Park Green

eijgnohz

Hi Hui Bing,
The main con came and buffed my MBR floor and it was a disaster. Becos they use a big machine that cannot go further into the bathroom, they only buffed the part near the door. Now I have a big egg-shaped gray patch in my MBR floor. The colour difference is really obvious.

I forced the main con to get their professional sub con to buffed my floor for me. They will be doing that tomorrow. Should be fine after that...will let you know. Ah Eng did have hers polished by the sub con too and it's really good! If you want to buff the floor, make sure they get their sub con to do it.

felicia_ang

Hi Hui Bing,

Yes, after they have done it look much better. Can shine abit, better than dull dull.

Go and get the patch which is the stick-on kind, can last for 12hrs. good enough for a good sleep. Cost rougly $7+ for 10 pieces, very effective, use it for my child rm for the pass few night.

kyosho1

Hi missylan

I believe I turn my aircon on quite cold (20 degree)
, so mosquito attacks quite infrequent. Mosquito likes temperate/warm places, so if room is cold, they stay away or hibernate.

Wah kyosho1,
You on a/c until so cold aah... I cannot. The lowest is 22 for me, ah boh, my turn to hibernate.

I on my a/c almost 24hr. Not all units lah... Me going to see my bill how much end of the month.

mobe5forty

read something about shower heads above. anyone needs spare shower heads? I changed mine to those huge round ones (grohe copies) from my wife's friend's mother's shop - sansei in Jln Besar. if anyone wants to buy, can also let me know cause i believe they can give very good discounts.

on a seperate note, yesterday night was spent cleaning my whole dining area after i dropped a pack of fish curry and the thing went off like a bomb. i had curry all over my walls, in my trellis, over my table, on my dining chairs, 2 bags that were sitting innocently nearby and god knows what else that were splattered by the curry bomb. now i have yellow stains on my wall,blotches on the floor and my whole house smells of curry.

mobe5forty

read something about shower heads above. anyone needs spare shower heads? I changed mine to those huge round ones (grohe copies) from my wife's friend's mother's shop - sansei in Jln Besar. if anyone wants to buy, can also let me know cause i believe they can give very good discounts.

on a seperate note, yesterday night was spent cleaning my whole dining area after i dropped a pack of fish curry and the thing went off like a bomb. i had curry all over my walls, in my trellis, over my table, on my dining chairs, 2 bags that were sitting innocently nearby and god knows what else that were splattered by the curry bomb. now i have yellow stains on my wall,blotches on the floor and my whole house smells of curry.

limay

Hey Mobe, been there, done that (i am mega clumsy) - but at my old place! Not at Park Green yet, thank goodness!
Poor thing, I guess u guys will swear off curry for sometime now!!

alvin

Hi Mobe,

There is way to get rid of the smell. Pour some vinegar on plate & left in a few days. It will absorb the smell & it will gone. U can give a try!!!

mobe5forty

thanks Alvin. will try that. I was spraying all kinds of air fresheners, burn incense, mop 10 times with concentrated detergent.

but that doesnt mean i wont be buying curry (with my prata of course) again. in fact, i will buy tonight again. see if it happens 3 times in a row. 1st time i spilled the whole bag of curry on the table. was already cursing my luck, cause my table top is the grainy wood kind (no glass top), and the smell somehow gets absorbed into the wood.

samily

Anyone here converted their 3rd toilet to a laundry area? Find that the 3rd toilet is quite useless for us. Also, find that the yard is extremely squeezed if we put a washer/dryer there.

Anyone with suggestions?

alvin

Need some advise on home delivery, beside KFC, McDonald, Canadian Pizza, Pizzahut, what other home delivery available? Thks In advance.

ah_eng

Wanted to share something sad here.

Last sat, my boys and frens' sons are all playing at the wading pool. Dunno when my elder boy led another boy to the fun pool. As my boy knows that there are steps leading to the deep 1.2m pool, he walked slowly down and rest at his comfort step. Whereas my fren's son, dunno that the steps are leading to a deeper pool, happily ran into the pool...and alas!!! Drank lotsa of pool water!!..The father upon seeing tat ...jumped into the pool and rescue his son (of course lah!!).
What I wanted to share is that, when the incident happens, there was actually a adult guy sitting comfortable at the pool steps. And he did not even move his butt when the boy was there, hands up, too scared to shout help (mouth drinking water)!!! OH GOSH!!! WAT A PARK GREENER (and I hope he isst)

I am really really very disturbed over this incident. Of course, it serve as a warning to all parents. But it also tell us that such ugly person exists!!

alvin

HI Ah Eng,

Beside 933 golden pillow, anymore other delivery?

Hi Samily,

I have a dryer but I wall mount it in order to save the space.

limay

Alvin - there is one called Curry in a loaf (think its a big bun with chicken curry stuffing) - tel 6323 8933. U still not done with your house warmings? hehe

Oh, Royce - when are we going to see ur new place? Heard so much good stuff about it!

Ah Eng - maybe the guy had water phobia? Not...oh well, there will always be ugly residents. Saw a neighbour in the opposite block from our kitchen window who had their bed delivery last Sat & just threw out their huge cardboard packaging at the lift landing...
Can still see the cardbox box there!

bbmaru

Ah Eng,
It's sad (but not surprising)to know that there are such selfish pple around in PG. Just by looking at how those pple throw their rubbish (food) BESIDE the basement bin, I do know that there are many selfish and inconsiderate pple around.

Well, maybe that guy's reason for not moving his butt to help was becos his butt was super-glued to the steps...

Talking about helping.. there was this incident where this ah pek was bleeding from his head and chasing after this Malay guy and shouting for help in the broad daylight... everyone just stood there like idiots watching the "drama"... then I told my hubby to go after the guy... and ended up I also chased after the both of them to see if my hubby was safe... so Ah Eng, you see, there are lots of selfish idiots out there...and not only PG

alvin

Hi Limay,

Thks for your info, I have finished all my house warmings lah. I want to know more home delivery services so that next time if too busy to cook can call them to send over. By the way, any SUSHI DELIVERY SERVICES IN SINGAPORE?

Hi Carol,

The incident you mention is it happen in PG?

ah_eng

Limay/Carol,
tat's wat i told my hubb...mayb tat guy dunno how to swim (go pool dip water only) or his butt glued to the steps...kekeke..HORRIBLE. Dun let me see him again =P

Carol,
Wah!! Was that a robbery case? Poor ah pek!

Alvin,
Quite a number of sushi delivery...like sakae. Why not check out their web?

bbmaru

Ah Eng,
No lah, not robbery.. at first I thought so too, so we gave chase.. then turned out that the Malay guy was a bit drunk (high) and he claimed that he accidentally pushed the ah pek while rushing his way to the hospital as his wife was giving birth... dunno who to believe... so it's more of a case of misunderstanding...

telok

Ah Eng
Don't be upset. Luckily the boys are ok. There are all kinds of people that make up this world.

Carol
U so brave .....

There are also some guys who were at the poolside till very late at night on Sat (between 2am to 3am). Being a light sleeper, I was waken up by them. Inconsiderate people!

bbmaru

Betty,
Did you get to see who they are? Cos there was once I was home after 12mn and I saw a bunch of Indians guys sitting by the poolside drinking beer and talking as if no one cld hear them... they should be more considerate... and the security should actually doing something about it...

telok

Carol
No, I didn't get to see them cos I sleep until blur blur, somemore without glasses, can't see clearly. Agree with u, security shd stop them from making so much noise.

ah_eng

Betty,
wah...so 'early' still at the pool?
now more residents shifting in....and now we are seeing all kinds of people who live in PG ..kekeke

And I have neighbours on the same blk...same me running to the lift already, and still dun wait for me

telok

Ah Eng
Maybe they cant recognise u. They might be thinking - Dont know why this "cha bor" running better quickly close door, hahaha...

limay

Haiyoh, so many inconsiderate people around
Last night (11+pm) we still heard people drilling to hang up their paintings & such!

ah_eng

betty,
ya..they must be scared that my weight will jam the lift!!...kekeke
*buay tahan*

Limay,
ur blk pple very fond of drilling holes on the walls hor...my hubb wun even let me drill one...hahaha

bbmaru

Ah Eng,
Confirmed that fellow is a selfish neighbour. You're so close to the lift and still didn't wait for you... hope he/she gets the same treatment from other neighbours too!
Then he/she will know how selfish he/she has been.

telok

Limay
If u can identify which flr/unit the drilling comes from, intercom the security, get them to tell them to stop drilling

eijgnohz

I think PG is not the only place with inconsiderate people; they are evenly distributed in Singapore. Let us not be too bothered by them since since that will be a waste of our energy. Just hope that there's a nice fellow for every bad fellow we meet in PG

it's MM Lee's fault lah (opps!)... though I respect him alot, he's the one who transform Singaporeans into kiasu, kiasi pple...

limay

Hey Betty, been hearing people drilling at random times lah..but not quite sure which unit/floor. Have to be more considerate also, wont make a fuss unless it continues incessantly for hours late into the night

eijgnohz

If you are thinking of drilling your wall to hang your paintings, etc, you can consider getting 3M Command hooks. Very simple. No drilling. Just stick on. They can be removed subsequently with no damage done to the walls. I use them everywhere in the house.

Can get them everywhere...cold storage, DIY shops, etc.

limay

EIG - for everything? I got those (for 0.5kg load) for hanging clothes behind the toilet door (even then, some fell a few times)Paintings, clocks & mirrors all still have to drill to be secure...

alvin

Hi Ah Eng/ Limay,

Do you know any home delivery for local food in Sengkang area like: chicken rice, duck rice, noodles...etc. My friend staying in Jurong west area & some of the coffeeshop do home delivery.

eijgnohz

Hi Ah Eng, Limay,

Yup, the painting at my dining area is supported on the hook shown above. This hook can support up to 2 kg. My painting is support by just 1 hook. I have command hooks that can support loads from 450g to 2kg around the house. The hook which I use for my clock can take up to 1kg. The clock is quite light, so its conservative.

for clothes, I also use the 1kg hooks. So far, nothing has dropped (choy choy!)

limay

Alvin, nothing that I know of. Does the coffeeshop you mentioned in Jurong require minimum order for delivery? Quite difficult to order $20 worth of rice/noodles for 2 people leh..
We seriously need coffee shops closer, its just 2 months & I am so bored of buying back from Rivervale Plaza liao!

bbmaru

Limay,
There's another coffeeshop near the Ranggung LRT stn. You can try the food there. Not really that fantastic, but good for a change.

alvin

Hi Limay,

The coffeeshop I mentioned in Jurong got minimum delivery order for S$12 & above. Will go & check around coffeeshop in PG to check whether they provide home delivery services & keep yr guys update.

limay

Hey Alvin - thanks

Carol, where abouts near Ranggung? Didnt notice any. They shd just have one at the star gazing area rather than the open space!! hah

bbmaru

Hey Limay,
Ya man! They shld have some makeshift "roadside stalls" at the "star gazing area"... then those who dun cook can have their dinner there... so convenient
...dream on....

Let me check with my hubby the blk no of the coffeeshop...will update you on that...

taka

Notice this ad on MRT: delivered dinner for two, including 1 soup and 3 dishes, S$189 per month from Select. So it works out to be around S$8.50 per day, quite reasonable, i think. Can give it a try.

limay

Yah, road side stalls like the ones at Smith Street or satay at Clark Quay! Not.

Taka, we were contemplating the "tingkat" meals too, but v restrictive - have to eat in 5 meals a week & be home by a certain time to take delivery...

taka

Hi limay,

Oh, i din know that we have to be home by certain time, i thought they can just leave the food outside the door, can't they?

We sort of like give up cooking already, the whole kitchen is so oily after we deep fried the fish. My hubby is the one complaining the most, cos he is the one doing the cleaning up and it took him one hour to do that!!

bbmaru

Taka,
Try to have something like for the dinner, like steam fish and veg instead of deep fried stuff. Easier to clean up and healthier too

As for the Tingkat meal, you have to be home by their delivery time to take delivery as well as to return the tingkat they delivered to you the previous evening... so that's why Limay said it's restrictive...