Peony Jade Resturant

paunic

dear all, regards from France!

Our wedding in Singapore was on 1st Dec 2007. Like sunbelle, we are really really happy to make our choice Peony Jade!

The event was really smooth and sucessful. I would say no hip-cups at all!

We would like to express our most heartful thank-yous especially to Kenny, Leon & Pamela! They are really patient, caring and warm. We really feel so assured under their guidance and care. They did their part so well, that we don't feel any pressure!

All our guests, local or overseas, commented on the tasteful deco, delicious food and good service! Very impressed by a chinese restaurant, thou it is not a big hotel!

Our event was Cocktail, followed by First march-in for the Solemnization, First course, Screening of Childhood montage, Screening of Day Highlights, Second march-in and champagne pouring. Yet, we did not feel the motion of them bringing down the solemnization set-up, seting up and bringing down the projector... they really did a great job!

And during the Second march-in, we were surprised by the jumbo poppers!

Our advice: Our relatives threw rose petals along the aisle during our First march-in which really helped... coz it might be quite "clean" during the marching-in...

for a peep of the event... visit our website at http://paulynnicolas.multiply.com/

Merry Christmas!
Paulyn & Nicolas Leraille

justemi

OH paulyn,

U are a pretty bride...
Ur hubby is a handsome hunk too...

nice pics taken... can i know who is ur Actual day PG?

syla

Hi everyone, I've a package for Mar 8 2008 at Peony for which the husband & I have paid a $1000 deposit. We're thinking of switching venues coz of the capacity. Pls let me know if you're interested in taking over this date. Thanks!

goldiepooh

I just had my wedding at PJ on 24 Dec as well. No regrets choosing PJ. The team there was great! Kudos to Kenny and Leon who helped made the day a special one for us. As well as a lady senior staff (sorry didnt catch her name) for being patient with us and guiding us on what we should do when we do the walk ins and helping me with my evening gown when it was a bit loose that day.

Thanks also to Pamela and Pauline who acede to every of our requests.

Friends and relatives commented on the excellent food except for the roast suckling pig which would definitely taste better if it was still hot when served.

Overall was great!

jew

I also just had my wedding at PJ on 29 Dec. The arrangement was perfect!! I had a great time for the whole nite.
Many thanks to the whole team, esp to the Managers, Pamela who guided me through my 1st & 2nd march-in as well as the before dinner coordination, Leon the cute and fun guy who has been my special emcee for the dinner, and not forgetting Kenny who give his best throughout the dinner.. and also Pauline who has been tolerating my many requests and lots emails...

Great comments on the food from friends and relatives too..

Everything went very smoothly that nite all their helps and well-coordination !!

xaleysan

i am urgently looking for a place to hold my wedding dinner. i have shortlisted Qian Xi hilltop (mainly becos free flow of all drinks incl hard liquor and wine).

I have some questions on PJ.

-Can we bring our own wine?
-How much do they charge for corkage?
-I also saw that the invitation cards excl printing, how much does printing usually cost?
-Usually how much wine and hard liquor is needed for 25 tables? My relatives do not really drink very much and i have no clue how to estimate.

I am very impressed by all the good comments on PJ...but I have to hold my dinner by end Mar/ early Apr 08. So I would appreciate if anyone who has held your wedding at PJ could let me know more.

goldiepooh

Hi xaleysan,

1.Yes, you can bring your own wine
2. Not sure whether any change in their price for corkage so is better you check out their website as they will list down what they offer besides their menu.
3. Printing is not expensive depending on what you type of paper, finishing you choose, price varies. If you go for basic you can get less than $100.
4. For my case, we used up 27 bottles for 240 guests. Some of my guests can drink so you can estimate perhaps 1 bottle for 1 table and standby a few more. In any case, if you finish your own wine, you can request PJ to open their own.

By the way, their max no. of tables is 22 but can seat 250. So most tables sit 11 and abt 8 tables seat 12. Need to be clear on this so that you know how to manage your guest list.

jew

xaleysan> answer yr #2 qns. They do charge for corkage if u bring yr own wine, the charge is $15/bot. But hard liquor will be foc corkage. The price was for last yr. U may need to check with Pauline (managing director) or Pamela (restaurant manager) for the latest package details and price for this yr. It will be better for u to confirm with them by this mth as their venue is quite popular for wedding banquet.

ilovetokyo

Was checking out on PJ's package for 2009 and realised that it works out to about 702nett per table (after the 5% increase for 2009, taxes, purchase of beer and loan of projector).

It's not that cheap after all..since M Hotel is offering at 748nett with free flow of beer..

what do u guys tink?

I think it is still up to you what location you want yah

If you feel M hotel is a better deal, then you should go ahead with M hotel.
Think Traders hotel is about that price range too

april_baby

I feel peony Jade about carry the price of hotel. Me and my SO almost missed PJ when we passed by(the door too small le), i just afraid a lot of guest would not know how to get there. We decided not to go there although a lot of ppl comment that the food is fanstatic. The embience there so so lo.. I worked out with all the beer, red wine, LCD, printing cost..is about SGD 725 per table for 2009. i feel with this price i can hold my wedding in hotel.Surprisingly for May2009 the date almost taken up. So those we want to hold there better be quick.

teddy_mac

April,

I thought of this quite some time ago and I went to ask Kenny. He mentioned that actually their boss open PJ for fine dining. They also did not expect that it would be so popular for wedding banquet.

After knowing this fact, thinking back on your questions... You might be able to guess the answer.

I can't find any hotel with 725 per table leh? Probably mine is on a weekend. Those I looked for cost about 900 plus to 1K. They are all either too expensive or cannot accomodate my guest for about 500...

sigh...

simplyserene

Hurray.... I'm going for food-tasting next week! Feeling excited...

Pamela says the new menu for 2009 will be coming out sometime mid-April. Watch out on their website!

pinkdewy

I am letting go of my banquet booking (28/03/09) at $900. Paid deposit of $1000.
Date can be changed.

Pls call Keith 98590143 or Josephine 98421275 for discussion.

bonny

hi melody,

i thought that PJ only allows ROM booking about 2-3 months before your ROM date?

Or is it because you have many guests?

ji_yinz

Apparently they allow u to book the date with a deposit.

I learnt it the hard way too. i was told the menu will be out closer to date, and when i tried to book later, it seems the date i wanted have been booked 1 yr ago.

mstomrs

Hi Melody,

can share with me how many tables you have for your rom? Also, who did you book with? I have visited and called them twice and they told me to book 3 months ahead. My rom is in Sept.. TIA.

goddesss

Yah, my bf emailed them and ask to view the place and book, but was told to wait untill 3months in advance too. we were damn pissed, cause reason was that, they are afraid that day someone will book the whole resturant..

but the other day, we were around that area, so decided to pop in for a look... saw that they were preparing for a wedding banquet so we looked around (quite nice)

then this lady came and asked what we want so i said i wanted to book banquet and ROM.. so i managed to book lor~ i paid $200 for deposit.

the manager was not pauline, is a lady, i cant rmember her name. but she was very very nice. =)

but mine is on a weekday (friday), i asked if wanna book satur can anot, she say if weekend, have to book only 3 months in advance.

so i guess for weekday is ok??

go down and take visit them ba.

I LOVE THE PLACE!
(oh i booked the private room, 2 tables)

thursday

Just to check .. How much customisation can you do to PJ's packages and can you actually bargain with PJ to bring the prices down? Very blur about this.. We wanted to know if that's okay before we try to bargain.. :p

Thanks,
neelia

vernwyen

we tried to bring it down but failed
ours is a wedding lunch and we paid $518+++ for each table. Tried to get them waive off corkage charge and free barrel of beer but was unsuccessful.

simplyserene

Hi Neelia... I feel that they're not very obliging when it comes to asking for more perks... Anyway we had already calculated that we can manage our budget...

The new menu is $548++ with free 20l barrel of beer...

lsntyl

I booked both a ROM lunch and a wedding dinner at Peony Jade but they won't give us more perks too.
Is it possible to bargain more with them at the food tasting?

goddesss

spoiltbabe (vernwyen)
i booked a ROM lunch with them last month for dec
theres alot of good reviews on their food and place deco.
i think one of the reason i book with them is cause they providing me with all the ROM things *(like ring pillows etc) and save me the hassle..

plus their place v prettY! ^^

u should go down take a look.

vernwyen

melody:
i have already placed a deposit with them :D my AD is a hot date, hence i faster secure the place 1 year before my AD liao. But now i not sure wat time should i hold my solemisation. I do not want to solemise when the crowd is coming in

vernwyen

s'rene:
yup yup, i will ask my sis and mum to rush the relatives to the restaurant and see our solemisation :p Ours is wedding lunch so timing is abt tight. Probably will have our solemisation at 1100 - 1115hr, thereafter my MUA will redo my MU again. When is your AD?

simplyserene

Hi spoiltbabe... Ah...I didn't realise that yours is a lunch. Hee... We booked ours almost a year ahead as well. My AD's coming in just about 2 month's time