Park Green

taka

I used to order tingkat meal when i was in Australia, they just left the food outside the door and it was all packed in disposable containers and we din have to come back at certain time to pick up the food or to return them the tingkat.

May be can give this proposal to them.

kenj1

Ah Eng,

Hope I am not the one closing the lift door on you coz I live same block as you leh..hehe..

Limay,
There is a nice kopitiam opposite punggol park along Hougang Ave 10...lots of nice food. Rojak is good, Chinese fried Mee Goreng is good, teochew noodle is good, chicken wing is good, duck rice is good, wanton noodles so so, popiah not bad..etc..etc..

eijgnohz

We had tingkat dinner at our in-laws place last time, and we simply place the clean tingkat outside the door. The delivery man will leave theirs with the food, and at the same time, pick up the clean tingkat. No need to be around.

Some tingkat dinners are quite flexible, and offer dinner for 4 nights instead of all weekday nights. Can check them out. Will advise those of you who want tingkat dinners to look for those that dun use msg... it's healthier in the long term.

ah_eng

Kenj1,
If its u, then dun dun do it again ah....kekeke

btw... u know which blk i am at? Do I know u?
I just went to that kopitiam for zi-cha last sat. Not too bad. Quite a crowded coffeeshop thou.

limay

KenJ1, thanks! is the coffee shop within walking distance from Park Green/Ranggung LRT? Will go check it out one of these weekday nights then!

bbmaru

Hey Limay,
The coffeeshop I mentioned yesterday is at Blk 208. It's a much smaller coffeeshop as compared to the one that Kenji mentioned. The one which Kenji mentioned is called KPT coffeeshop if I'm not wrong. It's not near the LRT but bus 119 goes there. And agree with Ah Eng, it's always crowded.

Hi housewives who goes to market. Which wet market has a fresher range of meat and veggies? Rivervale Plaza? Now after confinement(1 month) but mom wants me to confinement to 40days. Hai.... Have not explore our estate yet.

bbmaru

Alvin,
Hee...that's not surprising... that's the traditional way of doing confinement... cos old wives believe that women in confinement shld not be exposed to wind and rain... the rest of the mamas, am I right??

Missylan,
Can't really say which market sells the freshest, but things sold in the market at Rivervale Plaza is certainly not the cheapest. Sometimes things are fresher and cheaper at the bigger NTUC at Rivervale Mall. I do know that the tofu and "to gan" sold in the market at Punggol Plaza is the best around this area. There's also anor market in Hougang (got to check out the blk no.) which sells lots of good stuffs that can't be found in the Rivervale Plaza market.

As I dun cook everyday, I usu buy from NTUC... unless I need something special...then I will tong bang my mil to buy for me when she does go to the Hougang market

ah_eng

Alvin,
u mean Fanta goes out during her confinement?

I super good girl....only goes to the corridor to sunbathe my son

alvin

Hi Ah Eng,

If I am not wrong (2.5 years+ so can't really remember) I think the last few days of her confinement she went for haircut be'cos of the 1st mth celebration for my girl.

taka

hi Carol,

May i know where is Rivervale mall and Punggol Plaza? So far i only been to Rivervale Plaza and Compass Point for my grocerries shopping and i agree that the things there are not cheap and there is always long queue at the pork stall, especially in the weekend morning.

fanta

Ah eng,
I escaped from the house 3 days before the 30 days confinement was up to do my hair lah.....super luan after giving birth.....hee

Hi Alvin,
Hehehe... I did stepped out of the house. First time, after 1 week of confinement, I went to Cellini to buy dining chairs cos when buying dining table we didn't buy chairs cos that furniture shop selling their chairs at $200+/chair. Second time, visit my gynae and bb's doc then bring him back to Thomson Medical for jaundice(suntan)... I went out few times liao. In fact, they were unavoidable cos things still needs to be handled.

ah eng,
There was an article saying sunbathing will not cure jaundice(if U sunbathe cos of that).

Carol,
I only been to Rivervale Mall and Rivervale Plaza. Must find Punggol Plaza liao and Compass Point. Me no vehicle license, cannot travel too far for stuff. NTUC meat etc can buy 1? Cos my grandma and mom alway complain not fresh!

kenj1

Hi Ah Eng,

Ya..ya..we met lah...same block..but not me close the lift door lah..:p

Anyway..mac & kfc can be easily found at nearby rivervale plaza..and the kopitiam I mentioned is KPT.

Good food can also be found at Compass Point's top floor food court..nice vegetarian food, and many others.

Order Pizza Hut delivery before..quite fast though

ah_eng

Missylan,
Ya..i sunbathe my elder boy for his jaundice. 2nd one, didnt liao..cos know that it doesnt help already.
U mean u no driving licence and still driving? Can take LRT to Compasspoint. One stop only. Punggol Plaza will be slightly further.

Kenj1,
Ur wife is my collg's fren? Did I guess the correct one? Got quite a few K** at PG.

ah_eng

I guess tat the mossies wanted to try different taste, they come to visit me last nite!!

Quickly bunk in my boys' room (aircon) after 1st bite!

alvin

Hi Missylan,

I think I saw you on Monday in the lift, I was with my daughter going to "Mobe540" place at 14th Flr, are u the one?

bbmaru

Missylan,
NUTC sells Airpork, supposed to be ang mo pigs since they're reared in Australia (but think killed here??) and those sold in wet markets are mostly from Indonesia. Depends on how you see it, but to me, I think NTUC ones are also fresh enough to be eaten and moreover, Airpork pigs are fed with good grains and not scraps...so their pigs supposed to be healthier
Want to get the freshest must rush to NTUC early in the morning lor... then can guarantee you'll get the fresher ones.

Taka,
How should I describe to you where's Rivervale Mall and Punggol Plaza leh.... ok, try my best. Rivervale Mall is the one that's next to Rivervale Crest Condo. If you turning in to SK from TPE, then turn left before the T-juncton and you will see Rivervale Mall (opp a school).

I've only being to Punggol Plaza once so I'm not too familiar with the directions. Moreover, I took their free feeder bus there. Actually for those who doesn't drive, there are actually free (separate)feeder buses to Rivervale Mall and Punggol Plaza...just that you must know which bus stop to wait for the feeder bus... That time when I went Punggol Plaza, I took the bus at the last bus stop before TPE.

bbmaru

Alvin,
Is it becos the lady you saw got tummy and was going to 2 flrs higher, that's why you thought that that might be Missylan?

Hey Missylan,
You got "work hard" and exercise during your free time or not?? Must pop down to the gym and shed those extra pounds gained since it so convenient... oh, but you mentioned you didn't gain that much right? How big (heavy) is the baby now? I've got a friend who gave birth to a 4.15kg baby...we all joked that it was a baby dino... wonder how she managed to squeeze that baby out!! Simply unbelievable!!

alvin

Hi Carol,

No lah, the lady I met in the lift got no tummy. I thought is Missylan be'cos she was going to 16th flr. You know, every night I have to bring my girl to walk walk around Park Green so I knew most of the residents in our blk.

bbmaru

Alvin,
Wah, MOST of the nighbours?? You are fantatic man! If got the most popular neighbour contest, I'll sure vote you!!

bing77

hi carol, i bought the squeegee. It is indeed very useful, thanks for the recommendation.

Actually I think that the food at cold storage are fresher than NTUC. The cost is a bit higher but they got more variety like marinated steaks, croutons in boxes, korean food marinate etc. So i buy the more common groceries from NTUC, and the unique stuff from Cold storage.

I like the western food at the kopitiam near Hougang Mall next to the MSCP. The stall is 5 star i think. Really value for money cos the chops/cutlets are $4.50 and the portion is quite big. I also like the san lao ho fan.

Hey blk 8ers, did you notice that sometimes one lift will be parked permanently at 17th storey? Cos it is really quite inconvenient if one lift is not in operation. I wonder if it is because some big shot is visiting the penthouse.

bbmaru

HuiBing,
You are welcomed. Glad to know that you find it useful
Did you get the one from Value Dollar shop?

As for the lift parked permanently on 17th flr, maybe it's one big shot visiting anor big shot (residing there)... or that it's for the convenience of the big shot so that he/she doesn't even need to wait for the lift... wow, how "thoughtful" NTUC is towards that big shot... if it's really so, then it's so "big and small eyes" (if you know what I mean)

ah_eng

Huibing,
ya...I was wondering why that is so....u mean there is really one big shot staying up there?
Could be big shot visiting??...cos its been quite frequent leh....oh..unless...

Our side already 6 units sharing 2 lifts..now almost left with one lift!

Alvin,
I dunno leh... Aah... Was I alone or? Hehe... I dun look "just gave birth"... cos after plactna, baby etc all out, I gain 3kg. Me short hair one... my mom always say I look like a child.

ah eng,
No la, I meant I dun have driver's license. How I dare to drive w/o license....

Carol,
I wanna go swimming but was not allow. I dun go gym 1... dun like tone tone look. But I love swimming! Best excerise of all. Now baby is 1 month liao, last measured when he was 3weeks+, he was 4kg. Think he is a fat baby. He is drinking S-26, maybe that's the reason. My unit upstair(penthouse), I can hear them closing door, walking around(bong bong bong) and kid's dropping lots of stuff! Boring.....
252390.png

eijgnohz

To add on to missylan's point - dun you think the floors are kinda thin at PG? Every morning, I can hear my upstairs neighbour's alarm clock rinf, they getting up and shuffling their feet around... I swear the sound is thru the floor, becos my windows are shut. nvm had such experience before except when I was overseas and staying in a dingy, old flat with wooden floor planks...

limay

Hmm...dont think I have heard much noise from my neighbours (yet), though everyone around us has shifted in. Just the drilling at odd hours I mentioned about, and oh...the echo from people's conversations from the pool area!!

limay

EIG - Talking about food earlier - Read about your posting on Tuscan at Plaza Sing at the other PG thread...we are going tonite to try the pork cutlet u raved about

bing77

carol, yeah i got it from the value shop. Cheap and good.

There was once me and hubby took the lift to the 17th storey, just to see if there is any red carpet from the lift lobby to the penthouse. (ha, no) Seems normal just that there is a lift there, with doors opened. Since the lift we took went down, we took the parked lift instead to go back to our floor. After that the two lifts are back to normal.

missylan, u are so lucky that you dun have the 'just gave birth' look cos usually females look a bit more auntie after giving birth. Argh

eijgnohz

Hi Limay,
ok good good! Think you will like to food there.

I think more pple should actually go there and try - becos the restaurant is so inconspicuous, business is not so good despite the good food. If more pple go, less chance of them closing down, and we can enjoy the place longer too ... kekeke..

The cod is nice too. And the cold poached pear (wine with pear) dessert is different and nice too.

eijgnohz

ah eng,
no lah, i dun usually hear your boys... hear them only when they are at the lobby
they quite quiet wat..

we give and take lah.. next time you also have to bear the sound of my wailing baby...:p keke..

Alvin,
I don't think she is me cos if I go down I would have brought my son. I don't recall going down alone. Mistaken Identity...

Hui Bing,
I don't have the look but I have the stretch marks under my belly. When I was pregnant, ppl asked me do you have stretchmarks? I said "No". Then when baby popped out, I saw my marks, cos belly pointed cannot see below belly mah. LOL...

EIG,
You are making me drool... So bad!
252402.png

limay

haha. okie - go to Spotlight quite abit (becoming more auntie, like to go to Spotlight & Aussino) - but nvr seen the restaurant before....okie, will try the pork + cod + pear dessert later; if not nice will come back & complain to u tomolo

bbmaru

Hee Limay,
Maybe we will get to bump into each other today cosmost likely me and hubby are going there for dinner later.

HuiBing,
The lift's door is wide open there?? Waiting for the big shot to take that lift?? Oh, the other neighbours on that flr also get that special privilege, thanks to that big shot hor...

EIG,
So far no such problem yet... house rather quiet most of the time...or maybe we are too noisy??

Only times I can hear pple talking are when my neighbours are standing near the windows talking and I happen to be near my windows too... I think the little girl living below me is pretty cute... sometimes I can hear her talking when I'm at the kitchen sink...

bbmaru

Missylan,
Usu pple develop stretch marks after delivery cos the tummy wld have gone down a few sizes... aiyo, you never religiously apply the anti-stretch marks cream when you are pregnant ah? If your marks are not whitish yet, there's still hope and these marks can still be lightened with proper treatments...

ah_eng

EIG,
no prob...I am not a lightsleeper..only 'sensitive' to my boys crying...hahaa!!

Missylan,
no need to drool lah...very fast u can go and eat too since u might hv lost all the pregnancy weight (3kg only).

Limay/Carol,
tomolo u 2 come back with good comments too...I am gg to make my hubb bring me there..kekeke

bbmaru

Ah Eng,
I have already given good comments for that restaurant... I've been there before... agree that it's inconspicuous cos the entrance is kind of slanted and small...

Oh...I'm going for their Jap pizza tonight...yums!! Will take note of the name of that pizza tonight

Carol,
My stretchmarks aren't white, they're RED! Gone case liao... Don't like to apply cream all sort on my body one, except my face.. hehehe...

ah eng,
I understood your feeling liao, as a mom, very sensitive to own child's crying. me too... hi five man! Must take this opportunity to slim further. I am fat one... used to be quite slim then after getting know my hubby(was bf), ate durians like siao like that. He book out(army) every weekend and every weekend we ate durian. So gals, DURIANS indeed are very fattening. I don't believe when my hubby warned me. I regretted!
252460.png

taka

Carol,

Thanks for the info, will try to look out for these two places when my hubby is back. My sense of direction is very bad.

Two days ago took the wrong LRT at Sengkang which went to Renjong. I realised the mistake and alighted immediately, but subsequently noticed that there was no service train on the opposite platform, so had to wait for the next train and went one big round to get back to Sengkang again and wait for the correct LRT. It took me 25 min to get back to Sengkang! Oh gosh!So next time, have to look out on the notice board for the yellow line. It is so confusing.

Never heard of any noises, cos the owner upstair has not moved in yet, same as our next door neighbour. But sometimes will get the smell from the BBQ pits if the wind is strong.

bbmaru

Missylan,
your stretchmarks still not gone case yet... quickly apply stretch mark creams before you regret for the rest of your life... face pretty, body also must pretty mah...

Next time you want exercise can jio Ah Eng, EIG or myself... Ah Eng and EIG will be your best swimming kakis... I will be the only one lagging behind... I dun have the stamina to swim

ah_eng

Missylan,
only mummies know hor...kekeke (so auntie :p)

Carol,
u want to see my stretchmarks and flabby tummy...heeheee ...u help me see if its gonecase :p Swimming is best to trim ur body..esp the tummy!

bbmaru

Ah Eng,
Yours hor so many yrs liao... maybe cream not able to help liao... must use microabrasion then maybe can reduce the marks...

Swimming can really trim tummy meh... then I got to be more hardworking liao
scully it trims the fat in the wrong area *faint*

ah_eng

carol,
hahaha...like me now lor...hahhahaaa

Bea,
will not get huge arms...but broader shoulders mayb ...depending on the ur swimming styles.

eijgnohz

Carol and Missylan,

Yah! I agree swimming will slim tummy.. that's the first part of my body to slim down when I pick it up! (alas, the fab is back now becos I have to clear the CNY left over goodies. Cannot waste food right :p.. sigh... always in a dilemma)

But also find that my shoulder is broader. Arms are also toner. I usually swim front-crawl style (frog style).

Ah Eng, I have improved!!
Can swim full laps without stopping liao..v happy. hee hee...

Anyone want to meet for a swim later tonight?

ah_eng

EIG,
wah..congrats...the frequent swimming does help u ya!
tomorrow nite i wanna go for a dip. Hope I wun reach home late