Peony Jade Resturant

lettingo

cheekchick

why 19 Sept have to take the most expensive menu?
is it considered a hot date?

i believe every restaurant got provide MC one... some people prefer getting their friends to be MC, but chances of getting sabo is high... heehee

I saw my friend also forgo Pouring of champagne, so dun have Yum Seng, but she still got the cake cutting.

cheekychick

Hui

Sigh..PJ say cos its a special coded date
but 688++ comes up to 800, i may as well take hotel rite? So after chking the dates on website, realised 19 Sep clashes with my dad, so i decide to forgo the date loh. I tot 09/09/09 or 20/09/2009 then considered hot dates rite? *pout* Then i dun like yr-end so decided on July...

My relative forgo the cake-cutting. Im wondering which one to forgo...how abt u? R u gg to have both? For me, yum seng sure will have...

sean_yeo

Hello ladies, its me!!!!

Yup, Im finally back after all the hectic preps for the wedding, housing and of cos, the honeymoon. Now starting to settle down after the trip and endless packing ups to be done at our new love nest...

Hmmm...feedbacks....duno how and where to start from. Think it would be easier if I were to answer your questions instead ")

I would be glad to answer any queries to anything related to PJ that u may have. I believe with me & SK's advices (Since we r already Guo Lai Ren, hee hee), you all should have a better understanding and prehaps assurance of your decision to have your dinner in PJ. For our wedding, everything was PERFECT! ")

simplyserene

I'm gonna have my wedding celebration at PJ too in July 2008. I placed the deposit with the restaurant mgr Pamela though. She didn't offer any freebies though. Can I still negotiate for them later as long as I haven't sign any formal contract?

paunic

Hi Sean & SK

My AD is 1st Dec 07.

Need some advice from you Guo Lai Rens...

(1) Is it that if it is a 11-seater table, we can request it to be a set-up for 10-seater?

(2) And if it is a 12-seater table, can we request it to be a set-up for 11-seater table?

(3) My greatest concern so far about PJ is the projector system.... Any hipcups or advice to prevent any problems?

My planned program:-
1 Play childhood montage
2 First March-in to stage
3 Solemnization (No cake-cutting)
4 etc etc....

Since it is a portable projector screen, do they remove the screen after each screening? Coz I was thinking of the havoc when they hav to remove the screen, set up the table etc....

And I heard from some videographers and friends that they experienced at PJ, no image when screening video... or no music came out etc... Any problems like that?

So worried and confused about the projector part...

Please help me...

lettingo

hi chickychick

ya 800 might as well take Hotels like Mecury Roxy, also very nice.....

for me, even though i very much dun like yum seng, but i tink i would still have it plus the cake cutting.. why you want to forgo cake cutting?

sean_yeo

Hi blurblur,

March in singing was ok, except that my wife forgot the 1st 2 sentences of lyrics...just mumbled through, haha...she has abit of stage fright, so when she saw the crowd upon marching in, she was stunned momentarily
But then became alright cos afterall, our 3-in-1 remix song lasted for about 5mins+. Sang from march in area to red carpet then all the way till stage

As for hiccups wise, im glad to say that theres none! But then again, maybe its because i stressed to them during the co-ord meeting when we are going through the program lineup on exactly what i want and what i dun want to see (Im in the banquet line, u see...) and the team followed up accordingly to as per briefed by me. The restaurant manager was jokingly telling me they are under pressure to perform to my expections, that im giving them "Ya1 Li4", haha....

End of the nite, settled the bill and passed to the operations team (Kenny, Pamela and Leon) ang pows for their efforts and job well done!

sean_yeo

Hi shups,

For table seatings arrangements, you can request them to setup according to what you require.

Please note that for 11 or 12 seater tables, they will ask if you want the food portioning to be for 10pax (No need to pay additional)or for 11 or 12pax as seated (Will charge according to additional pax).

We rented the projector from them and did not have any hiccups during our wedding. Most important is to have a dry run few days before your dinner to test out everything that u intend to project to your guests.

As for no music or no video being projected when screening, i believe its due to the configurations of the laptop. This is the 1st problem we encounted during our rehearsal and we initially thought its their projector's fault, but no..its not.
Just got to do the settings for projection through the laptop.

I also reqested for them to remove & setup projector screen twice during the dinner for my march ins and there's no cockups with it. Most impt is that you must give them a reasonable time to get it ready and not ridiculous timing like say... within 10secs

All the best to your AD! Dun be so stressed up!

cheekychick

Seah! Nice to see u back!! Haha...glad dat ur wedding dinner went perfectly at PJ *thumbs up* I was tinkin if PJ's projector is those roll type but looking at ur posts, dun seem to be hor? Ur wifey feels weird having to walk down the carpet again to the changing room to change to EG? I feel abit weird having to change there knowing outside got so many ppl :p Any feedback on food & service from ur guests? Thks for the useful info on the 11/12 seater tables!

Hi Sunbelle, paiseh, i tot its the norm to call & recfm again & again before sending the actual invite :p I tink for relatives, we will juz send invites to all but for frens, only if im sure they will come, then i will give them the invite, else getting the invite would also mean they have to give angbaos...rite? Not v sure also wor~ Attending a fren's wedding dinner soon next mth but she will only send out the invites after the 7th lunar mth...so i guess as long as u noe the cfm guests, its ok bah...

S'rene, since no black & white, mayb can try to ask? I guess no harm trying...

Hui, i noe its dumb but i feel abit stupid 'cutting' the 'cake' :p And i feel dat PJ's stage is reali small. When i was there to view the place, its 2 tables at each side, one for cake cutting & one for champagne (i tink) but i dun see any projector...but the stage is already so cramped! So hor, tot mayb i can forgo one? Btw, wats the significance of yum seng & cake cutting ar? heh~ Hui ar, at first i also dun wan yum seng cos i tink its rather uncouth & i've been to weddings where no1 join the yum seng at all except the ppl on stage...got the duh feeling...but turns out my close colleagues very onz for yum seng plus 85% of the guests are relatives (old ppl) so tot juz go ahead with yum seng...who noes, it might be fun & got more atmosphere?

lettingo

cheekychick... i do have a friend who forgo the cake cutting and her wedding still went perfectly well and it was fun as they sang duets hee... perhaps, u can use the time for cake cutting for something else, like singing, dancing..playing games.. also can be memorable...

as for yum seng, i decided to continue with it because my friend say wedding too quiet like v weird, hope yum seng can somehow bring out the atmosphere....

paunic

hi sean

may i clarify that even for 12-seater table, I may request for a set-up for 10 guests?

do you mind to share your program time-table? I would like to know how to plan the timing etc...

my email... [email protected]

thank you so much!

jew

Hi all PJ 'Guo Lai Ren'

can advise what are PJ wedding favours available for choosing? Thinking of getting them my own if theirs not suitable..

alone

Hi. My AD coming soon next mth. Anyone took PJ's housewine @ Rosso Leggero or Bianco Leggero - house pour wines - at S$20.00 nett/bottle only? With the increased GST, what's the new cost? Thinking to purchase wine outside on a consigment basis lei..Is it worthwhile? The red wine I am thinking to get is the Red Deer Station. Pls kindly advise as I am a layman when it comes to wine. Thanks in advance.

blurblur25

Sean: thanks for sharing. What instruction should we tell PJ staff so that we can ensure not much (or better NO) hiccups for our big day. quite scary leh, i juz dream that there alot of cork up and hiccups on our AD. haha. How much ang pow did u give them? Did u give more to pamela, kenny, leon?

jew

Sean> hmm...can share whether u give the angpow to every managers or just 1 'big' angpow to one and let them split among themselves....?

blue_skies

Hi Moon,

I took PJ's house wine for my wedding lunch and I think everyone was happy drinking it. I had 16 tables for lunch on a Sunday afternoon and the total wine consumed was about 16 or 17 bottles. I am quite sure it didn't exceed 20 bottles. I think only 3 or 4 bottles white wine, then rest all red wine. My hubby and I decided to get the wine from PJ coz we thought it was too much of a hassle to decide what type of wine to get from outside, plus because we both don't really drink wine, we weren't sure what is considered "good" or "not so good". If I'm not mistaken, PJ's wine is Chilean Wine and since the guests drank quite a bit (for a lunch), we figured the wine was pretty decent.

sean_yeo

Hi Cheeky_chick,

Wei, my name is Sean lah, not Seah
And yup, everything went perfect indeed at PJ. And yes, PJ’s projector screen is those roller type with 3 legged stand ah, wat makes u think that its not from my posts?

As for changing into EG, not weird at all lah, cos while we were going towards the changing room, we also chatted abit with guests here & there. People would know we are getting ready for our 2nd march in, so not weird lah. Just remember to draw the curtains when u r changing inside the room

Im glad to say that everybody (Even my senior managers in F&B industry) gave very good comments & remarks with regards to the food & service! Besides the usual “Food is very good! Delicious! “ , “Food abit different from other places, something special!â€, “Portioning more than enough, very fillingâ€, I also had my wife’s friends asking me if I work in PJ (They know that im in banquet line, but duno where exactly), cos of the overall excellent standards in everyting during the dinner, they thot that im PJ’s staff, haha

Hi shups,
Yup, theres no fixed rule that a 12 seater table HAS to seat 12 guests. Its just a matter of setting the table settings nia. So yes, it can seat 10 people if you want to. The 12 seater tables in the plan are just a guide to u if you really have the need to seat 12 guests.

Will dig through my com and send my program to u once I found it, cos made too many amendments liao, duno which is the last version I used. But believe me, the program is just a guideline. During the AD, the timings as planned will never be the same upon execution. But dun worry as u will have the PJ staff, photographer & videographer to cue u on what both of u r supposed to do next.

Hi Meow,
So far, PJ favours selections are couple keychains, candles and chopsticks. We chose the keychains cos more practical for usage lor

Hi moon,
Save all your hassles and get the wines from PJ instead. Just open as required and also save your troubles from lugging the balance wines home if you were to bring in from outside. And u r offered $20nett for your wines? Good price man…mine was $18++ leh….but nevermind lah, its already over and done with

Hi blurblur,
Basically, I printed out a separate briefing list (A different one from the main copy) and passed it to the staff during the co-ord meeting. It covers the whole program sequence and actions to be taken at which point of time by PJ staff (Eg. Dim lights, fade music, clear projector screen….) This will make their job easier as they only have to refer to the list which was given instead of having to scribble on scraps of paper while going through the program verbally with us as per normal standards. I have also included in “Points to take note†which basically instructs them on certain issues eg. Beer barrel to open and connect in my presence, alcohol to serve only upon dinner commencement, wines to top up only upon request and not pouring as if its like tap water…if not, u will be shocked at the no. of bottles opened at the end of the night….and of cos, to ensure the staff to inform guests that the sesame sauce is to be consumed together with the chicken…things like that lor.

Maybe cos I made everything clear and straighforward to them during the briefing, that’s y theres no cockup bah. Cos they know they cant escape mah, with written Black & White copy held by me & them, haha….

For angpows wise, I only gave to the 3 in charge individually at the end of the dinner. No difference in the amount as I do not want them to make comparisons. Anyway, its just a small token of appreciation for their job well done lor

cheekychick

Hui, i tink ur fren might be rite loh...heard dat if juz have 'cheers', like abit weird...i guess no matter wat, we r chinese, cant do w/o yum seng? :p Juz dat must get ur buddies to help out cos i tink its easier to encourage all guests to join in the yum seng if every table, at least 1 or 2 who are enthusiastic abt it, heh~

Shups, i tink Sean mentioned in his previous posts dat u have request for the table to have 11 or 12 guests seated but PJ will ask if you wan the food to be portioned to 10pax or wat loh...so i tink its possible...

Moon, heard dat Carrefour sells good & cheap wines as well for $20+...i myself is not a wine drinker, so not v sure also. Dun even noe if red or white wine goes better with chinese cuisine....

Blue_skies, wow urs is wedding lunch but 16-17 bottles for 16 tables is quite abit! :p I guess PJ wine shld be alrite then...I dun drink wine at all leh. Btw, can ask how would the guests noe they can have wine & beer to drink ar? They will juz ask for it then the PJ waitresses will juz serve & later then u count how many bottles left isit? Wat if totally no beer at all? How to make known to the guests? Hmmm....

cheekychick

Sean, sori, heh...saw ur name wrongly :p Btw, thks for the tips on giving copies of the programme sheet to PJ staff. I've nv tot of it at all! But then, i guess too early for me to tink abt it too cos im only planning the dinner for 2009...i wonder how PJ looks when lights are dimmed cos when i was there, around 5.30pm...the place still quite bright....Does PJ provide emcee?

Can i ask if u have both the cake cutting & champagne pouring? Also, after ur wifey's makeup is done, her makeup artist will juz leave PJ lar? No need to give her a seat?

cheekychick

Missycandyprincess, seems like we've been aiming similar places for dinner...care to share wat isit abt 88 restaurant dat u dun like? Mayb we can chat at the 88 restaurant thread?

sean_yeo

Hi Cheeky_chick,

Yup, i requested for their in house emcee for those official announcements ie. to grab people's attention that something is going to happen. Leon is the emcee and he has done a fabulous job! But he only speaks in mandarin if u do not mind.

Yes, we had both the cake cutting and champagne pouring. Cake cutting is to commemorate the start of the event and champagne pouring symbolises that our love flows endlessly (As what i would always tell couples when Im in charge of their wedding, heehee

You can of course do without them, but as a traditionalist, we feel more comfortable in having that during the dinner. Guests would instead be full of question marks if the cake cutting and champagne pouring has been taken out, cos these are a must for chinese wedding!

We did ask the makeup artist to join in the dinner but she leaves after the makeups are done. Think she is tired liao, cos she did makeup for both of our mums, my wife and her "sisters", haha....

Im now in the process of sorting out and resizing the pics from my photographer, will upload and share with all once ready. Then u can see the exterior and interior of PJ in the evening when there's still daylight and with lights on when its night.

candyprincess

eh cheeky i olredi forego 88 le leh.. and have booked PJ... have u gone to see 88 personally? i suggest u do.. i jus dun like the layout... pj is definitely much much better...

eh sean ur wine 18++ ah... ours 20++ leh... we're also thinking of bringing in own wine budden think abt it maybe use theirs is easier... hmmm after ++/+? comes up to ard 24 per bot lo.. reasonable i guess... like that we dun have such headache ba... their red wine is wad kind ah? chardonnay? merlot? savignon? sweet? dry? fruity???

blue_skies

Hi cheekychick,

About whether the guests know what is available to drink, that is done by the waiters and waitresses. On the actual day, we arrived there about an hour before the guests were due to arrive. We had already arranged before hand with PJ that we would be taking their wine on consignment basis, meaning that we will pay for how many bottles we consume. We did not limit them to any number of bottles. We also told them that we were not going to be serving hard liquor. So the drinks available would be: Beer, Soft Drinks, Chinese Tea or Wine.

Either Pamela or Leon asked my hubby and I when we wanted the drinks to be served. We told them to start serving all the drinks once the guests start arriving, including the wine. If you don't want to start serving wine until the food is served, I'm sure you can also tell them. But we wanted everyone to have their fill so we started serving the alcohol once they stepped in

So when the guests arrive, they'll be asked what drinks they would like, i.e. Beer, Soft Drinks, Chinese Tea or Wine.

If you are not going to have beer, then let your PJ banquet co-ordinator know in advance so that the waiters & waitresses will not mention beer when they ask the guests.

Hi Moon,

PJ has several wedding favours that you can choose from, I can't remember everything but I think there was chopsticks and keychain. I took the keychain coz it was quite cute and I remember the box was wrapped up very nicely. Maybe you can go down to PJ to ask them what wedding favours they have coz the list may have also changed.

blurblur25

Sean: if you dont mind, can you share your list for the greenhorn here. [email protected]
btw, for the wedding favours any idea how much is it? The one im going to order for our guests cost $2 each (not from PJ) Thanks alot!

jew

blurblur> PJ will be refunding $1/ per unused favour. The price of the wedding favours is actually up to individual, may range from $1 up to $5 depends on the type & quality of the favours. As for me, I give a budget of $2 per pc, so that I wouldnt overspend on favours (as some guests dont bother abt favours as long as the food is tasty)

alone

Hi, Sean.

I think the wine prices abt the same as yours ba, since mine is nett and taking into the consideration of GST hike, i think we on same par.

Hi, Blue_skies.
How many tables u took? Coz i am a weekend dinner, and i think hitting ard 250pp. So i am estimating 1.5 - 2 bottles per table. I am not a wine drinker too. But if the prices of the wine outside is abt the same or u guys able to source at same price but at better quality, would u guys be tempted to order outside?

Hmm. I didnt ask abt the wedding favors. Did u mistake me for someone else? I had already chosen during my food tasting in June. I chosed the keychain coz more presentable.

Hi, Cheeky_chick.
I am considering the following: Mr ST from another thread in the forum and another spore co http://www.winecollection.com.sg/
I am thinking to get some red and white.

jew

For PJ BTB info, I have alrdy confirmed with Pauline that they will NOT adjust the price for Wine & Beer as they will absorb the 7% GST (as long as the price given to u for wine and beer is in Nett).

blue_skies

Hi Moon,
I took 16 tables, 10 persons per table. My hubby and I didn't have too much time to spare to go "wine hunting" and as we both also aren't wine drinkers to be able to tell what is good quality or not so good quality, we didn't want to risk buying something from outside which wasn't good. I know that really good wines would be quite costly (>$50 per bottle) and I wasn't sure if a $5 difference in a bottle of wine would make much difference in quality.

Yah, the wedding favours note was for Meow

Hi Meow,
PJ has several wedding favours that you can choose from, I can't remember everything but I think there was chopsticks and keychain. I took the keychain coz it was quite cute and I remember the box was wrapped up very nicely. Maybe you can go down to PJ to ask them what wedding favours they have coz the list may have also changed.

jew

Hi Blue Skies,
Thanks for the info. I think I may get my own favours.. found one from the webby... price quite reasonable and most impt is $ within my budget!

cheekychick

Sean, thks for your patience in answering my many many questions :p No hurry with the pics, when u r free, then mayb you can share with us, heh~ Cos i cant rem who told me dat PJ actually looks quite enchanting at nite but i cant visualise at all :D

Blue-Skies, thks for your detailed explanation! Now i understd already...cos most of the weddin dinners i went to, nv mention wine & beer at all..so i duno how guests will consume if we nv say anything. Scarly buy liao then nv touch at all i will faint cos i totally dun touch alcohol.

Missycandyprincess, i was considering 88 as well actually...cos i still tink PJ's pricings abit bit expensive *oops* I've nv been to 88 but from the pics, cfm PJ is nicer...main reasons why im attracted to PJ is the long march-in & deco on all the chairs...im a sucker for deco, heh~

Moon, abit hard to estimate how much to buy rite? Can ask all the old birds here wat do they do with left-over wines? Juz sell ar? Or drink all urself?? lol...wow, u have 250pax! I will keep to 20 tables at most including 1 reserved table..i hope its enuf...

Meow, thks for the info! Hope they can maintain the price as long as possible *pray pray* Cos im a super lazy person, most prob will end up getting everything from them, heh..

Can ask u guys something? Wat do u all do with the wedding favours u've gotten from those weddin dinners u've attend over the years? Do u reali keep them or...? Would it be weird if i dun wan to give weddin favours at all?...

sean_yeo

Yo ladies!

Ok, managed to dig the briefing list for PJ staff liao...think its easier to upload here and share instead of sending by email individually

Hope its able to assist u in your plannings for a smooth sequence with no cockups for your dinner!

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msword.gif
PJ staff copy
Program Summary (PJ staff).doc (27.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

midori

Hi gals, i am deciding between Grand Shanghai restaurant ( at Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel ) and Peony Jade for dinner for my relatives. Any one knows are they able to cater to abt 5-6 tables? and is the food better at Grand Shanghai or Peony Jade? Thanks!

simplyserene

Hi Sean. Great to know that everything went so smoothly for your wedding dinner. I looked through your program summary as well. I'm very impressed. Short and clear cut. Easy for everyone to follow. Definitely points to learn for me.

Can I ask if I can still bargain for freebies although I've already placed a deposit with PJ?

sean_yeo

Hi s'rene,

If im not wrong, u booked and placed your deposit with Pamela rite? Shes actually the restaurant AM taking care of operations, not the actual sales person. Perhaps you might wana liase with Pauline or Lydia as they are the ones who are doing the sales and of course, the rite people to negotiate with for additional perks

cheekychick

Sean, i tot i see dry ice effect for ur champange pouring??! lol....thks for the effort to share ur big day with us! Im off to view the pics now, hehe...

cheekychick

Sean, ur mum looks so pretty! lol...she keeps smiling non-stop, lol. Your AD photographer is good...i see dat he has managed to capture quite a number of special moments :p Both of u look so young sia...your wife is so tiny! jiao xiao ling long type, lol. I like the colour of the champagne...im used to seeing gold colour but red is nice too...i've noticed dat at some points, the dry ice v strong sia!

blurblur25

Sean: thanks for sharing the file. You and your wife are beaming wif happiness. The champagne is it provided by PJ during the cgampagne pouring session? Thanks

olengjuz

Went to PJ last Sat to use the dining voucher with HB. It was Leon who settled the bill for us. Din know that we were entitled 10% discount before using the voucher cos already VIP to them :p However, cant use the 10% disc if using the voucher. Saw Pauline when we were there, she was talking to this couple who might be interested to hold their wedding there too.

So nice to enjoy the ambience and service again.

cheekychick

Ya loh Hui, see liao also drip saliva rite, LOL. Actually, rather impressed by Sean's photos...gives me the impression dat PJ is v experienced &amp; noes wat couples are looking for...Cos nowadays, even if we choose to hold at restaurants, we hope to have the rite ambience too...Ok, now i noe why PJ is more expensive...

lettingo

ya... cheekychick

if you were to compare other restaurants (even tunglok), you will realise that none of them has a very good ambience like PJ.... Imagine if you take the bum boat arrival during sunset under the ambience of clarke quay.... so romantic.

I really very scared my date will be snatch by other couples.. i think i must go down and book my package asap.... maybe next mth? is it too late? i dun wanna regret !!

jew

hui> u can send them an email asking them to block the date for you 1st and them make appt with them to discuss abt the package details. (i m doing the same too!)