Peony Jade Resturant

simplyserene

I have yet another question. I just received Pauline's draft contract in my mailbox. Can I still discuss for freebies with them in this case? I want to at least get free usage of the projector or waiver for wine corkage.

I replied Pauline saying we'd need to meet up with her to discuss further in details.

Sean - the photos were way cool and very nice!

lettingo

how much is the rental for projector?
all along i thought peony jade rental for tat is free? sighz....

Meow, i had just email lydia to ask her to block my date.... thanks for telling me!!!!

simplyserene

Hi hui... It's $150 for projector rental. Pamela told me if I can find my own projector then she can lend us the screen at no additional charge.

candyprincess

i also tried to get Lydia to waive the charges for projector but she says they also have to rent it so they cnt absorb the amt.. dunno true or not la... she did say screen is free.. quite duh.. anyway i lazy to ask waiver liao... hai... jus let it be la. hahaha..

olengjuz

PJ have a certain quota to meet every month hence they wont be giving so many freebies or using of their equipment for free especially during the peak period e.g. CNY, lunar 8th month, end of year towards Xmas/NY etc. Thus, cant expect much discount if holding wedding during these period.

cheekychick

Hi Hui, since urs is first half of 2009, mayb its better to book first? My hubby is v insistent on only booking when 2009 prices are cfm...so i can only wait loh...I plan to contact Pauline again in Dec....

lettingo

cheeky chick.... i made an appointment with Lydia in Oct to view the package and if everyting is ok, i will place deposit... if you want, You can come with me too!!!!
Meanwhile i must faster go and see other possible venues too....

cheekychick

Hui, do u mean that coming Oct, 2009 prices can be confirmed liao? heh...if they can cfm, im most willing to discuss more...As im quite a fickle-minded person, my hubby is only willing to place deposit end of this yr...I dun mind coming with u but i go with u then i juz sit there lar? lol...Feel like gg PJ again anyway cos dat time when i went, paiseh to probe more as the couple is reaching soon & i saw ppl carrying up wines & clothes :D

sean_yeo

Thanks for the compliments and well wishes....this is what this forum is all about wat...sharing info and of course....pics!!

lettingo

Hi Cheekychick... i going in OCT to discuss package... but whether to sign up, is still up to my hus.. though i like the place very much.. 600+ for restaurant is still very pricey to me.. but lydia had guaranteed that the increase will be less than 5%.. maybe u can come with me if you are free, and u can view first... get some ideas before u decide...

cheekychick

Hey Hui, u slp so late??!? I dun mind gg with u...in fact, my workplace can walk to Clarke Quay mrt station but the exit is at the Central Mall there, lol. R u going with ur hubby?

lettingo

hey cheekychick, ya haha, i always slept quite late..... my hubby, not too sure leh, he might go or might not... u bring ur hubby along lar....but i was thinking, if i go discuss with lydia, is it on the spot must sign up? no right? can still consider and discuss with hubby right? haha i keep feeling insecured and changing my mind haiz...

sleepycat1

Hui,

No lah u dun need to sign on the spot. Can decide later wan... we went 2-3 times before deciding to book.
But if u are talking to Lydia, good to write down wat she says esp if it is the freebies...then when u decide later on, u dun need to bargain again can show them wat was said earlier

lettingo

hey gals... dunno whether is it i think too much...

just met up with a group of friends, and realise that one of my friends also holding her wedding in Peony Jade in 2008. I got excited and told her that me also holding in PJ in 2009...

After she heard, she became very quiet.
Before that, she said she will have the boat arrival and solemnisation by the River (exactly the same as what i plan to do too, but i didn't comment that i also will be doing)

After that, she left home early as she didn't want to talk much and look unhappy. My other friends who stayed for the gathering started to comment that maybe she is unhappy that i am also holding in Peony jade. and she felt that i am copying cat her.

I say No lar, maybe she tired... but one of them commented YOu dunno meh, she very scared People same as her one....

Gals, am i thinking too much or affected by my friends? i SOmehow feel uneasy... but i dun want my friend to be unhappy, neither do i want to give up Peony Jade since this is the place i ROM in.

olengjuz

hui > tell your "quiet" friend that good things are menat to be shared. Isn't it better to enjoy the feast again at PJ? Talk to that friend of yours if it's really the issue that she's unhappy about. Nothing to brood about too.

sleepycat1

Can have it at the same place but maybe do things differently. Maybe instead of arriving by bum boat, arrive in a trishaw?? I am sure that are many creative ways to make things special and memorable.

lettingo

hmmm Ya.... actually i dun mind eating the feast again and again and if my other friends wanna hold in PJ too, i will take it as remicising about my sweet memories with my husband in the place... i think i will do it differently from her then, so that she won't feel upset... sigh...

but then i dun understand why she want to think that i am copy cat, because i ROM in PJ, not surprising that i would go back there to hold my Wedding dinner again mah.

candyprincess

ehhh is this frn of urs gd frn? i dun tink frns shld be so hmmm "petty" pardon me for being so direct bah... heh if she stil bothered by it maybe such frns r nt worth it ? i duno la.. hehe jus my pov kuakua... abit drama but oh well...

lettingo

candyprincess... hmmm, back in poly, she is quite a close friend.... i hope i didn't make her unhappy in some ways... but i tink i will still continue with my PJ wedding in 2009

alone

Hey, for brides who had held their wedding in PJ le, does PJ provide what u call - a stand for u guys to put the wedding portrait?

sean_yeo

Hi moon,

Yup, PJ does provide an eazel stand for the wedding portrait which will be placed at the guests registration area. Cheers!

530176.jpg

lovelytulips

Hi Sean,

Do you think the easel can put those 3-in-1 portrait that is horizontal?

The recep area can only sit 2 receptionist rite??

Having my wedding next sun... stressed now... anything i need to take note of???

candyprincess

wa lovelytulips... congratz!! try to relax and let ur coordinators do their job... jus enjoy ur wedding once in a lifetime ... heee savour the limelight!!!

hui - hmmm i dun tink u shld worry abt whether u have made her unhappy... its ur wedding leh... u cn decide where u want to hold it ... cheer up!! =)

cheekychick

Hui, if ur fren reali feel unhapi becos ur wedding venue is similar to hers, then u shld be the one who feel unhapi cos u've had ur ROM there way before her loh! Duh~ Nothing wrong with holding at similar venues wat...juz goes to show dat u gals have similar taste? Tell her to be prepare for more ppl booking PJ cos latest issue of Style Weddings got a page on PJ loh...Last time i dun rem seeing PJ advertising at all, lol. Dun wori too much...Its YOUR wedding...i got sick of ppl commenting on my decision to hold at restaurants, commenting on how inconsiderate i am to consider holding the dinner on a weekday & inconveniencing ppl etc...Now i bochap already...I will do it the way i wan. So shld u!

Lovelytulips, i've seen the size of the reception table before, at most 3 skinny ppl loh...but its alrite to have 4 i tink? Juz place an extra chair :p

goldiepooh

lovelytulips congrats! enjoy your big day! As what candyprincess mention, let your coordinators do the job, you just sit back and relax and enjoy the day. Don't mind too much on the little hiccups and have faith that everything is going to be smooth.

Hui, you know us women are like that one lah. Want special, competitive and don't want others to be same as us etc especially if is own friends. I also have such feelings when my good friend told me she is getting married also in the same month as I am. My mind was like thinking aiya why like that especially i say first i getting married. Because we have common friends mah so i think people may compare both our weddings. I was worried then that she will go for PJ too because she is also not taking a lot of tables. This make me very stress. But later on I come to realise what most important is ourselves, how we want to enjoy the whole process and not what other people think. if you are truly happy and enjoying the whole process of preparation etc, you will not care what other people think lor. So hopefully your friend will open up too.

Cheeky_chick, PJ ads appear in almost every wedding mags every issue. Even without the ads, alot of people are also booking because have us posting such good comments in forum! kekeke...

People around us will always tend to influence our decisions by making comments, dont care too much what they say as long as this is what both you and your hubby want then thats it.

lovelytulips

thanks fr ur congrats... very diffult to relax now leh.... machiam alot of things not done.

hui, i feel that it's sometimes human to feel that 'eee... u copy me' cos everybody wants something different or unique.

however, i feel that for her to show it out and if make any remarks, it will be very 'unfriendly' of her. like what some say, just say the reasons why u want to use PJ. i'm sure people can understand. if she is still angry or whatsoever, then let her be.. nothing u can do oso.

when it comes to banquet, think friend's thinking/feeling/remarks should be ur last priority cos i think family members and relatives have alot more to say.... if bother too much abt everybody, u will be very vexed and unhappy.

3 skinny pple... hmmm... cos i suddenly realise that the are is quite narrow.... scare alot of pple squeese there...

going down next week to confirm my table arrangement.... not doing montage so no need to test projector... heng ah....

for the benefit of those using projector and duno the timing, i understand that u have to do it during say 3-4 odd after the restaurant is not serving any more lunches, so do take note and plan ur time.... especially, if urs is during the peak months, u may need to try it out on weekdays (take leave!!!)

lettingo

hi Everyone here, thanks for all your encouragement words to me.... today i realise something strange, my friend change her AD venue, she no longer holding in Peony Jade already..... its so strange...

cheekychick

Hui, ur fren's AD is when? Can say change then juz change ar?? Tot its 2008?? U noe where she change to? Mayb u can ka jiao her, say u also change liao, same venue as her, wuhahahahaah :p Sori, im so bad...Actually to me, same venue is no big deal. The biggie is if two frens choose same BS & get the same OTR WG. Dat is then a big deal loh, heh~ So how Hui? Feeling abit confused rite...Hope this wont affect the frenship....One person in a lifetime has so many frens...if keep changing venue becos dun wan to be the same, then cham liao...

Goldiepooh, to be frank with u, i've nv heard of PJ until i started searching for venues :p I nv see any page on PJ when i bot the last issue of Her World Brides, Female Brides & Style Weddings wor..mayb i cork-eye...But this issue, the page on PJ is whole page, not like those usually feature restaurants, a few on one page dat kind. Have u gals visited the PJ website again? Looks like the menus have changed abit

Blurblur, duno can taste dessert boh hor...I cant rem i read from where dat if u wana taste the dessert, must pay extra or wat. But i noe cold dish, usually wont let u taste? haha...U take mango sago, nv take yam paste ar? Anyone take yam paste here??

lettingo

Cheekychick, i am indeed confused as i just met them up few days ago. According to herself, her AD is Dec 08... then according to my another friend today, she say she hasn't book any venue yet, just decided on PJ only but decided to change her mind for some dunno wat reasons. I hope this won't affect our friendship too. For myself, i usually will not mind if my friend hold in the same place as me.

candyprincess

hmmm actually for me, i try nt to hold wedding at the same plc as frns.. esp if common frns... so far heng heng none of my frns have chosen PJ hurhur... they chose places like carlton, shangri la, four seasons, qianxi ... yeah but if my frn realli chose same as me i dun tink i will mind ba... as long as after mine whahaahahah =P tis kinda thing at times hard to avoid la... there are only so many places we can choose lo... hehehe ...

we chose PJ becos the food is good n unique from other places.. also becos the layout is wad i like! oriental yet modern and romantic feel... also it's cosy and i am not having more than 220 guests for now... HAHA...

quite stressed abt guest list.. been chasing in laws as well as my own papa mama for who they asking to attend the dinner... i'l be having church wedding as well so most of the pple will invite for church le... dinner is more for super close frns and relatives... =)

though mine is next yr feb, i kinda feel like im still missing out things... i keep going thru my list of things done and not yet confirmed.. quite kan cheong leh... but on the exterior, pple say i like super cool and relaxed... deep inside I JUST CANT WAIT!!!! hee hee hee... finally the day will come where bi and i will be become husband and wife officially in the eyes of the God, Law and everyone... so exciting!!! I thing though, I'm afraid i will cry when exchange vows... i can be quite emo la.. hee hee... also scared my mum will cry la.. hahahaha drama drama... kekeke ...

anyway, my list of dones consist of :

dinner venue - check
church venue - check
bridal studio - check
AD photographer - check
shoes - tentative check

coming up:
- fitting of gowns
- photoshoot
- marriage prep classes with church

to do:
- buy bi's shirts / ties / shoes
- settle bridesmaids dresses
- settle brothers shirts & outfit
- confirm flowergirl and pageboy (asked le a/w reply)
- get forms and file with ROM in Nov ?

what else what else ???

sleepycat1

Candyprincess,

Me also having church wedding leh
My AD is in Jan 08. U having everything in one day? Mine's split over 2 days.

Remember to start working out ur helpers list, not just the flowergal and pageboy. Cos church wedding needs a lot more helpers. Took me a long time to settle mine...:p

cheekychick

Missycandyprincess, u so cute leh! Hehe...ur excitement is pretty infectious :p I tink cos for me, i already living with my hubby, ROMed for more than 2yrs liao, so i dun feel much leh...juz hope to get it over & done with so dat the elderly will not nag & they wont kick up a fuss if i get pregnant, lol. Btw, u dun have AD VG?

sean_yeo

Hi lovely tulips,

Yup, can put your 3-in-1 portrait on the stand,shouldnt be a prob. Just gotta adjust the screws behind the stand to fit the height of your portrait.

As for reception table, i had 4 of my frends seated! 3 guys + 1 ger. Not very squeezy lah,quite comfortable spacings too.

531035.jpg

Perhaps you would like to refer to my previous posts and attachments for your things to take note. All the best to you & your HB for both of your BIG day next sunday!!

missypms

moshi....i wan to sign up with PJ. Great to get all the good feedback abt the food.....How much should i pay for the menu???

candyprincess

sleepycat - mine 1 day.. heh.. dun wish to spread it over 2... did initially have that idea budden we prefer to "suffer" 1 day hahahah hmmm helpers lisT??? im tryin to get my jiemeis to meet up soon.. need to discuss abt colour theme, style of dress, who does what lor... then also my other half is to work out wif his brudders who does what... we also tryin to allocate drivers... hehe... cos realized my jie meis dun own cars though 3 of them drive lor... at most jus rent a car for them... but the brudders i tink 2 ride bikes ... 3 drive cars .. so that one is for my other half to speak to them liao... =)

cheekiee chickkiee.. hee - dun reli see the need for AD VG have considered for quite awhile but seriously feel that nt necessary to have... see how lo... u have gd cheap one to recommended ah? hehehehhe yeh we nt allowed to stay together til after customary even if we were to rom early so jus do one shot.. kekee

simplyserene

Mmmm... I note that the PJ aisle is rather long. If we're choosing songs for march-in, how long shd they be? My No 1 choice of song for 1st march-in is only abt 3min. Not sure if it's too short.

lovelytulips

hi sean, thanks.... i saw and saved a copy of ur notes le!!! useful!!!!

now, another big headache... my number of guests is dropping. hahah.... with a number of 213, i think i will only take 21 tables. but there are some tables which i will want to sit 11 or 12 cos very difficult to separate pple. then there will be some tables with only 8 or 9 pax. u think PJ will allow? cos i understand that they wiill kind of allocate the number of prawns, 'big' items food.

cheekychick

Missycandyprincess, i also not sure if AD VG is necessary...juz dat most of my frens say shld have cos in the mornings, we wont noe wats gg on outside...the VG can capture alot of moments we've missed cos we cant be everywhere at all times...i guess another purpose of VG is for the montage bah...But i do noe of frens who do away with it

Looks like many ppl are still quite traditional in the sense...cannt stay together w/o customary, lol. For me, we nearly did away with customary all together cos we felt it was a waste of $ *no offence to all!* But end up we r planning for one as i tink shld respect the elders..cos bring us up also hard on them, treat it like honour them

blurblur25

Just back from the food tasting. The staffs are very friendly. Kenny & Leon serve us. Kenny brief us what to prepare, what to do etc..
gosh, only 2mth+ to go...

cheekychick

Blurblur, how's the food? hehe...managed to try the desserts? For now, rest more, drink more water, keep urself worry-free so can be a radiant bride!

sunbelle

Hi Blur Blur,
how is ur food tasting session huh? is there a new menu which is to be launched to allowed bride and grooms to choose from huh?

i am supposed to go down for the food tasting session too.havent arrange with Kenny yet cos havent confirm the availability of the parents....did u all select ur door gift too on the same day huh?
what is the procedure like ?

have u all signed the contract before food tasting huh? max is 6 persons rite? understand last time SK got free desserts leh hehee
hope i am oso lucki...hehe how many courses can we get to try huh?

olengjuz

Yup sunbelle, I got 3 bowls each of both types of desserts for foc, to share among 7 ppl during our F/T.

LT > Rest assured that thigns will go right on ya wedding de lah. Must remind yourself to stay composed yah.