Park Hotel Orchard

chrisyeo

Hi, Anna, my AD is at crown hotel, i din tried their food before. I signed up wif them when they r havin a bliss show at taka.

gizmo_toh

so quiet for this thread. Me will be selecting my dishes next month. Hope it will turn out to be nice.

kenjoc

Ya.. so quiet...

Gizmo.. did the hotel co-ordinator called you for follow-up like food-tasting, invitation card selection & collection?

Or you initiate the follow-up?

gizmo_toh

Hi Jo. Ya will be going for the food tasting this coming monday. Ya me initiate the follow up cos dun wan to rush in the last min. How about you???? When is your AD?????

september

hi hi....me also call up to arrange wif William, the new pic taking over Victor...

hv collected my cards in mid July and William is nice enough to send me the nite program list, recommended songs, table arrangement plan etc....we hv selected our dishes for food tasting...change a few dishes and he accommodated it hee hee....o...me gng for food tasting end of this month 31st August evening.....hee hee...so happy....

so....in this thread, which of us will hv our dinner first? My AD is on 1st Oct 2006....Children Day.....how abt u gals?

gizmo_toh

Hi diana. My AD will be on the 12th November 06. Think you will be the earliest. So got to get the feedback from you after your AD.

kenjoc

Hi Gizmo & Diana,

Mine is on 18th Dec, guess i'm of the later one.. My co-ordinator is Jenny, but I haven't contact her yet, nor did I hear from them too.

I haven't collect my invites yet lei..

Can I ask, have you printed out your invites? How much does it cost?

gizmo_toh

Hi Jo. My co-ordinator is william. As for my invites i will be thinking of printing at JB. Heard it much cheaper there and better printing quality.

september

hi jo, i print my invites liao.....and can be collect liao...but i print it with my father frenz so hv special discount lor....hee hee

ok...guess me the 1st...will feedback on the food and service after my AD then...

gizmo_toh

Had my food tasting yesterday. The portion are more than enough for 10 pax and taste nice. Hope it turns out to be the same on my AD.

september

hi gizmo,

u hv chosen steam or fried fish for ur menu? and is the fish good?

marshmallow, it seem abit early lah.....but there is no harm checking lor....

kenjoc

Hee.. the portion for Food tasting will definitely be presentable and tasty one.. but not too sure for the AD.

Of cos, let us hope it'll turn out the same standard and quality for all of us. =)

gizmo_toh

Hi Diana i had choose the steam fish. It quite hugh and fresh. My dad keep saying it is nice. How about you???? Decided on your menu????

yeos_family

Hi Diana & Gizmo, which invitation card did u choose? Which menu did u choose oso, izzit the new 1 or the 2005 menu? Mine wedding at 25th Nov'06.

september

gizmo, yup i hv finalise my menu and email to william liao....i also chose steam fish as per MIL request...hee hee...great to noe tat the fish is good....phewz....

shinez, guess it is better if u approach crown for their latest package coz our package and rate is the nt the latest...if nt, u can go to the below link to check out their package...

yeo, i print out the menu from the below link guess it shld be the latest menu ba....hee hee...coz i lazy to go trace the menu wen i sign wif them mah...

http://www.singaporebrides.com/hotels/crown_hotel/

gizmo_toh

Hi yeo. Basically i can say we are quite happy with the food tasting. In the end we did not change any of the dishes. Hmm... we actually choose a mixture of the both menu.

koxxic

wow...so many couples from Crown Hotel? I'm one of them also..Booked them since last year Dec..
My AD will be on 09 Dec 06...Food tasting done last year already..Overall, i'm happy with their food..

Will be collecting our wedding cards soon..Heard printing at City Square (JB) is much cheaper..

I believe most of you are holding at the ballroom right? Have you all gotten the co-ordinator to show you the bridal suite?

kenjoc

hi hi..

Koxxic, you went for food tasting already? my AD on 18 Dec, but i haven't had my food tasting yet..

what is their wedding favor now? and how long will it take for us to get the wedding cards from the hotel ar?

I've seen their bridal suite.. so so.. okie la..

koxxic

Hi Jo,

Ya, i went for food tasting last year already. Did it together with my ROM so can save money. haha..Food is fantastic to me..especially the yam paste..=)

Wedding cards usually is 3 months before actual AD, they will call you and ask you to collect.

september

hi koxxic,

erm...nt to scare u...but they have change cook sometime this yr. And the yam paste during my food tasting on 31st Aug was nt nice tat we hv change the dessert to red bean paste instead liao.

i hv seen the bridal suite before and it was ok lah.

kenjoc

huh.. their yam paste not good ar? aiyo.. gotta see how during my food tasting liao..

btw.. do any of you know, does the hotel allows us to play mp3 or jus normal cd? and actually how many songs do we have to give to the hotel? the march in and ? Does the march in timing any link with the music play? I mean the timing..

september

they cant play mp3 only normal CD...as for timing, i nt too sure....mayb u check wif william? But i tink the 'DJ' shld be experience enough to noe ba....

the main songs u nid to gif are the 1st & 2nd March in, champagne pouring and 1st dish presentation. if u nv gif them song to play thru out the banquet, they will juz play wat they normally play lor.....

yeos_family

Hi, i'm going for my food tasting on 6th Oct'06, dun knw how their standard goes. got any1 can give me some feedback. by the way, can i check wat's the best song to give for 1st march in, champagne pouring & 1st dish presentation?

humpty

Hi Yeos, I just had my food tasting yesterday. Wow, I am utterly disappointed with the food. It is either too salty, bland or watery. The deco on the dishes is lacking too....Overall experience: bad. There is a change of cook!!!

yeos_family

Hi humpty, reali? Oh no... getting worried now. But nvr mind, i having my food tasting tomorrow. Will c how bad is the food u mentioned. Can i knw wat's ur menu like? which dish is bad?

humpty

Actually am surprise at their quality of food as all along I heard good comments on their food..The deep fried fish is v. salty, shark fins is a bit bland...so far only the crispy chicken is great. Am I the unlucky one? Where is ur food tasting held at?

kenjoc

Oh my gosh.. I'm having my food tasting later this month.. on 23rd..

My co-ordinator has left.. and the banquet manager Chan took over..

I do heard of good comments on their food, but it's for their old kitchen.. As for the new cook.. is it really that bad.. chiam..

But the way.. what is their ballroom theme now? and what is their wedding favour?

Is it true that we have to confirm our gurantee tables when we collect our invitation cards?

september

my wedding is on 1st Oct...last sunday...the food was abit too salty....the food standard drop comparing to our food tasting...some guest complain abt the service too but for one or two server nia lor...

jo, u hv to let ur co-ordinator noe roughly how many table then u take ur cards...suggest u to do up ur guest list...then if u tentatively hv 35 tables, ask for cards for 33 tables first in case of shortfall during RSVP....coz u can ask for more cards later if u really hv nt enough...juz print more insert can liao....

september

one of the waiter or waiteress accidently pour red wine onto my sister frenz dress which cost $800....another nearly knock down an aisle and the candle wax on the aisle drip onto my sister

another table complain tat the waiter serving them look like they owe him alot of $$ coz i tink he lian chao chao ba....whahaha

my food tasting was definitly better...the fish was good on my food tasting but on the actual day...some complain fish was mashy other say it is too hard....

vinegar they use for the sharkfin is the white vinegar and it is nt salty enough

yeos_family

Hi Diana, how abt ur overall experience? i'm gng for my food tasting 2day. Sigh... aft hearing all tis, getting worried on my actual day dinner. which coordinator serve u?

september

my co-ordinator is william...for me, overall, i tink my co-ordinator is beri nice...who accomodate alot of our request. but abit blur....coz he forget to change our noodle and desert on the actual wen we hv told me after food tasting...

the assistant operation manager chris is nice too....

yeos_family

Tks Diana. same as me, my coordinator oso william. now their favors izzit still mini photo frame? did u bring in any duty free liquor?

september

ya their favors still the same...

i did not bring in duty free liquor and was too busy to notice if my dad bring bo....paiseh...

chantan

hi all...hv read abt your experience...i went to have my trial dinner in june too....overall experience is oso nt veri good.
most of the food is salty...i heard that they had just change mgmt...even our coordinator oso kp changing...

eml_

hmmpt sounds pretty bad huh.. i was considering them as one of my top choices.. hai~~

btw, regarding the fish not turning to be as good/fresh as during food tasting... i was told by some hotel pple before that sometimes its difficult to estimate the timing to prepare/serve the fish when you have some programme slotted in between... so when u have a fish item.. try to plan in such a manner that your programme flow permits sufficient time for kitchen to prepare the fish and serve once ready.... so they dont have to keep the fish warm and wait for the right time to serve it..(they do hold serving food in between programme) so sometimes the fish does not taste as good as during food tasting.. makes some sense too.

yeos_family

Hi everyone, finish my food tasting juz now. Overall experience gd. All my family members did not have any complain on the food. They say it was nice but dun knw actual day will come out the same not. I feel the fish is not so gd, so have to check wif william again. At least i'm not so wori now, only hopes the food will be same on actual day.