Pan Pacific Singapore

rosalind, probably that sharksfin is fake? Read an article couple of years back... some active organizations promoting synthetic sharksfins which is supposed to taste and look like the real stuff.

Just a quick check if possible... how many tables are the bride's parents getting? My FH likely will give 8-10 tables but not confirmed as our parents haven't met yet.

Blim,

Dun think it's fake but the taste is like plain water. Think the chef forget to put salt. In the end, all the tables got a second round of sharksfin. End up the banquet ended quite late. The second one too salty. We scared the couple pai sei so u didnt say anything.

Think my mum may ask for ard 5 - 10.

Hi twinkleglint,

my fren's dinner at CP was on 10 Nov (Monday), were you there?

Wah!!! fake sharks' fins?? dun think PP dare to use that right? if let me find out they'll kena this from me
35874.gif
kekeke

haha PPgroom, you so funny... but we'll all join you if PP really does that...

agree with lynn that many ppl think no shark fins = no wedding dinner...

bird's nest? idea hor... but much more expensive rite...?

Hi, Convoy.

Like you, my wife and I wanted to give up the shark fins. On mentioning to my parents, they nearly blew their top and ask me why i don't want it.

My mum then gave me 1001 reasons like "will not look nice" and "not generous". It's good for you to feel so environmentally conscious. But I suggest you better consult both parents on their preferences first before deciding.

Even though you and your fh may be the one paying for the dinner, but it's always better to try and accomodate your parents' wishes. No point if their faces all black on that day.

It's my mum who suggests not having dhark fins as she doesn't like the taste of shark fins now. But then my MIL feels that guests will feel that our menu is inferior without shark fins, so we are keeping it.
Bird's nest is more like dessert to me. :P
Crown prince's food is gd, the long jiang restaurant right? Check with coordinator we can always change food after food taste so no prob. Only thing is if u want to test tt new dish, most likely u got to pay?

Hi PPgroom,

true, my bf and I are Christians but our family members are not so no choice but to pick a 'good' date to make them happy. I tot of booking with PP tentatively but was told that they only allow 2 weeks of no deposit booking. How?

btw, we need not choose the menu during the day we pay the deposit right? Hmm my bf and I tot of not having sharks fins cos these sharks so pathetic but in the end may have it since the guest may complain.

Hi Chel,

same la... dun really fancy shark's fins that much, then some more they so poor thing... but unfortunately, most ppl have the mentality that no shark's fin = cheapo menu...

will prob check with my coordinator on what dishes i can change to... then see how...

btw, anyone has tried pp's shark's fins b4?

Hi Chel,

is it? then bo bian lor... try to book the date using those online almanacs first if you really want the day of your choice. cos i believe even though after paying the deposit, you can still change the date, but subject to room availability and must be dunno how many months in advance.

Hi lynn,

hmmm... you're right, birds' nest is more like a dessert rather than a main meal... unless you ask the hotel to prepare the birds' nest in such a way that the broth is as thick as the sharks' fin lor... kekeke...

Hi orosalind,ur wedding is Oct 04 right? how come PP charge you 4% GST? I thought by 2004, GST will increase to 5%?

I agree with PPgroom, older generation will still prefer sharks' fin. Without that, ppl might feel cheapo. For me, I'll still go for sharks' fin lor.....

Hi, Meiqi

My contract also states 4% GST even though my wedding is in 2005. I think it does not affect all Ocean ballroom packages cos the price is already nett. As for Pacific Ballroom, I think you have to check wif the rest.

hi, sean,
so which ballroom have u booked? it's seems like only PPgroom booked Pacific Ballroom while the others opted for Ocean Ballroom.

Meiqi,
i agree with sean if u taken Ocean Ballroom package - nett price so does not matter unless u take PB which includes triple plus +++
but u can clarify with the person in charge cos i did check with them and they confirmed that the price is subjected to prevailing rates - which means if next year government increase GST to 5%, then we have to pay accordingly. mayb u can try neg with the staff on this issue but i think quite difficult lor.

PPgroom,
Do u have more info for the PB contract u had juz signed cos i keen oso. what r the perks u got n who is yr coordinator?

Hi Aspire,

I have yet to sign my contract

actually PB or OB contract about the same, the only difference is the number of tables lor. but i think there's a difference in menu too. PB seems to have more like Pixie, Tinkerbell, Thumbelina and the final one i can't remember the name... while OB only have 2 menus, Pixie and Ocean.

my perks are standard: waiver of corkage for wine, parking coupons, and more cards lor...

when's your AD?

Hi Sean,

my AD in 2005 and PP also charge me 5% GST leh... booking PB or OB really got difference in GST one meh? Can anyone advise on this?

Hi, Aspire

I'm with Ocean Ballroom. My actual day is 9th Jan 2005.

Hi, Edgewater

You can download all the PP wedding menu from this url

http://meeting.singapore.panpacific.com/hotel/promo.html

Hi, PPgroom,

Regarding your case, I'm not really sure. Did you manage to negotiate a nett price with yr coordinator. If not, I think it's subject to the +++. That means your have to multiply the price by 1.1655 to get your actual table price.

Hi Sean,

I tot all the PP menu's prices are with a +++ behind? does yours have this +++? or yours is a nett pricing? if it is +++ then how come the GST's 4%?

I have just gotten the contract from PP. For those gg for OB, the table price is nett. They have the +++ to cover for things that you may incur later. As for PB, I believe the tables are +++ (unless you have negotiated for a nett price), so you have to pay the prevailing taxes and service charges.

PPgroom, I reckon there is no difference in the +++ between OB and PB.

Hi Miata,

so wat does it state in your contract? is it 4% or 5% for GST? your AD is in 2004 right? i am looking at the GST cos i'm not worried abt the table pricing but more on those miscellenous items...

PPgroom, there could be a typo error. Better check with your coordinator. Maybe she has overlook it. Nevertheless GST is governed, so if it's changes, I believe PP can "argue" that. As consumers, you have to pay the prevailing rates.

anybody managed to get an increase for the 20% free parking?

btw, how much are you guys paying for wine corkage?

According to earlier thread from orosalind, she told me is 1.1544 for the +++ (which is 10% serv charge, 1% cess and 4% GST)... Miata and orosalind's AD on 2004, how come there's a difference in GST?

Hi QiQi

ya huh.. from Rosalind's earlier posting, her GST is 4%. Hmm.. and mine is 5%. We both have different coordinators, maybe our coordinaters are not coordinated.. (wa, rhyme, ha) Okie.. time to check and get the facts right.

huh!?!?
how come Miata and rosalind's AD both on 2004 but their GST different one?

Sean, you seen your contract yet? what does it state for GST?

how come so confusing and complicated one?

Hi, PPgroom.

My contract states 4% GST. But my contract also states that my per table price for 10 person is $668 nett. So i think that's the price that i will pay. Maybe they overlook this part cos for OB is nett price.

i will call up my coordinator to confirm first thing in the morning. I also don't want to pay anything more already.

hi sean, if u're taking the OB, the table price is nett. the +++ is to cover for other stuff which is subject to taxes such as the corkage charge etc...

btw... my contract oso states gst as 4%

Hi Sean/ brambles,

Yeah, my table price is nett too, but my GST states 5% leh... and brambles, you're right, the GST is to cover miscellenous items other than table prices.

think i need to double confirm with my coord on this figure again

Meiqi, yup, they still charge me 4% GST. What qiqi says is correct, mine is 1.1544 for the +++ (which is 10% serv charge, 1% cess and 4% GST).

Hi Miata16, PPgroom and all,

As that Miata16 says, OB promotion package is nett price per table but they have the +++ to cover for things that you may incur later. As for PB, the tables are +++ (unless you have negotiated for a nett price). For my case, I am quoted 4% GST in my contract. So Miata16, dun understand how come urs is 5% even though we both booked for 2004 (u r earlier than mine somemore). So beta check with them on that, how come like that one?????

Hi rosalind,

i am as confused as you... even Sean and me also differs in terms of GST even though our AD are in 2005. His is 4% while mine is 5%... why like that one
35961.gif

PPgroom, your coordinator and mine could be the same.. Do you know if yours and Sean's coordinators the same one? Rosalind's and mine is definitely different one (cos we have privately checked with each other). That could explain why the difference in the GST.. Maybe PP didnt standardise it. I'll call my coordinator to check later.

Miata16, agree with u on that. Think not oni GST not standardised. Other things as well. Btw, me go see ID last Sun. Now dunno how to choose bet 2 option provided by him. Chat with u on that when u r free.

PPgroom, think cld be like what Miata16 says, diff coord say diff things. But I think those who book this yr can bargain for 4%. Otherwise, y the nid to book this yr. Like my furniture and reno. I will oni start in May 2004 and they all charge 4% oni even though I have not pay full.

Hi rosalind,

that was my tots too... if that's the case then i will have to check with my coord before signing on the dotted line

PPgroom, I have spoken to my coordinator. She said cos next year is 5% GST. Thus the GST stated in the contract. Since I dont forsee myself incurring any add'l spending, I'm leaving it as it is. The only puzzling thing is why mine and Orosalind's different since our AD is in 2004. But we both know our coordinators are different. Yours is 4 or 5% quoted?

hi guys/gals
mine is also 4% gst. i guess if u book this yr n hold ur WD nex yr, ur gst remains as what it is in this yr. if u book this yr n ur WD is in 2005, most probably, they will charge 5% per nex yr rate. PP also dun wana lose out lah, that's why. but for miata16 n sean case, slightly diff???

as for the dishes, the shark fins are ok lah. cos my FH's bro went there for a WD recently n found the food not bad. as for bird nest, it is jus a suggestion. for me, beta keep it to shark fins. btw, my cousin serve a similar dish called "xue ga" in chinese for her first dish as appetizer. funny but many guest really like it.

hi ppgroom,
i went to crown prince in sept not this mth so diff. they still didn't improve!

I thought GST is pretty straight forward.... the 3k deposit is nett... whatever you settle on the night is suibjected to the prevailing GST rate.. ie prob 5% next year...

As for sharksfin, i dun think there's a need to be overly worried that the menu wun look nice... you can prob swap it with something equally classy... and make a real statement by mentioning the reason in your speech lor... everyone will clap man...

I'd agree with Demio. Cos you're only consuming whatever next year, and next year's GST is 5% which will be the prevailing rate. Thus even if your contract states 4%, you may be asked to pay 5%. I dont think PP will lugi one lah. For those who are very concerned, I'd advise you check with your coordinators, esp those with the +++.

Hi Chel,

Yes, after booking, the next step is discuss contract (aka bargain time!! kekeke) before you pay the $3k.

Hi Miata,

actually i'm just puzzled why there's an inconsistency lor... actually i foresee no incurring other charges too, so most likely wun pursue it further. mine is stated 5%.

Hi twinkleglint,

hahaha... guess they din impriove anyways...