Park Green

kenneth

Hi ahbeng, note the SAF repellants has a very high level of active contents. Meaning if it is used on baby or certain type of materials, it's not really good. I saw the material accidentally splashed on a car body and that whole top painted portion melted and deformed.

ah_eng

ahbeng,
jeh jeh ?? bu kan dang

arieson

Hi Huibin,

What I mean by lower rate is that you offset the cash rebate by the total interest you have to pay w/o the cash rebate. E.g if the original interest cost for a 10000 loan is 1000 i.e 10% and the cash rebate is 300, actual interest cost is only 700 or 7%.

Ryue, I mean the 1% is on the undisbursed amt and thus in your case, you are correct to say S$800. I used 5k as some people loan might be higher and thus left with a higher undisbursed amt. A refinance case would normally involve the different bank granting you a new loan. The new loan would include the amount the bank need to pay actual cash to settle your existing outstanding loan i.e everything is the same except you sign with a new bank. Same process for conversion except you stay with the same bank.

Carol and the rest, thanks for the photos. Guess the smoke from the bush fire would kill the mosquitoes as well :p

bbmaru

Ah Beng,
Ya, I agree with Nutty that the SAF insect repellant is super strong and corrosive. There was once the repellant leak inside my hubby's SAF's bag and it kind of "burnt" a hole in that bag. Scary!! I dun think you will want to apply that to sleep every night... bad for skin and health.

I dunno if aromatherapy will help, but if you do have Citronella oil in your house, you can try and see if using that oil repels mossies. Mossies doesn't like lemony or spicy notes... so that's why those smell will deter mossies from coming near you.

For myself, I tried using another type of Lampe Berger oil called "Pyrethre". Apparently it's strong to kill mossies and other small insects when they are exposes to "Pyrethre" oil long enough... I haven't seen them die in front of me, but so far I dun have any mossies problem... or maybe my side no mossies??

bing77

hi aries, i get the picture now. Thanks. Err i think the fire may not kill the mosquitoes but will drive them Punggol park to Park green! ahh...

Wow the fire is really quite bad cos by the time i got home yesterday night, the smoke has dissipated.

ahbeng

Hi Carol and kenneth. I didnt know that it was so corrossive. Thanks for your caution.I will handle it with care .

Last nite I did not apply it but didn't get any bite leh.Hope I will have many peaceful nite like this.
249880.gif

limay

Hui Bing - Citibank without cash mgt account: 0.9%, 1.9%, 2.5% floating. Lock in is for 1 yr, and prepayment up to 30% of total loan amount.
OCBC is at 1.1%, 2%, 2.5% floating. Lock in 2 yrs, prepayment up to 50% of outstanding at that time (max once every 3 mths repayment) w/o penalty.
There is a $1000 penalty for our case if we were to refinance with another bank now (cos of the 15% undisbursed amt till CSC given by developer), and OCBC is waiving our $200 processing fee, so it still works out cheaper if we convert with OCBC w.e.f. March05 rather than wait till CSC from NTUC in Sept05 and go with Citibank then.

Carol,
You also using Lampe Berger? Today my masseur gave me a aroma oil catalogue... You go surf the site

www.nhanzwellness.com

Their oil is way cheaper, dunno good or not lah... Our that bottle size of Lampe Berger, cost $35 for nhanz only! But their range oil is lesser.

bbmaru

Missylan,

I think I trust the quality of Lampe Berger and rather pay more for something that I inhale.. at least I can be assured that the oil is made in France... rather than paying something cheaper and dunno what and where it's made from... this is something I won't compromise... Another reason for sticking to LB oil is that I can be assured that it will not spoil my burner... cos if other oil contains inpurities or the air molecules are bigger, then the burner might clog.

Agree that Lampe Berger is ex, so I use it only when I feel I need it

You are using also? One point to note about aromatherapy. Young babies are not suitable for such stuff...so avoid using it in or near the baby's room.

bing77

hey limay, thanks! I will go bug the citibank officer why the rates are so high for ours. Or maybe i will wait until Nov 05 when the loan in period expires. But i read articles that the home loan rates are increasing so i think it's better to convert or refinance soon.

I recently noticed that there is water collecting at one point in the masterbedroom toilet. And this has caused the tiles there to be more whitish than the others. Now i will try to sweep the water away but quite troublesome. Anyone has this same problem?

eijgnohz

Yah, to add on to Hui Bing's point, do we really need to wipe dry the MBR's toilet floor everytime it gets wet? Carol mentioned earlier that we need to do so to avoid spoiling the floor... but isn't it kinda stupid of the developer to have marble tiles in the toilet if it is so hard to maintain, and almost 100% impossible to keep dry????

Carol,
I am using the Eucalyptus, I used it in my living room when I on a/c. But 1 thing, I dun trust aroma oil also, cos now we are burning alcohol also. Not good... I am not in for the treatment but more on scent. I also dunno this N'hanz comes from Paris.

Hui Bing,
Which part of the mater toilet? Nearer to the tub or the glass shower room? I place a rag outside the glass shower area... So while bathing the water will not splash outside, onto the marble flooring... You can do place 1 more near yr tub.

bbmaru

EIG,
Actually being natural stone,it is difficult to maintain since they are porous. So if it's being left wet over a period of time, you will get water marks or blur marks on the stone flrings. Can't be avoided. But becos of the hassle, pple just close one eye and couldn't be bothered over time. Imgaine if you accidentally spilled some detergent at a remote corner of the marble flring and it's not cleaned up, the detergent will eventually eat into (corrode) the marble and can cause a "crater" to be formed at that spot!!

I always use a squeegee to wipe away all the excess water in the shower cubicle (including the flr) after I bathe... it's troublesome but I think I'm already getting used to it. And even I did that much, my tiles are slowly turning greyer (it was already slightly grey when I first got my keys and the stupid main con refused to do anything to it!)

bbmaru

Missylan,
I use Eucalyptus, Rose D'iris, Lavender, Eau De Foret, Pyrethre etc
Favourite is still Eucalyptus (mix with Eau De Foret)

Oh, dun underestimate the alcohol. It's not really 100% alcohol (can't remember the actualy name) but called Ozocool or something like that. It actually produce dxygen after combustion with the ceramic catalyst (hence the stupid catalyst is also ex now!)

I trust Lampe Berger products so much becos they have patented products and 100 over yrs of history... it's more of quality than quantity for me...

alvin

Hi Ah Beng,

My shower head also got this problem, I asked the main-con to change for me twice & now this one is better.

bbmaru

Ah Beng and Alvin,
I also got this problem leh...I've asked them to change once and the water still comes out like pouring then spraying... and to think that I was still guessing whether it's becos of the lousy water pressure or the lousy shower heads... now I know... I'm going to get them change for me again...

Oh ya, I realise that becos of the low quality showerheads, they waste a lot of water... cos we have to turn on the mixer to the max for the maximum amount of water to come out so that we get the slight water spray ... if not, all the water comes out like "foundation water"...

ahbeng

Hi, thanks Alvin and Carol for your feekback.

I actually already asked them to changed once. You know what? The main corn brought a box of shower head containing about 20 shower head and try them one by one. Out of the 20 only one can spray nice nice. In the end, he brought another box of 20 shower and try them one by one again with me. Out of the total 40 shower heads, only one can spry perfectly. For the other 3, they are barely acceptable standard only. I think and think. Finally decided to make them changed to my satisfaction.

Tml I am going to their offfice to bang table again and get it change!
250142.gif

bbmaru

Ah Beng,
You are one funny guy... really speak like Ah Beng

After you bang the tables tomorrow , must let me know the outcome hor... but hey, you are one lucky guy also leh... he brought so many showerheads to let you choose... maybe he see you Ah Beng that's why he's scare of you

Just kidding huh...

felicia_ang

Ah Beng/Alvin,

Mine also change once before, rather give up. Save all the trouble/waste time from replacing. I think you must well got and buy and replace all the shower head. That what I do also. You will feel the different. I got it from Sim Siang Choon, 1 for $30. If you are maybank credit card, can get another 10% discount.

Hi EIG/Hui Bing,

Yes, Carol is right. You need to wipe after every bath and make sure there is no soap residue left on the floor else you will have white patched later. That is the advice from the marble specialist.

bbmaru

Felicia,
Ya, they are wasting our time by giving us such low quality showerheads... They very well know that this batch of showerheads are lousy and still go ahead and fit them..

But if we go and spend our money to get a new one ourselves, I kind of feel that we are letting them off too easily... and maybe becos they know that some owners will not have the "patience" to keep asking them to change, so they continue exchanging our lousy showerheads with lousy showerheads...

felicia_ang

Carol,
Yup agreed with u but no choice lor..as we all know the quality is low then keep changing also no point. When 1 year is up, then u cannot change. Must well now change your own and save all the trouble and enjoy the spraying power of the new showerhead, which is totally different from the one they provide...U will never regret...

bbmaru

Missylan,
Next time after your confinement, you can come down to my place to test the fragrances of the oils. Have not try Citronelle, so cannot comment the smell... but that one is supposed to be effective in preventing mossies too

Got water come out can liao?? Wah, you so "ching cai" one ah... showering should be a well deserved, satisfying moment after a long hard day leh... next time your showerhead spoil dunno to change liao... you can use the tap
... or if not, I can pass you my showerhead

bing77

missylan, the collected water is in the cubicle area. I think the water is supposed to flow to the hole, but due to gradient of the tiles, it is collecting near the door instead.

Actually during the gathering, the marble specialist went to visit a few units. I was with her and she mentioned that we can get the contractor to polish the master bedroom tiles if they are getting duller and duller. I then asked her if our compressed marble tiles in the living room can be grinded and she said can. And all the while the contractor has been telling my hubby and myself that the living room tiles cannot be grinded because there will be differences in colour etc. Now that we have moved in, i am not v inclined to remove my furniture to grind the living room tiles but I am determined to ask them to grind the master bathroom tiles.

carol, wat is a squeegee? Sounds like a toy..

limay

Kelly, the website for NTUC choice homes developments have been under construction since like 2 yrs ago!!

Anyone - so what is the conclusion on what is the best anti-mozzie repellant? Kena bitten yesterday, didnt get to sleep well

bbmaru

Hui Bing,
A squeegee is the T-shaped (rubber) wiper using for cleaning windows/glass doors...

The mossies must have been driven to PG after the bush fire... arrrgghhhh!!!

janett

dragon flies are natural predators of mosquito and are known to hunt and eat up alot of mosquito..maybe we should convert a few of our reflection ponds to attract or breed dragonfly ..:>..otherwise fogging every week should solve the problem

felicia_ang

Hui Bing,

Actually u can grind the MBR toilet but certain area will not be able to grind as the machine is quite big, those corner and small area will not be able to reach.

But you need to convince them that it is actually a defect...u should know what I mean...else they will said that it was cause by owner...the usual reason thet give for not doing up the defect..

kyosho1,
I dun think a/c is a repellent... I was bitten in the a/c room at my in-law's place, over 10 bites.

Janett,
Where can I buy dragonflies? hehehe...

limay

taka, think its $100k if i am not wrong. But make sure u dont have to pay penalty if you are leaving ur bank before the CSC (OCBC's contract is $1k penalty)

taka

Limay,

Not sure if there is penalty before CSC, but if we want to change the bank, then i think they (UOB) will charge us the legal fees which they waived previously. But currently the second year floating for UOB is 2.5%, so even if we have to pay them back the legal fees (one thousand plus for our case), it still make sense for us to refinance with Citibank.

felicia_ang

You may also note that OCBC charge 0.1% for the undrawn amount even after 2 years. The undrawn amount should be 15% of the purchase price which is going to be paid after 1 year after TOP if I'm correct.

limay

Taka, for our case, we wld have to pay $1k if we left OCBC; for that and some other factors, we are staying with them (they waived all admin charges also).

On the mossies - will the baygon blue rectangular thingie (the one u slot into the power socket holder & it emits some scent) work? Seems like its "mossie season", my colleagues are also complaining abt getting bitten!

limay

Beauty, u meant 1%? The contact states 1% of the undisbursed amt (i.e. the 15% that NTUC Choice Homes will call for sometime in Sept/Oct05) or $1000 penalty, which ever is higher ($1k for our case).
OCBC floating rates are 1.1%, 2%, 2.5%. As for the Fixed, they werent v attractive compared to other banks, I cant remember off-hand.

felicia_ang

Limay,

U may wan to buy the stick-on (blue color) which u stick to yr bed-side or clothing but use only once. Very effective but costly, 1 box consist of 10 pieces cost rougly $7+. Can buy at the Guardian Pharmacy.

limay

Aries, Beauty, thanks! The baygon thing didnt used to work at my old place (commando mozzies)but will get it later & try again!

bing77

hi beauty, you mean they grinded the MBR bathroom tiles for you already? I asked them but they said the effect will not be good and 'dun blame them if the result is not what i expected' etc. So do the tiles look better after grinding?

Carol, thanks. I think i will go buy one. Currently using my feet to sweep away the water.

I got bitten yesterday nite! Couldn't get a good sleep.
yawn.gif

bbmaru

Huibing,
Go get the handheld type which is smaller and easier to grasp. Value Dollar shop at Comopasspoint selling such squeegee for only $1.05 and comes with a suction hook where you can hang your squeeguee after you are done. Really value for money.