Peony Jade Resturant

finni

they suggest me to buy all the wine & beer from her lor..
at least 17tables lor
i not sure if i nego with pauline will be betetr anot?

jew

finni> my case is almost like yrs, but as long as u book 18 tables, that will be fine.... if yr banquet still left with 1~2 tables empty, u can leave it for another day and come back for dinner with family...

finni

now i consider taking 18tables with cheapest packages lor......
do u have any stay in hotel???
also during the dinner who kept the ANGPAO for u.
Issit safe to left the angpao box in the changing room?

olengjuz

Try not to leave AP in the changing room cos their staffs can enter the room to take something from the store room. Not safe in this regard. Meow's suggestion is good. Try considering, finni. =)

chubby_ting

I am tinking of having my AD in 09. Shortlisted PJ. However, check with you girls how is their changing room? They do have a area for the brides to change right? Is it v small?

If the Ang Pao Box cant b placed int he changing room then how? How to safe keep?

Heard alot of gd feedbacks abt PJ. But worried that ppl would tink that its restaurant n give v little $$... hehe $$ face la...

Their max capacity is 250pax max? So their per table is abt 12pax?

Thanks girls for your advice.

lunabride

Thanks for all the discussion and I just had my wedding over on 16/6/07. It was fun and the food was good.

Tips: if u consider PJ as your wedding venus, pls attach the map together with the invitation, cos still most of the pp didn't know the place well.

If u have a long gown, try to do this. I have a full french lace gown and the effect is nice cos it can see the details of your gown.

499595.jpg
499596.jpg

lunabride

Anyone interested to rent a Polaroid camera for their wedding?

My experience is your friends will be interested to get the first hand photos and you will be busy taking photos with them.

I renting out my polaroid camera. Feel free to pm or sms me at 98422929.

My advice is: since PJ is a chinese resturant with some infusion of mostern western culture, should do something special and unique.

These are some of the photos of my polaroid camera
499600.jpg
499601.jpg

lunabride

Hi all PJ brides,

May I know anyone of your not using sharkfins as one of your menu? What do u replace with? I'm looking for BTB who use fish maw to replace sharkfins.

olengjuz

Hi Lunabride, that was such a pretty gown...I din stand there before the march-in cos mine's only 3m long from waist down...so still manageable. =)

BTW, are you an marine environmentalist? Wanna collect data?

jew

finni> my package is S$598nett (weekend) which incl. a nite stay at one of the hotels (panpacific or merchantcourt or conrad).

blurblur25

lunabride: very pretty. but my WG dont have such a long train...

finni: most likely we will be taking 18tables as well so that we can have the whole PJ ourself. anything less they will sell the rest of the tables for their walk in customer during the wedding

finni

moew: i taking 18 tables , is better to have the whole resturant...
i taking on weekeday.
i jus wonder how to keep my angpows leh.
where to park the car??
also u all wear the WG to PJ or
change at PJ?
For those who do not stay at hotel.
Wear the WG back to hse or change at PJ???

olengjuz

Lunabride, it's great that you are pretty conscious about protecting the marine eco-system. *grins* I dont have a specified title for what I am doing now.

I stayed in Conrad and it's very cosy, with complimentary AMBF, chocs and a pair of bridal bear from them, plus one other bear too. We took a shot of 3 of the bear (made it look like it's a family of 3 - daddy & mummy bear with a sonny bear). Excellent service too.

finni > I changed into normal clothes in the changing room. Advise to park your car at Liang Court too. I had few guests who still park their cards at Clark Quay hence not entitled to have the FOC carpark coupon for exchange. Do rem to inform all your guests (if driving) to park their cars at Liang Court cos PJ only gives out FOC car parking coupons for parking at Liang Court only.

finni

1 more question

During the 3rd course, do u all change ur changstyle???
Or u all remain the same hair thoughout the whole banquet???
If request MUA, to change the hair style during the 3rd course.
what is the additional charge??????

olengjuz

Finni, this will really depend on your MUA. Perhaps you could negotiate with your MUA for changing hairstyle at 2nd march-in?

Usually, the PJ mgr will prompt you at the 2nd dish (while having sharks fin dish) so that there's enough time to change into TD/EG. For most cases, only one hairstyle thru out the banquet.

jew

Finni> My wedding is still a long way to go.. (end of Dec) .. so not sure abt the hongbao keeping... but was told by Pauline that there are 2 carparks to choose from... one of them is at liang court, another cant really remember, u can ask Pauline or the manager..

Usually MUA will slightly change the hairstyles (told by one of friends) to match the EG but not redo the style... if redo, I think they will charge u..charges depends on yr MUA...

lunabride

Hi SK,
Thanks cos my hb & me are diver, so we didn't like to have shark fins on the menu. (or else we won't be seeing shark next time go diving)
I also stays at concrad, very very good service. U didn't even need to handle anything, except your handbag. They have a CSO to follow u upstairs to assist in the check-in right. Supert service. Better than Rasa Sentosa. I got two days celebration, so there are many many things to carry, but they are very good in their service and pro-action.

Hi Finns,
As for the Ang baos, designated one person, like ur sister or his sister to take care of it. For me, at first we got one from our side, but later his sister said she will take care of it, and we let it be. Think it better to let the groom side pp to handle it rather than friend cos of sensitive issue. But must be trustworthy one lah.

As for carpass, got one person to handle the carpass (the brother), but when towards the end like sending the guest home, my hubby handle them cos he knows the guest better than the brother does. easiler.

sunbelle

Hi folks,

mi quite busi lately din haf time to post hehe

veri nice wedding gown lunabride hehe

yo, we went to t dragon to see the map..yeah it wasnt updated with the new shopping development, centro so i suggested to the lady to update the map too ..not too sure whether has the map been updated..when i start telling my close frens, they dun even noe where the place is leh...not all of them know this resturant..so tink map is veri impt...

olengjuz

lunabride

Hi Meow,
I didn't upgrade the hotel room, cos I only stay for a day and next day check in Rasa Sentosa for next two days. Didn't kow the extra charges

finni

Hi Sk ,

Can teach me how u do it???
u invite all ur relatives to ur PIL house ??

i also thinking of doing it this way.

Then follow by wedding dinner issit>

olengjuz

Oh finni,

I did my wedding in this manner.

Day 1 - Customary started late morning and ended around 2pm plus at both families residence before returning to my house again for ROM at 3.30pm. Had outdoor photoshoot after ROM with jie meis and bros gang.

Day 2 - Luncheon banquet at PJ.

The coordination is good cos we had plenty of time to while away. Not so rush too.

You could have done the same thing or just hold your ROM before the start of banquet. We plan to do it this way when intially decided to hold wedding on one full day. We changed the plan cos we brought forward our wedding and split the wedding ceremony into 2 days.

finni

oic... so is at ur house.
Anyway, is a great idea...
i planning to have at my own hse as well.
Jus to check , did u need to defer ur ROM cerf to the HDB????

eternity82

hi SK,

i would like to know more about yr luncheon banquet at PJ. u took the ROM package or the lunch package? how much is it? cause i only have 10 tables while PJ lunch need minimum 15 tables.

lovelytulips

luna, that is a pretty gown. and it has a train.. so nice.

now thinking whether my train is long....

btw, is the champagne table with the glasses very high up? cos i'm pretty short while my HTB is tall. wait i need to tip toe or the hand will have to lift all the way up... seems abit weird.....

going for my F/T soon... did anyone of u top up for food? cos they only give 6 dishes. wondering if it's enough....

olengjuz

finni > Nope I dun need to defer. My appt was scheduled on 29th April, ROM/AD on 9th June and collection of keys on 12th June...so everything had been "planned" nicely for me and hubby. *beams* PJ will not give complimentary AP box. Some bridal packages do.

Eternity > I took the normal luncheon banquet. Had one of the lower banquet packages. We thought it's already good enuff. We haven't heard any complaints fron my guests so far.

LT > The champange pouring glasses were slightly high. It's still manageable for us. No prob for hubby and I'm 1.6m.

lovelytulips

hi SK,

i'm 1.54 only... thinking what to do.... scare i'll look ugly if i lift my hands too high... haha... think i'll try it out during my F/T session.

btw, which package did you take? wanted to take the lower end one as well, but mum was saying, wait pple will say. guess old folks are pretty concern about complaints of food. no choice but got to up my package.

how was your wine and beer consumption like? mine is also a luncheon so, thinking whether pple will drink alot...

olengjuz

LT >

How many tables are u planning to take up? ACtually, I thought of going for 600++ packages but since it's a luncheon, we also consider ppl might not give "normal" AP rate hence we opted for lower end package and surprisingly the package we took up was good! Initially, we thought it might not turn out to be as nice as we expect (cos during F/T portion size was smaller ..not full actually..and tastied slightly saltish for chicken in hot sesame oil i think).

My advise is go for the package which you think you can afford...afterall it's you who's paying for the bill. Dun worry much about the quality of foods in PJ cos they (which i strongly believe) serve excellent foods to guests who dine there.

I took up all 22 tables ..had about 240+ pax. Pamela allow me to bring in max of 12/14 bottles (cant rem clearly cos hubby handled it). All my bottles of wine brought in were consumed about an hour after the start of banquet. So we ended up paying for another 10 bottles from PJ. Sadly speaking, I din manage to taste any wine during banquet...think only champagne...haha.

We brought in 3 bottles of Martell and only half a bottle was used. No corkage was charged.

Let me know if you have nay other issue. Be glad to help too. =)

olengjuz

Hi finni,

Nope I din...I just got the venue put up with little decors ...that's abit it.

Staircase also decorated with pew decoratives.

Very simple touch. Could view the venue decor in my online photo album.

lovelytulips

hi SK,

thanks for your advices.

i will be taking at least 20 tables, number of guests going up. having a headache now cos i just switched job and so thinking whether to invite old colleagues and new colleagues or just those that i am more ok with.

that's the concern i have also - abt the ang bao rate. but parent's concern is that, should not be thinking of 'losses' but more of pple celebrating together.

i'm thinking of getting the wines from PJ itself cos lazy to think as well as the tpt of the wines. think pple these days drink more wine than beer and hard liqour. unless relatives are hard core drinkers....

olengjuz

LT > Exactly! It's good to purchase directly from PJ too. Hubby and I have discussed any additional purchase of wine from PJ will be charged under my parent's account. Wines brought in were paid by hubby. There's one time I even called PJ up to ask them for "better" quality wine. My dad was telling me $20/bot of wine seems cheap quality and get me to call PJ to check for more expensive wine. *pengz* In fact, I really called up to check and there's another wine...think costs $36 ?/bot and slightly better. In the end, we cfm with the $20/bot cos Pam told me, quality not much diff.

Dun worry so much. I'm sure things will go smooth for you.

Hi all..

i also having my wedding on the 25th dec. 250pax. i have choosen merchant court for my stay cos nearer to PJ. may i know wat are the weddin flavor they have? i am thought of getting my own wedding flav-like shot glass. more special