Park Green

ah eng,
I thought I was engorged but isn't. My bust infected with virus, must use Norton Anti-virus liao. Haahahaa... dunno how virus get in. I sterilze my pump every use... or might be from baby's saliva, after some reaction became virus.

Good to see everyone busy and no one comes in to chat with me...

248454.png

ah_eng

missylan,
everyone busy with CNY reunion dinner and preparation tomolo. U better rest well since u are already infected with norton virus...hahaha!!!

I'm too free so gossip a bit... My upstair neighbour(penthouse) dunno hop in the house or what, often heard hopping sound!

janett

anybody got any recommendation to put on those anti-sunray films on the window panes, either DIY or get contractor to put up?

janett,
me also need sun film, really bright here during morning and afternoon. The brightness cause reflection to my plasma also.

kompass

Hi Janette, Missylan and poox,

Just a word of caution. You have to use Sunshield and the mgmt has only approved 2 colours from the list they have. My ID had wanted to use another brand but it was not approved. We managed to find Sunshield's agent no. from one of the flyers (somehow, we can't find them in the www).

Despite the hassle, we find the protective film helpful in cutting out the glare and heat. It also provides a nice hue (greenish) to our windows - which we like pretty much.

I don't have the number at hand now and the cost was abosorbed by my ID since we have already been quoted the price priorly.

eijgnohz

Ah eng,
We are in the same boat...got to get back to work today... which is really unfortunate...sigh.. but nvm lah, no point wasting 1 day of leave, since this is the last day of the week and it's surviveable!

btw, I saw on tv that Barang Barang is having sale of up to 50% off. But there's nothing like dat on the website. Is anyone aware of this promotion?

ah_eng

Betty/EIG,
welcome to accompany me...heheee
Really wish to apply half day leave and join my frens for coffee :p

Carol company closed for the whole week. She will be back only next week.

EIG,
u still got things to get for ur house ah? Now my hubb stopped me to get more things...mayb except for a painting or deco for the wall where the sofa is :p

kompass,
Thank you for the info. Was thinking whether the film will really block out the glare and heat. Cos I've already done up day curtain for my study and living room. The glare makes my PC looks reflection in the day so is my TV.

eijgnohz

ah eng,

yup, am thinking of getting a sideboard for the dining area. Wanted to get one initially but did not becos we dun want it to spoil in our 2 years away. But if the price is good and cheap, we may get one now. our dining area looks very empty now mah...

limay

Also back at work today; its pretty quiet, so I can actually get more work done (nerd)

On the sunshield, we bought frosted laminates from the DIY shop, just need to cut to size, add water & stick....pretty economical version if you need to just stick on the kitchen windows to block out nosey neighbours!

ah_eng

EIG,
ur house sui liao!

Wah..this CNY housevisiting can really kill me out. With the hot weather. Now in the office working..cool and nice...not too bad indeed...hahaha (good way to console myself)

eijgnohz

ah eng,
no lah, must always find ways to improve the place mah.. actually, I am getting a little bored of the house, think need to play around with the arrangement of the furniture soon liaoz...
I am also looking forward to decorating our new place in the US... I'm like this, always like to change things around..

btw, do u watched "Trading Spaces" and "The Block" on Discovery Travel and Living channel on sat (10pm onwards)? Quite nice shows, very inspired by their home makeovers
. Strongly recommended.

bbmaru

Ah Eng and Betty,
Hee, here I am...pop in to look see what you all have been chatting about...ya lor, me very busy since the CNY's eve... I only got to sleep at 4am that night (early morning!!)... later still got many relatives coming to "warm" my house... sure very noisy later...

So many days never come in to chat...got so many posts liao.. luckily it's PH for the past 2 days..otherwise got even more posts...

Missylan,
Your confinement lady sounded pretty bad...maybe next time should employ those Malaysian confinement lady... M'sian still dare to charge so much... think you can get an equally good SG confinement lady at that price...

ah_eng

EIG,
so fast u bored liao? No wonder u cannot customise ur furniture...kekeke...hmmm..when u will get bored with ur hubb?

I dun hv the luxury to watch tv shows nowadays leh.

Carol,
wah.. housewarming ah. Guess everyone busying except missylan

Btw..when u getting the hulu ah? My poor leonard had a fever on CNY day..2am in the wee hrs
yawn.gif

Talking bout confinement nannies, I think no local ones will want to do during the CNY time. And tat y during the CNY period, the charges are up by almost 50%!!

Carol,
Mine is a Malaysian whor... No confinement wanna take up my case cos during CNY. I almost resort to hiring private nurse. No choice...

Bigtoes,
I bought frosted film from IKEA for my kitchen. After confinement will need to buy few more rolls cos that time I buoght not enough. Best is to add in a little soap into the water then stick.

eijgnohz

ah eng,
yah lor, that's why I cannot customise and fixed my furniture. No flexibility for me. No lah, I wun get bored with my hubby, but we must definitely do new things occasionally and grow/ move on, hahaha, like having a baby..

ah_eng

Missylan/Limay
how much did u pay for those frosted films and will it block out the sunshine? Cos my kitchen quite dark already. Needs the light from outside else will waste more electricity.

EIG,
Hope to see u
248743.gif
soon!

limay

Ah Eng, yah, like missylan said - v cheap. Think it costs about $14 for a long roll (from DIY shop - the one in Seng Kang MRT). Not sure if the width is sufficient to cover the kitchen windows thou, cos we only used some for the side panel at one of the rooms.

janett

Me actually looking to sun-block the balcony window to tackle sun glare, able to get from ikea 4 such a huge glass panel? ..cutting and pasting it might look quite ugly if skill is lousy :>

Anyone having problem with their floorings like certain portion not shiny like blur?

How to solve? Any recommendation on flooring cleanser?

249023.gif

kenneth

Hi Missylan. Yup..there is a small portion of my floor that is blur. This is due to the carelessness of the main con when they were rectifying the defects in my house previously. One of the worker left a paint bucket on the unprotected tile. This left a blur rim as a mark on the tile. This is a common problem with homogeneous tile (i was told) in that if u leave something wet on it for too long..it will leave a mark.
Not much thing we can do except getting the main con to polish again. But the faint mark will still be permanently there. I have covered it up with a water feature.

corolla

Hi all, did anyone of u guys encounter tennis ball flying out of the tennis court into the swimming pool? i was at the swimming pool at two different afternoons and saw tennis balls flying to the pool. Once I saw this tennis guy (in a JC T-shirt) came to the pool to pick the ball and faster ran off. Very dangerous if the ball hit the swimmers or the kids.

timeflies

Nutty,

I had the same problem. mine i think was a backet with acid and it formed a super obvious circle. to make it even more obvious, i pasted a circlular musking tape to show the circle ;) hehe

bbmaru

Corolla,
Think the management now got to put up a notice in the tennis court to say "Please play with care"
I think such incidents only happened to those new tennis players...

Talking about balls flying OUT of the court... I've got to mention something. I realised that we are having more and more inconsiderate neighbours. There are many occasions where I saw litters not properly thrown into the bins provided at the common areas. There are inconsiderate and selfish pple who throw empty cartons oustide the 1st flr lift area or at the basement lift area, sometimes blocking the door leading to the carpark. Since they can bring down the empty cartons, why can't they walk a few more steps and bring it to the rubbish collection centre, particularly for residents at Blks 10 and 12 (since they are so near to the bin centre). And what's worse is that sometimes there are fruit skins such as mandarin oranges and bananas thrown on top of those boxes!! It's so unsightly and reflects badly on the kind of pple living here... Didn't every household have a rubbish chute in their yard? Can't they wrap up their fruit skins and dispose them properly through the right channel? Didn't they have the right mind to know that by such selfish act, they are encouraging the breeding of fruitflies and houseflies...??? And true enough, I have seen a few fruitflies and houseflies flying around last week... I guess soon we will be seeing crockroaches crawling around...thanks to those selfish neighbours

ah_eng

Carol,
my blk here so far only have pple disposing the carton boxes at the basement carpark (which I tot was allowed ...remembered reading at the noticeboard). As for the inappropriate disposal of the fruit skins..Could be the work of non-residents too! ..I realise that there are many 'China relatives' during the housewarming parties tat have been going on.

Btw..PG has a couple getting married today. Saw the wedding car coming in. Congratulations to whom it is!!

corolla

Hi Ah Eng and Carol, i also notice this resident elderly man from Blk 10 who always use Park Green common toilet to bath. I saw him many times carrying his toiletries bag, towel, happily going to the common toilet. Should made him pay more maintenance fees.

aphrodite

When the guard calls to inform there is visitors, do they also tell you the visitors name? Realise that they only announce that you have visitors only, and you won't know who they are until they are at your doorstep.

It happen once that the guard called to inform we have visitors, and since we really are expecting a friend to come that day, we replied "ok". However, no one turned up and when we called our friend, he is actually still at home! Wonder who was the person that came in then...*puzzled*

limay

Hi aphrodite,
They didnt even used to call us on the intercom until some residents complained. Now we get calls of "you have a vistor" (no name given) & sometimes they call rather late & the visitor is already outside our main door ringing the doorbell! Guess the guards also have a problem handling so many visitors for the CNY period!
Carol - we get junk in our lifts too,the occasional fruit peels, cardboard boxes etc
hopefully, people will stop throwing junk once they tidy up the lifts (maybe since its still all covered & dirty now, they reckon they can just add to the dirt? haha).
Anyway, Happy Valentine's Day to all!

arieson

For me, the guy only let the intercom rings once. So if you are far away from the intercom, you does not even know if they have let the vistors in until the vistors are at the door. Or is it our intercom's fault? can only ring once.

bbmaru

Limay,
Hee... I'm sure you and Alex will have a romantic evening together

Btw, one of our neighbours had their housewarming cum birthday celebration (not sure if I got the birthday part right) last evening. One of the guests there turned out to be my colleague. What a coincidence! It's such a small world!!
Is that neighbour in this forum too??

mona

Hi PG neighbours,

Wonder whether you folks have any problem with mosquitoes ? I've been bitten several times by those sickening mosquitoes despite thermal fogging.

Oh btw, do you know how to get rid of the sticky patch on the metal panel near to the stove ?
Somehow after we peel off the plastic sheet, there is still one sticky patch on it. We tried to remove using turpentine but doesn't work leh.
Any advise ?

ah_eng

aphrodite,
we alwiz get a 'u got visitors' msg. Yday, my notti fren answered the intercom for me. He picked up the handset and just said okie before the guard speaks..kekeke

Limay,
so if i looked up to ur balcony tonite, can see u and hubb dining there??

Aries,
the intercom is so loud that one ring, we can hear it!

Carol,
U are rite....its a party for a one yr old kid...I saw the wordings this morning. And last evening, I saw BBQ pit2, the pple have catered food and bbq-ing at the same time.....good idea indeed!

Kelly,
turpentine works for me.

bbmaru

I think we have got to complain again about the security again. They cannot assumed that anyone who can gives an unit number is presumbly a guest of the resident here (just like aphrodite's incident). My friend came last Sat and commented that he could easily get in "just like that". He said some condos' security guards even need them to register or deposit their ICs with the guards before they could enter... I think that's a good idea. Then they can monitor who enters / leaves PG.

Not sure if you all notice this as well...Most of the time, there will be a guard sitting near the BBQ area at Block 12, supposedly to screen for authorised entry by non-residents coming in from the side gate. However, on many occasions I noticed that the guards is either dozing or back facing the side gate... then wat's the purpose of them sitting there? They look redundant to me...

eijgnohz

Hi Kelly,
You can try oil. I usually use cooking oil to remove the sticky remains of stickers. It works. Just rub it in, leave it for a while, and then wipe off. Read that in a mag last time.

Hey Carol!
Will reply you here, instead of through sms. my hair is much better now. Did not do de-ionizing becos it is not a hair-not-straight problem. Kimage said that my hair is totally dead. Did moisture care instead. After that, cut off most of my hair. now hair v short, but I quite like it. Am thinking that I should not have done the treatment actually, since all my bad hairs are cut off.. waste money... total cost $150 ah.. heart pain...

bbmaru

Hey EIG,
$150 should not be a heartache to you... in fact it shld be the price you pay to cure a "heart problem" which has been plaguing you for the past 2 weeks or so

Nutty,
No leh, at first flooring is shiny one, then dunno why some area became blur. No leh, dun leave water on surface leh. Dunno how come it appear!?!

Any super good floor detergent which will shines the floor?

EIG,
One advice: Do hair treatment whenever you got the time at home(best is once a week). Cheaper this way. U can buy big bulk of good hair treatment(Kerastase orange serie is good), cover the treated hair with shower cap for 30mins. Me lazy, very long no do hair treatment liao. Whenever you want to do hair colouring, do a colour treatment instead of plain colouring.

limay

Hey Ah Eng - hehe...yah, we are actually intending to dine at the balcony tonite! dont want to pay atrocious prices at restaurant, & the balcony quite romantic at nite
But dont look at us hor, wait paiseh.

hehe...we left the blue sheet on the panel beside the hob. Didnt bother to even peel it off!

Guys, btw - we found a cheaper home loan refinancing package, if anyone is interested. Its with Citibank, floating rates with 1 yr locked in only & v attractive, esp. with their cash mgt account with pays interest on deposit at 2/3rd the interest on our loan. With the cash back offseting the legal subsidy, we are not even paying for legal/admin fees for the transfer

ah_eng

Missylan,
why not a few of us gather once a week and go to the steamroom and 'steam' our hair?? ...(joking, no time for such 'luxury')

EIG,
u went to which kimage and find which hairstylist? So the hairstylist must hv cut a good hairstyle for u?

ah eng,
I did that once at Amrita Spa steam room... hahaha... I brought my treatment cream and steam...

I will strongly recommend Shunji Matsuo(director) for hair cut. I used to have pretty long hair, wanna a change. He gave me a short Jap style. I kinda like it. Hair colouring is expensive there... I go else where for colouring. To me, colouring is all pretty the same.