I'd also like to know whether we need to sign the contract before food tasting... Mine's scheduled for mid next yr, but they sent me the contract already...
Like to check, is Peony Jade able to allow me to have all tables with 12 guests?
Based on the floor plan, there are 2 tables being placed outside the lift. As I do not wish to let my guests to be seated there, I am wondering if I am able to squeeze at least 20 guests with the other tables?
PiggySbride > Only a max of 8 tbales acn sit up to 12pax/table. Hard to squeeze 12 adults in a 10pax table eh.
sunbelle> Dishes are catered for 6pax. Hubby and I shared a portion. Yes, signed contract before FT. Not sure if they allow to start FT then sign or not. Cfm with Pauline again.
Sleepycat1 > They always got desserts ready for you. Dun need to specify. I made a request from Pamela before I got the desserts for FOC. Even requested to try their red wine. My SIL tried it then. Was given a glass to try.
sunbelle> it shouldnt be a problem whether to sign the contract b4 or after the FT, cos my FT is this fri and I will sign the contract after I confirm the details after the discussion during FT, n they have no opinion on it.
Meow > think you can inform Pj early if you intend to do so. We asked the desserts cos felt like trying during the FT. You wont get to know if you be able to try them unless you ask yah?
No harm asking anyway. That's basically what I did and I got it. Hee
food tasting is not bad. my parents quite happy with the food and venue. Yes, we manage to try the famous mango sago for free, thanks to Kenny. Actually I ask him whether can he throw in the desert for us to try when he explain the procedure and show us the favours. still thinking should I get avours from them. $1 each. My pkg dont come with hotel n favours
Blurblur, u take weekday package isit? But weekday package shld still have favours no?
I tink its the norm to sign contract then have FT. Impossible to FT first unless u juz go there to eat as per normal then decide whether to sign contract anot? hehe...
Sunbelle, i saw they uploaded new menus online...not reali new bah, basic ingredients are the same but i tink the way of cooking is different..they also swop a few dishes here & there...U haven choose ur menu yet rite?
Cheeky_chick> i actually arrange 1/2hr earlier b4 FT to discuss abt the contract details, then mine & HB parents will come later for FT..
I have seen some couples doing the same when I went there for dinner... I think PJ should b quite flexible for it...
cheeky_chick: mine pkg is DIY by Pauline last year, so dont come with favours n hotels stay. still thinking should i give favours to the guests. if no, will they say we r cheapo/stingy?
i think it really depends on who you liaise with.
I like Pamela because she is approachable...
My rom at PJ only had 2 tables... and supposed to have no favours... but surprisingly on the very day, they Provide us with a pair of beautiful chopsticks for each guest. We had 26 person for two tables but they didn't charge us for the extra headcount!
Any advice on wat to look out for when u go select ur invitation cards at TDragon?
I dun intend to print inserts there as I have other printer contacts...
blur blur >> saw that u just went FT.. i'm going to schedule mine soon.. cos my AD is actually less than 2 mths from now.. when is urs? do i have to choose the dishes to FT?
By the way, when u said ur package is DIY means what? cos i also don't have wedding cards, favours and hotel stay as i only have 10 tables.. iS URs on weekend? mine is on Sunday nite..just booked abt 3 weeks ago so i'm quite lucky to get a sunday nite slot in this NOV...
I don't think i want to buy the favours from them (Abt $1.5 each they quoted me....so quite ex).. Apart from the keychains and chopsticks, they have new items though, like salt and pepper shaker (mini one)-- quite cute lah.. it's actually 2 figure hugging.. Think that is the expensive one.. the cheaper is choco and chopstick at $1.2 each
Joelle: my package is DIY by Pauline base on our budget. Mine is wedding lunch on a sat. AD 17Nov07. PJ favours start from 0.50 (chopstick) onwards, me still considering. Will be going to JB tomorrow to print the invitation cards, quite rush now. Abt 2 month to go for me.
No, we did not take up the most expensive package.... we took the medium-price package which in the first place they declared that there were no favours provided. But surprisingly they still gave us favours..... My ROM was on Vesak Day, a public holiday somemore...
Anyone gg to the Style Weddings show? Tink its end Oct, something lidat...
Blurblur, i dun tink its cheapo not to have wedding favours loh. Personally, i prefer favours dat i can eat. Buttercake, choc watever....But then again, i have frens who prefer favours they can keep. Like mini bears, chopsticks, keychains etc...So its v subjective. If u wan, juz something dat u like can liao...cos u cant pls everyone
sunbelle> u r allowed to taste 6dishes for 6pax. if you want to try the rest of the dishes, u may need to inform them b4hand for them to prepare for the ingredients.. email to them may not b enuf, u may need call them to confirm... cos i actually email to the managers for requesting to try the lotus rice, however durin the FT day, the manager told me tat their email system has some problem so they din know abt my request, in the end I have to change to taste the noodle...
1 more info, if u have more than 6pax, but u just want to remain the food portion as 6pax, pls remember to inform the manager before they start to serve cos they may serve as per yr number of pax n will charge u for the additional pax FT without informing u... just like my case... I m quite unhappy for their unhonest... but I din actually make an complaint as i din want to make an issue in frt of my family...
sunbelle> to add on, I took abt 2hrs for FT, for abt 8dishes. The duration of FT may depend on the number of dishes u taste and number of pax. U may need to finalise the menu dishes after the FT n u will need to give some comments for every food u taste so tat they could improvise on the dishes during the AD..
thanks for ur detailed writeup.is 6 dishes fix for 6 pax? so do u need to top up money to try up to 8 dishes huh?
yeah i need to confirm a date and time with my family first cos parents away for holiday now.
yo, we have to decide whether do we wan the new menu or the old one hehe
sunbelle>
yes... the FT serving is for 6pax... any add pax will have to add $$...
I request to taste the Empress noodle and 2types of desserts additional, Pamela agreed to let me taste the desserts complimentary (yam paste n mango sago -2 small bowls each), but for the noodle I need to pay for it, if I remember correctly should b $30 for the noodle.. n for additional pax is also $30... total we paid abt $70+ (including GST and service charge)
I would suggest that u call up PJ to ask them when they are available for F/T cos they dun do it when there is a wedding going on. Then take the dates and check with your parents.
I fixed mine this way. It is much easier to co-ordinate.
sunbelle> u r welcome! like what sleepycat1 has mentioned, call them to check whether is there any wedding going on...
According to my previous email with Pauline, Sept is a busy mth..date : 15, 16, 20, 21, 22, 23, 28, 29 and 30 will have wedding dinner banquet, unless u dun mind to have FT in the afternoon.. For mine, I have it in the lunch hr, bos there is wedding dinner tat day.
hi, may i know how you ppl plan the number of tables? I have 21 + 1 reserved. Usually do you plan more tables than you invite or less? Meaning should I plan for 22 tables of ppl come or 21 tables of ppl come?
For my case, I invite my guests in early June since I went overseas for job for 3 weeks, so when i come back is Chinese 7th mth. During this mth, I chased the pp for confirmations so as to confirm. If u can hit 220 above, you can squeeze the pp into 12pax for some tables, for me, I am not opening the table in VIP.
Vincee, i tink they do makeup at PJ loh. The changing room will be there too...If u invited 21tables (10 per table), best to have 20tables + 1 reserved. Cos i tink cfm will have ppl last min cannt come...
Moon, congrats on ur upcoming wedding dinner, must rem to share feedback here ok!
From wat i rem (when i went down to view PJ), they had 20+1 & VIP room was not used...i reali tink max is 22 tables...anything more abit impossible. But can arrange for 11 or 12pax per table loh...
I just had my wedding on last sumday at peony Jade. Really happy with their services and they are really good! Thumb up for the food and their exceelant service that was provided. There is not regret having a small dinner over there. Really enjoy myself over there =)
anyone take their bumboat ride?
my husband thought of doing our vows renewal on the bum boat....in the middle of the river with the sunset view.... and then proceed to arrive to the restaurant after the vows renewal and exchange of ring....do you tink it is a good idea?
I dun think is good =) cause you only can use only 15mins. The bumboat ride was quite expensive. If you want, you can ask or you can do it at the resturant =) Just my twenty cent thought
Anyway, i have just received my AD video from VG. Any idea on which site to post to share? Think can only upload the 3mins MV bah....full video is like 1hr30mins...file size too big liao
Hi all. I am back from my HM. My wedding at PJ was fantastic. Excellent svc by Pamela and Leon. Most of my guests commented that the food served was great.
Some problems encountered were my guests started to call me when I am doing my makeup, say they dun know how to get here...Signz....I am so busy and tense.....Also, as my wedding is on friday nite, my guests encountered traffic jam while driving to Clarke Quay...So my dinner started at 9 pm!
Despite the minor hiccups, I really am thankful that my wedding was held at PJ. The atmosphere was great!