Shangri-la Hotel

jesmineang

Pleasance, my friend who is working at Hyatt recommend Melanie but i am not sure if we are referring to the same person though. Am arranging to meet up to further discuss the package. Actually i am deciding between Ritz and Shang and it seemed like Ritz can get more corkage waiver and so on but for Shang, we will have to pay $30 each bottle. Based on the family's prev weddings, the guests consumed alot of wine. 144 bottles... that means i will have to pay alot for the corkages.

kyrieleison

I have made a tentative booking with Shang for Dec 06. My co-ordinator is Melanie. She's great!
Will be making my deposit soon.

Wanted to go for a few other hotels but already taken up for the date my FH and I wanted. After seeing the ballroom at Shang last weekend, we've decided on it.

I'm taking the Tower Ballroom and going for the min no. of tables.

I'm not planning to have too much wine. Just the guaranteed free one per table. Will just top up on the beer instead.

kyrieleison

Just a thought.. how much are you all prepared to 'lose' or should i say pay (minus ang baos and stuff) for the wedding dinner at Shang?

I'm trying to calculate how much i should put aside for honeymoon.

verylastminute

Hi, I'm new here. I'm about to finalise my banquet with Shang, but just wondering how the rest of you go about with the florist. Have not read any comments about the 2 florists that Shang works with and can't find a website for me to check out either. Do the rest of you engage your own florists? And do they work in conjunction with the Shang ones or how? Hope someone here can give me some advice. I'm really quite lost. Thanks.

pleasance

hi jasmine,

i bought my wines from the shang. the wine is great and i dun have to pay for cockage. Maybe u can consider doing that.

Hi very last minute,
i would recommend J & M, Dolly. she is more creative in her designs.

verylastminute

Hi Pleasance, thanks.

Was looking at their wine list and they seem rather pricey? Probably more than corkage+price at which you purchase from outside?

choc_cowgirl

Hi there verylastminute, I have met up with all 3 of the recommended florists - sebastian, dolly from jm bridal and stefii's that Shang works with, each have their good and bad. Will be topping up on the decor which is why I'm doing a lot of advance research on them. If you are interested drop me an email at [email protected].

kyrieleison

I have booked Shang for 9 Dec 2006.
Still a long way to go so haven't thought of florist and all yet. But think it'll be good to meet up with all 3 of them before deciding on the decor.

ash_

hi kyrie,
ur wedding's almost exactly one year after mine!

choc cowgal,
hey gal.. how're preps coming along? still busy with work?

hi verylastminute,
so sorry for the late reply.. hope it still helps - personally i think there's no need to worry wrt the florists tt shang ties up with. if ure want to see their actual works, then i sugg u pop by the ballroom if u happen to be at or near shang on sat/sun nights to take a look at the ballroom decor. if u really like wat u see, can ask ur coord which florist it was who did up the place for that particular nite.

anyway gals, i went to kaypo last weekend after my dinner at the line.. and the ambience was just - wow!! ive been to so many weddings recently but shang is really out of this world.. init i decided on it more cos of my parents.. but now i cant wait for my turn!! anyway think im just affirming wat all of u have seen/experienced at shang..

count

Haven't been here in a while as I've been quite busy at work. Have made a tentative booking for our date and are reviewing the terms of the contract.

For those who have signed the contract, can I ask if any of u modified the terms in the contract? There are some pretty extreme clauses which give Shang a lot of power. For e.g., they can cancel ur booking w/o prior notice if u do not make the progressive payments. It seems as if they need not notify u and ask for payments. Also, I realise that they do not promise to give u the venue that u booked. They can swap it and u have no right to claim compensation from them. Anyone asked for a modification of these clauses?

Btw, does anyone know if Shang provides perks such as 1st anniversary stay, dining vouchers for treating helpers etc? Any advice on what perks shd we ask for?

Thanks a lot!

biba8169

wow,great to see so many Shang's bride!!

Kyrie,
congrats!! u have such a long time planning for ur wedding!!have fun.

Count,
I did not modify any clauses with Shang. As i trusted them & feel that my wedding will not go out of hand or mishandle in any way. I juz keep my finger crossed to any situation that we can't control, even if Shang can't let me have the ballroom last min. I think things can be worked out with the worst senario, of course thinking that i'll not be so 'sway'!!
I dun think they do give anniversary stay,vouchers-all these I've seen in their Platinum package years ago(unless u trade it with other items in your package). But now they have changed their package, i dun think its possible. But again, if you have high spending power & you intend to spend alot on their menu/package, they may throw in as complimentary items,who knows!! But I guess, i wouldn't want an anniversary stay as i probably be going on holiday...hehehe

kyrieleison

Thanks girls!

Yah like count, i didn't modidy any of the clauses too. Can trust them i feel.

Regarding 1st anniversary stay and all, i'm not sure leh. Maybe can push for it?

yah i really love Shang too.
How many tables are you girls looking at?

count

Hi biba and kyrie,
Thanks for ur replies. Kind of worried abt the clauses cuz I remember a bride who mentioned in this forum that Shang partitioned her ballroom at the last minute! Technically speaking they can do so w/o having to pay u cuz the contract allows them to do it. My job concerns scrutinising contractual clauses and I've seen how many ppl sign "blindly" and regret later as they are bound by the clause in qn. That's why we would rather play it safe and see if the clauses can be modified slightly...

We're looking at 40-45 tables for the banquet. Would u all mind sharing what perks u managed to get? =)

count

Kyrie,
Btw have u started looking around for a BS yet? I'm still trying to shortlist and hunt around...

Anyone going for the Ted Wu-Fullerton show?

kyrieleison

Hi count

Don't worry too much, i'm sure if the hotel wants to partition the ballroom, they'll seek your approval first. Anyway you've got quite a no. of tables so doubt they can partition anything. Which ballroom are you looking at? Mine's Tower ballroom.

Hee you might think i'm alittle KS here.. my AD's next Dec but i have already booked my BS. Went with my aunt to GHA and we signed them up.

Think my package is pretty standard. Free bot of wine per table. What's your corkage like?

count

Hi verylastminute,
it's on 24 july i think. check the first page of the latest issue of her world brides... the details are there. Or check www.ted-wu.com

Hi kyrie,
U're so fast! I'm still looking around and trying to decide. Will check out a few places like Flamingo, Ted Wu, Divine, Silhoutte. Btw, have u drawn up a budget for ur wedding? Asking cuz we have abt the same number of tables. It came up to $76K, and we nearly flipped over! Worse still, my fren has said that we will surely blast our budget as she also tried to cap the spending but finally gave up!

count

Hi bunni,
No worries. Was referring to some other bride earlier on in this thread who got her ballroom partitioned at the last minute and was somewhat unhappy as a result. U may want to ask Shang if they can partition the ballroom and have a corporate function/wedding at the other part...

Hi kyrie,
$76K includes the cost of photography, gown, honeymoon, wedding bands and church ceremony. However, it excludes VG and other little frills like top up of deco and house reno. Quite a huge sum so am feeling a little scared that we will not have enough. Btw, what perks did u manage to get?

Any other BTBs who can share how they budgeted and whether they managed to stick to their budgets?

kyrieleison

Hmm.. 76K seems alot. Perhaps cos i haven't included the cost of honeymoon yet. How about Ang Pows? I'm sure ang pows will offset some of the 76k right? Like i mentioned, my package think it's pretty standard. Never push for anything yet leh. Leaving it to my FH. I'm bad at bargaining..

What about you? What are some of the perks you got?

count

Hi Kyrie,
We have not gotten down to actual negotiation, which is why I asked what perks u BTBs managed to get. Am hoping to get an extra night stay or some anniversary stay, and dining vouchers if possible. I think our packages are the same cuz there is a free bottle of wine per table.
Quite prepared to lose quite a bit on the ang bao cuz we are inviting families with a no of children, so the ang baos will be smaller...

Haven't seen the other brides such as choc_cowgirl, ashie etc in the forum for quite some time. U girls busy? Can someone do up a table for Shang BTBs? Me blur abt computer stuff so don't know how to do it *sheesh*

Ashie, been busy lately? Have u done ur PS yet, since ur AD is in Dec?

I'm now working for a month or so before I go back to studying for a post-grad exam. So cannot log in too often at work heh...

kyrieleison

Yah i agree with you, Count. My FH and I have discussed and we are prepared to lose 10k for the dinner at Shang. Judging from the usual 80 that most people would give, it's a good $20 loss per person. heh which will go up to a pretty big sum at the end of the day. So can only keep our fingers cross that relatives will give alittle more..

ash_

hi count!

havent been visiting this forum as often as i used to.. tonite was just thinking of reading tro the posts to keep myself updated n not posting..
hehe.. didnt expect u to ask abt me.. so sweet of you..

anyway to ans ur question.. yes ive been super busy..! *faint* wedding preps are on hold now cos im actually writing my thesis PLUS other reports.. gonna graduate in 2 months time so have to be hardworking a bit.. hehe. nope havent done my PS yet.. pushed it to as late as i can cos of this thesis thing.. gonna be in mid-oct.

choc cowgirl also hasnt been ard hor.. think she's very busy.. but that's usual for her lor.. hehe.. ;p ok tell u wat.. since i have the format of the table and will be on my comp most of the time anyway.. i volunteer to do the table for us ok?
errr.. but must be a bit patient.. stms may have to wait a bit for me to update ;p

rest of you 'new' gals in this thread.. welcome!! and so happy to read abt all the excitement abt holding ur wedding in shang.. me excited too!!

hope can get to hang ard more once i fin some of wat i have to fin this week! hehe..

count

Hi ashie,
Nice to know that u're still around. Yes, do work hard. Will update my details when I've made a deposit with Shang.
Haha... Quite excited now that preps are finally moving. Now starting to scout around for BS and going to visit Ted Wu tonight...
To the other Shang BTBs and ex-brides, happy planning! Thanks in advance for the tips and help u girls are going to give! =)

count

Dear Ashie,
Work hard! Last lap already so must go for it and do ur best! Know exactly how u feel cuz I just graduated from NUS in May. Always feel unmotivated

count

Dear Ashie,
Work hard! Last lap already so must go for it and do ur best! Know exactly how u feel cuz I just graduated from NUS in May. Always feel unmotivated at the last lap cos thinking of post-exam activities.

Will pray for ur thesis and reports =)

choc_cowgirl

Hi there girls! Sorry I haven't been here much recently, but touched that I'm still remembered. I have been addicted to a new computer game and I just came back from a trip to HK and China (got my tea ceremony cheongsum and some traditional wedding stuff from China since I was there).

Hey ashie, hey count!

For the unfair clauses in the contract, that is non-negotiable as the hotel is protecting itself. My fiance is a lawyer and of cos he noted that lah. But bo pian.

Ashie, I'm settling the details of florist, doing honeymoon research, guest list and thinking of locations for PS. What have you been up to?

count

Hi chocolate cowgirl,
Expected that ur FH would have commented on the clauses too, esp since he's a lawyer! Heh... It's in the nature of lawyers to guard against worst case scenarios...

When's ur PS? U mean u're planning to wear a cheongsum instead of a kua? Have u started work yet?

Just realised tt u, ashie and me graduated from NUS in May 2005... feel so old now... Are u guys post-grad students or undergrad? I'm undergrad but it's a 4-yr course, so quite old already...

Envy Ashie and Chocolate Cowgirl - can start planning on the wedding proper already and doing up the guest list and PS locations. Me still at the BS hunting stage.

Anyone has good ideas for honeymoon? Considering Four Seasons Bali esp since many pple and magazines recommend it. And Wolfgang from Eye for a Guy 2 brought Denise Keller there! Love watching the show; I was practically glued to TV when the show was screening. *sheepish grin* sounds bimbotic ah? =p

choc_cowgirl

hi count! ya my FH did comment on the clauses, but they were non-negotiable - like you know, either accept it, to don't take the package. All hotels will have it to protect themselves lor.

My PS is in mid sept, yes I'm wearing a CS instead of a kwa. I'm not that young lah count, I grad in 2002, am currently still doing my masters - 2 more years to go. It was a bit difficult to do the planning, luckily my FH helps out immensely.

Which BS are you considering? When is your AD?

count

Hi chocolate cowgirl,

Just went to Ted Wu yesterday. Love his gowns. But to reassure my FH, we will check out a few other BS such as Divine, TWP, Tan Yoong, Flamingo, Silhouette. AD is on 11/11/06 at Tower Ballroom. When's urs?

How did u get FH to become enthusiastic in helping out with wedding preparations, esp the gowns and girly stuff? Heh... my FH is more obsessed with how to decorate the house and the home entertainment system!

To the rest of the Shang BTBs,
Hoping to ask for more perks from my wedding coord but don't really know what I can ask for and how to ask. How did u ask? Quite paiseh right?

Btw, did anyone choose Ted Wu? Which PG and VG did u all pick?

Whose wedding is coming up first? Biba, choc or ashie, or someone else? Hee...

choc_cowgirl

hi count! I love ted wu's gowns too. I almost chose him. My AD is this year end Nov. Since I'm doing my masters, I have been very busy and so he knows he has to help me otherwise I will be very grumpy. He is helping so much now that he is overriding my decision on flowers for decor!!! He wants more and more flowers. LOL

ash_

hi count,
thanks so much.. really apprec ur concern n def ur prayers! ure such a sweet gal *hugz*

hey gal, if ure old, then me & choc cowgal are oldER!! haha.. im doing my masters' too, like choc cowgal

ted wu is nice! for me, i only visited 2 BS - tedwu & silhouette. reason why i chose sil over ted was cos i realised aft trying on the gowns at both places tt i dont reali like embriodery on me, nice as i agree they look. and during my 1st visit to sil, i tried one gown which was literally evthg i'd dreamed of for a wedding gown! so decided quite promptly tt i wanted to sign up with them

choc cowgirl,
hey gal! rem we supp to mt up for lunch?!? think we spend too much time in lab alr.. until forget! hahaha...

wow.. not bad.. at least u still had time to take a break overseas.. me here struggling with thesis n papers.. sheesh. anyways, good to hear u had a good trip.. AND got some stuff for ur wedding too! hey hey.. got any ideas for honeymoon?? year-end very hard to plan hor.. how's the flowers coming along?? settled on theme alr?

count, heard SO much abt bali!! unfortunately, my dad's indonesian n i go back so often.. so im a bit reluctant to be going his homeland for my honeymoon.. hehe.. noe wat i mean rite?? ;p
my fiance was thinking of maldives cos his cousin came back with nothing but wow's for the beach.. for me, im thinking of hawaii.. n more recently, LA.. i miss disneyland!! n all the factory outlets!!! hahahaha... *evil laughter*

maybe u gals can share of any other possible destinations since our weddings all year-end.. europe's out of the question cos i reali cant stand the winter there..

oh yes gals.. pls give me the following details so i can compile a table for us:
<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">ROM date</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD date</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">venue</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PS photog</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD photog</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></td></tr></table>

choc_cowgirl

hello! ashie add your own into the table first lah!

mine 26/11/05, 27/11/05, tower, silverlining bridal couture, ray ong (photolanguage), meng &amp; associate (imagegarden), telok kurau.

choc_cowgirl

I'm considering bali or koh samui for my honeymoon cos my fiance and I just wanna chill out at a beach resort for about 2 weeks, thinking of going somewhere near then can stay more luxurious and stay longer.

For maldives, are the resorts and beaches back to normal? For me I try to avoid the tsunami hit areas cos I will be going for honeymoon close to the 1 year anniversary of tsunami, may have
atmosphere.

How about australia? cairns? melbourne? It will be summer then. Or NZ?

count

jesmine and kyrie,
Glad to know that we're getting married around the same time. Can plan together! Heh... More pple more fun!

ashie,
Will update my details after we have confirmed our booking with Shang this weekend.

choc cowgirl,
I think our fiances may know each other. Did ur fiance go on exchange in yr 3 to Nottingham, and go on an Egypt trip with 3 other guys during that time? Cuz my fiance recalls a guy mentioning that his gf had the same name as u, and who is getting married at Shang.

to the other Shang BTBs,
Btw, how did u girls decide on PG? I like The Pond and Photolanguage, but Ted Wu is tied up with Photolanguage. Am wondering whether I shd do two PS - one under Photolanguage in Singapore and one with The Pond overseas, and use Photolanguage for AD. One big plus pt is that Photolanguage gives CD-roms of all photos, so can develop for friends...

For honeymoon, we are considering bali, or some other beach resort. Wanted to go Europe or US to shop and eat, but figured that there wouldn't be much clothes to buy during the winter season. Btw, choc cowgirl, i heard abt how beautiful the maldives are too. There's some resort that is built entirely over water, and has see-through floors where you can see the blue waters beneath. But I dunno if Maldives has recovered from the tsunami. The Four Seasons Maldives website mentioned something abt refurbishing/renovating the resort, so I wonder whether it has to do with the after-effects and repair.

Oooh... but I think NZ is cool if u're a LOTR fan, and both of u can drive. Too bad I'm a "kayu" driver who is not confident of driving ard... U girls planning to book ur honeymoon during the NATAS fair in Sept this yr? =p

choc_cowgirl

count, I think so too.
Small world. My fiance studied at nottm for 3 years and yes he went to egypt with 3 other singaporeans. What is your fiance's name?

For PG, I'm a fussy person and photolanguage already won me over before I started planning my wedding cos I love the style and how the couples look in his photos. You may wanna look at the portfolio of some photographers and see what you like or don't like. If your PG ties up with a BS that you love, then there may be some savings. If you are using 2 PG, you may wanna check if using the same PG to do the overseas and local shots can be more economical? Btw photolanguage offered me no overseas charge for my PS if it is during the chinese ghost month.

count

Choc Cowgirl,
That's cool! Can save money and do overseas PS during chinese ghost month. We are not too superstitious so will certainly consider doing overseas shoot during that time... Heh... Actually we like The Pond for its artistic feel, but think that the vibrance and colours of Photolanguage is better for AD and to please the older generation. Additional PS will have to wait until we've worked out our budget =)

Ashie,
Can update my details already! Have paid the deposit and got my slot hee
AD: 11/11/06
Church: 11/11/06
Ballroom: Tower
BS: TBC
PS, AD, VG: TBC
Church: PLMC
Lovenest: Pinnacle @ Duxton

Btw, there was a Lord of the Rings themed wedding yesterday at the Tower Ballroom. Really impressive! The couple customade flags with their names, bought a crown from the US and did a raised platform with a huge tree on the stage... Wow...

Kyrie,
How many tables do u think u'll need for the dinner? We're looking at 40-45 tables.

Oh yes girls, how many gowns did u all get from ur BS? 1 WG and 1 EG is the basic, but did u all top up for a kua, CS or additional EG? Figured that this is the only chance we get to spend on clothes and the guys cannot complain *evil laughter*

choc_cowgirl

Hey count, email me your fiance's name leh? Now my fiance and I also curious.

I got 1 WG and 1 EG from my BS. Got 1 CS from China for tea ceremony. My BS is also making an EG for my mum. My dinner is on a sunday night so I'm only going to have 1 change.