Park Green

mobe5forty

maybe how fast you get your keys depend on how much good stuff you say abt NTUC Choice Homes in this Forum? Some postings so critical, maybe Choice Homes watching us. Better all say sorry, then can get your keys tomorrow!

bbmaru

Hi Vera,
I'm surprised you asked me the ppty tax qn

According to wat I know, the ppty tax is 4% of the annual value of our ppty (annual value is the is the estimated annual rent that your property can fetch). i.e. if the valuer think that your ppty can fetch a mthly rent of $1200, then your ppty tax is ard $576 per yr. The bigger the house, the higher the tax. The assessment will be sent to you yearly ard Dec or Jan. But for our case, we might not receive it so soon as our ppty has not been assessed yet.

fanta

I'm back! Wld like to clarify certain things:
1) The paint looks more like cream color to me
2) Ceiling at living room is higher compared to the bedrooms, hence not advisable for false ceiling in MBR (not sure if all units are the same)
3) Our yard is very small compared to those units with WC; may not be able to squeeze in a dryer : (
4) Personally, I quite like the colour & quality of the kitchen cabinet

5) If your fridge is slightly abv 1.7m, shld be no problem
6) According to MA, a shuttle bus service is feasible if most residents want it. (we had directed them to this site for more views on what the residents want)

bbmaru

I think I will trust a woman's judgement on colours

Actually I think a petition or a letter of request sign by residents will be more appropriate if they really bother to act on wat we want. I'm glad that they have our welfares at heart in this case.

dreamin

just have the time to check this forum...
waaahhh.. congrat Alvin, Fanta !!!
192203.gif

Any comments on the bathroom? Bought the house due to the designer bathroom.. Hopefully it's what we saw at the showroom...

Carol,
I shall be the first to sign the petition.. keke

alvin

Hi dreaming,

Agreed with you too, I bought PG be'cos I like the bathroom (Black Color). Ok, the bathroom is the same as in the showroom (Black color). Very... dark be'cos no light yet so can't see clearly.

fanta

dracwy,
Will measure again & let you know tmrw, if really cannot fit, hack away the cabinet lor. after all, your fridge is more ex rite? joking only : )

Carol,
Every resident will receive a handbook. Have not read yet but guess most of our queries will be answered. We had a rather pleasant experience with the pple we met yesterday from the security guard, contractor to the MA. Yup, they seem to care & be bothered with our voices

bbmaru

Alvin/Fanta,

Isn't the master bathroom in cream colour?? I tot only common toilet is in black homogenous tiles?

They care?

They shld have started "caring" long ago...until now when we started losing faith in them then they care? 2 possibilities. Either they are worried that they will be kicked out during our 1st AGM (which happened to them not too long ago in one of their developments) or they pretend to be bothered since that's the least they can do to appease us now... so we won't give them trouble when we move in

dracwy

alvin, fridge is GE brand. doesn't look very big actually. strange that they made the fridge slot so small. wat happens if there's a big family which needs a two-door big fridge?

ya thanks fanta. please let us know the fridge slot size. limay & i are real worried about the fridge more than anything else... shouldn't have bought it so soon. didn't occur to us that the fridge slot might be too small...

would be good if there's a shuttle service to the MRT. cos rainy days then won't get wet since no shelter at all to the LRT/MRT. hmmm... juz write something short like

"We, the residents of Park Green Executive Condominium, would like to appeal to the [whoever it is] to have a shuttle service arrangement between the [MRT/LRT/wherever] and Park Green...blah blah".

How about that?

fanta

dracwy,
You veri funnie
we as residents can have the say to what we wish to do with our funds, why must give reasons??

Carol,
Both bathrooms have black tiles. Both bathrooms dark dark can't inspect properly.

dracwy

ahhh...lesson learnt here... i muz remember to bring torches when collecting keys and inspecting the unit. don't wanna miss any cracks or scratches in the dark bathrooms/toilets...

alvin

Hi dracwy,

U bought yr fridge already?

Finally I bought some of my electrical appliances esterday:

32" Sharp LCD (32G2M) S$4300.00 with wall mounting bracket.

20" Sharp LCD (B4M) S$1300.00 with wall mounting bracket.

F & P fridge (411TX- S/Steel) S$1150.00

I think quite a good buy, what do u think?

dracwy

alvin,
yah lor, bought almost everything liao. we bought early cos our wedding will clash with the moving in mah. didn't wanna get too stressed with both house and wedding together. u got yourself quite a good deal with those stuffs! cool! ain't u looking forward badly to moving in eh...

fanta

dracwy,
the longer your defects list, the longer it takes for the contractor to rectify. if really in a hurry to move in, may have to close one eye for minor defects.

I called up Yan(ColinNg&Parnter) and she said that its weird that my unit hasn't get news for collection of keys. So she asked me to call Jean(developer) and found out the problem... All because of my HUBBY!
As we bought the unit, he was still a PR. He missed a few times of "Citizenship Ceremony"- this is to collect his Singapore's IC. HDB needs a photo copy of this IC(which we haven't got hold of), even right now he is holding Singapore passport also cannot. Luckily, SIR able to fax me a copy of his new IC.
Think I shall be able to get my keys soon.

So anyone out there who si having the same case as my hubby, think you have to act fast to prevent delay.

white

Hi folks,

According to my lawyer, NTUC has started serving notice to Blk 8 today... However, only 5 units per day... so gotta wait and wait for our turns...

limay

Missylan - hmm...i am also a PR leh, no intention of becoming a citizen just yet (maybe when we start planning for kids
) We did contact Jean & she didnt say that was a problem - our key slot is for late Oct.

Fanta - both the toilets are in black tiles? How come? We even got toilet fittings for the master bedroom assuming that that one will be in cream colour as per the show apartment leh...

corolla

Hi, I have follow you guys/gals postings almost every day. May i ask all people here, do you know what's the purpose of the maintenance fee for?

For what I know, the management must maintain a huge sum of money collected from our monthly maintenance which will be used for:
1. maintaining of surrounding plants/landscape
2. yearly lift maintenance which is very Expensive
3. maintaining the swimming pool which is v.v.very expensive
4. maintaining of surrounding lighting & usage
5. maintaining of underground car park condition
6. 5 yearly painting & maintaining & repairing of our buliding blocks.
7. salary of security guards and cleaner too
8. electrical bill on common area

All the above items required lots of money to maintain them.
Please take note, if we want extra facilities eg: transport to MRT/LRT, we must prepare to pay higher maintenance fee, WHICH MOST OF YOU OWNERS DOES NOT WANT THE FEE TO INCREASE. (from previous posting, it seems that most of the feedback were the maintenance fee is TOO HIGH.

Bigtoes,

You will not have problem if you remind as PR(before TOP). For my hubby's case is becos when purchased, he submitted his PR blue I/C. Maybe is because before TOP thing, he is now a Singaporean... So he must submit a copy of his pink IC.

If now, my hubby remains as PR, then right now, I think we will get info on keys collection.
192414.jpg

razor

Alvin,
Thanks for your SMS today and your valuable feedbacks on PG. Appreciate that. :) Glad to hear some good and positive things about PG too and I do hope that NTUC can change public's perception about them being a "2nd class developer".

Personally, I think we should give Choice Homes some credit for the work that they've done and I believe that they are already doing their best to issue the keys to us ASAP. Not to forget that the project was actually supposed to complete only in 3rd quarter 2005, but it finished 1 year in advance. Like poox said, sometimes, we should look at the brighter and positive side of things.

I agree with Corolla's posting too on the shuttle bus service. At the end of the day, the residents will be the ones paying for such additional facilities. If the shuttle bus service is provided in the future for the long haul, maintenance fee will most likely go up from the current levels. Personally, I'm not very supportive of the idea as I felt that the 2 LRT stations around PG are within walking distance.

Just my views.

tupiddog

Called SMT & partners in the evening.. and spoke to them asking if the got Notice regarding my unit at BLk 8 . was told by them the have recieved nothing yet .. soo sad..... :eek:(

Hi coralla,

I agree with you as no one wants to increase the maintenance fee. Further increase of services and without increase of the maintenance fee will make job/repair slower.

samily

I have posted a message here some time ago asking if it is possible for us to make a request to NTUC to show us a breakdown of how our maintenance money is spent. With a good understanding of how our money is managed, we can make request to NTUC how we wish our money be spent.

$250 x 391 ~= $100k/mth x 24 = $2.4million!

This is a lot of money! There should also be a law to impose this, if it isn't there. This is to protect consumers like ourselves to make sure that OUR money really goes to the maintenance and not to the profit of the developer, just to be fair to consumers.

In any way, if the developer has integrity and good customer service, I don't see any reason why they can't show their customers the breakdown.

ka4

Hi Samily

If I am not wrong, we will have a MCST and the management of MCST will have to maintain proper bookkeeping of the income and expenditure. In turns, the accounts are subjected to an annual statutory audit. The audited accounts will be presented to the 'shareholders' at the AGM. "Shareholders" here refer to the residents who pay the maint. fees.

whowillbe

Hi guys. I noticed that many of us are complaining aboout the high maintenance fees and i don't if this will make you all feel better. OUr fees are actually 240, the extra 12 is the 5% GST. : )

mona

Hi Alvin/those who have seen their units,
Can check with you the following :-
1. Is the Daikin aircon the inverter type ?
2. Does each unit comes with a door bell ?
3. Can share with us any pictures that you've taken of PG ?

dracwy

yeah, would be good to see some pics of the unit. so excited... alvin, go learn how to download your pics from ur digicam leh. hehe...

dracwy

anyway, juz to share. u can do up your own layout plan, drawn to scale, with simple graphics software, even MSPaint is good. hehe... at least u know whether u got enough space to put your furniture, won't buy anything too big. (too bad i bought the fridge way earlier before i got the floorplan...too gancheong

i've done up mine juz for my own reference...
192505.jpg

razor

Those staying in Block 8 ....
Just to let you all know that my lawyer called me this morning to inform that he has received the Notice to take vacant possession for my unit. I have a pool-facing unit.

He will proceed to request the bank for the disbursement of 25% of the loan and I'll give him the cheques for payment. After that, can call NTUC to arrange for keys collection liao.

If you are staying in Block 8 (I think there's a few - can't recall who), akan datang - coming soon! Check with your lawyers! :)

tupiddog

Wah i oso in Blk 8 read alreadi very happy but i not pool facing .. but facing the Big field ... any one with Info ?

Does anyone here have the layout of the Blk nos. ?

janett

hi samily
agreed. It would be good to see the breakdown on how the maintenance fee is used.
While maintaining this & that is ex but compared to other condos, it is good to gauge how our costs are we faring as compared.
...Especially as the first year, think Choice Homes is standing in as the MCST and making decisions and calling all the shots on our behalf..

bbmaru

Let me share a few pix during the "open house" today

192606.jpg

192607.jpg

192608.jpg

192609.jpg
sorry, forgot to add flash
This is one of the bedrooms.

192610.jpg
For those asking if our air-cons are of the inverter technology, this pix is self explanatory

ryang

Hello to all PGners !
extremely delighted to know there are so many friendy and helpful neighbours in PG.
and thank you carol for sharing the pics to everyone here.. glad to see that the air-con are those inverter kind..,

Hi razor and busybee... we are also staying at blk 8 but no news yet from our lawyers.. which unit u guys at ? we are at 16-13...

Hi Alvin.. u must be extremely bsy with your apt now..just a few quick questions re your Sharp 32" LCD... we are contemplating between Sharp 32" and Phillips 32" with Ambi. and a smaller one in our master bedroom.
SHarp 32" is selling for 4999... where do you get yrs for 4500 ? how long was yr warranty period ? seems a very good price. How does the 32" look when u hang on the wall ? we are worried that a 32 will look small on the wall but then LCD are best viewed on 32" ...nothing larger. can offer your feedback ?

anyone know when can residents start bookin the tennis court?? cannot wait to try out the court. Hey, anyone noticed that the wall was painted in yellow at the court..it's not practical at all with the tennis balls hitting on it all the time !! ( for me at least ! )

we are currently talking to U-Home ID after very good feedback from a fussy friend who picked U-Home after sieving through 10 ID firms !!!
anyone using them in PG ?

samily

Hi Carol,

Thanks for the photos.

Hi PGers,

As for the maintenance fees, I must say that I am not complaining about the fees 'cause I was prepared to pay for the fees when I consider buying the EC. My point is to make sure that I know what I am paying for and all my money are accountable for, so that I am not being ripped off.

bbmaru

Some feedback abt the open house yesterday.

According to my observations, I didn't see any major defects yesterday, but maybe things like :
Minor cracks on the walls;
Chipped tiles (egdes);
shoddily painted pipes;
shoddy worksmanship, in particular the glass panels for the showering cubicles and wash basins; etc.

Overall, the worksmanship for those units I saw is only so-so. As compared to the show flat, I felt lucky for the owner who bought the fully furnished showflat unit. Think the showflat unit looks better than our actual units. On the whole, the finishes were not that nicely done, some ended up with rough edges. Look out for chipped tiles in the common bathroom and whether the sliding doors are fitted properly. A big torch will come in handy when you check the bathrooms (pretty dim). Can't see the black homogenous tiles clearly without a torch.

Hope the above helps

Oh, one last thing I have to add. The workers' attitude to visitors present there yesterday is good; helpful and polite. Thumbs up!

alvin

Hi YM,
Got our LCD from Min Sheng at TPY. Warranty shld be for 2 years period if remembered correctly. We were contemplating bet Toshiba, Philips & Sharp too & ended up buying Sharp as it has the best reviews so far (only Sharp is manufactured in Japan). Can't let you know how it looks mounting on the wall now but personally feel that 32" is the right size for our living room.

tupiddog

dracwy (dracwy):

Thank you , Thank You ... ! As i have lost the Broucher long time ago , i have totally no idea of which blk is which .. the only one i know is Blk 8 as thats my Blk .. thanks a lot !

limay

Carol, Alvin & all - thanks for the pix & feedback on the open house...was stuck in the plane yest and wishing i was at Alvin/Fanta's place instead
Anyway, am now in my hotel room in Boston, got some shopping done yesterday, so not too sad, but still wished i was there to Kpo!

On the maintenence fees, we are also not against the amount, but would be good to know where the funds go to...