Shangri-la Hotel

deanaling

hi biba, how many tables did u have at Island?

will it be too cramp if i have 50 over tables at Tower?

Dilemma. don't know which one to choose... need to decide by this evening.

ger

Hi count,

Yup, l have 2 desserts. We did not pay extra as it is in our package.

The food portion is big...most of my guests are full after the 5 dish.

choc_cowgirl

Yup, the food portions are big. At the food tasting, after the braised sharks fin, I was already more than 3/4 full.

whiteangelz

did someone say shang won't have steffis next year? was looking forward to using them thou. could anyone care to show pics of either JM or Sebastian's style?

count

Hey Germ and Choc,
Thanks for the reassurance! Choc, u must eat v little! When FH saw tt u were 3/4 full after the shark's fin, he said tt i was so unlike u - cos i am a glutton! Hahah!

Whiteangelz,
Yes. The Shang contract for 2006 only has contacts for JM and Sebastian, so i suppose Steffi's is no longer tied up with Shang. Still trying to decide on my florist though, and looking ard. Cos I have a church wedding as well and will need to have flowers

Ling,
Which ballroom did u pick in the end? Sorry for the late reply, as I was on leave over the long weekend... *sheesh*

choc_cowgirl

hi count! I'm actually quite a glutton too, but the portions at the dinner are actually quite big!

When I signed up with Shang, stefii's wasn't on the list also. After a while they gave me another list of florists and stefii's was on it....confusing. In any case if you really want a different florist from the list, you can always tell the hotel, they will deduct the decor cost from your total bill for you to get your own florist, I think.

choc_cowgirl

hi count! I'm actually quite a glutton too, but the portions at the dinner are actually quite big!

When I signed up with Shang, stefii's wasn't on the list also. After a while they gave me another list of florists and stefii's was on it....confusing. In any case if you really want a different florist from the list, you can always tell the hotel, they will deduct the decor cost from your total bill for you to get your own florist, I think.

deanaling

hi count,
i picked island ballroom in the end. primarily because the dance floor takes up 4 table space. so i'll only have 51 max at tower ballroom.

finally... hotel settled. now i'm looking for PG and VG.

count

Ling,
Good for u! U'll get to enjoy the new ballroom then. When's ur AD? U getting a band for the banquet? =) Update ur details in the table?

Wah, so fast november already. Haha. 1 more yr to my AD! FInally! Long long wait! Choc, have u finished most of ur stuff already and hit the "relax" mode yet? Haven't seen Ashie in a while too. Wonder how she's doing, since u two have ADs quite close to each other ;)

choc_cowgirl

hi girls, about 3 more weeks to my AD. So much to do, but all's well so far. Time is passing really fast.
Looking forward to it as well as to the honeymoon (looking forward a bit more to the honeymoon).

ling, glad that you have settled your banquet venue.

deanaling

My details are as follows... lots of it not confirmed...

Nick Ling
ROM -
AD 7 Jul 2007
Venue Island
BS TBD
PS photog TBD
AD photog TBD
Lovenest Varsity Park

teddyboyboy

I'm a newbie here and I've been following this thread for quite some time.

A general question for all - Was there a long break before making the tentative booking and signing the contract? We've made a tentative booking in Sept for Oct next year and till now, no news from the co-ordinator. Called her once, and she said she'll email us, but of course, we didn't receive anything. I wonder if this is the norm.

The Island Ballroom would be renovated during the Chinese Seventh Month (think Aug/mid-Sep 06). Not too sure what it'll look like though. If things go well, ours would probably be one of the first few events after the renovation. Keeping my fingers crossed.

choc_cowgirl

hi eileen, usually I guess it is up to you how long til you sign the contract (unless the coordinators are really really busy, which I suspect so, this being the busy wedding season and since one coordinator left and one is almost on maternity leave), you may want to call them again. Tentative booking, they will contact you if someone else wants the same booking as well. But if you are ready to put down the deposit and sign the contract, try to see if you can make an appointment to do so?

gothique

Hi Ladies!

My PC was down the past few days (still down and I'm shopping for a new PC) but I just wanna give you an update:

I signed my contract last weekend. Melanie was really nice and professional.

Island Ballroom deposit is $10k, Tower is $7k. I guess that explains the confusion we had previously.

Anyone using live band? I'm thinking of it. Costs $1500 roughly. They have a baby grand which can be used FOC (subject to availability I understand...). I wonder if any of you play the piano out there? I'm wondering if I get a pianist, will it be boring?

Also, for the first meal usually there's a presentation or whatever you call it... any of you scraping it? I find it a little cheesy (no offence okie)... any ideas?

Lastly, for the christians out there, are you saying grace before the meal starts?

Thanks for your input in advance...

By the way Ash can you email me the table format? It's [email protected]. please ignore if you've alreay done so.

count

hey gothique,
We tot of saying grace but there will be no pastor. Prob have to ask a friend to do it, i guess. Btw, they will charge u tuning costs for teh piano - think its $120. Still considering whether to get live band.

Choc, u getting a live band or just playing music from CDs? Sure u're looking forward to honeymoon - i would be too! Lying on a nice beach, soaking in a jacuzzi with an ice-cold drink, soft fluffy pillows and nice bed... Ah...

Eileen, we went down to pay the deposit soon after making the tentative booking. Wanted to ensure we got the slot. Would love to use Island since it'll be newly renovated, but it is too huge for us, i think! welcome to the thread! =)

teddyboyboy

Hi Choc and Count,

Thanks. I think we'll just wait. Would prefer to catch them at a less busy period. We just need to look at the contract and see the terms, etc. Is it a generic T&C or specific to the requirements of the couple, e.g waiver of corkage, the dishes, etc?

During the initial meet-up, we discussed about the possibility of a kid's table at the VIP room or a function room, with/without service and left it at that. Now we'll probably need to know the costs if with service, etc. I read somewhere that it's half the cost of the normal table.

I'll need to enquire about the piano as well. It'll be nice to have some live music then

We'll inviting the celebrant to say grace during the dinner. And now another headache I just recalled - whether there'll be 2 VIP tables of 10 each or 1 VIP table of 16.

I'm also toying with the idea of a dance floor, but not too sure how it'll fit into the ballroom. It'll be fun, specially for my parents and their kakis.

I think the Island Ballroom is too big too, but my fiance likes it. We'll probably have about 55-60 tables. Hopefully it wouldn't look too bare. I'm quite tempted to have a look at a real wedding just to see the decor, etc.

deanaling

hi eileen,
i went down to pay my down payment just to secure the date. but since they've already made a tentative booking for you... it should be ok to wait. but we just wanted to be sure.

the dance floor will take up roughly 4 table places. melanie says it looks ok with 55 to 60 tables. don't need to worry about it looking bare.

hi gothique,
we're definitely saying grace before the meal. we'll be inviting our pastor. so if he's there, we'll probably get him to say grace. else, we'll get someone else. it'll be nice if we can use the piano. if u find out anything, do let me know.

choc_cowgirl

hi eileen, for the contract, it is the usual terms and conditions that are more or less the same for every couple, not able to change either. Contract may vary btwn different couples with regards to eg corkage, nights stay in suite etc. My contract did not state the menu as that is usually confirmed closer to the wedding.
Hey count, not having live music as 2 weddings that I went for, even though we were in the middle of the ballroom, we could barely hear the live jazz band playing, so save money - we are playing jazz and old sinatra love songs in the background.
Gothique, as for the first dish fanfare, it is normally incorporated to show the start of the banquet. I hate cheesy new age or vanessa mae or bond music too - after much thought, we have chosen a dance track (like those tracks on MOS albums) for that.

Wah....guestlist is a headache trying to hit our ideal number of tables and keeping an eye on muslim/veg guests.

count

Hey girls, esp Gothique and Eileen
Need a favour from u all. Any of u have the 2006 Shang package? Can email me pls? Cos i misplaced my copy with the various menus for platinum, gold and silver. Considering whether to switch dishes and upgrade... My email addie is [email protected]. Thanks in advance! Paisehz blur me must have misplaced it while packing =)

Choc, don't worry abt the guestlist. Sure it will turn out fine. Have most of ur guests RSVP-ed? How many tables do u want to have? U have many muslim and veg guests? Yes, we will prob play CDs too. Jazz and sinatra songs seem pleasant accompaniment for dinner. Went to a wedding with a band a few weeks back and FH commented tt it was a little too noisy for his liking. and since we both can't dance, and have 2 left feet, we'll prob do away with a band. don't want to risk tripping over my dress on tt day! hahah. Tho a band can be quite awesome and add some fun to the dinner!

Hey ling,
ur AD is quite some time to go! almost 1.5 years ~ still remember i was like tt when we first paid our deposit too. hope time passes faster and i can be done with this wedding stuff. while fun, i would rather just get married and start enjoying married life! hhahaha. then can travel more cos my parents don't allow us to go travelling tog

Eileen,
Just check tt the things u have bargained for or swapped (e.g. extra night's stay etc) is incorporated into the standard T&Cs. other than that, the T&Cs are quite standard. Shang shd have sent u a soft copy of the draft contract already? =)

deanaling

hi count!

yes... its a long way off. i'm really looking forward to it. looking forward to starting on my gown design, coming up with invites, gifts... can't want to get married.

shall have to get thru one year of physical separation frommy fh first. yikes!

have fun with ur preps.

ashlady

hihi...does Shang has more than 1 ballroom? If there are more than 1 wedding banquet in Shang, wld guests be confused? thanks for clarifying!

whiteangelz

hi all ladies,
I've finally secured date for next yr! Felt such a relief to get it done!!! :)

Hi ling, u sure are a well planner.... booked already for 07! Y 1yr separation frm fh?

Hi eileen, since u've already made a tentative booking with them, shld be fine. However, maybe coz they are also rather bz with weddings these few months, so if u wld like to secure date and downpay, maybe be good to juz give them a buzz n check status. Kiasu me, did that. Made a tentative for a few weeks, somehow juz wasnt sure of venue then.

ashlady, yes, Shang has 2 ballrooms. Guests wouldnt be too confused as in a way, they have separate main enterances and i believe the signages would be a rather good direction, plus they would have ushers assisting guests to respective venues. hope this helps.

hi chocolate cowgirl, hope all your preparations coming along fine! Its nearing... wishing u all the best! Enjoy!

Btw, juz wondering if there's an update on the details table?

marque

Hi all, I am a new member..
Just went down to Shang today with my fiancee and she totally fell in love with the place. Anyone knows what sort of additional perks to ask for and what they will def give?

I was really hoping that they could waive the corkage for wine..

count

Hi Mark,
I only bargained for an extra night's stay. Didn't negotiate for waiver of corkage cos they are providing 1 bottle of wine per table and if u get wine from them corkage is waived. U were thinking of bringing in ur own wine?

Choc,
Jia you k? Last week to go already and u'll be a Mrs! Hope the guest list is all worked out already. Wishing u and L a blessed marriage in advance! FH and I just celebrated our minus 1 anniversary over brunch at Four Seasons. Finally less than 365 days to go before we are "promoted" to the next level heh

Whiteangelz,
Have u settled other details already or just the hotel venue? =)

jesmineang

wow... lots of updates here. Just came back from my photoshoot and now coping with exams before i start on the intensive wedding preparations since Jan is not too far away.

deanaling

hi whiteangelz,

only reason i booked early is cos i'll be away for 1 year. company sent me to US for a course. so glad tt i managed to get the date i want. looking forward to the wedding.

marque

haha.. what does FH mean? my fiancee and I blur la..
count.. where is your extra night stay?
actually i find their rooms quite old looking..

count

Hi marque,
FH = future husband. Not too sure abt where the extra night's stay is cos i don't have the contract with me. shd be the same room as the contract i guess, cos they could not possibly expect us to shift out after the first night to another room?

we liked Shang's ballroom and their impeccable service, that's why we settled for them. we're not too particular abt hotel rooms so long as they have comfy beds and are fairly big. when are u intending to hold ur banquet and have u decided on venue?

quite rare to see a guy pop in here. wish FH was so on as well! heh

Jesmine,
Show us pictures of ur PS! =)

marque

on? well it's fun! my wifey is very busy..and she is working till late.. so I will do my part and give her all the tips!

haha.. what i meant was which room was offered in the first place.. was it in the valley wing?

thinking of july 06.. still deciding.. does anyone know melanie? jennifer passed her to us.. is she friendly?

verylastminute

Hi marque,
Melanie's my coordinator. I think she's great - very cheerful and responsible.

I think the room is not in the valley wing. More likely the garden wing.

whiteangelz

Hi Mark, yah, like count said, rare to see FH in here....hope u're getting to know more things abt marriage? :)
Think the room will depend on which package you taking - silver, gold, platinum.... n if u managed to get 2nd nite stay, then i believe it wld be the same room, as i dun think its rite for them to ask u to change after one nite. Think valley wing is for the platinum package, sory can't check, coz contract not with me now.
Waive of cockage charge depends on ur package already and hw many tables u taking, u can try asking your coordinator abt it. Which ballroom u looking at?
Melanie's my coordinator too.. n shes great! Rather helpful, thou very bz at times.

Hi count, hotel venue n AD VG done! Sourcing for AD PG... hard to find one we both agree on... everyone seems to have diff styles... n then there's the dates that they need to be available. Sory when's ur date?

Hi ling, oic... So which part of US u posted to? Must be a relief to settle at least something, coz time flies like crazi!!

shiro_ger

Hi Fellow BTB,

I am interested in holding my wedding banquet @ Shang. Would anyone has shang's wedding packages to share with me? Usually, how long should we book for the banquet in advance? For banquet in 2007, roughly when will the packages be released?

Thanks for sharing in advance.

My email addy is [email protected]

count

Hi Shirley,
Think u shd give Shang a call or drop them an email. They respond pretty fast and u can also set up an appt with them to look at the ballroom with the entire set up. Cos most of us only have the 2006 package ;)

Whiteangelz
My date is 11/11/06. Quite some time to go but it's getting closer at least. Now trying to study for my post-grad exams cos i've settled the major things already =)
What type of PG are u looking for? Need recommendations or suggestions? Heh

deanaling

hi whiteangelz,
i'll be going to california.

count,
your AD is one year away and you've settled all the major stuff already? what's considered major? all the best for ur exams.

count

lucky girl ling! california is a wonderful place! intend to go there on holiday next year too if budget permits. i've settled banquet, church, make-up artiste, PS, PG. No VG cos we are not getting one. As for church caterers and floral deco, already have a few in mind =)

Mark, have u booked ur date with any hotel yet? Shd do so soon cos it is less than a yr to go and Singaporeans are super ks when it comes to booking things... heh

jesmineang

Ger, u still here?
How much did u top up to change the fish to Red Garoupa?

I am now having a big headache choosing the dishes. Need to settle for the food tasting.

whiteangelz

Hi count, help... sure most welcome... havent settled much, except church n banquet venue n VG. PS, MUA n PS not yet. Getting worried... :-(
Wow, studyin n workin same time n managed to get all done already?.. Cool!... lucky u! All the best for ur exams!

Hey ling, congrats! CA is a great place, wich part u going? I used to travel to SF now mainly LA.

deanaling

hi whiteangelz,
i'll be going to monterey. it's 2 hours drive from SF. i think i'll probably be able to get cheaper wedding mags over there... been buying from borders & kino, and the US mags are so expensive here.

whiteangelz

ling, yah... its too ex to get frm here... got someone to bring down for me recently.... juz love the designs there.... btw, where u gettin ur WG n EG?
monterey's real nice..... very scenic....njoy while u can....

count

Ling, Monterey is where they have premium outlets for shopping right? Wah... i want to go! Me want to shop! Feeling so sian now cos i have to study for exams which are next week! I need retail therapy!

Jesmine, what exams did u finish? Realise tt quite a few of us here are post-grads etc - Choc, Ashie and me... ;) How did ur PS go? Can peek at ur Ted Wu gowns? Heh

count

Yeah, the knot is good. Whiteangelz, have u decided on ur BS yet cos u've settled the others except VG right?

Marque, u in charge of dinner banquet or what? Hahah cos FH and I have assigned tasks - I'll be doing the church while he will oversee dinner heh ;)

deanaling

Count, I know how u feel... exams! yikes. mine starts next week too. i'm looking forward to shopping at the factory outlets actually.
and the cool weather... golfing...

another thing... can't remember if i asked you before. which make-up artist, PS and PG are you using? you mentioned tt u were not getting a VG right? i'm not sure when i need to book my make-up artist.

jesmineang

Count, i just finished my last semester's exams for my part time degree course. Now can concentrate on preparing for the wedding and reno of my new place.

My PS was fun. Guess cos we din choose to have pics taken at the usual sea and greenery views so ours tend to be lifestyle and seemed abit commercialised. Hahaha.

count

Hey Ling, what exams are u taking? I'm taking a post grad law course. Using Jasmine Tiong who tied up with Sil previously. For PS, The Pond and PG, Photolanguage. I booked Jasmine cos she promised that i would be her only bride for my AD and both my photogs recommended her. Saw her work too and was impressed by them

Jesmine,
Share photos! Send to me at [email protected]!
Lifestyle and urban landscape is not too bad. FH and I are intending to do sth like tt too instead of greenery. Hoping to go for sth more arty and with more spunk! Hahah. What wedding details do u still have to sort out, besides the dishes? Hee

blurlass

Hello Ladies
I am new to this forum, considering shang as the possible venue for my wedding. I read that some ladies here have already taken your pre-wedding shots. Could you share with me as i am also looking out for photographers? Many Thanks in advance.

Jesmine
May i view your pictures please? Can drop me a mail at [email protected].

deanaling

hi count, i'm doing a masters in engineering. i know a couple of pple who are taking the bar exams this time round too. were u from nus?

is jasmine tiong part of the sil package? i'm not sure who i can choose... and I don't know the styles of each MUA. i'm more for the natural look. any idea?

wow! the pond is expensive. i heard they charge $5K for actual day... i have someone in mind for AD photoshoot already. but he can't confirm my booking as yet. still looking around for PS. am also considering overseas shoot.