Shangri-la Hotel

whiteangelz

Hi ling, wanted to get gowns frm them, but FH said too ex, coz what i initially wanted was way too much work to be done... n wld cost a bomb!... well, tts over now.. so looking for something simpler... nice, grand, but simple. The knot's great help.
Anyone can help?
Count, think u may hv got it wrong, have ONLY settled VG, my FH bought a package a few yrs back frm one of those BS frm tanjong pagar, without consulting me. However, i found them too "chinese-speaking" for me. We're considering getting another one, frm JB or a simple package(local), like juz the gowns, n have PS done by a local, whom we found that his work's rather gd. But then have to think abt the down he's made already... so still sorting this out. have to settle this soon thou.... luckily the venue is already settled. phew!
The Pond's great! but v ex! is NG shootin for u?

ger

Hi Jesmine,

I dun know how much is it cuz l top up with some other changes. U can ask ur co-ordinator abt it.

count

Whiteangelz,
Why don't u ask the tanjong pagar boutique to do a suit for FH? At least it can't be too cheena when compared to a WG cos less obvious. That's what my friend did... Heh
What is ur budget for BS? Maybe u could try those up and coming designers, go for simple designs and avoid expensive materials like french lace to reduce costs. Oh, and sometimes, u can find OTR gowns that are virtually new! Can look ard. We're also having budget woes. Fell in love with the real wedding cakes but found out that a decent sized one will cost close to $1000 for 400 guests. Sigh...

Yep, NH is shooting for us. We specifically asked for him cos we liked his style. Getting married is so expensive nowadays =(

Jasmine is not part of the Sil package. I engaged her separately at a cost of $1000 and deducted $400 from Sil's package for the make-up artiste. They have a few MUAs like Amy, Gin who are highly recommended by Heath. As for the others, I'm not too sure...
Overseas shoot will be great, just that it costs too much. We wanted to do it in Bali too but NH charges too much! =)

Ashie, if u're ard, all the best for ur wedding yah? Have a blessed marriage - 10 dec right? Cos i know choc has finished hers last weekend already

gothique

hi girls!

My FH gave me a surprise night stay at Shang for our anniversary! I stayed at the Garden Wing. I agree with ChewBecca that their rooms are a little old. I stayed at the Garden Wing. But breakfast at The Line was fantastic!

White Angel and Last Minute: You mean our rooms are not confirmed in Valley Wing? It depends on the package???!! I asked Jessica (that's before she left) and she said that it'll be "near" the ballroom... erm... ops... better go and check again. But can anyone please confirm?

Count - I simply LOVE French Lace. Expensive... heh heh but I managed to find an OTR evening gown whose top half is absolutely covered with French Lace... so happy. So White Angel I think you should definitely check out the OTRs!

Lastly... anyone has any contact for car rental? My package doesn't include that. And I am having a headache. I'd like to rent a BM 7 series for the space - easy to get in and out of. But can't find it... not online anyway. Help anyone?

marque

well shanggri la did say that they are not known for their rooms.. and I was quite impressed by their honesty.
I think diff wings cater and appeal to the segments in the market. THose who like the resort feel.. the business feel..

Count: well, i'm the one who starts the ball rolling.. so I throw all my ideas on where to go, what to do.. what to get.. and my FW, (haha.. all will use FH here except my post..) will concur.

Gothique: how about city limo? maybe they have those cars that you want?
Yah it depends on the package..silver or platinum..

whiteangelz

Hi Gothique, u can try New Century Limo Services - Serena Goh (96829882). U may have to check on beemer.
Hi Count, recently we went speak to them abt the package n they seem quite ok to make changes.

ash_

hi count!

so sweet of you.. i just happened to pop by here n saw your well wishes.. thank you!! getting really busy now.. just had my church rehearsal last night.. my coordinator was fantastic! you having a church wedding rite? i sugg u get a coord who is experienced AND very willing to help. personal exp is church wedding is more a logistical nightmare than the dinner, cos evthg is really up to you.. so do get a good coord!

just realised im supp to send someone the template for creating the table.. so so sorry! havent been back in school since.. maybe u can try clicking the 'help' button at the bottom of this page to see how to do it?
triangle_down.gif

as for make-up artists, i highly recommend Freddy Ong!! he's tied up with my BS, Silhouette and he's really really good at natural make-up, tho ive heard he's good at dramatic make-up too. and he's fantastic with hair!! AND he's really fast. AND the best thing is tt he's really nice.. had a little hiccup wif my PS schedule cos my FH got posted overseas for a month last min n when freddy heard abt it, he imm took out his handphone n started calling his 'contacts' to help us get a date with Chris Ling.

oh yes gals (& a guy
).. if ure looking for a photographer, Chris is really really good. we burnt a hole in our pockets but both fh & i thought it was worth it! he's SO fast we didnt even feel tired at the end of the day! had a lovely time.. highly recommend him!

and gals, one piece of advice: enjoy your preparation process.. when u near the wedding, u'll realise tt it's not just the destination but the entire journey tt will make that special day extra memorable

count

Ashie! *waves* long time no see! I just happened to pop by in the midst of my exams revision. In the middle of exams now, and yes, again! My exams never seem to end! Biangz!

Send me ur photos leh! Want to see! My addie is [email protected] =)

Have fun at ur wedding k? Look forward to seeing ur photos cos i've heard gd reviews abt chris ling! Heh. Do pop in afterwards to let us know how ur AD went and esp the church ceremony. Sure tt the church ceremony will be beautiful! Always end up tearing at church weddings heh

Gothique,
Looks like u have to do up a table now cos i still can't get the hang of it! Shall we start a new table?

Hey provide details all! Who is next in line after Ashie? No table so quite blur! Heh.

my details are as follows:
AD: 11/11/06
BS: Silhouette
PS: The Pond
AD PG: Ray Ong
VG: NA
Lovenest: Pinnacle @ Duxton

Whiteangelz, yes changing the package sounds good. Can always swap for other things if u don't like their gowns ;) Must ensure tt the gown u wear is sth u really really love!

Gothique, ur hubby is so so sweet to surprise u with a stay at Shang! Boy woudl i love to have breakfast and sleep on a plush hotel bed! Too bad must wait until married...

Marque,
How come ur FW is so busy? What does she do? Well, at least she can be sure tt u are "on". Most of the time, it's the girls who complain tt their FHs are very slow to decide and make suggestsions...

meow_chloe

hi everyone, i'm also considering Shang... but just started looking and the Island Ballroom is fully booked during the period I'm looking at.... so considering the Tower Ballroom. Any comments on Tower?

count

Hi Audrey,
Don't know how much help this is to u. Tower can take from 35-55 tables. But if u want a L-shaped march in, i think it can only take up to 45 tables. It was just renovated late last year and i personally think tt it is very very pretty. But if u have space constraints and require more tables, perhaps u shd look elsewhere?

What dates do u have in mind? How come they're all occupied? =)

whiteangelz

Ya, recently no chart, so lost track of who's getting married next?...
Any one?

Hi Audrey, you have to decide on roughly how many tables u wld need, juz a rough estimation for now, will be ok. from there, u will be able to guage if its alrite to have it at Tower. I will b havin mine at Tower, coz Island would be too huge for me. Also, weather L-shape or straight walk in, the no. of tables would b ok. If you're lookin at next year, somehow, i heard that its really "hot" year for marriage, so kinda have to decide soon. In a flash time will whizz by.......

Hi Jesmine, how come food tasting session not good? Care to share?

count

Hey Jesmine,
What happened? Did u feedback to ur coordinator? Last i heard from choc and ger, their food tasting seemed to go well? But i think they're away on HM and ashie is busy... let's see if they pop in... =)

jesmineang

Hi Count and Whiteangelz,
let us hope that mine is a isolated case. Till now have not received a satisfactory explanation on what went wrong yesterday.

count

Hey Jesmine, if it's not convenient to share here, u can always drop me a mail at [email protected]

Wah... quite worried after hearing u say this. Maybe u shd speak to Melanie? She's my coordinator and quite nice and efficient. Hope u settle this before ur AD, so tt u're less stressed and have less to worry abt. Smile k? Do let me know what happens and whether u manage to solve the problem *hugs*

How are ur other preps coming along? U've finished ur PS right?

pro

Hi Jesmine,

Try talking to your co-ordinator. I am sure they will do sth abt it.

I have been to a wedding 2 mths ago..it was a great wedding, the food and service was superb. Dun worry abt it

jesmineang

Hi count and pro,
yes, i have tried talking to my coordinator and i guess she is trying her best but it is of no fault of hers. Hope the chef will buck up.

Anyway, we are offered another food tasting. Hope all goes well.

bamboobride

time flies!! i used to be active one year again at this thread. i will be spending my one year anniversary nite in shang next mth and i am looking forward to it. : )

just to assure you that the service in shang is very good. because being a 5 star hotel, they got a reputation to keep. don't worry, u will have a memorable wedding.

jesmine, talk to your coordinator. i can assure you on you wedding nite, everything will be fine. dun feel upset, maybe its an isolated case that happens only during food tasting.

but i was hoping shang will give us a free nite stay during our one year anniversary, but was told that we have to pay at a discounted rate. though my husband can also get this rate through his company corporate hotel stay.

nevertheless i am going to enjoy myself. i cant believe its going to be my one year anniversary soon. time really flies.....

count

Wah cin! So fast! Lucky u! Mine is still abt a year away! Yep, i did ask abt the anniversary stay but got the same reply too.

Did u have ur banquet at Tower Ballroom too? Share photos? my email is [email protected] btw, any recommendations for florists? Is dolly good?

Hi astrogirl,
Sorry but i don't have the website address. Perhaps u could give them a call? =)

kyrieleison

Hey girls!

Wah haven't been dropping by for quite some time.. how's prep?

Anyway, any idea how much is the top-up for Muslim and Vegetarians?

Jesmine, oh dear.. what went wrong at the food tasting? Your AD is in bout 3 weeks time right?

count

Yo Kyrie! Long time no see! How's ur wedding preps? I think the top up is $89.90++ per person? Recall Melanie saying tt they basically charge for one extra person at tt table if that person is a Muslim/veg, so shd put 10 Chinese and 1/2 Muslim/veg ;)

U started designing ur gown yet? Very excited cos it is finally less than a yr to go... Hee

This thread is so quiet nowadays. No one getting married at Shang anytime soon? =)

kyrieleison

Hey count!

Hee no lah.. haven't started design yet.. most prob will wait till Feb or Mar. Your AD's in Nov right? So have you started urs yet?

Hmm.. that means about 11 to 12 pple at the table ah? Hee paiseh ah.. i don't quite get the top up thingy.. $89.90+++ top-up per Muslim/Veg? That means if we put all the Muslims and Vegetarian friends in one table, need to top up not?

count

Hey Kyrie,
I'm not too sure abt the charges if all the Muslims/veg are at the same table. Perhaps u could ask Melanie? But it may be quite paiseh to seat them all tog unless they know each other? Cos they may feel awkward if they were simply placed at the same table cos of their special menus? =)

I'm supposed to meet my designer in Jan. Trying to lose a bit of weight now. Hahah. Urs is slightly less than a month after mine right - 9 dec. So our deadlines shd be fairly similar for gown design etc

kyrieleison

Hi Count!

Yah i know what you mean.. perhaps when it's nearer to the AD then i'll check with Melanie again.

Hee yup, 9 Dec.. Yah i also arranged to meet my designer in Jan too. However, im thinking of postponing it till later cos i dun want my gown to be sitting in the BS for too long.. hee.

count

Kyrie,
When is ur PS? If it's later u can defer the designing process. For us, we intend to do our PS in July so prob have to start designing ard CNY period. So fast Ashie and Choc are married already. Soon it will be our turn! Hahah... Lucky u booked early cos it seems tt 9 dec is a very hot date!

We prob can go check out the florists' deco for the ballroom tog next year. Heh

kyrieleison

Hey count, hahah that'll be a great idea!
Let's remind each other when the date gets nearer. Hmm.. for me, i'm most prob having my PS during the 7th months.. as you know, next year's 7th month is extended till Sept. Will most have it around Aug or Sept.
We're not pantang..so it's ok.

count

Jesmine,
How are things? Better already? Sorted out ur guest lists yet? Btw, how come u moved ur AD forward? Cos i do recall tt u and Kyrie were 9 dec brides. Lucky girl - i wanted to push forward but couldn't cos no dates...

Kyrie,
Yes! We will check out the florists tog! Then can ask more questions and not feel so bad. We're doing our PS in July not cos we're pantang but cos we want to get it out of the way early. Cos we can foresee tt we may be busy in the 2-3 months before AD with all the last min errands etc. Do u have definite ideas abt ur gowns yet? I'm still trying to find designs but cannot decide whether to go for the princessy look or sth more dramatic!

meow_chloe

hi count and whiteangelz.. thanks for the advice on Tower's capacity. Kinda wanted a saturday wedding but Island was fully booked on all sat in Dec 06. But we saw Island when it was done up and its really beautiful so might compromise with a wedding on Friday. Meeting with Melanie this weekend to confirm either Island or Tower. Still thinking hard till then...

meow_chloe

count,
yeah, i cant decide on the princessy or the classic look either. Have not started looking at BS and planning for PS in June!! A little ambitious? Have you tried on gowns for both looks?

Does anyone know of any BS that tie up with Chris Ling? Heard good reviews abt him.

count

Hey meow_chloe,
See u here again! Cool! Ur coordinator is Melanie too! Yay! U me and Kyrie will have our ADs very close. I think Fridays are a gd option, or Sundays. If u're doing a church then prob Sunday unless u want to do the church 1 wk before the banquet. Oh, u shd check with the church as well cos i heard tt there are generally quite a lot of events in Dec and the church may be unavailable...

I'm planning for PS in July too so it shd be ok. Have signed up with Silhouette and tried on gowns for both looks. But still cannot decide. Hahah. I think Ted Wu and Silhouette tie up with CL. Not too sure abt other BS. But no worries cos u can always get CL separately. I did so for my PS and AD PG, and MUA

choc_cowgirl

hi girls! Been a while, just came back from HM on saturday. Wedding at Shang went well, the staff were very professional and we were impressed with their service. There were also small surprises here and there by the hotel, but I won't spoil the surprises.

kyrieleison

Hi choc, glad to hear your AD went well!
How's HM?

Hi Count, hehe ok ok we'll go together.
You're taking MTM? Me too.. that's why i'm also having a headache as to which style i want. Maybe i'll try on more gowns first before deciding then. Yah i guess we'll be very busy 2-3 mths before AD but no choice.. haha

choc_cowgirl

HM went well, we were in bali for 12 days, spent 5 days lazing in the villa when we felt lazy and went touring on the other days. It is quiet and yet there are many things to do in bali. Wedding preps in the last couple of days before the AD are very hectic, many things to do, and the AD is also quite hectic, a lazy holiday with no rushing around was much needed, no regrets!
Hope you girls are having fun preparing for your wedding. Count, are you going to bali for HM also?
Wonder if ashie will pop by this forum.

biba8169

hi choco,

Nice to see ya here once again!! Congrats & welcome home....

Wahaha..spending a 12days in Bali is so gooood..can imagine u & HB relaxing following ur hectic wedding,must be feeling gd & recharged!
Glad that u had a wonderful time!

How's wedding that day? Oh, I have juz wrote to u at ur gmail. Wonder if u got the time to read tho.
Well, I am sure ashie will be back here reporting after her HM.
Btw,what surprises arh? Must be thrilling!!!! tell me more..
When will ur AD photos be ready? Urs is Fabian?*oops i forgot*

Count,
wow..hope u r having a great time doing ur planning too. The process may be tough & hectic towards ur AD, but everythin worth. U gonna missed it once its over!
I am counting the days to my AD next week!!so fast!

count

Choc, ur HM sounds exactly like what we want! Some chill out time, little bit of touring when we feel like it but mostly lounging ard and just relaxing after the stress of prep. Would u recommend the place u went? U mentioned it's at uluwatu? Sounds very good leh. Feel like going. I want to know what the surprises were! Are u back at work already or still on leave?

Biba, so fast ur turn? Long time no see. How is the planning? Done up ur guest lists yet? Must share photos after tt and update us k? 1 wk will pass in a flash

Right now, i'm just going to source for gown ideas and PS ideas cos my PS will be in July. Work is piling up though. Boo hoo!

choc_cowgirl

hi biba, you must be getting busier and more excited too since your AD is approaching! No lah, don't spoil the little surprises for you
. I think the contact prints of my AD photos are ready, but haven't had the time to pop down to collect yet. Imagegarden is doing my AD photos.
hey count, my second day back at work
I would recommend the place I went as there was privacy and a great view, email me if you are interested.

biba8169

count,
yup time flies,i have not been here for quite long time tho.
Planning is oki,finalised. Guest list,seating arrangement all done up.
Sure wil share my AD photos in mid Jan i guess,it won't be ready til then.

wow, its always very exciting abt gown designing & stuff. Browse the web to find out more,but some BS may have their own signature,hence may not be 100% of what u wanted from ur idea gown design,else wil be a replica of dat designer of u liked... Having searching...

biba8169

choco,

okido...will know the surprises soon..hahaha..we shall see if it's the same kinda.
Imagegarden..oh gd.

Can't wait to see ur photos ya.

ger

Hi choc,

U are back...wow ur AD is ready. Both my AD pics and video are not ready yet. Gettin abit impatient.

How's ur AD? Mine went very smoothly and it ended pretty late...food was gd and the staffs are great.

count

Biba, Choc and Germ
Wah u all have graduated or are going to graduate from this thread already! So fast... Very happy to hear tt Shang did a fantastic job!

Germ, did u swap dishes in the end? Btw, are there any dishes tt u girls would recommend from the menu?

Biba, u sound all set already esp since the major things are all settled! =)

choc_cowgirl

hi girls! Hi germ, long time no se, I haven't really got down to my photos and videos yet, cos there is so much to do after the HM. My full length video, highlights are ready but I will wait for the edited video (not 10plus hours long!), my AD photo contact prints should be ready also.

Biba, count, shang did a great job, but the same as any event planned well even, there will always be little hiccups here and there, so just be flexible and just enjoy the day. Most guests won't even know anyway.

I would strongly recommend the pan fried cod (yumyumyum), braised sharks fin, for prawns - both the sambal(??!! I think) prawns with fried buns and the drunken prawns are good. I know cos I also had a lunch thing at Shang. For chicken, actually their Pik something style was very good (signature shang palace dish).

jesmineang

Hi choco,
what are the surprises?

My AD coming soon and i am getting panicky after the first food tasting. Was scheduled for another food tasting.

Chosen my table setting colours and also the ballroom decor. We are using JM wedding concepts...

and also which room are you all given as ur bridal suite? and how's the room?

count

Jesmine, u're using Dolly? Do update us on how it is working with her, cos a few of us brides are also thinking of whether to engage her. So far, she seems pretty nice and generous with flowers. And do tell us how the 2nd food tasting goes. U'll find out the surprises soon - lucky girl!

Choc, have u shifted to our new house yet? Is reno and everything done?

Kyrie, we're still undecided whether to stay in. High costs of rental is a major factor but on the other hand, living harmoniously with the in-laws may be equally tough. Ugh. U're staying in right?

Btw, whiteangelz ur AD is a few weeks before mine only and in Oct 06?