Park Hotel Orchard

september

wat is confirm is tat long jiang resturant hv closed down....the chef is for banquet nia....but heard from william tat they are still trying to empoly a chef from hongkong coz understand from him tat hongkong chef is still the best for banquet....

chantan

i heard that there is two new theme comin out - Victoria & Oriental Zen... have you all heard abt tis...wld u all like to try...
that mean they do not hv a fixed chef now...so the chef nw wld b a part time wan loh...no wonder the food taste is not fixed.....

chantan

can u all oso share wif me wt privilege u all had from the hotel....haha...if nt convenient itz ok... Thanx

humpty

Heard the new chef is from london...long jiang chef is no longer there.

Chan,The privilege is kind of fixed as stated in the package..they are quite stringent with their perks. Maybe u can check with them again, cause their management has changed.

Anyone co-ordinator is Aileen?

kenjoc

Hmmm.. William? Is William is banquet manager?

Hee. cos the person I talked to over the phone, I can't really get his name, is it William Chan or Vincent Chan?

Hm.. the last time I talked to my ex-co-ordinator, she told me they are using the same chef and cook from Long Jiang lei.. Now change liao ar?

One Chef from Carlton Hotel?? Hm.. Heard of some negative comment on their food too..

Oh.. so the wedding favor is still the mini-photo frame ar?

Aiyo.. my future FIL very very particular over the food one lei.. hopefully the food tasting will turn out well, and also for the AD.. sigh..

As for duty free liquor and wines, did any ex-crown couple try bringing in before?

humpty

Aileen is asst. banquet manager..
The wedding favour is still photo frame..

Marshmallow,their new theme meant for FY07 will be out in late Oct..

Am a bit worried about the food on the AD too..

Anyone has brought in barrel of wines before??

gingerfish

OIC, the new theme is for 2007.

I m very worried abt the food too. Is there any ways that we highlight those negative feedbacks to the banquet manager... hopefully they can improve on the food / to change a better chef

yeos_family

Hi humpty & Marshmallow, i've juz had my food tasting last friday, it was nice. Only the fish not so gd & i oredi mentioned to Aileen. Other then dat, everyting was fine so far. I think u shld go taste urself rather heard a lot of feedback. At 1st i was oso veri wori like u all but after i had mine food tasting then i knw it was not bad.

humpty

A couple of dishess,Shark fin, deep fried fish... I have feedback to Aileen and she will relate to the Chef.

However, am worry on the AD, the food will be disappointed. My relatives & frenz will not enjoy.

yeos_family

Hi humpty, i'm not sure wat menu u signed up but mine is a steam fish so maybe ur menu is not the same as mine. Anyway juz crossed our finger to hope it will goes smoothly on our AD.

chantan

halo everybody....my coordinator is Aileen. My food tasting, the shark fin is the worst cos it is v salty. i think my chef is a part timer and he is a chinese. Can i know when will the chef from london be coming???

i heard from Aileen that if you wan the new theme in 2006 u hv to top up a sum.

Hi humpty, u can request frm them to brin in your own wine....but u must ask them to state in the contract.

yeos_family

Hi chan&tan, yes we have to top up if we r getting their new theme, i oso did ask them abt this. Neg wif them but they say **** waive it so me & my husband decided not to use the new theme.

september

is it...the last i heard is that the new theme wont be ready until mayb dec 2006....

but i guess u nid to top up is because, the new theme will be by their new florist supplier nt the current one...

new chef is from london? i thot william only tell me they empolying hong kong chef....

anyway, i muz say tat for food tasting and Actual day, do except some drop in standard on the food lor....after all, preparing a table of food is alway much easier then a banquet of food.....

also, i tink relative and frenz will understand...coz they will only normally go for good food if it is restuarant but for hotel, they usually dun keep high expectation on the food....

humpty

Yeo, I swop to steam fish..just keep my finger cross..

Diana, I agreed with you. However Long Jiang is quite popular previously.I do except them in some drop in their standard on the actual day but definitely not the standard I tasted during my food tasting.

It seem like they do not have a permenant chef yet.. that why the standard is up & down.

Gals, I would be bringing in 1.5l wine...I got it from Euro Link. These would reduce the cockages charges.

september

humpty, but the old chef have left early this yr lor.....tat y i also sianz tat time wen i heard the news.....

for my wedding, on the food, i got both good feedback and bad feedback...coz after all, taste is beri personally and individually...some like it while others dun....

chantan

Can i know if the chef now doing for all the banquet is a permanent staff employed from hong kong or he is still a pt-timer....

i got a email from singapore brides that crown will display the victoria theme wedding this sunday 22Oct. R u all interested???

i know of a co. which sell wine quite cheap... the company is Culina...u all can call & check out the price for comparison.

koxxic

I would like to know and find out..What makes u all think that since the Executive Chef left, the food will be bad? Since when do exec chef do the cooking for dinner? Exec chef only uses his mouth..ain't it?

september

koxxic, feedbacks from some of my guest who attended my wedding was that the food standard was not as good as it was previously lor...

i heard abt their new victorian theme....but too bad...was not available for mine.....if not, it will blend in well wif my gown lor....hee hee

humpty

The critical issue is that the standard has dropped. It is also e exec chef duty to do something about it.

Chan, did u manage to see e new theme?I could't make it.

yeos_family

Hi Darmaine, i signed up wif crown hotel last yr nov'05 on their bliss show at taka. Mine AD is 25th nov'06. They r presenting new theme on 22nd oct'06 at Crown Hotel Ballroom. U got went down? Thought of going down but was busy. Of course i'm sure the new theme for next yr will be nicer than this yr. As for their food, it was nice only their fish was not that fresh so we feedbk to them. Hopefully everything will turn out fine on my AD. How abt u? When is ur AD?

darmaine

Mine AD going to be 29 Sep 06. Understand from their banquet manager William that they are changing quite alot of things, like wedding cake, table cloth, etc...Also, I read that they changing their chef. But not sure if it's true...Ur AD drawing near, so u v rather buz now?

darmaine

Oops forgot to tell u that i din went down to their wedding show...only went down last weekend and talked to William about their package.

yeos_family

Ya, been quite busy preparing for my wedding. Last x long jiang restaurant is veri famous but they oredi closed down. Now their wedding dinner is being prepare by their own banquet chef. Heard frm william their new theme is nice but was too busy to go down to take a look. He say if i 1 2 change to new theme got to top up $150 due to their new florist. So me & my husband decided not to change juz stick to the usual 1. u mean ur AD is 29 sep 07 izzit?

kenjoc

Hi Hi..

Just wanna check, my dinner is on 18/12/2006, what is the lastest date I know go for my food tasting..

Sigh.. My partner and I both having wisdom tooth problem.. Sianz...

september

yeo's family, try to neg wif william....from my experience wif him, he is quite approachable...mayb a discount on $150 or reduce on other tings...

like u also sign up during their bliss road show...but as mine wedding is on 1st oct ware there new theme is nt ready, so i hv no choice lor...

Good luck for ur negotiation...

darmaine

hi yeo's family, ya me meant my AD is on 29 Sep 07..
the new theme seems quite nice from what william describes to me..u try to see if he can give u a disc if you reali interested..

hi autumns07, i like crown ballroom the most...there's another holiday inn atrium...n atrium food seems more stable (afterall, the food from the restarant)..parkview ballroom looks grand, esp the large crystal lights...but not too sure abt the food there also..u may want to visit the places to see if you like it...reali different from what u see in pic.

autumns07

thks Darmaine. seen parkview ballroom this evening. not bad but reception area is too small...crowded. will be going to crown tomorrow =)

autumns07

Hi sweet_precious, depends on which package you choose and whether it is weekday or weekend. If you are interested, I can send you a soft copy of hyatt's package. Have you signed with Crown? They have some really attractive perks if you sign up with them by today.

chantan

i have went to the bridal show at crown hotel...the new theme is either in purple color or gold color.

i prefer the puprle color...more romantic....

the diff is the flower stand...the old one is arch type wif flower curling around it.new one is stand alone flower stand at the side of carpet wif candles on the stand.

gizmo_toh

Just have my wedding dinner 12th Nov 06. Overall is very good in term of co-ordination and food. However it will be better if the food can be warmer. Waiter and waitress service can be further improved also.

kenjoc

Hi Yeo,

food tasting is fine, the serving at food tasting quite big. Except the food served not that warm, and the fish is not fresh.

I'm choosing the maroon theme too. Cos william said the ivory theme does not blend well..

But I wonder how will the serving be like on the AD. Anyone that went through the AD dinner to share with us on that day serving?

september

emm...none of my guest complain abt the food portion guess it is ok lah....also, i dun tink the portion will be small as chris the banquet asst manager if i remember correctly told and assure me before tat their food portion is cater for more than 10 pax so for some table, it is fine to seat 11 pax lor....

as for the taste, every guest got different comments and complain....some say good, some say not as good as they used to be etc.....

kenjoc

Dear all..

Heard from William, the new executive chef has started work on Monday. Previously has been a chef at Ritz Carlton.. and normally for food tasting, the fish is not fresh one.. but he said on the AD dinner, it'll be fresh fish..

For those who are having their wedding recently, do update me on the dinner okie?