Park Green

pg

Hi Heroin

I'm a proud owner of Park Green. Are u thinking of getting a unit of Park Green?

heroin

Hi PG,

Nay, i am a proud owner of Lilydale! :p But i do have a colleague that just purchased Park Green!

There ain't many park greener in this forum huh? :p

HeRoin

ah eng

hey i m !!!

I too bought Park Green.... Heard that there is a new one in Pasir Ris call the White Water... Also EC. How much do you all buy PG EC?

ah eng

i bot the smallest unit 108 (not sure) .... paid bout $440k.

PG...i saw in the PG EC thread that u went to see White water ....issit good?? I actually wanted to get an EC at East area ....missed Esparis and so bought PG .....then came WW.....anyway....I heard from my collg that Far East are very good in their landscape but lousy in their workmanship....

However, I have no regrets cos i find that the furnishings at PG is better than Esparis ....thou Esparis is better located.

We choose the 1300+ 3 rooms, 16th floor. Was thinking of getting the blk facing directly at the park but afraid the noise level as it is near 6 lanes traffic.

Luckily, you did not choose Esparis cos the outlook is terrible like HDB, only up to 10 or 12 storey.

I've got an invitation card to WW but do not want to go and have a look cos afraid that I will regret!!!

ah eng

missylan,

i bot the 6th floor unit ....my unit is quite near the park. All the high floor units are snatched up quite fast .....I was planning to get a 10th floor unit ....but by the time we decide to purchase the option ....the highest floor left was only the 6th =(

pg

I bought a unit opposite the LTR track. My frens were telling me tat LTR track is not so noisy... so not so bad. Our unit is 112 sq m. I loved the planters area.

Esparis is not tat bad too, except it's near a temple. Honestly i tink there might have some traffic problem cos of tat!

Whitewater is not so good, got multi-storey carpark, making it not so exclusive at all! And if you've noticed, all the master bedrooms are the first room, next to living room. Not so much privacy for the owner though.

Still prefer Park Green's furnishings and the floorings.

ah eng,
I bought Park Green when they just launched a few days... quite lucky...
Mine just below the Penthhouse dunno my upstair neighbour noisy or not... :)

Only thing bout Park Green which I do not like is it is too FAR.... Seng Kang....

ah eng

i bot my unit facing the blank land....the sales people keeps telling me better feng shui ....heehee ....i oso bot few days after their launch ....official launch on saturday ....i booked on monday leh ...but no high floor liao ....anyway ...nvr mind lah...

PG,
thanks for sharing about WW ....heehee ....now i dun feel so 'regretful' bout getting PG as i actually prefer pasir ris (nearer to my mum place).

Missylan,
i oso dun like PG's location ....else everything is good.

pg

Yah it seems that the units facing the empty pot of land are selling fast. But it's a big empty plot of land. I'm sure they might build residential flats or perhaps another EC there! But then, it might be few years later, so never mind lar!

Ah eng,
I actually felt that PG's location is not tat good initially. But come to tink of it, Florida's location is worse.... no LTR nearby.

Missylan,
I tink the penhouse really a good buy. But dun have the hard cash for the downpayment.... sigh..

ah eng

PG,

i onli can pray hard that they dun build residential buildings....but my hubb was quite sure that they will ....

Anyway ....like tat u said ....that might be few years later ....

Agree that Florida's location oso not tat good....actually PG not bad liao ....still got a few buses travelling along the way .....b/w 2 LRT stn .....dun complain hor ....heehee

So we just wait for the completion of the building ....haahaa ....

pg

Ah Eng

When are u getting married? Or are u married already????
))

My bf and myself walked past the Park Green site last week, and we saw that they put on the board outside that the expected completion is 2004! I simply can't wait! But from past condo projects, it seems tat they only need 1.5 years to build a condo.

We tried walking to the nearest LTR station, and it's not tat far.... good exercise in the morning. I only hope it won't break down so often like the one in Bukit Panjang.

So do u still go down to the showroom?

ah eng

PG,

i m oredi married with 2 kids =)
This new house is an escapade for me from my in-laws ....heehee

The agent told me that they expected work to be finished by 2nd half 2004 although TOP is 2005. I am like u ....wish that I can move into the new house the soonest
They had jus started with the project ....when is done by 2nd half 2004 .....will be bout 1.5 years oredi ....so lets all be patient and wait ....i rather they take their time and come out with better quality work =)

wow....u and ur hubb really onzzz ....walked to the LRT ....how long did u take to reach the LRT stn ?? ....and ya....we better pray hard that the LRT is better than the ones at Bt Panjang

I dun go down to the showroom after i booked my apt ...cos i am presently not staying nearby ....so meanwhile i m very glad to have u to keep me updated

So when are u getting married?? ....meanwhile, enjoy ur 'par tok ship' c"P

pg

PG

Yes, normally condo projects take just 1.5 years to complete, esp when this project is not like those with 600 units....

So which bank did u take the housing loan from? I took mine from OCBC. Did you buy the mortgage insurance???? We already bought ours, but was tinking.. is it necessary to buy mortgage insurance before TOP?

ah eng

Sorry ....are u writing to PG or are u PG??

Anyway, I took my bank loan from UOB ....my hubb meet of the mgrs there who happens to be his sec school classmates ....so took up the loan with him (in the hope to get some better offers ...heehee).

I m planning to buy the mortgage insurance, but have not meet my ins agent to discuss. So how much premium are u paying for ur ins? Which ins coy did u buy from? How's much ur coverage? Please share abit so tat i have some 'knowledge' before i meet up with my ins agent.

I think it is wise to start buying now cos u have already commit urself to the purchase. Moreover nowadays accidents seem to be happening everywhere. U nvr knows wat's going to happen and when ...

After the insurance, we jus have to sit and wait for the completion of the condo ?? ....anything else that we have to take care of ??

pg

We got our loan from OCBC. The banking agent provides quite good service. We met him outside few times already. We also bought our mortgage insurance from him - OAC. But just some thoughts we might have to check with him: The law firm highlighted to us that the EC application would be cancelled if any of us passed away. In that case, it would not be worthwhile to buy the mortgage insurance isn't it?

Tink the mortgage insurance premium is based on the amt of loan u take. For us, to cover both of us 100%, it's about $400+++. Forgot the actual amt, but im pretty sure it's not more than $500 per year.

So did u get better rates from UOB? We would be starting our loan instalment payments from Jan onwards. Wat abt u?

PG--- I did not buy the Penthouse becos only 2 of us will be living in the unit. We asked his parents whether they will like to live with us as we were considering the penthouse but not bad... they do not want to disturb our "Er Ren" life.
I am afraid that the penthouse is a very big family then noisy...
My loan is from UOB and at first chose OCBC, the bank manager, Franics idle, called him more than thrice and still like do not want to return my calls and still have to pay legal fee!!! We chose OCBC cos most of our transcation is done there.
UOB provides us I think few years of free fire insurance, UOB life time waiver for their credit card's annual fee and some more I can't remember! By the way, can you please advice me what is a mortgage insurance? Does it mean that I mortgage my property to get a loan or?
If this is the way, then I need not the insurance.

ah eng--- At first, I chose blk 12 is it? That is facing the park is a bit tilted... but my bf reminded me about the 6 lanes facing in front of the units. As I am living in Jurong, in front of me are 4 lanes(to & fro buses, horns, traffic "siren" etc) so these are pretty noisy even I am living in the 8th floor. Can't imagine 6 lanes in ParkGreen. You know you will have to be prepared for HDB further constructions and bus stop etc....

pg

Hi missylan

If you've previously owned a HDB flat, you would be advised by HDB to buy their home protection insurance (tink this is the term!), so that if 1 party passes away (touch wood!), the other party wouldn't be burdened with the heavy monthly instalments. For those who buy from HDB, it's 1 lump sum of few thousands. But some pple prefer to buy from private insurance agents for the flexibility. Perhaps u can ask your bank agent OCBC about this. I also take my housing loan from OCBC. My agent is not too bad. Quite good customer service.

U mean the units facing the park has 6 lanes? But i tink not so noisy for now, cos traffic there not heavy right? My unit is facing the LTR track. Hopefully not so noisy too!

ah eng

PG,
I did not take note of the notice of the annulment of the purchase in the death of one owner ...if that is the case, then i agree that it is not worthwhile to buy the ins first.

My loan package is the same as Missylan ....free lifetime waiver of UOB goldcard, Free legal fee, etc...my hubb's fren gives us an 1.5 yrs of first year low interest rates compared to one year onli ....think is 1.44% for the first year

I think my first instalment will oso begins at Jan ....all of us shld start paying bout the same time .....all according to the % completion of the building

Missylan,
I agree with PG and think that the traffic around PG is not heavy....at least it is not now c"P

Just a matter of interest, did u register ur EC as co-tenants or tenants-in-common??

For ur interest, my own ins agent has asked me to buy a saving plan (something like endowment) to cover for the EC instead of the mortage ins ....he told me that mortage ins is expenses out that will be give us any return ....whereas he advises that a saving plan ....at least we can get saving returns ....but i believe tat the premium will be higher for the savings plan ( i m not sure of the premium to be paid as i have not met up my ins yet) ....will keep u all informed after i meet up with my agent ...

ah eng

Just received a letter from my bank yday ....they will start deducting the 1st instalment in Jan03 cos they had made a 10% pymt. So the foundation for PG is done!

pg

Ah Eng

But the lawyer told us tat the EC application might or might not be cancelled, depends on the Ministry (???). Can u help ask your hubby's friend, since he works in the bank???

Yes, I did go and see the construction site of Park Green at times when we got nowhere to go. We would go to the opposite block of flats and see the construction from above. Silly right? We decided to do this once a month, so tat we can witness the building of Park Green. So I'll also keep you all updated on the progress of the buildings.

May I know how many years of loan did you sign up for?

ah eng

PG,

me blur but u want to know if the EC application will be cancelled if one party dies ??? pls correct me before i ask my hubb's friend :eek:)

Good for u that u can go to see the devt of PG. I want to but no time ....so i dun find it silly ...heehee ....good for us PG owners too.....can just wait for ur updates here !!!

My bank loan very ruan. We are now paying for 20yrs loan (fixed) first (make use of the low interest to pay more principal amt) ...till my hubb cpf is dried up (he is currently oso using his cpf for the present flat) ....then we will adjust the loan to progressive ....and mayb we will take the maximum no of years (think is 35??)

pg

Hi Ah Eng

Yes, I wish to know, in the event tat 1 party passes away, would the EC application be cancelled. If yes, wouldn't it be redundant to buy the mortgage insurance?

Or, you can ask him if it's advisable to buy mortgage insurance now or when it's TOP? Becos he's your husband's fren, so I presume he'll be honest!!!

We are also paying 20yrs loan. Capitalising on the low interest rates first. The rest, I quite blur too.... anyway, my bf is very sharp when it comes to big payments like these. So I always let him settle this. For smaller things like planning for tour, holidays, he leaves it to me!

The last time we went to see Park Green, tink they are still building the 1st floor units. Can roughly see the Bin Centre and Electrical Substation (halfway), and also the 1st floor units near the substation. My bf says tat they would definitely build the blocks near main road or LTR track first, so tat public can catch a glimpse of the project.

Update you more when we go there again!

BTW, how are u celebrating Christmas???

pg

Forgot to ask you all, wat flooring did you all choose? We chose the compressed marble, cos we like the simplicity of the design and color.

ah eng

PG,

my hubb said that ur qn is preferably ans by HDB or the ins agent.

We just called HDB. The person says the appln will be void if u had applied under the fiance scheme. My is under the family scheme. If myself or my hubb passed away (touch wood), i still can form my family nucleus with my children. For more enquiries, u can call this no : 64903792. Hope ur doubts are cleared ^o^

We sama sama as u. Chosen the compressed marble :eek:) Great minds think alike ;)

Just came back from a visit to White Water. Phew!! No regrets buying PG now....heehee ....but i do like the open space in front of the living room c"P

ah eng

As normal, my family are invited to my friend's xmas party. Let's hope in 2 years time, i can invite my frenz to my xmas party !!!

pg

Open space in front of the living room? Is it the balcony or the planters area? My unit doesn't come with the balcony. But it comes with the planters area, which we both like. Can plant my favourite flowers!

Actually previously, we went to see other condos projects like Lilydale, which we like very much! My bf likes the bathroom and interiors. But only do not like the location. So when we saw Park Green, we felt that we've seen another version of Lilydale! We also like the filter water system in the kitchen. So unique which other condo projects don't have.

Who is the officer we can speak to in HDB? Hope we can clarify this as soon as possible. Do not want to spend unnecessary $$$.

ah eng

PG,

the open space I mentioned was at White water. PG onli has planters area.

I m not sure which officer my hubb speak to but he was given the above phone no for EC queries. U can call and try asking.

pg

Ah Eng

We've talked to the bank officer. He said the insurance is for the mortgage bank loan. So it will still pay out the payment if either of us not around already. Phew! Didn't waste money!

Think the construction at Park Green is going on pretty fast. They've already built the 3rd floor of units 18 and 20. Already going on to the 4th floor. But I can't see for other units, as I always walk past the site and only can see the outside units. The electrical substation is already done. Very fast.

I think I saw the layout of your unit. Is it the one with the balcony at the master bedroom?

ah eng

PG,

So u had wanted to ask whether the insurance will be effected or not? ....so I had mistaken ur request earlier. I thot u wanted to chk if the EC appln will be annulled "P ...anyway, glad that ur doubts hv been cleared :eek:)

wow..wow...that is really fast. Thnx for conveying the good news. My unit is facing the empty plot of flat .....and i think we had a planters area at our master bedroom ....or issit a balcony?? ...i better go back and chk my docs to refresh my memory....heehee

So which unit are u staying?

ah eng

PG,

me blur queen ....so my unit is the one wif balcony at the master bedroom and the planters area at the balcony ....heehee

pg

Ah Eng

Our unit is the one which is facing the block of Sengkang flats. My bf said he wanted a unit facing something certain, e.g. he can be certain that there won't be any construction of anything in front as there are already flats there... heee...heee.... our unit is about 112sq m. At first we wanted to get the ground floor unit, as he likes the idea of having our own garden and rearing his fishes in a pond....
But I was quite against it, for security reasons. Just worried as I'm the careless sort, what if I forgot to lock the windows..... arghhhh!!!!

Perhaps we can meet up when the place is constructed and we can go get our keys.... at least I would know someone in my estate already!

Hi, did any of your lawyer ask you all to go down to sign more papers? The another 5% should be paid soon.
Anything new, pls keep me update.

Thanx

pg

Hi, my bf already made the 5% payment in cheque. But post-dated, when we went down to the law firm the 2nd time.

My bf said he's already received the letter from HDB, stating about our $30k grant and etc.... So the lawyer will follow up from there.

Our loan payments are starting in Jan 2003 (i tink!).

pg

Hi missylan

So are u married? Wished to ask you all. My bf and I intend to have our ROM and customary wedding on the same day. But it seems so impossible, as the agent told us that we have to ROM 3 months before TOP. Any way to defer this, so that we can ROM and customary on the same day? We hope to move in Park Green and stay on the day we get married. Then the feeling would really be great!

ah eng

missylan / PG,

the other 5% is due on Jan2003. I had gone to the lawyer 2 times already. She told us that the next visit will be TOP time. So no need to go down to sign more papers ...(i think)

PG,
it is indeed good to move into a new house on ur marriage. I onli get to renovate my room when i got married...heehee....but i m now excited over renovating my kids room rather than mine...haahaaa

U can read thru other threads. Think u can defer but not too long....when are u getting married?

pg

I heard from my bf that our instalments will start in March 2003. I have also gone down to the law firm twice. Don't like going to that place. Seems like very messy like that.... heee....

We might be getting married in Year 2004 (perhaps middle or 3rd quarter). Next year is not a good year for marriage for my bf, as he's being advised already, so better believe.

Anyway, he and I are not getting any younger, so we are thinking of setting up a family immediately after marriage, since we already have our fair share of pak toh ship.

Hi PG,
I just got hitched on the 21st Dec. But not the traditional marriage... that I have to wait for another 1 or 2 yrs. My lawyer said our instalment will start on Feb, think PARK GREEN will be completed in year end 2004. Cos my block 12 has completed the foundation. Hai, going to fork out another 50K.... In fact, if you're planning a new flat on your 1st day of marriage...think it is quite difficult! Renovation? Sometimes, event just pop in whenever they like....
You and your bf should plan very detail and careful to meet your likes.

Dunno whether I am the youngest here or not, I am 22 this year.... :)

pg

Hi missylan

So u ROM already lar... me and my bf already planning for our wedding. We prefer to have our events all on the same day if possible. If not, we'll probably ROM and have our traditional wedding and rent a place to stay first.

Fork out another $50k??? Wat's tat? Isn't it like, we pay the bank monthly instalments.

I'm turning 27 next year. Quite old already lor...

pgtoo!

my bf and i bot PG too! just saw this thread. glad to see future neighbours!

my bank office(ocbc) told me no point to buy mortgage insurance till top.

also, PG, ah eng, your point about taking advantage of low interest rate and so shortening the loan.. me a bit confused at that .. at least for first year interest rate is only 1.5% max right? isn't it better then to pay according to the 1.5% cos if you pay by cpf you are actually accruing interest at cpf rate of 2.5% (Even though of course cpf interest goes back to you but like 30 over years later!). we are planning to wait till 1st year is up, then do a partial prepayment with all left over cpf and shorten the loan at the same time.

pgtoo!

oh also my bank officer said, generally banks don't like it when customers apply to lengthen loan.. cos it implies that you can't service the instalment (regardless of whether that's true or not). much easier to get them to shorten than lengthen loan.

if you have a lot in cpf, why not do a partial prepayment now to empty it? saves more or interest than just paying larger monthly instalments right?

PG,
1st down payment is the 28K (5%), we are suppose to pay another 80K, which is 30K grant and balance of 50K. At first, we are thinking of getting short term loan but for short term loan or less than 250K loan, we will not get the 1st year low interest benefit.
But if we loan 80% of the buying price, we can benefit the 1st year low interest. You will ask me the 3rd and further interest is high and floating rate. But do you know that when bank disperse $$$ for 2 yrs, you can re-loan or change a new bank for loaning? Then you can still benefit a new 1st and 2nd year loan.... That also mean you will never need to worry about the high % for the 3rd year...
Quite confusing right?
Do you know that when we pay CPF for monthly instalment and you decided to sell in 5 yrs time, the $$$ will automatically go back to your CPF fund?!? That means CPF comes out 300K and you fork out cash 200K, you will get back cash of 200K only! Last time, I thought that the total 500K will be cash! :)

ah eng

Hi, I m 28!! ....oops!! looks like i m the oldest c"P....so all must call me jie jie liao ...kekeke

pgtoo!,
we are taking a shorter loan now cos firstly we want to take adv of the low interest rate and oso bcos we are paying more on the principal amount (although mthly instal is higher)....we are oso planning to do a partial prepayment after TOP.....which block did u buy?

missylan,
not onli u hv to pay CPF back the 300k principal but oso the interest amount which u wld hv earned if u did not withdraw ur CPF$$$ ....so u will not necessary get back ur $200k!!!
Btw....we pay our remaining 15% in beginning DEC02 liao.

pg

I tink we are taking the shorter loan now too. Not too sure. I'm not tat good with financing. My bf is better at tat. I also remember him telling me tat we should take the shorter loan, so tat we can make use of the low interest rate now, esp for the 1st year. Yes, my bf did tell me tat he has a fren who changed banks for his housing loan, cos interest rates getting higher as time goes by.

Ah Eng, tink u aren't tat old, cos you are already a mother of 2 right???

Missylan, u staying in Blk 12? I staying in Blk 10. So we very near each other! heee...hee... perhaps we can plan a bbq together! So when are u having your traditional wedding???

PG,
Traditional wedding maybe in 1 or 2 yrs time.... Let me slim down first. Haahaa

ah eng,
Due to holding a private property when placed deposit for Park Green, so were running up and down HDB/lawyer firm for the withdrawal. Maybe this lengthen our another 15% payment.....
Got news that my husband has to pay next month.

Ah Doh.... I am the youngest here?!? We bought Park Green but do not know much bout it. Any special or new things that are provided in our unit? My unit will have the morning sun...

F

financial consultant

Saw the discussion here - give you my 2 cents worth.

I agree with PGtoo.If your bank is charging you 1.5% interest now, there is no point in paying off the loan too quickly for now. CPF gives you 2.5% interest. If you take out the money to clear your loan, sure you pay 1.5% but you lose the 2.5% you would have earned in CPF. and when you sell the house you have to pay more accrued interest to your own CPF account.

My advice: wait one year. as soon as the one year is up (actually one month earlier since most banks have a 1 mth prepayment notice) empty out your CPF at one go, and shorten the loan then.

ah eng

Hey, i m living at blk 8 ....3 of us ...'do re mi'....blk 12, 10, 8 .....pgtoo, which blk did u buy?

yep PG,
I hv 2 boys at home....i get to enjoy my marriage life for 4 mths onli and i got pregnant with my elder boy ....
14134.gif

And i think my hubb thinks the same way as ur bf....we having the same kind of 'mentalogy' of bank loan.

missylan,
u are the youngest but u seems to be the richest ??!! ...haahaa...so young u got pte ppty liao ....and u had bot the highest and biggest unit among the 3 of us!!!
I m not sure wat are the special and new about PG too .....but i bot the unit cos i like the olympic size pool, basement parking, toilets (esp the bath tub & shower screen at master bedroom's toilet) and it is cheaper than pte condo ...kekeke
14135.gif

Financial consultant,
tq for ur advice. But our first instal is due on Jan03....doubt we can do anything now but to wait to make a prepayment after one year.

ah eng,
No lah, I am not rich.... I can say my husband has good parents...
Ai yoh, the loaning part is making my head spin... I also dun understand why ppl are getting pte cond., see EC cheaper and bigger....Went to Blue Horizon and Water Place, so small yet so expensive....