Shangri-la Hotel

meow_chloe

count, yes... now waiting for contract to be drawn up.. pity no available saturdays in Dec but the ballroom is too gorgeous to pass up..hee

how does anyone decide on a BS? i'm very confused by all the beautiful gowns .. wat did you gals look out for ?

count, u might wanna consider a low back gown ut with a skin tone netting... cant see the netting from far.. so it looks BARE!!.. hee

yes.. the crystals are very pretty... but flowers wise, how much are we given.. if we stick to non-seasonal flowers like roses, would there be a need to top-up? dun wan the arrangement to be sparse though.. like lots and lots of flowers

kyrieleison

Hi girls!

Haven't been logging in cos my comp's down. Now using school computer..

Hey count, hee haven't done any yet. Will prob wait till June hols. Pretty caught up with work now.. Cannot breathe ah. Hahah so have u decided on the gown design?

count

Hey Chewbecca, long time no see. Where have u been? Busy at work? As far as i know, Shang ties up with 3 florists - Sebastian (Sing See Soon), Stefii's, Dolly (JM). How's ur planning so far? Ur AD is in July so u shd have confirmed more stuff than us? Are u doing a church ceremony or solemnisation at Shang?

Meowchloe, which date did u get in the end? I decided on a BS by first deciding whether i wanted a one-stop or designer BS (don't know if these are the correct terms). I then made appts to go down to visit and try their gowns. A helpful starting pt is to shortlist according to the type of gowns u like. For e.g., if u like embroidery, u shd visit Ted Wu cos he is famous for tt. Then decide if u like the style, and feel comfortable with the designer. Also, consider things such as the photo studios tt the BS ties up with cos it may be slightly cheaper to get both tog, whether there are top-ups for more photos, how many photos they give, make-up artistes etc. Also, how likely they are to impose extra charges for more work on ur gowns such as extra embroidery, full french lace, short time lines etc

Kyrie ah, no wonder u've been MIA these few days. Yes, May/June will be a gd time cos there'll be great singapore sale. Can buy bed then. Haven't decided on gown design. Going down this Sat for first appt. Will let u know how it goes

As for flowers and how much we're given, i also don't know. Maybe the experienced and wise ones can shed light on this? =)

verylastminute

Hi, for the guest tables, standard package is 3 blooms. Yes, you read me right, 3 flowers. Pathetic right? For the VIP tables, I'm not sure whether they do it this way. Probably they will want that to look nice so they give a nice big arrangement.

kyrieleison

Hi count, yah lor..now eating snake again. Hee marking my books and surfing the net at the same time.
Yup will start only in June. My gown design's in March, so i still have lots of time. Hee my excitement for the wedding started too early liao..so now pretty relaxed and pushing things till mid of the year.

Hi verylastminute, only 3 blooms??? Wah that's pretty pathetic!
Goodness..

count

Kyrie, i so agree. Now quite sian abt doing wedding stuff already cos been doing it for so long. Just waiting for AD to roll around. Quite excited tho cos going to BS this Sat. Haha. And my mum and grandma are going along as well. Can tell tt they are very keen on going =)

Jesmine,
Was 3 roses ok? I tot of doing tt as well. After all, if the dish is left in the centre, we would have to remove the flowers? So quite wasted to top up? Did u get ur dishes individually portioned or left at the centre of the table? Btw, have u gone on honeymoon yet? How was ur AD ah? Think all of us here are very eager to know how it turned out

Btw, i think roses are nice. Haha. Want to use roses as well. Cos they're easy to get so unlikely to have to pay a lot ;)

Verylastminute, did u top up for the flowers then cos 3 blooms is very little? How abt using tealights? Must top up? Which method of serving dishes did u use?

count

Hey just asking - what is the rough budget i shd set aside for losses from the wedding banquet and church? The girls in the other thread were discussing this and mentioned tt AP for church is only abt $30?

And how much red wine and beer did u all consume?

verylastminute

Hi count, I topped up just a little bit for the guest tables as I wanted side service. But if you're leaving the dish at the centre, really no need to top up I think. Nobody will even notice.

Abt your AP question - are you having separate guests for banquet and church? 'Cos I thought people will just give one if they are attending both.

count

Verylastminute dearie,
Ah i see what u mean. Prob going to leave the dish at the centre and get the staff to apportion from there. Cos i think our parents prefer to let guests see the entire dish. Somehow, their generation don't really like the tot of receiving individual portions w/o seeing the entire fish

We're prob having separate guests for banquet and church. Friends for church and relatives for banquet. Quite surprised cos for church i'd give $50 if i go alone...

Hopefully the deficit wouldn't be too much? That's why we're starting to think abt and gauge how much we shd set aside... =)

verylastminute

Hi count,
Oh, then the flowers shouldn't be a big headache for you. We thought it's better to apportion the food at the side 'cos people may be shy to take 2nd helpings otherwise.

Erm... What are your expenses for church? I didn't even think in terms of "losses", we just took it that it was a fixed cost anyway, didn't expect to make back or anything from it. So really, the only variable cost for us was the catering. For wedding banquet, very hard to gauge. Depends on how generous your relatives and friends are I suppose. And how many tables you're having. There sure will be people who don't show up, or give like $60 or $80. But other more generous people may help to cover them. Anyway, we invited the same people to church and banquet, so we only got one ang pow.

count

Verylastminute dear,
Our church rental is $700 and tt excludes the APs for helpers, floral deco and misc. Think the total bill shd come up to $3K excluding catering. Catering shd cost another $2K cos abt 200 guests.

Actually wanted to do sth nicer for church, such as getting a more upmarket caterer, choc fountain and real wedding cake. But on 2nd tots, cos of possibly huge deficit, must reconsider

Cos not going to ask parents to chip in $ and help, so must be more thrifty. Sometimes i find it ironic tt getting married costs so much in s'pore! And at least our house is not here yet. Would certainly have problems if we had to factor in the costs of doing up a house

And since we're going to Las V*gas in March, we were jokingly saying tt perhaps we shd just do a sweet and simple wedding there as many celebs do. Then no need to have a party here! After all, we always wanted to get married in Bali and go straight for honeymoon! Hahahaha. Evil right?

Btw, was ur church and banquet on same day? Was it very rushed? Which church were u from? Cos our church service at PLMC is 2.30 and dinner on the same night...

verylastminute

Hi count, oh yes, i forgot to factor those in. Hee! As I said, they were costs that were going to be incurred whether or not our guests attended, so that's why I didn't expect to "recoup". Yeah, we all start out with real fancy ideas of wanting this and that, but the banquet itself already costs a fair bit, so better not lah. Besides, as everyone says, the bride stresses over so many little details, but how much of it do the guests actually notice/ appreciate?
I think weddings overseas also cost as much actually, not just here. But people here tend to be very practical-minded, which is why most people give ang pows, instead of gifts.
Hopefully you can win big to fund your entire wedding! Ha ha!
Yes, we had our church, tea ceremonies and banquet all on the same day. We had a tight schedule and a friend who really kept a close eye on the time. Felt ok. We managed to do the tea ceremonies at both our houses after the church (which was at abt 11am) Was quite tired and hungry by the time we reached the hotel, but too excited to sleep. Anyway, it's just one day. Just had a cup of coffee and then I was fine! I really enjoyed the day.

count

Hey very,
I agree. Initially we tot of a real wedding cake and choc fountain. After tt we decided to scrap it. Cos of high cost and logistics. So many things to settle on AD and all these additions would only burden my poor helpers

Haha. Thanks for wishing me luck at the gaming table. But unlikely to gamble there. Though it would be nice to get a windfall and offset the costs of the wedding!

So ur church was quite early in the morning? Mine is at 2.30 so intending to do tea ceremony in the morning then church and dinner. Hopefully it wouldn't be too rushed. Tot finishing it all in one day would give us less headaches. U must be quite hyper on ur AD! Can imagine all the running ard. After tt we must definitely go for a relaxed honeymoon. No more running ard. Hahah

So u've settled into married life already? Are u staying with ILs? =)

Btw, how many helpers did u have and did u manage to get them a day use room at Shang?

verylastminute

Hi count, my church was just after 11. I managed to do everything in one day. Even had gatecrashing before that (and I didn't need to wake up super early either. My MUA came at abt 8.30), then after church had a short reception, then both the tea ceremonies. Ya, I think it's better to get everything done in one day. Otherwise you have to dress up on 2 days.

I can't remember how many helpers we had. I think quite a few. Abt 12 to 15? Didn't want to burden each one too much so we had many helpers some for day, some for night.

count

Hey very, ur schedule sounds very comfortable and not rushed. Mine will be a bit more problematic. Hahah

Did u have gatecrashing? Is it ok to do away with it altho ur jie meis are there? Cos i don't want poor FH to be tekan ;)

Wow, u had a lot of helpers. Only intending to get 8 in all for us both. Hope they can manage

Okie, enjoy ur weekend dearie! Seems like this thread is only populated by us two! =)

kyrieleison

Hi girls!

I'm back! My computer's finally up and running again.
Hee im here to 'populate' the thread.

Count, yup excitement dying down. Now going for all the spas and facials that I can afford. Hai.. sim tia spending so much money on it but then, the word 'bao yang' is so difficult to resist! Haha

Hi verylastminute and Jesmine,
3 blooms looks all right? Okie.. then shan't think too much about topping up. Like what count said, it'll be taken away when the dinner commences too.

Oh yah count, talking about rushed schedule, think mine's gonna be WORSE..
My church wedding's at 10am.. gotta go to FH's house first before going to church (all the way to Boon Lay from Serangoon) then back to FH's house for tea ceremony again, then my side's tea ceremony then to Shang. Wanted to do away with the gatecrashing, but my FH insists on it. He seems to be looking forward to the saboing part.. oh well, it's his choice and he gets it, not me!
I agree with verylastminute, it'll be memorable.

whiteangelz

Hi Count, yah, low back ones are really stunning. Don't worry too much abt Sil, got a fren who did with them and she loved hers till death. It was simply gorgeous... they will definitely do a good job. I'll be heading down to mine after CNY. Looking at doing the photoshoot in sometime ard June/ July, yupe, coz mine will b in Oct, so alittle earlier than yours. So have u gone for ur first appt with ur BS?

Church expenses are certainly extra. Its kinda sad that over here its this way. Somehow, its kinda difficult to just have it plain n simple. Anyhow, havnt really factor in cost for church.

count

Wah Kyrie, i'm so touched tt u came here to populate the thread. Hahah. Did u spend a lot on spas and facials? I didn't do any at all. Wondering if i shd go but don't know where is good =)

Yes, i think ur schedule is very rushed. Must plan time properly and ensure tt gatecrashing doesn't take too long...

Very, out of curiosity, what did ur jie meis make ur husband do? =)

Whiteangelz, looks like our PS will be around the same period. Heh. Went for first appt on Sat but haven't decided on the design yet. Just tried on some gowns and took measurements. Yes, it's quite sad tt church expenses are extra. Would have been much happier to just have a church wedding and no banquet. Cos somehow, i get quite irritated when i think of myself greeting guests and thanking them when i may not even have seen them before or hardly know them. Sometimes i wonder if they will truly share in our joy. Would far prefer something more intimate. But too bad cos our parents want a banquet =)

kyrieleison

Hey count! Hahaha 'gan dong' leh!
Yah really have to plan. Got to ensure that my jiemeis doesn't spend too much time on the saboing.. I'm doing facials at Leonard Drake and Spa at Rustic Nirvana. Not too bad lah.. can only keep telling myself that it's all in the name of beauty. Hee..

count

Wah Kyrie, u sound so tai tai. Facial plus spa. Enjoyable! I cannot indulge liao cos our US trip will set us back by abt $10K, if i don't overspend! So very broke already. Boo hoo

Btw, have u decided on who is doing ur church deco? Have u started looking for wedding bands? Intend to start looking soon... Hee

mypita

I missed quite a bit on ur postings, was overseas last week, just came back last nite.

Count,
The food was placed on the centre of the guest tables and apportioned there, tables are big enough to cater for max 12 pax.

For 35 tables, we consumed 52 btls of red wine, 1.5 barrels beer, and 0.5 btl of hard liqour.

For church, those ppl we invited for church & banquet mostly gave only one ang-pao.

kyrieleison

Count, hahaha I wish!!! Tai-tai.. every woman's dream! hee but wait till i am 50 years old.
I've gotten my wedding bands from Jorn Rainer (Lee Hwa). We didn't want to buy so early actually, but when we walked into Lee Hwa, the bands caught our eyes and we decided to settle for it there and then.
Hee I always try to take the fastest way out of things. As for church deco, not yet leh. There's another couple who will be using the church after us so the secretariat was asking us to discuss and split the cost. Haven't got round to calling her yet. What about you? Any ideas?

Hi georgia, so more people drank red wine these days? Initially was thinkin of getting another 2 barrels of beer (on top of the one that's FOC)..but lookin at yours, maybe i'll just get another barrel and buy 2 more cartons of red wine.

count

Hey Georgia, u're back! Where did u go last wk? Travel for work or holiday? Did u have fun?

Wow, seems like ur guests drank a lot of alcohol. Still tot 45 bottles would be enough for 40 tables. So u got all the red wine from Shang and returned all the bottles that were unused?

Yes, actually i think if pple are invited to both church and banquet, 1 AP is the norm. Still wondering whether i shd segregate my guests into church and dinner completely. Cos our guest list seems to be expanding to unmanageable proportions...

Kyrie ah,
U're so fast to get ur wedding bands. Aiyo, i must start searching already... Seems like u and i are in the same boat - have to share floral deco with another bride. Hopefully, coordination won't be a prob. At least u're the first couple. I'm the second couple so it's more worrying. Hope the first couple will ensure tt their guests clear out in time for mine to come...

Still looking out for gd florists so far, and have shortlisted Woodsville and Greenpoint cos they did wonderful jobs for my friends' weddings. Hope to have a red, green and gold colour theme for flowers but will have to depend on the other bride. U have any colour scheme yet? =)

kyrieleison

Hi count, no leh haven't really thought of it yet. Think will wait till my gown is designed before deciding. An all-white wedding will be nice but only if done tastefully..so i'm still thinking about it. Red, green and gold will look very grand.
So are you having your low-back gown?

jesmineang

I think our wine consumption is really high then. For 62 tables, we consumed 141 bottles of red wine plus 3 barrels of beer and hard liqour. Gosh... luckily i ordered extra red wine.

count

Kyrie ah, i want my low back gown but must see how first. Afraid tt i don't have enough *ahem* assets to hold up the gown. Haha. Will ur gown be low back too? Btw, my friend did an all-white wedding and it turned out well. She used white roses. I think the effect of an all-white wedding depends on the venue. Cos her church was the bright and airy sort, and the white roses provided a nice contrast with the brown pews and stained glass backdrop...

Wow Jesmine! Ur wine consumption that night was very high! Were most of ur guests social drinkers? Are ur photos out yet? Care to share? Would love to see how it turned out, and ur gowns cos they're Ted Wu gowns ;)

kyrieleison

Hihi count,

yah if low back most prob must have straps. I doubt my WG will be low-back. Cos i want my gown to be a tube so if low back, can't hold leh.. Think i'll make sure my EG is low back instead. Hee EG doubt i want to have it a tube liao..

Hmm, would love to see pictures of white weddings.. dunno whether can find on the net not..

mypita

Hi Count,
I was away to BKK for shopping trip last weekend, and HB and I had fun eating, shopping and relaxing.

We ordered our red wine from a wine cellar, din get them from Shang, got a little cost savings this way.

Wishing all of you a very Happy & Prosperous New Year, let's welcome the year of the Dog!

count

Hey Kyrie,
yes i think a low-back EG will be very sexy but elegant. Love the look. In fact, i'm prob getting a low-back EG if not WG. Heh. Maybe u could try surfing Martha Stewart's websites for floral deco. Or buy the flowers annual magazine at Borders. I usually go there to browse and buy only if there is some picture i want to keep to show the florist or BS! Heh... Will let u know if i come across any all white themes in the magazines =)

Georgia, BKK is the best! The shopping and eating is just great! Only thing is the hot climate. Were ur gowns low back as well? Was it very difficult for the gowns to hold up cos of the low back? U shd be an expert since Divine specialises in low back right? Hee =)

kyrieleison

Count, hee thanks let me know when you do come across any. Martha Stewart's website? Okie, will go take a look. Yah a low back EG will be nice.
WG is usually pretty heavy so if low back, might not hold. Hee I'm also deciding on a low back EG. we can share ideas again liao.

When are you going on your trip?

teddyboyboy

You can get previous issues of martha steward, flowers annual etc from the distributor. It's located somewhere along upper serangoon area. They have other bridal magazines as well. The discounts are quite good, but I'm not sure if it's applicable to current issues.

Carkit (Fast East) Pte. Ltd.
1 Charlton Lane #01-02 CHARLTON CORNER Singapore 539631

Tel : 62821960  

count

Thanks Eileen. Will check out the place =)

Kyrie, we'll be away in the later half of March so the trip is actually quite soon. Have yet to confirm the detailed itinerary so now spending most weekends planning. And we also have a marriage prep course for feb and april so quite busy. Have u gone for urs yet? How was it?

Yes, no problems abt sharing ideas. In fact, u me and Whiteangelz shd visit Shang's florists during the 7th month. Haha. Will prob be more free during tt time so we can go down, speak to them and see what options we have. It'll be fun!

kyrieleison

Hi count, i see.. it's pretty soon. Good chance to relax too.
Yup i went for my Marriage Prep Course in August last year. Hee thought we'd go for it earlier cos at least one thing down.

hahah sure let me know when and i'll join you girls!

whiteangelz

Hi gals, been bz with cny,didnt have time to log in.

Count, I shld b going sometime this mth for a 1st trial. Going to see what's new, coz they said new designs coming in aft new year. Florist, sure, just give me a buzz.... I really worried abt decor. Seen some really nice ones, n others not so nice... have to really look at designs in mags.
Low backs are great!... but 1st have to scrub back like crazi to make it look well maintained. :)
Think i wld have overlapped of guests for both church n dinner, cant help it. Of coz, not all at both...so still wld b gettin only one AP frm most. Kinda worried abt $ for dinner. After seeing hw much consumption for red wine nowadays, its shocking. Have to really plan well now.

Kyrie, wow, u went early for ur marriage prep course... wanted to get ours done last yr, but my pastor said its way too early, so have to wait a few mths more.

Georgia, may i know which wine cellar u bought frm?

jesmineang

Count, i guess the trend now is abt red wine and they are moving real fast. Made the correct choice of not using Shang wine else big loss. I ordered from carrefour. And the guests commented that the wines are good thus that explain why the wines are gg at such fast rate.

count

Yo Whiteangelz, u're back! Have u tot of gown designs, since u're going for ur first appt?

Hey girls,
Yes it's quite worrying when u think abt the high alcohol consumption and the high cost of the dinner. Am hoping tt the shortfall won't be too much esp since the church wedding will cost quite a bit already

Jesmine, how much did u pay for ur wine? U mean after adding in corkage for outside wine, it was still cheaper than getting Shang's wine? So u've shifted into ur new home already? =)

count

Btw Jesmine, did u serve wine during the reception? Is tt why ur alcohol consumption was quite high?

What is the usual practice re this? Do most pple serve alcohol during the reception or only during the dinner?

teddyboyboy

Hi Count,

Yup. A Shang bride. AD would be 1 Oct 2006.

We also opted out of Shang housewine. Currently sourcing/tasting for suitable reds to serve for the dinner.

Whether to serve wine during reception during is purely up to the couple. I think the trend is to serve wine ~upon request~ during reception. Reason being, most people don't bring their drinks into the banquet hall, so it'll be a waste of wine. The key here is to reduce wastage. That's the tip I got from friends.

Anyone here talked to the florists yet? I'm quite tempted to visit them, but not too sure what to ask, etc. Any help?

whiteangelz

Hi kyrie, yah, we also thot of getting it done last year, but our pastor said can wait till this year... no hurry....

Hi count, yupe, m back... nope, havent thot of what design yet, still selecting... decors are like crazi.....

count

Eileen, cool! Ur AD is just before Whiteangelz! Heh. So it will be us 4 in from Oct-Dec: u, Whiteangelz, me then Kyrie

How come u're getting wine from outside? U mean their housewine is no good? I tot Shang's package has 1 bottle of wine per table so it'd be more ex to bring in, after adding corkage?

Any of u all also getting wine from outside?

Pita and verylastmin, would appreciate ur advice if any on wine and whether we shd use Shang's wine. Is it more worthwhile to take the wine tt Shang gives, and if it runs out to top up the diff by ordering more of their house wine?

Re florists i did go down to visit Dolly once, just to check out the place. She said tt we shd visit closer to the date when she may have new designs etc. But she strongly encouraged me to bring pictures of any designs i had in mind. So Eileen, i think a gd starting pt would be to look for pictures of deco u like, and cfm ur EG colour so tt u have a colour scheme for the flowers. And also, she did mention tt we shd tell her exactly how much we're prepared to top up if any. Quite nice of her, cos she said even if u only want to top up a small sum of $10 per table or none at all, she'd try her best to see what she could give us

Anyway, we're prob going to visit the florists during 7th month this yr. We could all go tog, whoever is keen. Can go see Sebastian, Dolly and Stefii

count

Kyrie and Whiteangelz
Yup went to my BS for 1st appt two wks ago. 2nd appt is next wk but we've only discussed some basic ideas abt WG. As for EG, prob sometime later when the WG is confirmed. Marriage prep was fun! We went for the first session yesterday and enjoyed ourselves. Cos we found it very enriching and helpful

Whiteangelz, when do u have to meet ur BS? What kind of designs are u thinking of?

Kyrie, urs can wait later right, cos ur PS is later? Do u have a rough idea of ur gowns so far, besides ur low-back EG? I still cannot decide on EG colour and am still searching for CS...

verylastminute

Hi Eileen,
Any particular reason you opted out of the housewine? I thought one bottle per table is included as part of the package? Did u swop it for something else?

Count,
To be honest, I didn't taste any of the house wine as I didn't drink any of the wine during my wedding. Just sipped a bit of the champagne only. But I didn't have any complaints, so I think the house wine is fine. Why would you consider not taking the house wine? Have you heard bad comments abt it? I guess when the wine runs out, you can either bring in your own and pay corkage, or use the house wine (depending what sort of a deal you can get from buying the wine outside, gotta work out the cost!).

kyrieleison

Hi girls~!

Count, yup having PS most prob in August or Sept. Still far away so my 1st appt is only in mid-march. Hmm.. will prop try on more gowns first before deciding on the best fit. Yup marriage prep course can either strengthen a r/s or break one. It really prepares one for the journey that a couple will go on once we've said our vows.

teddyboyboy

Hi verylastminute & count,

It's just our preference to use our own wine as most of the guests are pretty discerning drinkers (we think). Also a good reason to try out the various wines for "tasting" purposes. Managed to swapped the cost of the bottle against the cost of corkage.

You might just wish to try the housewine personally first before deciding. I recall it's a Hardys, but not the details. Vinotique at Queen's Road (near farrer road market) is the main distributor (i think).

Does the color of the EG help to determine the color scheme? The EG is likely (99% confirmed) to be fuschia. I find it quite tough to "imagine" what the ballroom would be like, specially when it's going to be renovated and we're like the first few couples using it (it's the start of the 8th month).

I'm quite tempted to drop by Shang every week-end to take photos of the tables/flowers/etc. ;) Anyone done that? Maybe we can share the photos.

I'm also looking for a CS. Would there be enough time to do 3 changes at the dinner (WG, CS, EG)?

We did MPC May last year. It's never too early to do it in my opinion, although it was somewhat funny when we're the only couple without a wedding date. Would encourage all to attend if possible