Peony Jade Resturant

vernwyen

s'rene
wow, coming soon :p getting excited ya? Have you selected your chair tiebacks and favours? Btw, how many months before the AD did you all went for food tasting? How's the invites choices at tdragon?

opps! sorry, asking so many questions at one go :p

simplyserene

Hi spoiltbabe... hahaha... counting down the last days of singlehood. I'm more than happy to share with you the restaurant preps I had thus far

I asked Pamela when would be a good time for food tasting, and based on her feedback did it last month. Qing Ming & weekday so the restaurant was quiet.

We had our hearts on the maroon tie backs (gold for VIP) since the first time tt we were there. After food tasting Pamela showed me the new wedding favours, so we have selected the glass coasters. More practical.

T-Dragon has a huge selection of invites. You can really go blur! Hahahaha... It was quite fun and we were very fast... Selected the card in like 30min. T-Dragon has contracts with many restaurants/hotels, so there's usually quite a crowd. We went there to select our card early Sat morning (they open at 10am) where there were lesser people.

vernwyen

we would probably drop by Tdragon tomorrow to select the invites
do we need to make appointment or can juz pop in?

glass coasters, tat sounds good! rather than having the usual chopsticks/bears/keyring -_-

lsntyl

Does anyone know how much rebate PJ gives to Capital Card? Trying to find out which credit card gives me most rebate when I pay the bill with it.

simplyserene

Hi spoiltbabe and LSnTYL... we popped in on Sat morning as well. I didn't know we had to make appt. Anyway we were printing our own inserts, so we were very fast.

Eh... Glass coasters are new. No more chopsticks (I had wanted that one cos it's practical). There's still the bears, chocs. There's also a small little ceramic holder. So small until your guests probably won't know what to do with it.

Sorry no idea about the capital card. Maybe you can call and ask?

vernwyen

yup yup! shortlisted my invites liao
we reached in the afternoon and there was a pair choosing icons. Got time to slowly choose the cards.

YL:
Not sure abt credit rebates, i used UOB to click points. You're with PJ too???

simplyserene

I want to use UOB to get points too. Last time I used to write in for temp credit increase but now they tell me it's better to call. So funny. I thought writing in is more sincere. Hopefully UOB grants me my credit.

lsntyl

spoiltbabe>yep, I split day at PJ mah. Went down to TDragon with FH on Sat too. We were there around 1-2. Still don't quite like the cards though. Confirmed printing in JB cos its so much cheaper.

I've UOB too. But want to check which cc gives me best rebate/points. :p

lsntyl

S'rene>yeps.
We did out ROM cards at T&T le. Probably going in sometime next month to do our wedding invites. Did you only print inserts there? FH doesn't like the cards at TDragon so I think we might end up printing our own invites at T&T.

simplyserene

LSnTYL... Yes I printed inserts on translucent paper with them. I went to the one @ Plaza Pelangi. We both love the final outcome... very satisfied

pinkdewy

I am letting go of my banquet booking (28/03/09) at $900 (negotiable). Paid deposit of $1000.
Date can be changed.

Pls call Keith 98590143 or Josephine 98421275 for discussion.

mstomrs

just want some opinion.. For solemnization, do you gals think it is nicer to do it on the stage or outside the private room lift lobby?

Anyone who has done it outside the lift lobby and has any photos to share? Thanks so much!

roses

Hi, I am going to have my banquet at PJ in Dec '08. Both SO and I really like PJ, except for one concern. We are kinda concerned that the guests sitting at the back might not be able to view the screening of the montage & video highlights properly. I still have not physically seen the size of the white screen or how the screen would look when it is placed on the stage. When I previously went down to view the place ,I managed to see the wedding setup, but I didnt get to see the screen as there was no montage/video screening on that day.

I would like to know if viewing the screen for guests sitting behind would pose as a problem. Hope someone can advise on this. Thanks!

Hi mstomrs, I personally think it would be nice to do it on the stage. you can take a look at the solemnization setup in PJ's website. It looks nice.

vernwyen

mstomrs:
i will be having mine on the stage, but it will be before our wedding lunch, feel too conceious to solemnise under too many watchful eyes :p

mstomrs

Hi gals, thanks for sharing. =)

Spoiltbabe, what time is your solemnization? I too feel conscious to solemnize under too many watchful eyes that's y decided to choose the function room and solemnize at the lift lobby.

However, come to think of it, I realize the stage is so much prettier. *headache* I have only 2 tables. How about you?

vernwyen

mstomrs:
We told our JP it will be ard 1100 - 1115hr. Coz i need time to redo my MU again. I have 25 tables! Coz mine is ROM/AD together

mstomrs

wah..that's early! I heard from Peony Jade that they onli have 2 timeslots for solemnization on stage. i.e. 1130am or 1230pm.

Actually you have 25 tables means you already bao the whole restaurant..so don't need to be too pai seh about solemnizing infront of others already

vernwyen

oh, is that so? gosh... i did not enquire from PJ yet eh coz i read the agreement the restaurant is ours from 11am to 3pm hence i tot we can solemnise anytime btw that. Thanks for bringing this up, i better go ask them again

I do not know more than half of the guests eh.. haha...! kinda shy you know :p so after the tea ceremony at my fh house we will rush over to the restaurant for ROM.

mstomrs

I think u don't need to worry..cos since you bao the whole restaurant you should b free to solemnize anytime you like.

The allocated timeslots should b for those situations where there are more than 1 couple on the same day solemnizing on the stage bah.

mstomrs

I think u don't need to worry..cos since you bao the whole restaurant you should b free to solemnize anytime you like.

The allocated timeslots should b for those situations where there are more than 1 couple on the same day solemnizing on the stage bah.

lsntyl

I called PJ yest to confirm my food tasting date. Also checked with them on timing for ROM. They said timing is up to us.

a_angels

Hi, does anyone here know whether Peony Jade gives special pricing for champagne for couples who hold their banquet/rom with them?

lsntyl

I think the bottle of champagne/sparkling wine is free for the pouring. Anything above that is probably chargeable.

vernwyen

YL:
oh... ya ya ya, correct :p It's only for champagne pouring. Have you gone down for foodtasting yet? Hmm... We gonna arrange one of the weekends in July, perhaps we will bump into each other ;)

simplyserene

Coolz... I won't be at the restaurant till 4+... It's less than a month away and I'm getting pretty nervous about it. Now trying to arrange a time with Pamela to do the sound/projector tests.

lsntyl

we should be long gone by then. Don't be nervous. I'm sure everything will go well.

Oh, do you know what kind of music format our songs can be in? MP3 ok or do you need the original CD? Which hotel are you going for? FH and I still can't quite decide. We like Conrad but its further from PJ...

simplyserene

From what I gather, they only have normal CD player. Mp3 music would have to be played on your laptop. I'm practising Melvin's Law by having both mp3 and wav format which is playable on normal CD players. I had my own CD compilation burnt.

I wanted Conrad too but in the end took on Merchant Court cos of proximity...
Haiz... oh well... what's done cannot be undone.

sleepycat_2

Hi, I was a PJ bride

Their player does play MP3 but it takes awhile to read. U might want to prepared my march-in, first course and champagne pouring music in audio CD format and background music in MP3 - cos it can contain more songs.

I chose Conrad and have no regrets! The room was big and spacious and the service excellent! They went all out to help u as a bridal couple even though u are not holding your banquet at the hotel itself.

kachina

Went there today to check out and Pamela said that there won't be any more free stay @ Conrad or Merchant Court cos the hotel prices are going up.. so sad...

Instead they will just provide free flow of wine

lsntyl

ya, I was telling FH about the end of the free stay and he actually said he don't mind forgoing the free stay in favour of the free flow of wine. :p

vernwyen

xuan:
free flow of wine sounds better
I would be willing to let go of my hotel stay too for this deal.

YL:
have you selected your wedding favours?

simplyserene

Ooo... I would go for the free flow of wine anytime... It's definitely more worthwhile than the hotel stay. Think abt it. They charge per bottle between $22-26++. One night stay at Merchant Court/Conrad is approx $300-$350 these days? You only need to open 10-15 bottles to break even.

Haiya... Why didn't they decide on this part earlier... Mine still has hotel stay lor...

lsntyl

actually, the hotel stay should value at $200. cos that's how much they will return you if you choose not to take it.
I wonder if we can bargain for that...

spoiltbabe>not yet. will select the wedding favour when I go for my food tasting.

lsntyl

well, I think they get promo rates with the hotel but yes, its probably worth more than $200. Imagine if your wedding date is near F1 or one of the major holidays. The room is definitely more expensive.

simplyserene

They do get promotion rates, but yea... more than $200. But will a hotel like Conrad still allow for PJ to book with them during F1? Guess that's a little sidetracked...

I need to fax my seating plan to PJ by end of this week. Stress stress liao...

lsntyl

Ya, wonder if the couples getting married during the F1 can still get Conrad. But the rooms prob don't have the nice view.

kachina

opps.. paiseh i mean free flow of beer :p

Wine is still @ per bottle abt $22++...

anyway we're thinking of holding a wedding lunch and dinner on the same day @ PJ as we prob have more than 30 tables and we really like the coziness

But my bf is worried that if we have lunch for friends and relatives for dinner:

1) the ang baos will be lesser since it's lunch although the lunch will come up to be ard $700+ per table depending on our chosen menu

2) some of the friends might not be able to make it as they might have to work

3) it will be tiring for us since we will have to work 2 shifts :p and no hotel for us to rest in-between

what do you all think?