Park Hotel Orchard

september

hi chris, u r also a Oct bride to be...which date in Oct? Oct is a hot month coz it is lunar 8th month...so got to book tings fast especially if ur is a hot date like 15th etc lor...btw, me is more active in the Oct Bride thread...hope to see u there too...

kenjoc

Hi Diana, we're still considering on the hotels, hoping to get an extra night from crowns. But Jenny is really stringent with the perks. Sigh~ My proposed date is a weekday-18/12/2006 (Mon), so i managed to get an free upgrading of 10pax food tasting and corkage waiver of wines.

Btw, can we change co-ordinators? I thought, for example, once we are liasing with Jenny, we have to continue liasing with her??

september

hi jo, i tink it is Crown tat is stringent wif the perks so there is nothing much jenny can do lor...dun tink there is much prob on changing co-ordinators ba anyway, their co-ordinator change and left rather fast also lor...if u dun wan to liase wif jenny, then u try talking to victor lor...however, i tink Dec is also a hot month for wedding and company dinner and dance lor...thus hotel may be more stringent than usual on the perks....

so which other hotels r u looking at too?

kenjoc

Happy New Year!

Hi Diana, guess it won't help much by changing co-oridnators. Well, we are looking at hilton, hyatt, grand plaza and merchant too.

september

hi jo, the hotels u looking at seem abit on different level for comparison, like hilton, hyatt and merchant court seem on a higher range than grand plaza & crown....
i hv only attended wedding at grand plaza (yrs back) and merchant court recently. for me, i tink i will chose merchant court as i rather like the place except tat i dun like that the toilet is a common toilet for people dinning in the cafe lor...seem like no privacy and when u hving ur cocktail, u get confused if those walk in are ur guest or r they gng to the toilet...hee hee

nt quite remember the ballroom at grand plaza liao...but the hotel does look nice and 'newer' than hilton, hyatt and crown...

the reason i hv chosen crown is the food, coz i heard alot of good comment on the food for those people who attend wedding there before (me nv attend any at crown) since my MIL is more particular on food lah....second is the location, it is easy accessible for those who dun drive since it is near to MRT, third, the rate is within my budget and they are able to gif me the perk tat i tink is more impt (free flow of beer and corkage wavier etc), lastly, we like the ballroom, coz the low ceiling dun make us feel small mah...heehee...

so i guess, u hv to tink and decide which are the impt factor which u will mind alot then u will noe which hotel to chose ba...happy tinking and deciding...

red088

hi hi, someone recommended crown prince..anyone can to shed the following:
1) how many ballrooms do they have?
2)what's the min size? we are looking at 16 tables
3) package price

any bridal showcase for crown prince? am planning to be oct bride as well :p

september

hi red088,

Crown hv only 1 main ballroom but they hv divider which can be close up to make it into smaller function room...hope u get wat i meant...tink the best i for u to contact the co-ordinator to hv a better idea....my package is last yr promotion package so it will nt be applicable for u leh...

btw, Oct is a super hot month...and if u r looking at weekend or the super hot date like 6th, 7th & 8th...then u better hurry...coz there are a handful of people cant get any banquet venue for this period...

red088

hi hi, we called up the coordinator and min is 25 tables... we can only make up to 16 tables ...

generally how's the food??

red088

hi hi, we called up the coordinator and min is 25 tables... we can only make up to 16 tables ...

generally how's the food??

september

hi red088, me hv nv attend any wedding dinner there yet...but so far, the comments from those frenz who attend before is tat the food is gd....

yurieve

hi red088,

i'm new here... may i noe if u cant meet the min tables required, wil crown stil accept? do u hv to pay any surcharge?

sootycat

i am interested to that venue but can't seem to find any contact of the wedding planner on their website.. can anyone provide me with one? many thanks in advance :p

red088

hi yurieve, as far as I know, if you don't meet the min no. of tables, crown won't accept ie why the first question we ask is always the min number of tables.

hi justine, i got this from singaporebrides.com.. not sure if it works ... [email protected].

red088

justine, did you manage to get any reply from them? i asked for their bridal package and have not heard from them..

weevenge

the chinese resturant is closed for renovation until end of the year... i wanted to go and try their food as i was told the banquet was prepared by the same team of people.

someone told me that all the chef and cook had left and i was wondering who is cooking the food for banquet now and is it still good

september

chef n cook hv left....haiz...if it is real then i am keeping my finger crossed tat the standard wont drop...

btw, understand from Victor tat there is a wedding banquet this sat (2molo) which hv 34 table + 2, thus shld be gng down to veiw the set up....for those of u who wan to view too, mayb u can check wif victor...however, understand tat he hv an appt at 6pm so he tell me to go up to see between 6pm to 6.30pm...

hakida

hey diana,

i am attending my gf weding tmr at crown hotel.the ballroom is at empress ballroom level 3.Is this the one u are talking about?

september

hi hayashi,

yup tat the one....ur fren is terrence and ivy huh...i was there to view the venue on sat lor...and understand from the asst banquet manager tat it is true tat the chef and cook hv left and ur fren wedding is the first banquet the new chef/cook preparing....so is the food nice? really nid some feedback to ease my worries lor....thks...

sofi

I'm new here. Right now very undecisive whether to take crown hotel or regent. Crown offers is very attractive whereas regent is very posh and wedding themes is very beautiful.
Kindly give me yr feedback on crown hotel? Esp those who have attended the dinner. Ambience, food, flexibility, cooperative? OVerall ratings?
As i need to sign contract with regent tml, kindly let me know yr update today asap, can.. xie xie

september

hi marshmallow, the deco is ok...rather standard lor...will say simple and nice ba....ya, me also waiting for food feedback also...

jennifer, regent is of a higher class so if u are looking for ambience than regent fit the bill....but if u r on budget that crown is the one lor....as crown chef hv left, we cant tell much on the food liao too....but for me so far, the liasing wif crown is ok lor...

hakida

Diana,

the food is much better than the one i have attended in 2003...Very nice,and alot of shark fins..

but 1 bizzare incident happen.I ask for abit of brandy to go wif my shark fins soup.Waiter No.1 brought about 1/4 of the glass for me,then while I was talking to my friend sitting next to me,waiter No.2 came from behind pour coke into it.OUTCOME:MIXED BRANDY AND COKE....Kind of stupid for the waiter...The colour of brandy and coke is different,and the glass of brandy has no ice in it.Dun know why the waiter pour the coke with ice into it....By the time I realised,the waiter is gone,also can't find the culprit....

Actually,I didn't notice the set-up of the ballroom...All the lights are dimmed through out when I arrive,so abit dark lor.Can't see clearly...

Only thing I hate the pillars...Block my view...

september

hi hayashi, thks thks....now me can ease my heart abit liao....

guess muz be some part time and new waiter ba...coz tat day wen we was there ard 6.30pm, i heard the asst. banquet manager tell the other manager, muz teach them, they dun noe...and tat was the rehersal for food presentation lah....

kenjoc

Normally when they say it's $798 nett. There should be additional cost unless you are changing the menu food dish. But this $798nett is only for the package they offer you, with the room/food/card/beer/wine/corkage/blah blah blah. If you getting additional beverages (beer/stouts/liquor/wine) from them, that'll be additional cost.

september

there is a car park behind Crown nt sure if the name is cairhill or wat...but for the fee i nt too sure liao...me also trying to find out...

september

hi gals, juz spoken to victor....he is leaving end of this mth liao....he say he will be senting out emails to all the couples shortly to inform on who is taking over him.....sian meh....dun understand how cum this industry the turnover so high =-(

richmore, thks...victor say he is nt sure coz hv to find out which carpark mgmt then can noe...but understand is tat per entry will hv no hrly charges lor....

hwee_pheng

hi hi, am looking for banquet venues for beginning 2007. does anyone has the package and prices for 2006? even if not the same price, i just need it as a guide!
my email add is [email protected]

thanks alot in advance!