Shangri-la Hotel

gothique

ling - hey Jessica told me $7k... ops now i have to check with Melanie again. I know what you mean about the pinch! Getting married is expensive!

Ladies - I just got back from a short diving trip in Phuket. Phuket is like totally recovered from the Tsumani but not the Phang Nga province... they very poor thing.

Biba - you checked with Shang regarding the restriction for photoshots? Anyone else thinking of doing PS at Shang? I'm thinking of doing that, please let me know if you have had the experience... thanks.

Ashie - can email me the template? it's [email protected] thanks!

biba8169

Gothique,

Yes,I did check with the restrictions. But you can confirm with them once again,in case there's any changes to current ones. One of my gal friend juz had her PS there but she commented there not much spots. Maybe you can pop by to have a look? Or ask your PS PG,they shd have been there?
But you can have a quick one there & go to other nice locations for more shots?
Are you going to have photos taken at Shang during your AD? If so, you can keep dat for your AD?

count

Hey girls
Long time no see! Not feeling well and busy at work so seldom log in. We put down a deposit of $7k but we signed up in July so perhaps tt was before the change in policy?

Cutekoala, u are not KS! We booked Shang 1.5 yrs in advance! Hahaha. In fact wanted to book earlier but FMIL couldn't decide on a date. Welcome here anyway, care to give us ur details so Gothique can update?

Biba, when is ur AD? Quite blur cos no table of details =)

Gothique, actually i think u may want to consider taking photos at Shang on AD instead, if there are not many photo-worthy places in the hotel. Otherwise, the PG may not have time to finish up the PS in a day and u have to visit less venues? We'll prob do that tho we haven't checked out Shang to see if there are any interesting places...

jessxian

hey kyrie...know me?? u book shangri la for wedding dinner?the service good or not me also looking for venue very headache...which bridal boutique u sign up?

kyrieleison

Hi Jess,

Yup i rem you. Yah i have booked Shang for my dinner next year. I signed up with GHA (Tamp). Shang's service ah.. the coordinator's been great so far.. other than that, i haven't had much liasing to do with them since my AD is in Dec next year.

What are the hotels you have shortlisted?

choc_cowgirl

Wah, the deposit has surely increased. Biba, I chose design 4, which design did you choose? When is your AD? I'm working with Jo as well, so far so good.

whiteangelz

To those who's AD is round the corner.... relax...take it easi... dun stress out....

Did someone say the deposit has increased? Oh no! this is based on what?

M still considering.... sory but u got info frm?

jessxian

Hi kyrie,

Me shortlist shang, swissotel the stamford, pan pac, crown, mariott, hyatt, hilton, sheraton, conrad, intercontinental, new park, orchard hotel, regent and few others but so many to choose fm...duno which one is gd...y nvr contact me i intro a very gd BS to u ma....my rom was perfectly done without extra cost by my coordinator....

deanaling

hi whiteangelz,
melanie old me about the $10K deposit that i need to pay to secure my date. but my wedding is in 2007. maybe 2006 is still $7K. i'm not sure.

biba8169

Hi choc,

Me not surprised by their change in deposit esp after its tied up wif The Link ya. The wedding package has increased too from ours. My AD 21.12. I've chosen design 1.Design 4 is the red card w/double happiness as centre row,w/ivory organza ribbon?
So,how's josephine? Is she nice & accomdating juz like dolly? For chair sash,who is doing? Is it florist or hotel? Any idea?
I hope she can deliver more so dat I can make a choice b/w the two.
Wow,you must have completed most of the stuff ya? How's music for the dinner? Settle? Jazz/classical?

Whiteangelz,
You can check with any co-ordinator on the deposit req,shd be no prob.They are helpful.

gothique

Biba - Florist is doing the sash.

All - The last i checked it's $7k. Hmm, will keep an alert on this.

Lastly, my ex-colleagues had their D and D at Shang and they said it sucked. Because there wer e not enough servers and also they hired china / burmese etc and their english was very bad and they didn't know how to serve properly, keep spilling stuff on the table, etc. My friend asked for a coke and the china waiter didnt understand, she had to say "ke-le"!!! Did anyone check with Shang how many servers to one table and also whether it's permanent staff/ regular temp staff (ie they have experience though they are part time) or ad hoc people?? I'm quite worried about this now.....

gothique

by the way gals thanks for the info on PS. Think I will skip Shang in that case. Any of you taking PS in church? I'm thinking of that. or are you saving it for AD as well?

choc_cowgirl

Hi biba, like goth said, the florist is doing the sashes. Is design 1 the cream coloured one? Yes design 4 is the red one. Josephine so far has been nice, accomodating somewhat, but the more you ask for, the price also increases. Check both stefii's and dolly out.
See who you prefer. Music half settled, for the solemnization - bossa nova and for the dinner more romantic music like sinatra and a bit of jazz.

As for the service at Shang, could it be that the difference in price for D&D & weddings can result in a difference in service? My colleagues & fiance recently attended 2 different wedding dinners at tower ballroom less than a month ago - comments about the staff were that they were experienced and professional, and my colleagues are quite high class and demanding. The ratio of servers to tables is 2 servers to 3 tables....can increase if you wanna pay.

biba8169

Hi choc,
Yes,design 1 is cream color w/organza at the side. after gg to stefii,i shd be able to make my choice. I have made another appt w/dolly after Josphine's.oh i agreed,want more gotta pay more!
So u bot the bossa nova CD-the one orangy in color? Me will go classical/jazz during the dinner. More of Classical in the day...
Are u liaising directly w/Mel now?

Gothique,
I shared Choc's view on the waitress thingie. But I understand that if the banquet is large & there's not enuf banquet teams to serve all, they may engaged waitress outside of Hotel. However,they have high expectation for their banquet staff & I believe they will do a gd job. My sis-in law had her D&D at tower too,no complaints so far....You may wan to cfm with the co-ordinator if you are not uncomfortable?

jessxian

Hi ling,

hee...true hor my shortlist isnt short at all tts y i headache now...i wan classy place with good food and good service and nice suite budget bout 800 per table....im a Ritz Couture bride, the BS which TCS shot few shows("meng zai shou li" is one of the show) and there is one coming up in Nov featuring the shop. The service and quality is very good and the place is very elegantly done up if you are interested let me know i give u e contact number. Me no commission one hee jus hope that every bride is happy preparing their wedding cos some brides end up with very bad BS and have bad experience

kyrieleison

Hi Jess, hmm i thought u're with Whitelink? You wanted to introduce me to whitelink then rem? Change already ah? Hee yah your 'shortlist' is very long leh.

Shang is a nice place and comments have been good so far. Do consider it but you've got to be quick if you really want Shang cos lots of dates are already taken for 2006.

When's your AD?

jessxian

Hee yap change already found that Ritz photography n gowns nicer and service very personal and very nice people,the photos taken for my ROM is very nice and the whole thing was very well prepared.They were shifting so the place was quite messy so the coordinator offered to ask the MUA to come my house without extra charge and she even came personally to deliver my gown and help me chanage!And the bouquet she arranged was very nice

choc_cowgirl

hi biba, I have the orange cover bossa nova compilation you mentioned, and another 3 or 4 bossa nova albums. Yeah I'm liasing directly with mel now.

kyrieleison

Hi Jess, i see.. glad you're happy with your BS. Anyway go down to Shang and take a look at the ballroom. If you're happy with it, you might want to contact them earlier.. like what ling said, Melanie made a tentative booking for her for 2007 although it's not open for booking yet. But do take a look at your other shortlisted hotels too.

2007 ah.. not exactly that far either.. before you know it, it'll be 2006 already. Have you decided on a date yet? Early 2007 or the later part?

jessxian

tentatively we decide to have it in june 2007...so now already started sourcing....where u go for this yr psle marking??thank god its finally over im recorder again so boring

jesmineang

The deposit depends on how many tables you getting (min for that ballroom) and the menu you choosing (silver, gold and ...). Mine is island and we booked based on 55 tables on silver menu so perhaps that why our deposit is more than 10k.

verylastminute

Hi fellow shang brides, just wondering what made some of you choose JM over Stefii's? I met up with stefii's sometime back and thought they were quite flexible in terms of the centrepieces if I didn't want to upgrade (though still very very limited number of blooms!). But having read the not so good reviews about them, I decided to meet up with JM too. I found her completely inflexible if I didn't want to upgrade. So now I'm torn about which to go for.

choc_cowgirl

hi there verylastminute, I think JM has nice centrepieces that can be like purely crystal, or those dangling round glass thingys containing tea lights. Maybe you caught dolly in a very busy time. Most of her customers do not upgrade. I guess it all depends on who you think can create the decor that you like.

choc_cowgirl

hi there verylastminute, I think JM has nice centrepieces that can be like purely crystal, or those dangling round glass thingys containing tea lights. Maybe you caught dolly in a very busy time. Most of her customers do not upgrade. I guess it all depends on who you think can create the decor that you like.

ger

I'm back from my wedding. Steffi's did a very gd job and alot of guests was commented that the decor is very nice. As for the food....do not worry...feedback eas very good. Bascially, everyone left happily.

verylastminute

Hi germ, great that your wedding went well! Also glad to know Stefii's did a good job. Just wondering if you went with the standard package or did you top up for your decor?

count

hey germ,
very happy ur AD went well! can always trust Shang to do a good job! share photos when they're out ok? U're a Ted Wu bride right? Then can see ur pretty gowns. Btw, what dishes did u select for ur banquet? =)

Just realised tt for 2006 contract, steffi's is not included? only got Sebastien's and JM... Hmmm....

Now can count down to Choc and Ashie already. Haha... U two are next right? =)

deanaling

hi germ,
congrats & thanks for your assurance. do tell us more about your experience okie? then we'll know what to look out for. did u top up for your decor? which ballroom did u use? tell us more... bridal suite? service? blah... also read from somewhere that u r a ted wu bride. can i have a look at ur gown? still not sure whether to go with sil or tw.

I'll probably be signing my contract with ShangriLa this weekend. is there anything i should negotiate for? anything to look out for? still a bit undecided abt which ballroom to take. am at 40 plus region. close to border of tower & island capacity. not sure whether to go up or down.

count

ling,
i was in the same position as u. have something like 40-45 tables. can go up to 55 but we decided not to as we wanted to keep it as small as possible. think u shd decide whether ur guest list may expand by quite a bit, and the fact tt island ballroom may look quite empty if u have 60 tables only. entirely up to u though =)

ger

Firstly pics not ready as wedding was last sat. I used the island ballroom.

Me only top up abit for the decor. I uses the gate like stand for the stage ( if u flip thru' steffi's photo album, u will sure to see it ). Uses white lily,cream roses with small pink and liliac flowers.

I did top up for my menu.Maybe you girls can tell which dish you hve in mind and see whether is it in my menu.

As for the suite....its quite normal but it has a big toilet...its gd enug.

The banquet staffs service is very gd...thumbs up for them.

count

Germ dearie,
Melanie told me tt we could switch dishes btw teh various menus, except for the abalone and shark's fin w/o additional cost. So would appreciate if u tell me what dishes are good and we'll ask to try them too!

When are u going on honeymoon? Tot u shd be off on holiday 1 week after wedding and enjoying marital bliss hee =)

choc_cowgirl

hi ling, I agree with count on the fact that tower ballroom may be a better choice if you are fairly confident that you won't have more than 55 tables. If the island ballroom does not have enough tables, it will be quite empty.

germ dear, I thought we won't see you until quite some time as I thought that you may be on honeymoon already. Going anywhere?

ger

Hi count,

Ya, changing of fish and shark fins need top up. That is the 2 dish that we top up for. Heard from my guests that the fish is very fresh, the abalone is nice...another nice dish is the chicken. The guests like the oriental petit four very much exp the 1 with green tea.

No, not going honeymoon yet...probably next yr...2 busy with work

deanaling

I'm drawn to Island ballroom cos of their high ceiling... and the renovations. heard tt they'll be renovating it mid 2006. but yes... will be more cosy in Tower. shall have to discuss with FH.

Germ, how many tables did u have for Island ballroom?

choc_cowgirl

Which chicken dish did you choose germ? the herbal ginseng chicken? Roast chicken? oriental petit four is dessert?
How's newlywed life so far?

ger

I had 60 tables and 2 reserves. Rest assure that it will not look empty. Biba maybe able to comment.

Yup, shang will be renovating the island ballroom next yr and tink it will be very grand. U shd book island if u can. I'm sure it will be very nice and grand.

We chose Crispy Mongolian Chicken "Pik Fong Tong" Style.Ya, oriental petit four is our 2nd dessert...its some chinese pastry.

Ok, l guess....l hate the part when l need to do washing.

count

Hey germ,
Which fish dish did u pick? How come my choice of dessert does not have oriental petit four? Seem to only have the usual like red bean cream and mango pudding...

Where are u going for ur honeymoon? If u don't like washing, do the cooking! Then get hubby to wash up! Both my and FH hate washing so don't know how. & we both hate scrubbing the toilet! Haha. Will prob ask him to do it cos he knows how to scrub the toilet while i don't! Ah... the benefits of army training in making our guys do housework and cleaning!

Yes yes, Island will be renovated next yr, so it shd look great! Too bad i don't have the capacity for such a huge wedding... Heh

ger

Hi count,

I change the fish to Steamed Fresh Red Garoupa Hong Kong Style.

Oh we have the normal double boiled lily bud...maybe our package is different.

biba8169

Germ,

Yes, the layout of the tables in the ballroom looks fine,neither too cramp,nor empty. Perfect.
Wow, the newly renovated ballroom must be very romantic & grand looking!
Too bad,i oso dun have the chance to use it....
The mongolian Chicken "Pik Fong Tong" is nice, we had for food tasting & everyone simply juz love it.
oriental petit four is wat kind of dim sum?

count

Germ,
u mean u had 2 desserts - double boiled lily bud and oriental petit fours? how much extra did u have to pay? cos i'm considering whether to switch just my dessert to a western style dessert

btw girls, how were the food portions? were they sufficient to make the average guy feel full? quite concerned cos my parents insist tt relatives must feel full after the dinner!