Peony Jade Resturant

simplyserene

One more thing Khim... Don't worry abt the ERP. I had similar worries as well before the wedding, but your guests will understand that it's your big day and won't mind paying. Got complimentary parking anyway...

Christa... although you first deal with Rosie, by the time you near your big day, you will be liaising with the restaurant team of Pam, Kenny and Leon. They're very experienced and help you all the way through. Leon gave me a lot of pointers on how to arrange my tables nicely and we really appreciated it.

Guess we're very satisfied banquet customers

eva4stars

hi s'rene, congrats on your wedding.
Glad everything went smoothly for you.
As for the ERP, hopefully my guests wun mind.
I haven't really try their dessert before wor... can't wait to try it... hehe~ :D

su, to add on to s'rene's comment... for Halal (outside caterer), PJ orders by table, at least 6 pax. at least this is what Rosie mention to me.

xta

Serene

Glad to hear that you are very pleased with PJ! I am looking forward to my appt tml to view the place. Haven't seen PJ before yet!

Any pictures to share? Hee..

suying

wow... so happy for u. glad that everything is smooth. can to share yr photo with us.? i'm getting more interested.

anybody try thier halal food/ no pork no lard food before? any comments from guest regarding that?

simplyserene

sorry pple... but photos will only be ready in a few weeks' time. Our friends and family did not take any pics of the setup unfortunately.

Our guests feedback that the no pork/lard was good as well. Can't speak for pure Halal food tho.

Christa - you can go to their website where they posed the pics.

LSnTYL - somehow creme roses became flowers of the day. My hand bouquet was white lilies but the corsages and flowers in my hair all happen to creme roses. I loved the setup too!

vernwyen

srene:
thanks for your reassurance! Now i feel our choice of BQ venue is definitely the right one
Tomorrow is out food tasting, yipee! By the way, which favour did you select? Are we able to choose the flower deco?

su:
I have not try their no pork/ no lard menu, but will be having tat in my BQ coz my muslim friends will be attending (yea, they break fast for me, so touched!)

Christa:
Yup yup, the webby has the pic, 90% same as the actual setup

lsntyl

Spoiltbabe>Hope you enjoy your food tasting! My FMIL had so many comments that they had to get the chef out to talk to her. :p The favours that were offered to us last week were bear keychains, coaster and chocolates. We didn't like the favours so decided on chocs in the end. Wish there was more choice.

According to Pam, you can change the floral decor. But if the price is more than their standard package, you will have to top up the difference. Also no guarantees of what colour the roses will be. She asked us what colour we do not want instead as she said it can be difficult to guarantee certain colours due to the season.

I'm not having the no pork/no lard menu as we're not inviting any muslim friends. Will bring them out somewhere else to makan instead as we feel the food will be better.

simplyserene

hi spoiltbabe... I took the coasters cos we felt it was much more practical. LSnTYL is correct... you can change the floral decor but extra charges apply if it exceeds their standard package. If anyone's thinking abt throwing of rose petals on the actual day, this is not provided by PJ and is chargeable if you ask them to prepare for you. Better off ordering from the market or BS I reckon.

vernwyen

YL/srene:
back from my food tasting! other than the broccoli and fish (aint a lover for these 2 thingy) i am pretty satisfied with the dishes. I have this 'roasted chicken with sesame sauce', while others oredi attacking the next dish i was still busy scooping the sauce to eat it :D Love tat alot! Prawns were fresh too

Wanted to get the coaster but both mothers preferred the keychain so we took tat instead.

Oh ya, the angpow box in PJ is rather plain, would diy one myself
I had confirmed with Kenny, they do provide black pens, background music and ring pillow for ROM session.

lsntyl

spoiltbabe>ohh, my FMIL and my mom didn't like the broccolli and the way the fish was done too! In the end, we asked them to change the way the fish was cooked slightly and changed the brocolli to anther veg. I loved the roasted chicken too! The sesame sauce is really delicious.

Hee, thanks for confirming about the pens, music and ring pillow. Is the ring pillow nice? I didn't have the chance to discuss ROM matters with Pam that day.

vernwyen

YL:
haha...! we same same ya :p Since young i dislike broccoli and fish, dunno why.... My mil told mi to eat abit so no choice have to eat loh... It wasnt tat bad afterall to eat with the garlic (fish).

i did not see its ring pillow, we will use the one given by lee hwa
My friend use an accessory stand as her ring holder which i find its quite interesting. But i still prefer the conventional way.

xta

I went down on friday.. Rosie forgot my appointment! =X
but i had a talk with Pamela, She is quite nice..

And.. that day dun have wedding set up! So have to make another trip!!

But overall, PJ is quite a cosy place. I was still thinking at the 2nd storey got lift or not, heng have!

vernwyen

Christa:
wat time did you reach there? I was there for my food tasting! Yea, tat wasnt any wedding going on tat day, but the setup will be similar to wat it was featured on their webby.

xta

Thanks Sean for the links..

Arhhh.. i wanted to go place my deposit today.. but Pamela was off.. Kenny not in till 6pm zz think i have to go tomorrow then.. But i reserved my date liao haha..

eva4stars

Congrats Christa! One thing to strike out from your list.
When is your AD dinner?

I wanna check out the dinner set up as well. But heard from Rosie that their next wedding will be in Sep due to the lunar 7th mth!

I still haven't confirm with PJ yet. Still settling some perks. Hopefully, can cfm my AD venue soon.

Thanks Sean for the links. It is indeed helpful.

xta

Thanks lsntyl and khim! Yupz, 1 thing down.. finally..

Hmm what perks can be negotiated?? I intend to nego the foc projector.. any other stuffs i can ask for?

My AD will be 121209 =P

eva4stars

Oh... My AD 250409, I still haven't confirm anything yet (including BS). Super jialat! haha~

I'm trying my luck for more carpark coupons, waiver of wine corkage, comp use of projector + screen and increasing food tasting to 8pax.
You see what you need/hope to have and try to negotiate with them. Certain items they are flexible and some are not. No harm trying, I guess.

lsntyl

Good luck, Khim. I tried to get waiver of wine and more food tasting. Both were denied.
didn't try for projecter and screen as I'm not using them. PJ is not generous with perks...

kachina

ya good luck Khim and welcome to the club Christa!

hey lsntyl, guess wat? My parents were really concerned about being too tired with 2 events on the same day, we are changing it to 2 nites ie sat and sun, so that will be the same as yours rite? :

simplyserene

I didn't manage to get any perks either... except to postpone the free vouchers for the pump room. Still trying to gather pple to head down there one evening...

lsntyl

s'rene>same as you. I postponed my free vouchers. Told them will be too tired on the nite to go drinking. :p

kachina>not really. I split into ROM lunch for friends and colleagues on a sat and AD dinner for relatives the next day.

xta

Haiz.. when i printed the package from online.. still have the free hotel stay..

but when i went down to PJ.. dun have liao! If only i fast hand fast leg abit :p

And haa.. the new package dun have any pump room vouchers..

kachina

ya when i went PJ to take a look in June, they told me the new package jus came out sob sob... i also wished my bf had proposed earlier haha

it seems like all the prices went up for BS, photography, videography boo ho hoo

lsntyl

Prices always go up de. Pam told me Pump Room is now doing better than PJ. That's why no need to 'advertise' via the free vouchers anymore so they took it out. She told me that when I tried to exchange my free vouchers for rebates. :p

simplyserene

I think 2009 in general sees increases... My AD PG also increase price liao. But kachina... speak with the PG, VG on your budget and limitations. Perhaps they can work out something for you.

xta

Woot.. Placed my deposit today liao... another stuff settled.. now only to settle my AD church solemnisation venue!

Now waiting for Pamela to draft out the contract. Seems like they dun do it on the spot eh..?

lsntyl

The contract is done by another department. If you don't get it within a month, call to chase. I had to wait a few months as they sent the draft to the wrong email address and ignored the error message sent back to them...

simplyserene

You don't need to sign the contract immediately when you receive it. I received revisions 3 times before I was happy to sign it. I returned it to them only a month before my wedding. It's a contract - once you sign and return... no further changes can be made.

lsntyl

Ya, but good to get it early so can take your time to look through it. We were kinda worried when we didn't hear for months after the booking. Only after we checked, then we realised they sent the contract to the wrong email address...

xta

Ohhhh.. no need to be gan chiong and return immediately arh?
haha ok.. then i shall keep it looonger..

S'rene.. what did you change in your contract? so many versions? Ha..

simplyserene

Christa... I received the 1st version shortly after placing the deposit. I sat on it for mths. After food tasting, 2nd version came. There were some errors so I had them to make corrections. Then they sent to final version which I signed alongside the hotel room reservation receipt. My line of work is in contracts and pricing, so guess I'm a bit more sensitive abt terms and conditions.

xta

Oooh okie.. my AD is still more than 1 year away... *feeling super kiasu*

I already told pamela to put the projector FOC in the contract first.. and the cost of the wine and etc.. wonder one yr later these wine $$$ will increase or not..

kachina

Oic.. ok now I know

Haha Christa, my AD also more than a year away keke but I think it's really quite normal to book at least 1.5 yrs before. Like for my date, when i started enquiring about a mth ago, hotels like Pan Pac, Oriental, Sheraton, Swissotel, Grand Copthorne were all booked!!

Imagine my panic then but luckily PJ is available, if not I gotta change to either sun or fri cos my AD is the only auspicious sat for the last quarter of 2009 for us :p

xta

wow.. alot of things to consider... lucky we are christians, so we just choose watever date we think its nice and easy to remember!

Cross my fingers that my MIL (not christian) dun go ask around whether the date is auspicious or not! So far she is ok with the date...

eva4stars

*sigh* most likely I would not be getting Peony Jade as my banquet venue le... cause a couple just booked the date I'm looking at...

Christa, I think you can try your luck and negotiate again. I manage to negotiate for
- increase food tasting to 8 pax
- complimentary usage of projector and screen
- waiver of corkage charge for wine for first 20 bottles. subsequent bottles at normal restaurant charge rate

Very upset the date I want got booked... All my negotiations go down the drain... *sigh* Gonna search for another venue le.

eva4stars

erm... I just email Rosie my wishlist and requested her to work something out for me. I didn't do much bargaining. Rosie is very nice in offering me these perks.

lsntyl

hee, good for you lor. maybe Rosie is more generous.
Its a pity u are not taking PJ as I think these are v good perks. Better than mine although I booked for 2 days.

eva4stars

hehe~ yah.. I guess I am lucky that Rosie attended to me.

Yup, agree tt the perks are very good. Really love PJ's service and ambience. Just our bad that we took a while to confirm.

lsntyl

I'm surprised they didn't reserve the date first for you or check with you before they let another couple book it though. You did indicate your date of choice with them, no?

xta

Hey Khim

I am sorry to hear about that. How about the Keppel club branch?

Hmmm... According to Pamela, if you did not put any $$ deposit, they will not reserve the date for you. Maybe Rosie did not communicate with other coordinators that your choice of date was currently "looked at" already.

Rosie, i am supposed to meet up with her, but she forgot my appointment and never catch up with me after that.. haa.. but wow.. u discussed the contract first before signing?

I am still waiting for that contract from PJ to review..

I am thinking of using PJ's wine, so cockage not an issue.. Projector and screen already negotiated. Maybe increase the food tasting to let my brother and SIL have a free meal =x

I hoping to extend the free flow beer hours, since i dun think my relatives will drink much! Dunwan to incurr extra cost in case they drink earlier or later than the indicated timings!

eva4stars

Hi LSnTYL, like what Christa mentioned, no deposit = no reservation of date.

And yes, I am actually quite surprised that no one informed me beforehand that another couple was looking at the same date as me or even informed me that my indicated date was taken (Deposit for my indicated date was paid a few days ago). Oh well...

Hi Christa, I actually don't mind Keppel Club and believe that the ambience there would be comparable to Clarke Quay branch. But my hubby feel that it is pretty inaccessible. Even with complimentary 2-way bus services, he don't like the idea that relatives/friends have to wait for the buses. So the option is out for us.

Haha~ Yes, I discuss the contract first while hubby confirm tables with his parents. That's why it took so long...

For free flow beer, maybe you could look at the number of hours it is being provided for e.g. 3hrs. So if your dinner starts at 8pm, free flow should end at 11pm. Just a suggestion for you to think about.