice, must show my pics ok...

Hi eileen,

Dun worry..l hve 60 tables that nite and still no prob...guess as long as ur photographer is fast and ur helpers is gd in co-ordinating duirng the photo-taking session.

count

I met Kim already. She's quite friendly. Going to get her to make a CS for a dinner function, and see how it goes

Kyrie, yes i'll prob consider Jorn Rainer series too. After all, LH doesn't have much designs. As long as it's a plain platinum band i think it shd be enough

Eileen, i'm sure it'll be exciting to see ur house being built. Alas, our flat is only an empty hole now cos they're digging. Will be more exciting when they build the layers and we can see our individual units right Kyrie? Hehehe

Germ glad to hear tt all went well for ur banquet. Btw, which florist did u use? How were ur gowns like? Must share ur photos when u upload! So was it a huge sigh of relief after AD or do u miss wedding preps? Heh

kyrieleison

Count, hee yah actually we went to Goldheart and Lee Hwa. Really liked the Jorn Rainer series as we found it comfortable and designs are simple.

Yah!!! I really can't wait for the day where we can say "Hey, that's our UNIT!!!!" hahahah

pro

If i remembered correctly, germ uses Stefii's. Too bad they are no longer with shang and her gown did featured in one of the bridal mag under TW collection (think her world brides). Cant tell which one cuz im still waiting for her to send me her photos.

ger

Hi count,

To be frank, l do miss those days... sometimes l tell my hubby can we hve another wedding dinner...haha. Ya, pro is rite...l uses steffi and my gown can be seen in the lastest edition of her world bride...cannot rem which page it is in. I can only recall that it is at the back of the mag.

count

Hey Kyrie, okie! We shall check out the Jorn Rainer series esp since u recommend it! Ya man, waiting for the blocks to be visible instead of just a hole. And for the storeys to be built! Can't wait for our house to be ready. Fingers crossed it'll be by 2008

Pro, are u a Shang bride too? Wanna update ur details in the table?

Germ oh u used Stefii. Okie, when u upload photos must share. I love TW gowns too! Shall take a look at the magazine and see if i spot ur gown. Must be a very pretty gown for it to be featured! Was it u who swapped the dessert to oriental petit fours? Is that an assortment of bite sized cakes? Cos i'm thinking of changing dessert to coconut ice cream or sth and was wondering if must pay extra. Any idea if must pay extra?

dewberry7878

Hi, i'm also exploring the idea of changing the dessert. Anyone here knows what are our options or if there's additional costs involved?

whiteangelz

Hi Eileen, thanks for doin up the table. Its really nice to be able to see whats everyone status... Here's mine, sory not sure how to input, so sory to bother u....

Ceremony on 14 Oct 06, dinner on 15 Oct 06.
Venue - Shalom BPC/ Tower ballrm
AD photographer - Eulee
AD videographer - Don (Forest Productions)
BS - French bridal
PS - French / John (chris ling)
Lovenest - still hunting....

Many thanks....

whiteangelz

Hi Georgia, thanks for wine info. Will check them out. Frens recommended winebozz too.. havent seen them yet.

Hi count, so what planning stage u at now? It seems like ages since i progressed at all... somehow, cant seem to get into the mood of planning... at the end of last year, it was like " all systems go!!!" n then now its kinda slow pace.... gettin rather worried that will lack behind... nothing for church is done yet... will be starting our prep class in mid march, looking forward to that.

Oh yah... happy V day to all brides here!!!.... :)

pro

Hi count,

My wedding was 2 years ago 04. Now started surfing this web again cuz my cousin gettin married this yr.

If you are interested in serving ice cream as dessert, i believe you need to incur extra charges. As for how much, u will hve to ask ur co-ordinator.

count

Hey Pro, no wonder u're called Pro! Hahah. So nice of u to help ur cousin in wedding preps! Sure she must be glad to have u ard to guide her

Hmmm... Ice-cream costs extra? Will have to ask Melanie and see how then. Did u hold ur banquet at Shang? Who was ur coordinator? How was it?

Whiteangelz, we haven't done much since end of last year. Now slowly checking out CS makers, wedding rings and honeymoon venue. And attending marriage prep classes. So quite busy but no actual planning. Oh i forgot! Yes we started gown design

Don't worry. Cos i haven't decided on floral deco for church too! Need to coordinate with another bride using the church and somehow, all the designs tt i like are sure to be expensive, cos of the many flowers! Will prob go for sth simple in the end...

Auds, are u a Shang bride too? Update details?

Eileen, which part of River Valley are u staying? Is it a condo tt is currently being built? When's the TOP?

pro

Hi count

I was a shang bride back then.
Couldn't recall who my co-ordinator was but if you are to ask me hows my dinner... friends n relatives are still saying that mine was the best that they have been to after so many dinners.

I remembered that the service was good and food was served when its still HOT and of course delicious. You can actually see steam emitting from the dish. Juz like wat you saw on tv featuring sam(chef from noble hse). Serving only hot food to guest. The different is that he(in tv) serving 2-300 ppl while the chefs in shang have to serve 5-600 of my guests.kekeke

Count i commented that ice cream will cost you extra is becuz of the extra work. As you know you can't place a tub of ice cream on table and the poor guy serving it on spot. They will have to serve your guests individually you see.

P.S. I think they make the ice cream themselves.

count

Jesmine, ur photo is so pretty! Is that part of ur flower deco and the chandeliers in Island ballroom? Can i see more photos? My email is [email protected]

Btw, was ur food on AD an improvement over the food tasting?

jesmineang

Hi Count,
yes and that's my pic taken at the wedding but then that's taken at the foyer.

My actual day banquet was good. And my guest commented that the food was good, big serving and hot. The best wedding food that they have so far.

count

Pro, cool tt ur dinner had good reviews from ur guests. Thinking of getting them to serve coconut ice-cream from The Line but must ask first. So is ur cousin going with Shang too?

Hey Jesmine good to hear that the food turned out well in the end. Was surfing in the TW thread and saw the back view of ur WG! Wow! Very stunning! Am sure ur guests must have been amazed. Esp the embroidery along the sides of the gown. Ted was really generous with it. Btw, which MUA did u use? Cos Ted has quite a few MUAs tt are well-known right?

Where did u go for honeymoon?

jesmineang

Count,
thanks for the compliments. Guests are more impressed with the EG. There are quite alot of embro on the gown. Top up by the prev bride.

My MUA is Joanne Low. And i am leaving to Europe for my honeymoon.

count

Pro, so has ur cousin confirmed her date yet? Are u officially her wedding coordinator who's in charge of the details? Quite exciting. I shall volunteer when it's my sister's turn too!

Jesmine, oic. U're using Joanne. Was hoping tt u had used Jasmine so i could see samples of her work. Cos i engaged Jasmine. Hee. Can upload one or two pics of ur EG? Now very curious to see esp since u said pple were more impressed with the EG. The low back of the WG is very sexy ;)

Have fun at ur honeymoon! Europe is a very romantic place, esp if u're gg to Switzerland and Greece

dewberry7878

Hi Count,
Yes indeed i am. Not much details to add though.. very slow with my wedding preparations unfortunately

AD&amp;ROM: 7th Oct '06
Island Ballroom
the rest are still work in progress...

teddyboyboy

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-1">nick</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">ROM</font> </TD><TD><font size="-1"> AD</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-1">Venue</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-1">BS </font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">PS Photog</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">AD Photog</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">VG</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1"> Lovenest</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Choc Cowgirl</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">26 Nov 05</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">27 Nov 05</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Tower / -</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Silverlining</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> Ray Ong</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Meng &amp; Assoc.</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Telok Kurau</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Ashie</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">10 Dec 05</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">10 Dec 05</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Tower / Toa Payoh Methodist</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Chris Ling</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Eugene (Chris Ling)</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Katong</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Jasmineang</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">7 Jan 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">7 Jan 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Island / -</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Ted Wu</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tuckys</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Tuckys</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Forest Productions</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Strathmore Ave</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Gothique</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">6 May 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">-/-</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Eileen</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">30 Sep 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">1 Oct 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Island / St. Ignatius</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Blush Blush</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Fabian Lim</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">River Valley</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Auds</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">7 Oct 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">7 Oct 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Island / -</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Whiteangelz</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">14 Oct 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">15 Oct 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Tower / Shalom BPC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">French Bridal</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> John (Chris Ling</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Eulee</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Don (Forest productions</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Count</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">11 Nov 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">11 Nov 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Tower / Paya Lebar Methodist</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> The Pond</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ray Ong</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Pinnacle@Duxton</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Kyrie</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">9 Dec 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">9 Dec 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">- / St. Francis of Assisi</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Golden Horse Awards (GHA Tampines)</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">GHA</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Eulee</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Pinnacle@Duxton</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Meow_chloe</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">22 Dec 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Island / -</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Ling</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">7 Jul 07</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Island / -</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Varsity Park</font></td></tr></table>

Updates - Whiteangelz &amp; Jasmineang details
New Entry - Auds

Hi gals, a hurried post. Wouldn't be able to log in till next week. No worries, will update when I'm back.

kyrieleison

Jesmine,

Can i see your pics too??

Hey Eileen, no worries. Thanks for updating!

Count, are you going to use the same florist for church and dinner? I'm thinking of that leh..

count

Hey Eileen, hope ur week goes well!

Auds, we almost booked Tower for 7 Oct too! Until FH's mum insisted we see a shifu and got 11/11. Hahaha. Can slowly start looking ard. If u need help feel free to ask us

Kyrie ah, don't know leh. Awfully tempted to use JM for dinner and church. Cos Dolly seems like a nice person and obliging. Then can save costs. But i need to ask the other bride sharing flowers with me for the church, and meet Dolly again to figure out how much it'll cost to decorate the pews and do up a centrepiece which the church wants us to leave for the next day. Tell u what, next time we go down to meet Dolly and the other florists, we bring lots of pics of what we want, and ask them the precise costs and arrangements?

kyrieleison

Hee Count, yah heard that Dolly is quite a nice person to work with. Will most prob use the same florist for church and wedding dinner.
I still dunno what theme i want leh..

dewberry7878

Hey ladies.. Dolly seems to be the preferred florist for the Shangrila. Any particular reason why?
I've yet to go down to see both of them so would love to hear what you ladies think.

Also, is a topup necessary?

pro

Hi Auds,

After my comparison, i felt that dolly is cheaper and more flexible as compare to seb. BUT seb is more creative provided you are willing to pay for the extras.

As for top-up it is very individual.

Having a nice big centre piece looks impressive when your guest are sitted waiting for the dinner to commence. Usually once dinner starts, they are being removed unless your guests are being served individually. So do you think its advisable to top-up?

Secondly, is it ok with you that the centre piece only consists of afew roses? Looks kind of plain right?

pro

Count,

My cousin has yet to confirm date and venue. But im pushing shang to her becuz of my wonderful experience with them. Must ask for commission from the co-ordinators.

Think her major concern will be the cost for dinner. She commented that the price has gone up quite alot as compared to germ's(benchmark).

Any1 has the latest package? I've yet to meet-up with her to look at the package.

pro

Hi Count,

Why would your church want your centrepiece for the next day?

The flowers may not last provided the pastor store it someplace cooling.

count

Hey Auds,
Was told tt most brides prefer Dolly cos she has many designs which generally do not require top up. But u must be prepared for the fact tt the non-VIP tables will only have 3 blooms. For my case, we'll prob not top up cos our parents insist on the entire dish being placed at the centre of the table before being apportioned in front of the guests. So the centrepiece will be removed once dinner starts and the top up is kind of wasted

Tt said, i agree with Pro tt Sebastian is wonderful. Saw his designs at a Shang showcase and they were fantastic! But u must be willing to stretch ur budget.

Only have Shang's package tt is valid before 2007 CNY. The terms are the same as the 2006 package, but increase of $30/table. In any case, we're estimating tt for the 2006 package, the cost per table will prob come up to $1100 at least after taxes and w/o alcohol. So cost is a huge factor as well. But since we've booked Shang, we shall go ahead and try to minimise extras like flower top ups! Unless FH decides tt we have suff $

Don't know why our church wants the flowers, but it's std practice. So i guess we have no choice but to leave the centrepiece and 2 deco at the sides...

Headache! Still can't think of a theme for floral deco. Am quite eager to just settle things with the other bride, and cfm as much as we can, so no rush at the last min...

Auds, how many tables are u having in Island? Btw, hotel florist is no rush. Think u shd focus on AD PG, VG and BS first cos these vendors may need time to deal with ur requests?

dewberry7878

Hi Count, the min is 55 tables so i'm working frm there. Haven't gotten a final table count yet. Do u guys have any idea what will happen if you don't meet the min. number of tables?

My photography and videography will be done by a friend so that's settled.
Just the gowns that's giving me a headache. Can't come to a decision.. sigh..

pro

Hi Auds,

Assuming per table cost 1k. Min tables 50 for wkends.
Cost = 50 X $1,000 = $50,000

If you have only 40 tables (50,000 / 40) = $1,250, shang will make changes to your menu to match the price of $1,250.

So maybe they will give you red instead of soon hock for fish and etc.

Best is to get confirmation for co-ordinator.