Park Hotel Orchard

yeos_family

Hi Jo, juz had my wedding last week. Heard frm my guest dat the fish is not fresh which i oredi complain during my food tasting. The rest is ok.

sweet_precious

Hi gals, i have just sign up with Crown Hotel. Very pleased with the package and service, felt welcome.I guess for food is very subjective, some people like it salty and like my fiance, a little salt he says is blend. Glad that Yeo's family wedding is ok.

partydoll

Hi gals, i have book appt to go dwn Crown this week. Can share with me what are those perks and things that i can bargain for. This is the 2nd hotel im gng for. 1st one is HIPV, bt my date is taken up. Thanks

sweet_precious

Hi annie, when's your AD? My girlfren just had her wedding lunch at HIPV, was disastrous! From booking of her guests rooms (wrong groom's name), function room not set, cocktail not served and not an apology!!! They practically forget the entire event and the operation mgr could actually says that they have another 40 tables event going on. (What a ridiculous excuse). Think her coordinator was a indian lady or something...do check with her if you really want to sign up with them. Crown hotel has got everything in the package and location is ideal, i tink only thing to bargain for is the corkage charge.

toppie

The 2007 package is out. If anyone is planning wedding at Crown, you can consider the package. The package is valid for wedding held till Jan 2008

kellykat

Can check who are the coordinators for Crown Hotel? I spoke and met one guy called William.
He is very bad! Forgotten I am going to meet him that day!! And after promising to send me the floor plan and layout (that day got some DnD, so cannot see the room properly and it was not setup for dinner!) he did not email me!! even after i reminded him one week later!

I am quite disappointed as I do think the package is very reasonable and seriously considering the hotel but this type of service makes me feel very insecure! So, if anyone else here have a responsible coordinator, please let me know.

Thanks a lot!
Kelly

sweet_precious

Hi Kelly Kat,

I have signed with them 2 weeks ago and am impressed with their service. My coordinator is Aileen, she's the assistant banquet sales manager and nice lady. I think their package is reasonable and situated in orchard and nothing much extra to ask.

september

i had my wedding on 1st Oct 2006 and William is my co-ordinator. Althought he is bit blur but he is still a nice person to negotiate and work wif....but as he is blur, u will have to take more initiative to 'remind' him things lor...

kenjoc

Hi Hi,,

Jus had my wedding last Mon. And my co-ordinator is William. Just like what Diana mentioned, he a bit blur blur one, so the couple has to have more initiative to take action, remind him etc. The banquet managers I had that night was Chris & Audie. Both are helpful and nice.

Thou having a slight hiccups with my seating arrangement, but luckily Chris is kind enough to help out. =)

partydoll

Hi Melissa,
thanks for the info, i dun book with HPIV in the end, coz all my dates are not available. In the end took Crown. :D

partydoll

Hi Jo,
I have booked crown too, AD is 22/09/07. BTW, do Crown allows u to bring Duty-Paid liquor? As im now trying to get those fiends who flys to get for me from DFS.

september

annie, legally, all hotel only allow duty paid liquor and wine to be brought in for comsumption, think this is one of the govt law ba...liquor from DFS are duty free and it is not acceptable. tink the hotel will need to see the receipt of the liquor to show them that the liquor brought in are duty paid.

kenjoc

Annie,

jus like Diana said, all hotels only allow duty-paid liquor and wine. But if you are going to bring in duty free, it's advisable to talk to the banquet manager.

I tried PM you, but yours not activated.

september

er...i doubt Crown will allow duty free liquor or wine lor...coz the penatly if caught by govt will be kan tong their licence for selling liquor lor....so which hotel wan to risk it wen this is so impt during banquet or D&D....

so far, the only hotel is Yxxk nia lor...but they will pour the bottle into jug or their own bottle before serving to guest lor....

photomontage

this hotel has just changed its name to park hotel.
I don't like this crappy sounding name
all of you BTBs better go check if your contract is still valid, it might turn out to be just like the 2004 incident

kenjoc

Hi annie..

Sorry for the late reply.. PM i think it's personal messaging.. you have to activate it under your profile.

Ya.. the hotel has changed its name to Park Hotel.. i had my wedding last month.. but they have changed the name at the lobby.. in the end.. some of my guest couldn't locate the place.. sigh..

partydoll

Hi Jo,
Oh my..i was surprise that day when i went down to sign the contract. Coz i tot they have just changed from Crown Prince to Crown Hotel @ Orchard. Oh, i have activated my PM :D.

kenjoc

Hee.. cos their hotel got bought over by this Park Hotel group some months back last year..

Officially from this month onwards, they are named Park Hotel liao..

Annie, you got mail. =)

sweet_precious

The hotel was brought over in Sept 2005 and then called Crown Hotel at Orchard but the recent one was a re-branding. As wat Jo said, by Park Hotel Group, they too bought over Grand Plaza Park Royal - now called Grand Plaza Park Hotel, City Hall and coming up in 2008, another hotel call Park Hotel Clarke Quay.
It seems thet are really doing very well.

Annie, when's your AD?

kellykat

Hi Melissa

Can you send me Aileen's contact? Cos I email William, no reply.. urgh.. i wan to chk some thing before i decide on booking. thanks a lot
please email to [email protected]

partydoll

Hi Melissa,
My AD is on the 22/09/07.
Hw abt u?
Oh that Park Hotel Gp oso bot the Royal Plaza Hotel @ Beach Road..now its call the Parkroyal on Beach Road. :D

partydoll

Hi Melissa,
Pai sei...i made a mistake...hahahaha..coz they used to be sister hotel. Bt now they are rival..
pardon me...

koxxic

Guys and gals,

Just tot I'll share my experience here..Just had my wedding last Dec..Bad experience from the assist banquet manager - Ail**n..do not wish to elaborate more liao..but do beware if you all interested to sign with them..

Then on the wedding day..big big problem with the food..dunno is it spoiled or wat..the food served is soured and a few of my guest got sick after eating...leave it to you guys to judge.

best part, i write in to complain..no one call me to apologise or explain..all they did, send me a $100 food voucher with no letter attached..haiz..
how sad and angry to get sich service from a hotel their size

sweet_precious

So bad? But no offence anyone.... is always good to listen to both sides of story. Like wat Diana said - everyone got their comments and complains, my coordinator is Aileen. So far, she's in my good book...assisting to my enquiries all the time and friendly. My ex-colleague had her wedding there and comment her service was good, Aileen even went up to her bridal suite to congratulate her and husband. By the way, she is expecting and took the effort to meet up with me and hub in the evening after work, she has got a coordinator, Wendy whom is very professional too. When Aileen not around, wendy follows up accordingly.

Food wise i have no comment cos have not tried, again is very subjective. My ex-colleague has no complain but only the ballroom was abit stuffy.

Just hope mine is not like mentioned - spoiled or sour!

kenjoc

Hm... well, I had my wedding also in Dec 06, well.. the food wise are okie, no complains from my guests..

so far, my guests sitting behind feedback that the sound system not very good, they can't hear the emcee clearly, and the projector screen is too far for them to see..

I had two assist banq manager, Chris & Audie for my dinner, and they are very helpful too.

partydoll

Hi Anthea, The package which includes the animated montage applies to the higher price package. Basically the ballroom is rectangular size, pillars by the side.

sweet_precious

Hi Annie, i have spoken to Wendy, she seems very friendly over the phone but have not met up with her before. But she seems to know wats going on and she's able to answer my questions when Aileen is not around. They must have communicated very well.

koon22

I pity koxxic, The damage has already been done and yet they only compensated 100 food voucher. I don;t know any of you heard of what happen during 2005, they almost "eaten" away all our hard earned deposit of $2000 for every couple for the wedding packages with no fault from any of us.

They send us a letter initally to tell us to make alternative arrangements as they most likely could not fulfil their obligations to hold my wedding in May 2005. I have just sign up with their package for a month and they refuse to pay back the deposit. Subsequently, after failing to go CASE dur to the sum involved and me threatening to go Small tribunal court, they finally pass back the money and said sorry. I refuse to accept their apologies because they have already soured the mood in my wedding then.

My advise is :- Do Not Go Crown Hotel to hold your wedding IF you could find any other alternatives, Even if those Crown people give you "goodies"

I was once "tempted" by the goodies too when I first signed up and thought that I have got an incredible deal---- Only to find out one month later that my deposit is being "eaten" up.

The feeling is like you went to Arcarde, placed a dollar to play a game and there is no maintenance stuff to retrieve that dollar which failed to activate that game. The most you can do is kick that machine and hurt your leg.

pink_clouds

Hi Koon

How come they cannot fulfil their obligations to hold ur wedding in May 2005? Who was ur coordinator? This sounds so scary!

pink_clouds

Hi! How come this thread is so quiet? Any crown bride out there? Really need your comments about the wedding experience at crown! Please help =)

koon22

Pink Clouds, you could actually check the archive of this thread between August 2004 till Dec 2004 in this topic for my comments and frustrations to know better of the situation. I have actually went to CASE and SCT before. Adn sure enough, they cannot do anything that time to help me. Not even sue them.

They did return my deposit later in Dec only if I sign a non indeminity to Crown Prince form

After all the unhappiness and anxiety, there is no point to carry on our wedding banquet in Crown anymore. Who knows when are they going change hands or close down. I had my banquet in Pan Pac instead, which is certainly very much better.

Hi Koon,

You may like to know that Crown Hotel at Orhcard no longer exists. The hotel building has been bought and taken over by another group.

In view of this, this thread will be closed and removed soon.

sweet_precious

Hi Pink Clouds,
Yup, had signed up with them. Like Chin Leng says, the hotel has been bought over and taken by another group. We shouldnt be bringing up past events done by them.

pink_clouds

oh i see! Yes, hopefully with the new mgt, everything will be much better =D. I am seriously thinking about signing up with them. I really like the package. When is your AD with Orchard Park Hotel? =) May I ask if you are happy with the service from your coordinator?

sweet_precious

Hi pink clouds,

yes,very pleased with Aileen's service. She has a coordinator, wendy. Both very professional and friendly, I guess wendy is assisting aileen now because she is expecting...
who did you spoke to?

pink_clouds

Hi Melissa

I spoke to William, the sales maanger. I think both Aileen and Wendy report to him. Good that your coordinators are so pro. Have not seen nor spoken to them before. Do you have any idea how gd their food is? =D

sweet_precious

Hi pink clouds,

Heard that the previous chinese restuarant that caters the banquet is good. Now no more liao. My ex-colleague had her wedding there, no bad comments so far.

pink_clouds

thanks Melissa! Sorry, was really busy last week, did not come into the forum Anyway, I'm signing with another hotel next week cos I'm really not comfy with William so my FH & I decided to give Crown a miss! =)

pink_clouds

dont think it's that nice to ask for a change cos anyway, he is the manager. we chose Rendezvous in the end =) Anyway, i think Crown has a very romantic feel...plus the march in is longn (we saw the actual march in by another couple =D)