Shangri-la Hotel

choc_cowgirl

hiya! Count I just replied to your email
. I'm staying with my in-laws as my home is till currently being built, will probably take another year.
I didn't bother to upgrade my suite (Tower Wing, Horizon Club) as it was closer to the ballroom, I don't think I took more than 4 mins to reach the ballroom from my suite, which is important when we go back to the suite to change gowns. The toilet was large and spacious and the beautiful room was large enough even with my entire bridal party in it. Breakfast at BLU was also amazing, the best I have had at a hotel so far, with amazing views.

whiteangelz

hi count, yah, shld think so, mine's on 15 oct. ur's on 11/11, rite?... so hows plannin so far? when u taking ur PS?
anyone in between?

biba, all the best for your big day coming soon!! :)

biba8169

hey count,
Yup, my side is fine..except some little fine details while HB gotta workout the recep-listing haha..real headache.hahaha...

Whiteangelz,
Thks for well wishes,wil update u gals following my wedding ya.

As for food,as Choco mentioned, I too find that Braised sharks fin is gd but i did not have cod fish tho. For prawns,i personally feel that the fried buns are too oily hence I swap the prawns to another style,however u can rest assure that their prawns are so huge! Yes yes! Must try the Pik Fung Tung chicken! I heard the baby abalone is oso gd,will update u gals...more after my AD oki.

Choco, Blu bf is great ya! So personal that u feel like some VIP kinda having bf there...they greeted so well..
U did not use the room next to island?

jesmineang

Hi Count,
me and FH met up with Dolly and she is nice lady. She is quite flexible with the setup so you can share with her ideas if you have. In my case, i opt for something romantic... heehee

choc_cowgirl

hi biba, no I didn't use the room next to island, I preferred to head to my suite, where I can touch up my makeup, use more body tape, etc. Everything is in the suite, and it is very near the ballrooms. We were so fast that we were even lounging in the suite for a while before we were given the cue to come downstairs. Don't stress about wedding, biba, all will turn out well.
All the best for your big day!

kyrieleison

Hi count,

yup, staying with ILs.. Can't wait for our house to be ready! I do get along well with my ILs, just like what you said, moving in is another different story. Just got to try hard i guess..

count

Biba, have a good and blessed wedding and a blissful marriage! keke...

Yep kyrie, i get along well with ILs but guess i may have to adjust to their style if i do stay in

Thanks all for the suggestions on dishes btw. hehh

meow_chloe

hi whiteangelz, have not decided yet... goin down this sunday to take another look at Tower. Coz the last time i looked, Island was done up so beautifully for a wedding whereas Tower was not decorated at all.. so decided to see Tower all 'dressed up' before deciding... just to be fair ;pp... shall let u know how Tower is like..

Hi Count... you're right abt the church.. checked and realised that my AD is very close to CHristmas and churches have they activities then..might contemplate having the HM 1 wk before the banquet.

count

Meow chloe,
I and Kyrie are using Tower. Choc and Ashie used Tower too i think. Tower looks pretty when it's done up for a wedding - saw it a couple of times already. But then again, Island will be renovated next year so it will look great as well! So have u decided on a date yet? Cos Dec is a very very popular month. Alternatively, u can always hold the HM before the dinner in the private area outside the ballroom. Am sure tt Shang can do up something nice for u. Cos the church schedule for Dec may not be out yet?

Whiteangelz, Kyrie,
Yay! We can do our PS ard the same time and exchange photos! Exciting! Hahahah... Probably doing in July though i must wait for Heng to come back from US

Jesmine,
What flowers did u use? Cos i also like the romantic look. Was looking at a magazine yesterday entirely on flowers and adored a very very pretty bouquet with pink roses, red berries, cream flowers and don't know what else. Hmmm... And i always tot i wanted red roses at my dinner. Dilemma... Hahahah

whiteangelz

Hi meow_chloe, hows tower after decoration? I wanted to go down a few times already, but somehow, something alwis comes up at last min.. then cant go.... :-( Hope to have a few look at it too... Have actually booked tower too... so wld like to see how much can b done up...

Count, yah.. sure. since we're doing all ard the same time.. nice to share, rite? hws preparations coming along? got any further by now? For me, still stuck at same place... FH very bz at wrk tis mth, cant do much. Flowers, everyone seems to like romantic look... actually wich gal doesnt? Btw, wich flowers mag u saw?

count

Hey whiteangelz,
The magazine was at borders and the entire magazine is on flowers. Didn't buy it cos it costs almost $20 and only one bouquet caught my eye. Hahah. We're still at the same stage of preps. Mainly looking for gown ideas and PS locations since the major items have been settled. But decided to stay off wedding stuff for the next few weeks so we can just enjoy each other's company. Scared i end up like some "Bridezilla" who's obsessed with getting married. Cos i like to ensure tt things run smoothly and have a tendency to obsess abt such things ;)

meow_chloe

Hi whiteangelz, saw tower all 'dressed up'... and she's pretty
think the decor Shang uses is pretty much like wat is provided at Island. so it'll look similar. hee.. love the fairy lights at the back of the stage and all the potted plants surrounding the stage. Are you planning for a normal or L shaped walk in?

hi count,have booked 22dec
finally decided on island. kinda decided on that coz FH prefered a L shaped walk in for Tower and our current guest list already at Tower's max capacity. so decided to play safe a bit... just hope island dun undergo too much of a drastic change. and yes.. asked them abt HM outside the ballroom and its nota a problem... so at least there is a back up plan
though i really wld prefer to get married in a proper church ...

hahha.. understand wat you mean by 'Bridezilla'.. me also mentally reminding myself not to obsess too much abt the wedding prep... dun wan to look back and regret that i didnt enjoy myself while preparing for my wedding.

kyrieleison

Hi girls!

Hee count, yah we can share lots of ideas and have lots of discussions here since our ADs are so near.
Btw, how many tables are you having?

Whiteangelz, when's your AD?

I haven't even thought of the march-in. hahah din even know there're different walk-ins.

count

Hey this is so exciting! It'll be Whiteangelz on 15/10, Me on 11/11, Kyrie on 9 dec, Meow_Chloe on 22/12. All in the space of 3 months! Heh

Kyrie, we're estimating 40-45 tables so tt the ballroom doesn't look too cramped. U?

Meow_chloe, it was wise of u to go for Island. Cos i think Tower has a max of 45 tables for a L-shaped march in and 55 tables would look too cramped. So how many tables are u having? U're having a huge guest list? Don't worry i'm sure tt Island will look terrific after reno. U confirmed ur church yet? Ur AD so close to Christmas must make sure the church agrees to let u use the venue... Whcih churches are u looking at so far? Church wedddings are always nice, but no worries cos hotels nowadays can do up really cosy and pretty weddings as well. Sure Shang can do it. U and FH shd extend ur stay at Shang next year and stay until Christmas! So nice.... Awww... ;)

Whiteangelz, FH is also busy at work. Sigh =(

Oh, i was checking out CS. Tot of getting one to wear during the pre-dinner reception. Very pretty but so ex! I think it's abt $800-1000 if u want good workmanship and all. Argh! So broke! Any of u getting CS in addition to WG and EG?

Hi dreamdoll, sorry no pictures to share as i have yet to have my PS or banquet =)

whiteangelz

Ya ya... all seems to b one after another.... seems there more in between us... wonder where are they? Arent there anyone before me?

I havent really decided on what layout we're looking at, coz don't think we will b needing so many tables... trying to keep to low or mid range. Wld love to have long walk-in, but will have to make do with tower, as i understand island wld have a longer walk-in. So, will see how it goes at nearer date.

Did someone say broke?.hhhmm.... who's not? We're being real careful with wat we spent on now... of coz wld b nice to have a whole "bang" with diff clotes... CS wld b great.

Count n Kyrie, u both will b neighbours... lucky gals... i wont b lookin for a place soon, as we're looking at resale (havent decided private or govt)

Meow_chloe, glad to hear that tower looks "pretty". FH n i trying to find time to make a trip down to check it out... :-(

Sory lost track, have u all booked ur AD photographer?

kyrieleison

Hi whiteangelz, yup count and I are going to be neighbours!
But only in 2009.. sigh. Hehe really wish our place could be built earlier. So are you planning to stay with your ILs after your AD? Or will you be settling for resale before your AD?

Count, which blk and level did you get? hee if not convenient to say here, it's ok.

Yah, financial wise.. we really got to watch now. Are you all paying for the wedding yourselves or parents chip in?

I've gotten Eulee for my AD photography.

count

Kyrie, i so agree. Very broke now. Sigh. Boo hoo. Nm, at least our flats are coming later. Can save up more so can reduce the bank loan. Very exp for a HDB flat. Heart pain. But then again, still cheaper than a condo which was out of our budget

Whiteangelz, i've booked Ray and Heng already. U booked Tower or Island? U mean can still change ballroom? U haven't seen the ballrooms? Better act fast and cfm - cos it's very difficult to secure weekend dates! How many tables are u thinking of?

Yoo hoo *waves* Ashie and Gothique leh? They haven't come here in a long time. Wonder how Ashie's wedding went heh

whiteangelz

Hi gals, I've already booked ballrm, tower, coz i do not think we wld b needing too huge a space. I was saying that till now, i've not seen what decor can b done to the ballrm.

Count, sory but who's ray n heng?

We're thinking of hopefully finding a resale place before AD, starting early next yr, so if all goes well, shld b ready by AD. Hopefully then, wont have to stay with ILs. My PILs are fine... but not sure if my FH will b willing to stay with mine... :)

Ok, Christmas round the corner... here's wishing all a blessed Christmas holiday!!

count

Whiteangelz, Ray is from Photolang and Heng is from The Pond. Which locations do u have in mind for ur resale place? HDB flat or condo? Cos nowadays HDB flats tend to be more ulu. Tt's why we're thankful we got Duxton, tho the wait is long

Kyrie, PM-ed u my address at Duxton already ;) Intending to finance the wedding ourselves so will have to save up. Not intending to ask our parents for help cos we'd feel bad doing so. My parents are taking a small sum for dowry and taking the AP for 10 tables instead.

What are the arrangements for u girls? Do pple still practice the dowry and 10 tables thing?

Jesmine, yes yes. Ur AD is coming closer. Wishing u a blissful marriage and may everything go smoothly on tt day. And for fine weather as well. Do come back and update us k? Would love to hear from u. And rest more, get more beauty sleep and i'm sure u'll be a ravishing bride in Ted Wu's gowns!

And i'm happy tt this thread is more active now. The other thread i'm in for nov BTBs is also super active! Yay! Then can share ideas and yak! Hahahah

Merry Christmas and a blessed new year to all Shang BTBs! =)

kyrieleison

Merry X'mas and warmest greetings to all!

Hi count, no leh i didn't receive any messages from you leh.
Hehe dunno what happened. We're supposed to check our emails for the PMs right?

As for me, we're paying for the wedding ourselves too. My parents have told me that they are not taking any of the tables or the APs from us. Just a small sum for dowry will do.
Guess cos my parents are not clear about traditional customs too and they know that we really got to save in order to pay for the wedding. Thank god for that too..if not, it's going to be hard on our finances!

Hi Jes, enjoy your big day and be a beautiful and stunning bride!

whiteangelz

Hi one n all, hope u gals had a wonderful christmas... .a few more days to the new year.... n major countdown will be for all of us!!! :)
Hi Jesmine, yupe, ur AD is round the corner... wishing u all the best on your special day and may u have a blissful n blessed wedding!
Hi count, ya, tell me abt the ulu locations... tts y we're not intending to look at new flats. Most likely those abt 5yrs old... as both of us are easterns, we kinda thot to stick to the east, but then we're also kinda open to other locations more central. Coz a few of our gd frens who were easterns bought duxton n novena area... Even thou s'pore is small compared to elsewhere.... its still nice to be close to love ones or close frens....

whiteangelz

Count, thnx for info for your photographers. My FH n i like wat we saw on Ray's website. Trying to find time to meet up with him. The Pond alittle too ex for our budget.

count

Kyrie,
Got ur mail! Yes we can pop by each other's houses. And will prob shift in ard the same time also! We just bought a bed yesterday at the Robinsons sale. Will prob stay in until our flat is ready. Cos his parents' new place is very pretty and gd location - Bukit Timah area. Convenient for us ;)

U're staying with ur ILs too right?

Whiteangelz, yes u shd meet up with Ray. Quite a few of my friends have used him, and were very happy with his works. Choc cowgirl used him too. His photos are very colourful and vibrant, so our parents will definitely like it. Cos old folks don't really like black and white - they feel that it makes their lip stick look dark in photos. Ray is a nice guy so can meet up with him. But must ensure tt he is not booked yet =)

kyrieleison

Hi count!

Yup have replied to your mail.
Yah i'll be staying in with my ILs too.. will only do up the room prob a month before our AD.

I'm hoping to stick to the minimum of 35 tables for Tower ballroom. If not, then maybe 38.. hee anyway haven't even started planning the guests list and all yet.

count

No hurry i think Kyrie, abt the guest list. U doing a church ceremony or solemnisation at Shang? Still doing research on caterers. Wonder if Whiteangelz has done hers as well. Hahaha

Hmmm... We wanted a choc fountain, real wedding cake and dessert buffet, cos i'm a dessert person! But high cost and there is the perennial fear tt little kids will go "Wow! Choc fountain" and start dipping their fingers into it...

Oh kyrie, we haven't decided whether to move in yet. But we just bought a Sealy bed at Robinsons at the post-Christmas sale. Can defer delivery so we decided to buy it cos the offer was great! I think shopping for beds is the most fun, cos u get to legitimately rest on the bed, bounce on it a little and try many beds!

Jesmine, all the best for the very last lap before ur AD! Sure it will all go well! Enjoy ur honeymoon if u're going on one! Time to relax and delegate work to ur helpers if u haven't ;)

Whiteangelz, u managed to get ur PG yet? Btw, i think Bishan or Toa Payoh is a gd area to get a flat, altho the cost is higher. Oh, and i think Cantonment Towers (the flats near Duxton) will be 5 years old soon, and can be purchased as resale flats. But prices there may be higher cos it is near CBD. House hunting shd be quite fun, if u don't stress urselves out too much and do it at ur own pace heh

whiteangelz

Hi Georgia, welcome to this thread! If u need any info.. juz buzz anyone of us... will try to help....

Hi count, have met up with Ray, FH loved his style... but getting alittle worried if we use him... we may end up blowing budget for photography... still trying to work it out...
U were saying wondering if i have done wat? hhmm... me having a church ceremony... havent planned that portion yet... hopefully able to start in jan. Caterers, have a few in mind... but still trying to look for feedbacks in this forum... n hearing frm frens or frens frens.... u know... my mum wants to take care of the flowers n entertaintment in church... she's looking to have something "lively" or so she puts it.... well, that will be settled next yr too! How abt u? Settled yr caterer yet? Or anything else?
Yah, we looking at resales, esp those which juz turn 5. Rather particular abt layout n surrounding area.... so have to check them out. FH not very much into bishan or toa payoh.... We trying not too tire ourselves too much on house hunting, hopefully trying to settle the AD stuff first.
Btw, anyone of u have a checklist? Care to share?
Hw abt urselves, count n kyrie, where u puttin up now, since ur place wont b ready... n not married yet?

mypita

Whiteangelz,
Thanks! Though I'm new to this thread, but my wedding was over le. Had my banquet in Tower Ballrm, it is simply beautiful, PERFECT! I'm not active here before at all, more active in my BS's thread.

Ray is really so good. No regrets in engaging him for our PS! Though I agree his AD charges is a bit steep.

kyrieleison

Hi Count!

I'll be doing a church ceremony.
Now having a headache as to whether to have recep in church or at the homes of both sides.. So they're able to delay delivery for a year? That's nice! Hee i'm sure you had lots of fun trying out the different mattresses and all. Where's a good place to see all mattresses?

Hi whiteangelz!

I'll be staying with my ILs after my AD. As for now, we're staying at our individual houses. Having ROM and all in one day..so we do not stay together yet. Hee our places are kinda far. I'm in Sgn Nth and he's in Jurong..
But we've gotten used to the distance after so many years. What about you?

mypita

Hi Kyrie,
What time will be ur church ceremony? Just to share mine with you:-

I had my wedding mass at 9am, followed by a tea reception for all my guests (relatives, friends & church friends). I wanted a tea recept at church bcos there are some frens & church frens who will not be following to my place for tea ceremony and I also did not invite them to our dinner banquet, thus wanted to make sure some food is catered for them. Thereafter our tea ceremony, buffet lunch is provided at my parents' place.

count

Whiteangelz, i haven't settled the church deco cos i have to coordinate with another bride. Intending to use the same caterer as well, tho i have a few caterers in mind. It's very sweet of ur mum to help with the flowers. Aww... Btw, yes i think u shd settle wedding stuff 1st, esp those where u need to reserve the vendor such as AD PG. I have a checklist which another bride gave me. U have an email addie i can send it to?

Haven't decided whether to stay with ILs but prob going to do so. Cos wedding would be a major expense and we are intending to go on a trip to US in March, then honeymoon in Bali (hopefully a private villa if budget permits). And we just saw very nice but ex CS by Kang's which cost another $2K. Sigh. So ex but pretty!

Georgia, ironically i took Ray for AD and got The Pond for PS. Spending too much on photog already. Sigh. So was it a huge relief to finally get married? Cos i would be engaged for slightly more than 2 years by AD, and am quite eager to get it over and done with. Many pple have already assumed tt we're married cos it has been so long. Wait until neck long already

So are u staying on ur own or with ILs? Btw, do u have any gd recommendations for caterers, since quite a few of us are looking ard too? =)

Kyrie dear, we intend to have a small lunch recep at both sides and then a tea recep at church. Cos our service is at 2.30 and tea ceremony will be in the morning. So must ensure tt the relatives get food for lunch

U shd check out Robinsons at Centrepoint and Taka for mattresses. We were looking at Sealy mattresses. Basically, Robinsons has the mid to mid-high range in terms of pricing. Taka is more exp. Can get from Robinsons if u have the Robinsons card cos of the discounts and rebates during sale. And in the interim before delivery, if they sell the same mattress for a lower price, u can ask them to refund the difference. We paid abt $3K for a mid-range bed. It's the one used at Four Seasons Hotel called the San Marino. Shd go try for fun cos it is so soft and plush... Hee

Btw, i live near Serangoon North (Kovan) and he lives in Jurong as well! Hahaha. FH has to drive at least 1/2 hour to pick me up. So very glad tt his parents are finally shifting to Bukit Timah ;)

biba8169

hey pita,

Nice to see ya here too! hahah..u can provide gd advices to the rest! oh,now gotta be active both side ya!!

Sorry gals,
Me no church ceremony so can't help very much except for banquet thingy.

kyrieleison

Hi Georgia and Count!

Thanks for sharing.
I'm having my church wedding at 10am. Was also wondering about the catering of tea and buffet. Initially, i was thinking of prob just having two lunch buffets at both sides..but now that I'm planning to invite my class pupils and their parents to the church ceremony, i have to prepare something for them too..thus thinking about a small tea recep.

How much was the rental of the church premises and reception area, girls?

Count, so it's 3K for the bed frame and mattress or only the mattress alone? My FIL was saying that perhaps we won't get those really high end furniture for the bedroom since we'll be there for only bout 2 years.. Not planning to move any of the furniture to Pinnacle when it's ready, cos i'd like it to be brand new..hehehe kinda wasteful right?
We stay pretty near each other then and prob our FHs too! hahah I'm staying near Rosyth School.

mypita

Count,
Oh, we had our new place, not staying with ILs. But we are staying near them, like 10 mins drive away. HB and I have been together for coming 9 years, we ROM in 2004, and our customary wedding in 2005. Everything is finally settled for us, though sometimes I still missed the planning process for our wedding. Hehe.

We engaged Rasel Food Fusion for church catering. Some other caterers you can consider are Kriston, Lavish Dine, heard good reviews too.

Kryie,
We paid $500 for usage of the church and parish hall.

count

Hello Biba! Hardly see u ard too! Glad to see u here. Ur AD over already right? Did u use Dolly as well? What colour theme and flowers did u have for ur banquet? U're a Divine bride too like Georgia eh?

Kyrie, my church rental is $700 for members and $1400 for non-members. U know what? We stay very very near each other! I stay near Kovan MRT, in the private estate there. The bed costs $2700 with bed frame and mattress. We intend to shift the mattress and prob the bed frame to Duxton. Oh and it seems tt the master bedroom in our flat can only fit a queen sized bed. If we get a king, then cannot open the cupboard door. Just in case u're buying beds. Cos FH's friend measured the show flat and tested it himself =)

If u're looking at cheap tea receptions, perhaps consider Elsie's Kitchen. $5 per pax. Don't know if it's gd but another bride recommended them and my friends gave gd reviews for their food. So may be worthwhile if u have tight budget. The menu from the internet seems not bad and quite a variety =)

Wah Georgia, u and hubby were tog for quite a bit! Amazing! Have always admired those who pak tor for very long cos i used to be quite fickle minded. Until FH came along. But even then, he proposed after slightly more than 1 year! Rasel has very gd presentation, but i couldn't get along too well with their coordinator. Hahah

Quite exciting. In less than a yr, i Kyrie and the others will be "promoted" like Biba and Georgia!

kyrieleison

Hi georgia,

Are you a Catholic? Which church did you have your wedding mass in?

Hi count,
Hmm.. lucky you told me bout it. Was planning for a king-sized bed cos i thought it'd be nice to have a BIG bed. Hee I see.. I'll most prob drop by Robinsons to have a look this coming Monday.
You were saying they can delay delivery till end next year?
I'm thinking of Neo Garden for catering. Cos i have tried them for my 21st and find them good..
So is your FH our age? Hahah your FH prob knew you were quite fickle minded so he thought he'd better hurry and propose.
I've been with my FH for almost 6 years.. so till our wedding, it'll be almost 7 year. Talk about the 7 year itch.. ahahah i'd better not let him have the chance to scratch it!

count

Hey Kyrie, u may want to double check abt the bed. Cos FH measured the plan of the flat and says tt according to the plan, it can fit a king sized bed. Hmmm... Don't know whether to trust his friend or the plan. So a bit hard to buy bed if u intend to bring the bed over to Duxton
Wait a min - u're same age as me right? FH is 5 yrs older than me. He was diff from other guys i went out with, and i knew tt he was the one. Hahah. So we tot we'd settle down early, enjoy couplehood then have children some time later. Don't worry, ur FH will have no chance to scratch his itch!

Happy new year to all u girls! =)

Pita and Georgia, u were both Divine brides? Their gowns have the most beautiful low backs! Hee

kyrieleison

Hey Georgia!

I'm getting married in St Francis of Assisi too!!! I don't see many people getting married there!
Can you tell me more about your wedding mass and all there? Like church rental, reception area, floral arrangement etc.. hee getting excited.

Hi count, yup I'm your age. Hee
My FH is 3 years older. Are you planning for kids anytime soon after you get married? I'm only planning when our house is ready.
Now still young, must enjoy 'er ren shi jie' first! I'm dropping by Robinsons later today. Hee will check out the bed. Will most prob settle for a queen-sized bed..at least don't have to worry should I plan to move the bed over to Duxton.

mypita

Hi Count,
Yes yes, both Biba and I were Divine brides
Which is ur BS?

Hi Kyrie,
Hehe, so coincidence!! Are you a parishioner there, do u attend their mass? HB and I attend Sunday mass at 1030am. I have seen a few weddings before my wedding last Dec, we went to observe other couples' weddings. Have u book the church yet, which priest will be doin your solemnization? Will email you the details instead of writing in here oki. Btw, when is your wedding day?

whiteangelz

Kyrie, hi hi.... same here, before AD cant stay tog.... so old already... but what to do, its tradition. Both stayin in east... so not too bad. Jus kinda tiring for him, as he travels to meet me aft wrk, plus hes doing shift work. Nice of him, but worried he'll look like panda on AD.

Hey count n kyrie, both of u are YOUNG!!! Lucky u gettin married so young... wished i was too.... oh well, cant turn back the clock now. Me n FH been tog for 9 yrs already. Way pass 7yr itch! ;-)

Count, besides caterer n decor, any thing else? Once settled AD PG, VG, dinner, gown..... pls enlightened.

kyrieleison

Hi Georgia!
Yah i do attend mass there once in awhile. I go to St Vincent De Paul and sometimes Christ the King too.
Yah i have booked the church, hee was KS so called the secretariat in Sept after we completed MPC to arrange a meeting with Father John Lau. As FH and I are both Catholics, Father only needs to meet us in July (nearer to AD). Hee would really appreciate your sharing of experience and ideas!
My email addy: [email protected]

Hi count!
I went to Robinsons yesterday. It was really packed! Didn't really walk around much so didn't see the mattresses. Hee

Hi whiteangelz!
Hee don't make yourself sound so old leh!
9 years is a long time! Why didn't you all plan to get married earlier since you've been together so long?