Peony Jade Resturant

blurblur25

SK: we told Pamela we r having abt 208 guest she told us PJ will be charging for 21 tables. as long there is more than 5ppl they will charge 1 table cost.

we will be using PJ 1st dish presentation song, cant seem to find 1 song that is appropriate.

can i ask how much did your give PJ staff for the ang pow?

bluwinte

Thanks SK & blurblur, btw.. when is yr AD going to be held?

btw.. anyone can share with us roughtly what time yr dinner start & what time it ends? I'm actually thinking of having 8 dishes only as my AD will be on Sunday.. I don't want my guest to leave early.. & hopefully i can change the yam paste dessert to mango sago.. & my 8 course dinner is "full" enough..

olengjuz

blurblur > It's true that if there's 5 or more guests in a table (e.g. 10pax/table) then it would be considered as 1 additional table (at least that's what I was told then).

I din give any AP to the Pj staff. Dun think it's neccessary. Would reckon they appreciate our positive reviews more than giving cash/tips.

^o^ > my AD was over, held in June.
Perhaps you could "drag" the dinner course by spreading out the activities/programs. Discuss with your emcee/s on how to do this. Belive it can be done eh. Could have couple of games in between to prolong the duration of dinner. That's what I did for my luncheon. My Jie meis played a prank on my hubby and myself. So much fun and thrills~!

bluwinte

Thanks SK.. Will go & check it out with them... i just hope that my AD can start at 8.30 & ends at 10 to 10.30.. don wan my guest to leave before the dessert & also i can go back & sleep... hahaa..

olengjuz

Hehe...understood how you feel ^o^...with your timing I supposed it should not be a problem to end at 10.30pm (if the guests have some time management in mind). PJ has everything prepared so..it's only serving time when the banquet starts.

I think your worries are unneccessary.

olengjuz

Hi BB Queen, yup...banquet usually lasts about 2-2.5hrs. Im sure the hotel/rest staff need time to clear up and dun wanna end up late going home. They need rest too.

blurblur25

bluwinte: Thanks, we sign up with PJ last year and the package is specially design to our need by Pauline(the boss) so I guess it might not be useful to you *sorry*

have fax over the seating plan to PJ this afternoon. really hope everything went well

meimint

I want to have my wedding dinner on Monday. When I checked out PJ menus online, it was stated weekday package as $438++. There is only one menu (Harmony 3) priced at that price. Does that mean I can only choose Harmony 3 menu if I take the weekday package?

Does PJ accept cc payment? When do we pay the full amt for the dinner? Is it days before actual wedding dinner, just before wedding dinner or after?

Sorry, I'm a newbie, a bit blur here.

olengjuz

Diane > If the couple likes to hold the banquet on a weekday, the cheapest package available starts from $438++. The couple is prohibited to choose that package for a weekend banquet that is all what PJ meant. HTHs.

PJ accepts CC or cash. They will give you the breakdown of the final bill after the end of banquet or even after after change of outfit.

No worries about making enquiries here...afterall we were once newbies too.

stargate2

Just had my AD on 3rd Nov. No regrets going there. Guest comments food was good. Staffs was very efficient. Will post my AD photos once my photo is ready

meimint

Thanks SK.

Anyone knows which BS is participating in BOWS 2008? I tried to register but the email they sent to me does not have the registration no. they mentioned.

blurblur25

AD is just over - 17Nov07. All went well smoothly. Leon is our emcee for our wedding Lunch. Really have to say a big thanks to Leon & Kenny & PJ staffs for their good service.

meimint

Anyone held their wedding banquet on a weekday in PJ? Would like to know if most of your guests turned up. I'm thinking of holding my wedding banquet on a Monday in PJ. But dunno if it will be inconvenient for my guests as most of them stayed in the east and north-east area.

missycandy

jus wondering... did anyone have Lydia as their coordinator??? after food tasting, hw long did u have to wait for them to get back to you to confirm everything like favours, etc etc... im stil waiting and our FT was in Oct... i guess nw busy period? nov & dec... *siGhx*

sleepycat_1

I had my discussion on decor, favours etc immediately after the food tasting session itself. It was done by the manager on duty, not Lydia (whom I liaise with). Any reason why yours was not done during food tasting?

jew

mine too... we confirmed our decor, favours and colour theme before our foodtasting with Pamela, and also commented on the food after we finished...

missycandy

hmmm it was confirmed actually but kenny said lydia will reconfirm everything with us again to make sure all is right... anyway i emailed lydia n she replied with all the confirmed stuff.. so all is well for now... =)

sunbelle

wow so many dicussions goin on leh hehe
just wondering for those tables with 11 to 12 guests, the food portion will it be enuff for
the guests huh?

SK : mayb u can help me to answer my enquiry huh?
cos quite paisheh if the food is not enuff .

heheh what are the things to look out for huh? anyone order halai dinner set before huh? how is it like huh? course or set huh? mi needs to order for my guests hehe

just counting down two weeks to actual day leh ...wow seemd coming near leh hehee

olengjuz

sunbelle > It would be sufficient for 11/12 guests if it's a large table. They will dish out accordingly to serving size for each individual. DEfinitely enough. Not worries, subelle.

Muz check the sound system (very impt to me), no slippery floors (some of my guests feedback to me that the area/table next to the mirror seems quite slippery, they almost tripped off, and lastly ensure they return you remaining favours. I reminded one of the waitresses to keep for me before I paid up.

blurblur25

sunbelle: our guests also comment that the pood portion is enough. Most of them eat till very full. But some of my guests mention they went to the washroom and the waiter/waiteress has clear away their plates when it is still full with food. maybe you like to take note

SK: i have forgotteen to ask them to keep the remaining favours for us. we didnt use PJ favours.

olengjuz

Yup blurblur, I din use their favours too. That's why I need to get them back eh.

I do agree that the waitreses clear the plates/dishes quite fast. My colleague even asked the waitress to slow down the clearing. Heh.

jew

SK> luckily u mention abt keeping the favours, I almt forget abt it.... must take note liao.. thanks for sharing

sunbelle

Hi SK and Blur blur,
thanks for your great tips
heng that both of u say the food is enuff cos tis is my main concern as i will also try to put 10 to a table jus that sometimes hor, the tables cannot have more than 10 people e.g different clicks hehe

when do u gals go to peony jade for rehearsal huh?
wat mus u bring along huh?

olengjuz

sunbelle, it's tough to do table arrangement. Just try ya best. Nothing is perfect.

I rem I went 3 days before my AD (as advised by Pamela too). I brought along my recorded songs in a CD. Do make an extra copy just in case eh. Also my hubby's laptop to test montage and CD. Test volume too. If you have the wedding favours ready, would deem gd to pass to them in advance too.

My bottles of wines were brought in only on AD itself. (Scared missing ah) Do note to get someone to do a count/monitor on the opened bottles of wine.

sunbelle

Hi SK,

agreed with you fully leh
cos i oso had a bit of headache trying to meet the min. no of heads for halai table cos i don't have many malay frens whom i can invite.

have to check with peony jade on this issue and also to ask whether if i book 6 people share of halai food, what will happen to the remaining four seats of the table? vacant issit? mi realli scratching my head heheh

yo, do 10% of the guests did not turn up nearer to the wedding date huh? mine is near to xmas guess lots of people have travel plans so for my wedding, those whom have travel plans have to gif my wedding a miss.. yesterdae my collegues were veri nice, those whom cannot mke it they bought me a sweet gift..din expect it actualli

do you gals have spare table like to cater for overflowing relatives huh? so funni leh..in this modern times, there are some relatives in which my hubby asked them how many people coming for our wedding just to confirm. the next moment, we recieved complaint calls from his sis scolding him cos his relative called his sis to complain saying we shld not ask him how many of his family members coming..wow in this modern world, i am shocked realli. so just wondering is there a spare table that we can ask peony jade to open up just in case all the relatives come in full force including children? any views huh?

sunbelle

oh yeah, what songs do u all use for the 1st dish presentation huh? now trying to burn and compile all the songs required heeh

can they read thumbdrive instead huh? cos i hrd too many cases of CDs cannot be read

jew

sunbelle> I think u can try asking for set meal per pax i/o having 1 whole table of halai food, cos vegetarian food do have such arrangement. I will be asking for vegetarian set for individual vegetarian pax. It will be the same as the normal course, 8-9 courses for vegetarian food, but for halai food U may need to ask Pauline whether they do provide such arrangement too.

olengjuz

sunbelle > I thought vegetarian and halal meals can be served as individual portions? That was what I rem. I had couple of vegetarians hence had ordered vege meals for them eh. I supposed its the same for Malay meals too.

I dun think they have extra table to open up if you are taking 22 tables from them.

Not sure about other means to transfer mp3 to them. Only know about CD method eh. Make 2 copies and bring them on that day.

angelka

Me still an idoit when it comes to wedding banquet stuff coz am only just starting to look for one.

Can someone kindly advise me for food tasting, can we do it before we sign up with the banquet place? If so, usually how many people and usually full price or a percentage of full price?

antenna

New here too.

I have just signed up with PJ on 11 Dec for 16 tables. My AD will be 26 May 07, it's a Monday.

Pamela attended to us, very friendly and helpful.

Now hope that everything will go well.

sunbelle

hhaha two more days to wedding ..getting excited now

oh yeah, which exit is nearest to Peony Jade from Clarke Quay MRT Station huh? what is the best direction to give to our guests huh?

went for testing yesterdae. Leon is good. Kenny is also very patient with my questions..they displayed good teamwork....

yo, counting down to my wedding lioa hhahaa

jew

sunbelle> do u make appt for the testing directly with Kenny or email to Pauline? My AD will be next wk, wish to test out the projector with my laptop as well as the music 3 days b4 the AD.

jew

SK> my AD is on 29 Dec.. the last sat of the yr.. hee.... have alrdy arranged for the projector testing with Kenny on Xmas day.. hear from Kenny tat there is a lunch wedding on Xmas day, so my testing will be after the wedding ... so yr testing is it on 26 Dec? cos i intent to test it on 26 but someone alrdy booked in advance...

foreveryoung

I have booked my wedding banquet 2 sats ago for Dec08. My coordinator is Lydia...nice lady. & surprisingly, i received her draft contract on the following mon. tat's pretty fast. Now i'm still studying the contract in details & will try to neg for more perks... dun think we need to sign contract so fast right? since my wedding is in Dec08?

olengjuz

Meow > really? Eh..my wedding at PJ already over leh. I was talking about oshgosh's banquet. Hee... I rem I tested my sound system on a weekday during their break time. Dun pacnick leh on that day. :p

Forever Young > You will be rushed then if you hold onto the contract (w/o signing) for a long time. Of course it would be advisable to read thru every details before signing on the dotted line.

sunbelle

my wedding dinner just over on the 20th Dec. It is definitely a correct decision to hold our wedding at Peony Jade.

The wedding dinner was a success. The whole team put in lots of effort and also patience in attending to us.

Kenny : He has been liasing with us and been veri good in terms of the coordinating the whole event. He even offered us tips on what to prepare and what are the things to look out for during our preparation for our wedding. he can be a wedding planner hehee

Leon : His great help during the rehearsal is definitely appreciated by us. He went through with us all the necessary steps and also told us what to expect and what to do. What most bride's nightmare will be to slip and fall and his advice is to stop near to the stage and take small step before proceeding to stage is indeeed veri useful. His clear instruction on stage helps to ensure our champagne pouring and also cake cutting a success.

Pamela : She has helped to calm down the emotions of the newly wed to be by giving detailed directions at backstage heheh ...how the bridegroom helps the bride to hold the long gown etc..before the march in and also second march in, a lots of tips are provided by her.

We want to take the opportunity to thank the 3 of them for ensuring our wedding dinner on the 20th a great success. Chris and myself will definitely recommned this venue to all cos of the great teamwork they have.Guests feedback that the food is good. Ambience is great too.

We are flying off to Europe tonite.

simplyserene

Hi sunbelle. Congrats. Great to know everything went well for you.

Mine's in July and I'm still holding onto the contract, haven't signed it yet. Can I find out from you guys whether I shd sign it only after the food tasting? I'm thinking to do food-tasting in April. Is that too late?