Peony Jade Resturant

lsntyl

free flow of beer than not as attractive le. :p

xuan>I'm having split days at PJ. ROM lunch on a sat for friends and colleagues and the AD dinner the next day for relatives as we have about 30 tables and really like PJ. That plus the hotels we like are booked on our date. Initially we thought to do it all on one day but decided not to as we think that'll be too tiring for the parents who need to rush down to PJ for the lunch after the morning festivities.

kachina

lsntyl: ya definitely not attractive! likewise the hotels we wanted are booked on the date that we wanted. did you consult a master for the date? cos we did and that date was the only sat while the rest were sundays and fridays in the last quarter of 2009.

From wat I know, the min. table for lunch is 15 tables and dinner is 18, total 33. So you were able to ask for min. 30 is it? How many people are u inviting? TIA!

lsntyl

xuan>currently, the plan is 10 tables for lunch and 20 tables for dinner. Total number not confirmed yet cos we haven't sent out the invites.

We didn't consult a master. Just chose a date that's meaningful to us.

simplyserene

xuan... Free flow of beer is definitely not very attractive already. I would have liked free flow wine. They can offer free flow beer cos they have their own micro-brewery behind in another pub/restaurant.

kachina

s'rene: oh ya i think its the pump room... somemore they are not willing to waive the corkage fee if we bring our own wine...

lsntyl: ic I've tentaively booked my date @ PJ but gotta confirm with them by this sun so probably have to make a decision soon. Does your package come with free hotel stay?

lsntyl

kachina>yes, my package comes with free stay. wedding is in 70 days!
still trying to decide between conrad and merchant court though.

s'rene>ya, but pam told me pump room is doing much better than peony jade now. and she claims they are loosely affiliated. That was when I tried to bargain for more perks at the restaurant in exchange for the pump room vouchers. she said they removed the vouchers as the pump room was too popular and was replacing it with free flow of beer... Didn't realise then that they had taken the hotel stay away too.

kachina

lsntyl: haha i would wanna choose conrad since it seems more atas so the bridal suite will be better but if for convenience, merchant would be a more sensible choice.

Btw, can I just check with you all, usually how many ppl for per table? cos wat pamela told us was abt 11-12 ppl per table, but if like that, if I choose the 598++ menu, how do i know wat is the cost per person?

lsntyl

kachina>those are my exact considerations. conrad is better but not as convenient...

the menu is based on 10 pax. On my contract, it states that if my table got more than 10 pax, must pay extra.

pandanleaf

Payment is usually based on 10pax/table. No need to worry if table sits 11/12pax. Most importantly to know how many guests you be inviting. That's why PJ needs to know the no. of pax we are inviting so that 1stly they can prepare sufficient foods servings and 2ndly to prepare the tables/chairs.

I rem that the contract stated ....
220 persons - 22 tables chargeable (of 10 pax/table)
221 to 229 persons - 22 tables chargeable (of 10-11 pax/table)
230 to 239 persons - 23 tables chargeable (of 11-12 pax/table)
240 to 250 persons - 23 tables chargeable (of 11-12 pax/table)

Of course, seek your PJ coordinator's advice if in doubts. Can ask something like e.g. 2 children = 1 paying adult? etc =)

kachina

Thanks for your fast replies, lsntyl and pandanleaf

I'll be meeting Pamela to finalise the details tom and we will most prob be taking both lunch and dinner packages. Lunch for relatives (so that they can come straight after tea ceremony) and dinner for frens...

Am thinking of asking if we could get the previous package terms like free hotel stay instead of free flow of beer. If not probably will have to fork out money for corporate rates at Novotel since it's the nearest

Any other things that you girls could get more from PJ? TIA!

xta

Hi All.. i am interested to hold my banquet at PJ..

Any coordinators to recommend at PJ that i can talk to?

And what's the deposit and payment scheme like arh?

xta

Thanks spoiltbabe..

I emailed them and haben heard their reply for a week. lol.. guess i shall call.. thanks!

lsntyl

Christa>I think best to call. When I emailed, Pauline took a very long time to reply. Pam, however, could help me with all my queries when I called up PJ.

kachina>I find PJ quite stingy with perks. Didn't get much even though I book 2 banquets with them.

kachina

christa: yup i think calling is better, the min deposit is $1000 per banquet. For me, I got lunch and dinner so had to pay $2K

lsntyl: yeah i finally booked with PJ yesterday, will be doing my lunch and dinner on the same day heehee will be very tiring but hopefully it will turn out fine! So now will start to look for photographer and bridal shop...

lsntyl

kachina>wah, it will b tiring indeed. Did Pam give you more perks? Free flow of wine maybe? :p And you managed to get your hotel stay? BTW, I just saw on PJ's website that they've a new place in Keppel. Can hold 40+ tables. How come you didn't consider?

kachina

lsntyl: nope, no free flow of wine only beer but she did say she will try to get a hotel stay for me if the hotels are able to let them book cos in a sense i'll need it more since i need to rest in between the banquets.

apparently the hotel refused to give them a quotation for 2009 hotel rms, will only provide them with the quotation after F1 cos they wanna see if how much are the competitors raising their prices...

simplyserene

Hi... Thought I'd just share this since my banquet is coming up this Sat. I have additional persons on certain tables and have to pay extra (pro-rated) for them. This is because certain dishes (e.g. scallops) only have standard 10 pieces, so have to add on.

PJ is definitely not too generous with perks, so don't expect too much.

The new one @ Keppel Club can hold up to 50 tables. Kachina... wouldn't that be better for you instead of rushing 2 events on the same day? Just my thoughts

lsntyl

s'rene>Have a great banquet on Sat.
Maybe I'll have a chance to see your setup when I go there for my food tasting. :p

Agree with s'rene, Kachina. You not able to go to the new PJ at Keppel Club? Definitely not as tiring as having 2 events for both you, your FH and the parents.

kachina

s'rene & lsntyl:

ya i know

we really like the cosy ambience at PJ so even if we hold it at keppel, i think the ambience wouldnt be the same.

we saw a lot of hotel ballrooms and dunno why we just feel that they dun feel right. But the moment we were in PJ, it was like "this is the place" keke

simplyserene

Sigh... one more day and I'm fretting over stupid ERP gantries that block River Valley Road on Saturday. It costs $2 for my guests to get into the Clarke Quay area tmrw! Worse still, I have M'sian guests. If they don't have IU units installed, they hv to pay a flat rate entry of $5.

I really want to start on time tmrw but am afraid the gantries will cause delay... Sianz... Its ridiculous that now the ERP rates for this area are way more expensive than Orchard Road.

lsntyl

s'rene>yours is dinner? won't the ERP be finished by then? Don't fret too much. Nothing you can do about it... I'm sure your guests won't mind too much?

simplyserene

LSnTYL... We'd really like to try and start on time because we have overseas guests. And knowing these Caucasians, they will most likely be on time. ERP doesn't end till 8pm. If you take into consideration the time needed to look for parking etc... the earliest some drivers arrive might even be 8.30pm. Bo pian... can't do anything abt it but just hope pple dun mind paying the $2 ERP.

Summer82... Don't think PJ is offering hotel stay anymore as of now as you can read fr recent posts. Environment is nice and cosy. Best you call them to arrg a time to take a look

vernwyen

summer:
PJ can go min 18 tables or max 25 tables. Very oriental feel. Food is much rave about though i have never been there to eat before :p My food tasting is on 25th, shall update more after tat.

Yup, they do not have hotel stay, now having free flow of wine IIRC. Which i think it isnt a bad deal

lsntyl

spoiltbabe>kachina clarified le. Its not free flow of wine but free flow of beer. Which is not as attractive as more ppl drink wine these days.

summer>PJ also has a new outlet at Keppel. Can hold 40+ tables. Not seen it yet though so donno how it is.

s'rene>understood. but try not to fret too much lah. This is something you can't do anything about so just have to hope all goes well.
Have a great day tomorrow, ya? And if you have nice photos, don't forget to share!

kachina

hi spoiltbabe, its max 22 tables with 250 ppl cos they will squeeze 11-12 ppl per table. i've not been there to eat before so yeah pls share your views on food tasting!

s'rene: your dinner should have finished by now, hopefully everything went well! Do update us on you and your guests' feedback!

summer82

Hmm i went down to PJ todae to have a look at the place My HTB like the place alot coz we can hv our own private place for our wedding compare to other restaurant.Mostly will choose the place for my wedding,as for the hotel stay i check wif them already no more coz they change to free flow of beer.So i tink i will save the money for my honeymoon.Hmm

lsntyl

spoiltbabe>actualy, Pam told us on sat that PJ is opening a new branch in Keppel in Sept. Can hold more tables but might be too rushed for you cos I think you already printed your cards? Otherwise, bring up the issue of seats at the food tasting and let Pam explain to the parents how much the seating capacity is. Then maybe they will be more amendable to taking out some not so close relatives? But I know that's difficult too lah. That's why I ended up holding 2 events at PJ

kachina

spoiltbabe: haha ya that's y in the end I also split into 2 events like lsntyl but mine is lunch and dinner on the same day while hers is on separate days... going to be a 'xiong' day for us!

summer82: ya we also like the cosy and private ambience, glad you're going to choose PJ, welcome to the club! :p

suying

hi... hear lots of good comments for PJ. I have view thier website too. Thier package for weekend since like gt include hotel stay!!... The place really look nice N cosy. can anyone here share thier photo n feedback of thier service? hw they charge for thier package n is there any hidden cost??

lsntyl

Su>think best for you to go down and view the place and chat with the managers there. I heard at my last food tasting last Sat that they are taking away the hotel stay.

vernwyen

now i am keeping my fingers crossed, praying hard tat the day will go smoothly. we wanted to squeeze into 1 day coz lazy lah :D

xta

oh.. Is there ERP on saturdays till 8pm? haiz.. Now then i realise..

Arranging to meet Rosie the PJ coordinator. anyone dealt with her b4?

xta

Ohh.. newbie.. seems like i am dealing with newbies everywhere haha..

I am still deciding with wedding lunch or dinner. Heard that for nice dates e.g. repeatitive nos, they will want you to get the most exp package? is that true?

eva4stars

Hi suying,
I have checked with Rosie yesterday, there will be no more hotel stay. A bit wasted as I'm really quite attracted by the hotel stay in their old package.

Hi Christa,
I met with Rosie yesterday. She's friendly and okay to talk to.
So, don't worry.

Anyone has any idea how much is the ERP then? I also didn't know there's ERP there.

Oh, anyone has tried their in-house wine?

xta

Hi Khim

So they took out the hotel stay, but the banquet prices remains?

I will meet Rosie this friday evening. Glad to hear she is friendly!

ERP i think is $2 from 1230pm to 8pm. If they heng, 1230-1235 and 755 to 8pm will be $1.

eva4stars

prices increase when compare to last year. The cheapest now is $488++ for lunch and weekdays dinner. $548++ onwards for weekends dinner.

Haha~ I don't think they will be so heng. If I'm getting Peony Jade, i might think of reimbursing my guests for the ERP. not sure whether it is a wise choice though.

xta

Hi Khim
Wow.. you are so thoughtful!
Honestly speaking, like parking coupons and ERP, its not really important imo. Its all part and parcel of driving. Nobody will tell you that they would not be coming to your wedding if you are not going to reimburse their parking coupons!

Ha.. i drive and i know that carpark and ERP are all part of driving woes. It doesn't matter if i have the parking coupon or not, cos if i have, its a bonus. Else its ok! =P

summer82

Ya they are already takin away the hotel stay but dunoe due waht reason Pam told mi its becoz they gave free flow of beer.Hmm Quite sad but my HTB sae its alrite w/o a stay we can go for our honeymoon true aso..Im going down todae to sign for the package already hmm..

lsntyl

At my food tasting, Pam said its becos sometimes they cannot get the rooms so they are caught between the hotel and the couple. For my wedding which is one week before F1, she said might not be able to get the hotel room if the hotel won't release. We might have to defer the hotel stay or take the rebate. As such, she said they removing the hotel stay so no more such problems in future.

eva4stars

Christa
Ok ok. Will have to discuss with my hubby. See what he thinks.

summer82
What Rosie mentioned is that the hotels are not willing to release their room rates for next year. So hard for PJ to gauge lor.

My hubby also said the same thing! Haha~ At least on AD night, one of our friends can send us home. So still not too bad.

suying

Hi BTB,

By the way do they cater halal food for guest too? i really like the place when i saw in thier website but is a bit out of way lei!! cos lots of my guest is staying in west area including myself.dunno hw!! hai.... dunno hw will kepple clubs look like? same!! gt to wait few more mths.

simplyserene

Hi hi... Our wedding last Sat was a blast! But then somehow there were still pple coming in to view the setup @ 6pm when it's supposed to be our solemnization... Hmmm...

Hi Su... they have 2 forms - Halal (outside caterer) and no pork/lard (catered by the sister company Quayside Dining). If you want the former, then advance notification must be given. Quayside Dining doesn't have the halal certification only cos it serves alcohol.

Hi Khim... $548 is actually pretty reasonable. Cos it includes their signature dessert and free flow beer... Not too bad a deal overall.

Hee... We had one empty table that night and PJ packed all the food for us to bring home. Hubby and I wolfed down dessert meant for 10pax! So yummy

Both ourselves and our guests enjoyed the time spent there. The team supporting us at PJ was awesome. Will post pics when they're ready