Shangri-la Hotel

jesmineang

Count,
yah, quite lucky to get something OTR but then need alterations to make it fit...

I haven't get to see the EG design yet. Ted will prepare 3 designs for me to choose from.

count

Jesmine u lucky girl! AD coming soon and got nice OTR gown! *envy* Wish that our AD would come sooner. FH was away for a weekend and we missed each other so much...

Choc Cowgirl,
Our FHs met in HK. Did FH tell u? How's work - busy? =)

Schnauzie, u must show us photos of ur AD next time (though it's a long time away). I love FS! Wonderful ballroom and place, just like Shang. These were the only 2 hotels that made me go "Wow" when i visited hee

jesmineang

Count...
mine still gt 5 months down the road... hope i can cope with work, study and wedding preparation. Wedding date was brought forward ma... so schedule is tight... maybe cos me and FH can't wait to be married... cos next yr will be our 9th yr together.

count

Jesmine...
Wow! 9 years is really long. Really amazed at couples who manage to stay in love for such a long time... Did u meet ur FH while studying, since u two have been tog for so long? Hee, me very ba gua hor?

Where and what course are u studying? Me quite similar cuz I'm also working and studying. Wedding preps have yet to kick in proper, so not that tiring =)

choc_cowgirl

Hi there!
Yes count, my fiance told me that he met yours. Work is always busy, and i'm playing computer games too....so less time to chat here in forum. Anyway getting a bit more kancheong....only 3 plus months left....starting to organize things more closely

count

Wah... Envy u Choc Cowgirl, that u can play computer games. Me still have to work and go for classes... All the best with ur preps k? Don't stress - stay cool and sleep more, so u will look pretty on AD! Hee

jesmineang

Count,
we been together since his JC days. When i was 16 and him 17...

I am doing a part time degree with MIS. Bachelor of commerce...

count

Sharlyn,
Have sent u the wedding package. Sorry but cannot provide photos of the ballroom, as my AD is far away in Nov next yr. U could try asking some of the other BTBs such as Pleasance, if she is still ard, and willing to show u. She has beautiful photos to share...

Good luck in ur search for a hotel, and keep us posted on how it goes! Would recommend Melanie or Wendy if u want to make an appt to visit Shang =)

count

Hi cheery gal,
Sorry for the late reply. I have deleted the information from my computer and only have hard copies. So sorry abt that... U can give Melanie a call and ask for the package. She's really nice and prompt in her responses

Apologies abt being unable to provide the wedding package. If u have other questions, do ask and we'll try to answer them =)

jesmineang

hi girls... for those who are using ted wu as their bs. Can i know if they provide the accessories for us? Like necklace, earrings, hair accessories and so on?

ash_

hi gals, im back!!!! yippiiiiieee.... finally handed in my thesis! phew.. *wipes sweat from forehead*

anyway, really sorry to all who have been waiting for the table but i really have been worked to the bone.. that coupled with our house-selling/buying.. but anyway here it is! err... only three of us leh.. germ? jesmine? kyrie?

oh no.. im getting a little stressed.. seems like so many thgs still undone! choc cowgirl, think we're considering a HM similar to wat u described - finding some beach resort to laze ard.. we're thinking of the maldives too. but the resorts tt i think are nice very ex leh...
u noe of any nice, reasonable-priced ones can pls share?? im giving up on hawaii cos of the long flight.. wanna just go somewhere near to relax.. you?? decided alr?

hey count, the villa that u said built over the water in maldives is super nice.. but super ex!! think the hilton one is 1k per night.. n that's in USD!! *faint* i noe cos that's wat i had set my eyes upon years ago as the perfect HM location.. but after finding out the price guess ive to wave it goodbye.. *sobs* where you planning to go?

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">ROM</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">venue</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PS photog</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD photog</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Choc cowgirl</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">26 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">27 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tower</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Silverlining</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photolanguage (Ray Ong)</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">meng &amp; assoc. (Imagegarden)</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Telok Kurau</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Ashie</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tower / Toa Payoh Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">ChrisLing</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">ChrisLing</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Katong</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Count</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">11 Nov 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">11 Nov 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tower / Paya Lebar Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">tbc</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">tbc</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">tbc</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pinnacle @Duxton</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

deanaling

hi ashie,

guess what? i'm probably signing up with sil and having my dinner at shang. we have exactly the same BS and banquet combi. u r way ahead in terms of preps though. i'm meeting shang and sil on 10 sep. so exciting. is ur gown ready? any pics to share?

count

Hello Ashie *waves*
We didn't forget abt u. But quite busy lately so have not been logging on much. Maldives is fantastic but too expensive. We are probably going to go to Four Seasons Bali - 2 nights each at Jimbaran Bay and Sayan, with another 2 nights at some normal hotel (cos we will be spending time ard Bali so must save $!). Very broke already from paying for all the wedding things... Will update u when we cfm the BS and PG in the next fortnight or so.

Finally u can start on wedding preps! Must sleep and rest more, so can be radiant and pretty on ur AD! Choc Cowgirl too! ;)

count

Ling,
I'm going to sign up with Sil this weekend or next too! *hi 5* Who's ur designer? Mine is Heath... When is ur AD? Provide details so Ashie can update the table!

deanaling

hey count,
i just went to bali a few months back. just a short getaway. there's this seafood dinner u got to go for at jimbaran bay. they put the tables on the beach, facing the sea... sea breeze on ur face, live band, very fresh seafood. i went there twice in my short trip. really enjoyed it.

i haven't fixed my date yet... probably going to be mid 2007. am starting preps now cos i'll be away the whole of 2006. i'll be meeting minda on 10 sept. really looking forward to that. do u have any idea what u want ur gown to be like? i haven't figured out. :p

choc_cowgirl

hi there ash, count and everyone else! I have already booked my honeymoon....going to bali for almost 2 weeks. Booked accoms at a private luxury villa, and our 2nd day will revolve around a honeymoon 6 hour spa package.
) looking forward to it!
Glad that you are finally done with your thesis, ashie!

kyrieleison

Hi Ashie!

Here's my details:

1) ROM and AD: 09 Dec 2006
2) Venue: St Francis of Assisi
3) BS: Golden Horse Awards (GHA Tamp)
4) PS Photography: GHA
5) AD Photography: Eulee
6) Lovenest: Pinnacle@Duxton

Thanks a million!

Ashie, you planning to go for your HM straight after your wedding?
Hee i'm also in the midst of doing my research on nice locations. Will prob be really broke after the dinner at Shang's. So..
keeping my fingers crossed on the Ang Pows! Haha Anyway it's still a pretty long way more. Worrying bout my gown design for the time being.

count

wah chocolate cowgirl,
ur honeymoon package sounds like sth i'd want to do. which resort are u going to? must feedback to us girls cos it seems like many of us are headed to bali too!

ling dear,
haven't decided on what i want my gown to be like. prob tulle cos i want the girly/princessy look... btw, u know that Jasmine Tiong is retiring in the middle of next yr and won't tie up with Sil anymore right? =)

ashie and choc and the other girls,
any recommendations for good MUAs? who are u all using? ;)

choc_cowgirl

hi count and everyone, I actually booked a villa (there are 6 in the same row) overlooking the cliffs at uluwatu. It comes with spa packages, personal butler, driver, chef etc. I'm going to HM straight after the wedding.

My MUA is Ivy, she works with bridal veil and silverlining....had my trial, no complaints.

count

Jasmine is a MUA who ties up with Ted Wu and Sil (as far as i know). She's a great MUA if u want the natural look and is quite established... =)

Have u booked ur wedding venue or is it too early since it's in 2007?

deanaling

hi count,

thanks for the info. i'm for the natural look... any other good MUA that ties up with Sil?

i haven't confirmed my venue yet. probably ShangriLa.

ger

I was flipping thru the wedding mag with Glen n Jamie on the front page and noticed that in their article, it stated that their wedding is juz in time after shang's renovation work on their ballroom (Island) (Tower ballroom had its renovation done up months ago).

Is it true that Island ballroom is undergoing some renovation? The last time i went down to shang, i only noticed that shang is doing some reno along the passage way to gits ballroom.

count

Ling,
My photographer strongly recommended Jasmine, although he said that Gin is not bad as well. As for the other MUAs, no one seems to have heard of them so i'm not too sure myself. Which explains my dilemma! =)

Germ,
Last i heard, Island Ballroom will be renovated during the long 7th month next year, and be ready in time for the lunar 8th month... Shd call Shang to be doubly sure though, as there were some changes in plan to the timing of the renovation the last time =)

deanaling

Count,
So u decided on your photographer already? who are you getting?

As for MUA, when do we have to decide? if the MUA is popular, better to decide fast so that we can get the dates we want right?

deanaling

Going by my guest list, I'l probably be using Tower Ballroom. But my wedding is only in mid 2007. Am wondering if it'll look old by then. Any comments?
Also, did all of you get Shang to do everything... including decor and stuff? Or you got your own florist in?
Any idea what rooms they will be giving us? Anyone managed to get additional night's stay, or anniversary stay?

ger

Hi count,

Went down to shang yesterday and confirmed that they did not renovate the Island ballroom. It will be done next yr. They have completed the hallway leading to the ballrooms.

ash_

hi ling,

oh really?!?! yayy!! finally found someone from shang who signed up with sil too.. hehe.. erm, my gown's not really ready yet.. still got some changes.. have only gone for 1 fitting so far but i already LOVE it to bits!! hehehe... ok, will try to get some pics the next time to u/l. enjoy ur 1st apptmt!

btw, got details to share so i can add u into our lil table?

hi count,

oh u too?!? hehehe.. my designer is minda. she's very professional.. able to tell me wat will look good wat wont, n also the practical aspects of designs tt i choose.. i feel v safe in her hands..

hey, we're thinking of going bali too!! act the cost of going to maldives will depend on the resort.. super exp if looking at banyan tree or hilton.. at least 1k per nite.. but which is wat we were looking at.. sighz. you too is it?? was considering fiji islands but heard its hurricane-prone in dec-jan so i think better not.. hehe..

i'll be using freddy for my make-up. he's really really really good. seen him at work for 3 of my frens n they looked really great! he can do both drama or au natural.. and fast! but his schedule is super tight so must book early. i told minda late so i got to go last on my AD
but i still think it's worth it. or ask ur designer for recommendation..

hi kyrie,

no prob! hey.. u be getting married a year after me! hehe... yah, dec quite diff to plan for HM. im going imm aft the wedding.. wanted to postpone it st can go europe in spring.. but fiance says no

u got any suggestions?

hi choc cowgirl,

sorry for sounding silly.. but where's uluwatu?? sounds like a great HM ure gonna have!!

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">ROM</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">venue</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PS photog</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD photog</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">choc cowgirl</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">26 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">27 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tower</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Silverlining</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ray Ong (Photolanguage)</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">meng &amp; assoc. (Imagegarden)</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Telok Kurau</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Ashie</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tower / Toa Payoh Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">ChrisLing</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">ChrisLing</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Katong</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Count</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">11 Nov 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">11 Nov 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tower / Paya Lebar Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">tbc</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">tbc</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">tbc</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pinnacle @Duxton</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Kyrie</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">9 Dec 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">9 Dec 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">- / St Francis of Assisi</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Golden Horse Awards</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">GHA</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Eulee</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pinnacle @Duxton</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

choc_cowgirl

hi ashie! so nice to hear from you again. How are your preparations coming along?
uluwatu is an area in Bali, southern part. Decided not to stay in the crowded touristy areas, cos HM should be relaxing and quiet. Beautiful private villas tend to cost quite a lot, but my fiance and I insist on one rather than just a hotel room/suite. Going for my photoshoot next week. Hope all goes well.

ash_

hi choc cowgirl,

sigh, preps have just abt started.. but yet to feel the stress yet.. still quite excited abt evthg
only stress now is my job interview coming up! hehe...

hey, do u mind sharing which resort u booked and how much it cost per nite? it's really appealing, considering the fact tt you dont have to travel for ten hours to get there unlike most other places! like u, my fiance n i are looking for a resort to simply chill out after the wedding.. thanks in advance

wow, ur PS next week??? so fast hor.. i rem when we first chatted we were just deciding on our venue n BS.. time really flies.. here's wishing u an enjoyable PS with good weather! n rem to come back to announce how it went..

choc_cowgirl

hi ashie, we booked the villa online from this reputable group of villas - http://www.balivillas.com/ they have villas ranging from 3 star to 5 stars. Also received a HM 6 hour spa session, so looking forward to it!
Not as ex as some of the resorts especially when I want a 2 week HM!
When is your PS ashie?

kyrieleison

Thanks Ashie!

Hee my AD is exactly 1 year and a day after yours.
Yah think you got to start booking your HM soon cos since it's Dec.. lots of families are bringing kids out for holidays too.

Anyway just to check with you all. Shang is pretty out of the way right? I was thinking of catering a bus service from the MRT stn to the hotel for guests without cars. Do you all think it's feasible to do that?

choc_cowgirl

hi there kyrie, yeah shang is quite out of the way - no mrt station or bus stop nearby. I was hoping that the guests who don't drive will just cab to the hotel. I guess if most of your guests don't have cars esp your relatives, then a bus may be a good idea altho the nearest mrt is orchard....quite busy area for bus pickup? Most of the time when pple book buses, it is mostly for sentosa hotels.

kyrieleison

Hey choc cowgirl! Wow that's fast reply!

I'm pretty worried about low turn up rate if the guests find it troublesome to get to the hotel. Hmm.. if i were to book a bus, how many services should there be? Like two different timings? Or just one? Then have to RSVP earlier and all too.. pretty troublesome on my side but hope to make it easier for the guests. Maybe got to let them know that the bus will leave at the specific timing..

Hmm.. i'm still wondering if i should have this.

choc_cowgirl

Hi kyrie, quite free at work today
Maybe since you are having all on the same day kinda wedding, can arrange for your relatives to return to your parents place after your service and then bus pick up from there?

kyrieleison

Choc cowgirl,

Hmm.. relatives side not a problem. It's more for friends and all. Some people were tellin me that i don't have to do that. It's easy to just catch a cab or take a slow walk..

count

hello all!
Looks like quite a few of us are considering Bali. Cool! Just like Choc, we want a private villa to ourselves and were considering 2 nights each at Four Seasons Jimbaran Bay and Sayan. But it may cost a lot. Choc, ur Bali deal sounds good and much cheaper. We'll prob need to save a bit esp after the huge bill for the banquet...

Hoping that my AD will come soon! Kind of irritating sometimes when u realise that pple are getting engaged later but marrying earlier than u. By our AD, we'd have been engaged for almost 2.5 yrs! Ah well, we have to wait for good things

Ashie, what type of job are u looking for? How was the interview? Quite excited for Choc and Ashie, since ur PS and AD are coming =)

choc_cowgirl

hey count, *wink* you still have lotsa time to save for your Four Seasons HM

I know how it feels to get a little impatient...don't worry...time will fly pass and then your wedding will be here!

jesmineang

Hi Ashie,
my details below...
nick: jesmineang
ROM: 7th Jan 06
AD venue: Shangri-la
BS: Ted Wu
PS photog: Tucky's
AD photog: Tucky's
Lovenest: Strathmore Ave

count

Choc,
How was ur PS? Show us photos if u have ok? Hee. Hope tt my AD will come round soon. Well, at least it's mid-Sept already so there is slightly over a yr to go... U must be quite busy with wedding preps during this time, since ur AD is drawing near? =)

Jesmine,
When's ur PS? Loved Ted Wu's gowns that were showcased at the Fullerton show... Hee. Btw, who's going to do ur make-up? Envy u cos u get to pick btw Kenneth Lee and Jasmine Tiong who I think are among the best MUAs...

choc_cowgirl

hi count, my PS is in 2 days time. I'm trying to zen out, so that won't be stressed and won't get any pimples.
My fiance is back in sg and our preps are starting to get really busy. Time flies, before you know it, it will be your turn, dear! Maybe we should meet up, you and your fiance and me and mine :p

Ashie....we still haven't meet up yet *chuckle*

count

Hi choc,

No problem. We shall let the guys set up sth, since us girls are busy. Rest well for ur PS, and eat more healthy food. Sure tt u two will look good for PS now tt u can finally see each other in S'pore and need not miss each other so much! Am just counting down to the -1 year to our AD now. Hopefully, it will fly by! Hee

Show us photos after they're out k? Curious to see how ur gowns look like!

ash_

hi choc cowgal,

oh my goodness, your PS is only 2 days away?!?! so exciting! yah, must come back n share pics with us! mine's 14th oct.. still some time to go.. hehe. yah lor, we havent met up yet! hey, maybe aft ur PS.. cos now i job-hunting so not constrained by lab anymore! hehe..

yah, agree with u that HM shd have a certain level of privacy.. im looking at resorts too.. will let u noe when ive decided!

hi kyrie,
yup yup.. must decide soon cos dec really peak period.. evthg more ex also
hey u be facing same prob as me next year hor.. ok, i'll try to give u as many tips as i can aft im done with mine!

hi count,
hehe.. thanks for being excited for choc n me.. wedding preps have been fun so far.. havent felt the stress yet n hoping to keep it that way!

the interview i went for was for a research job in a research institute.. cos i did a post-grad in engineering so this' a natural path to take. BUT im also exploring non-engg jobs.. so still searching n applying.. u just grad right? got job alr?

jesmine,
sorry i got to rush off to meet my bro now.. update ur profile tom k?! u take care...

count

Ashie dear,
U must take care and sleep more too cos u're having ur PS in a month! I just graduated and have been working for 2 mths already. Working as a legal officer in the govt and studying at the same time. Hope u find a job soon! =)

I want to stay in a private villa too for HM! Am sure it will be fun! Hee hee

choc_cowgirl

Thanks count and ashie for being excited for me. Just finished ironing.....no one ever mentioned ironing
These are outfits that I'm bringing from my home - casual outfit and a 2nd cheongsum.

ash_

hi count,
hehe.. thanks. will def try to eat more healthily n drink more water n sleep more..

wow, u just graduated n studying alr?!?! working some more.. wah.. really take my hat off you.. good lah, hardworking now, enjoy later. btw, wat are u studying? part-time law is it?

hi choc cowgirl,
woah.. PS tomorrow?!

really so exciting hor.. evthg's HAPPENING NOW!! wow, u got so many changes.. im still wondering wat i want to change into other than my WG n EG

hi jesmine,
updated! pls check

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">ROM</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">venue</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PS photog</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD photog</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Choc cowgirl</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">26 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">27 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tower</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Silverlining</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ray Ong (Photolanguage)</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">meng &amp; assoc. (Imagegarden)</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Telok Kurau</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Ashie</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tower / Toa Payoh Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">ChrisLing</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">ChrisLing</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Katong</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Jesmineang</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">7 Jan 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">7 Jan 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tower</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ted Wu</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tucky’s</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tucky’s</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Strathmore Ave</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Count</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">11 Nov 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">11 Nov 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tower / Paya Lebar Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">tbc</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">tbc</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">tbc</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pinnacle @Duxton</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Kyrie</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">9 Dec 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">9 Dec 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">- / St Francis of Assisi</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Golden Horse Awards</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">GHA</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Eulee</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pinnacle @Duxton</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>