Pan Pacific Singapore

haha izzit wow then i will stick to the long L shape

but who did you put at the back row ah
mostly is friend one rite?

qing, we got the photos but didn't get round to scanning them yet. Will post some here when we finally scan them into our computer.

blim ~ thank you so much for the info!! maybe we should have another gathering to look at yr photos!! hee hee

hi blim,
can u oso share with us...eh...how much tables your parents-in-law take leh? and how many tables for frens?

btw wat's the practise for this huh? i know the the bride's parents will keep all the angbaos for their tables(unless they wanna give u back)...so wat abt parents-in-law side huh? they will keep all the angbaos too?

me and my FH paying for the entire wedding with our own money hence reli need to know more details on these

Qing, put your helpers at the so-called lousiest table position. They will be the people who would be understanding and wouldn't mind. That's why you choose them to be your helpers right?
Arrangement from stage should be relatives followed by boss/"important" colleagues followed by friends/colleagues.

yalor cutie, beli siongz leh
guess we can oso organise another gathering to cry together...kekeke...

blim, thks so much for all the help leh..and even coming back to visit us in this thread even after ur wedding day is over liaoz...btw, belated one-mth wedding anniversary

Angie ~ ya lor,, so everything must go find cheap and good stuff!! yesterday Miata, Totto and bao bao told me that they top up another $2k plus for their album leh,,, i gog to faint liao!!!

Angie, I believe the general guide is if the couple pay, they get to keep all the angbao. If the groom's parents chip in, they can get to keep some angbao too. This is apart from the bride's parents tables. The tables for the bride's parents are considered part of the pin4 li3 package. Have I confused you?

Angie, not necessary that bride's parents keep all the angbaos. It should go accordingly to the tables specified during the guo da li discussion. For eg, if your hubby give your parents 10 tables, then all 10 tables angbao your parents keep. But if your parents eventually need 12 tables, then 2 scenarios arise. Your parents pay for the cost of the 2 additional tables and get to keep angbao for all 12 tables. Or the couple pay for the 2 tables and keep the angbao for the 2 additional tables. The confusion with the 2nd scenario is which 2 table angbao goes back to the couple. For my case, my parents said they will pay for the additional tables if necessary. Thankfully the final guests count for them is 10 tables. So easy way out for us lor.. Cos to take $$ from parents also paiseh right.. hehehe

Brambles, we didn't think of doing an average leh... Good idea. Maybe I should do that. I recall majority fall under the $80-$100 range. Of course there are a fair share of $60 and $120. Even got $200 from close friends.

Btw, how much do you all usually give? I typically give $88 cos it sounds good.

cutiebear,
I also tell my fh abt the photos, then he start questioning me, u wont go more than 1K hor.. aiyo stress me.

cutiebear,
I think i will get very paiseh if the loss is big. I think i will get mum to cut down on the tables.. actually not easy for me becos my mum side, i already have 10 aunts and 2 uncles.

icy ~ the photos very stressful right!! i think i will ask the photographer dont take so many photos then i have nothing to chose!!

as for the dinner, if u feel paisei maybe u can set aside a small sum of money, then if the loss if big,, then u contribute abit lor!! better then nothing right!!

Baobao, you mean you also wish you lose too?! *confused* In any case, just manage your tables carefully and you should be alright. Don't worry unduly...

My mother thinking of returning the red packets to us but we refused. In fact, they didn't even ask for 10 tables during guo da li but we just thought that 10 tables would be a nice number. The wedding is just a one day event.. so transient and also, money can be earned back. The most important thing is for parents to feel good about their children.

icy, then i'd suggest that you balance the guest mix by inviting more friends and colleagues as well as their spouses.
This should help tilt your ang bao towards the $80-$100 range.

cutiebear,
Ya lor, the photos.. I told my fh i will try to keep to max of 4k or at most 5K including the 3K that we pay for the BS. Will try lah, but fh keep want me to guarantee.. yo.. how to guarantee. Later so happened i like it so much then how.. I even consider the possibility of buying back all the sample photos.
For dinner side, I think I will get fh to give back all the angbaos to my fil. Unless we really make profit which I doubt so.

blim,
I am prepare for a loss becos my table cost abt $86 per person. then mine ad on friday.. so high chances people bao $80 or even lesser. :p Just hope the loss not so much.

Our own personal experience and from survey among our friends: Most wedding album ended up in the drawer collecting dust. Hehehe... So monetary-wise, it's more prudent and cheaper to get your AD photographer to take more pictures, be it at your home or at hotel or at Esplanade or at Lallang fields. I mean I'm talking from the standpoint of a budget-constraint bride lah... In fact, for us, several AD photos came out even nicer than studio shots! Our AD photographer threw in special effects for the end results.

Blim

I mean if yr mum return all ang bao to you. You will be earning rite...

As for me, cos my reno we use hard earn money to pay for everything... And my mum noe we are quite stress too.. Thatwise she told my hubby she will give us back all Ang bao... As my Hubby side oso din fork out a single cents so they will return all money to us too...

ya my friends told me that after adding the photo they end up in the cupboard

so i think dont need to take more photo might as well save the money for honeymoon and take more photo outside save more money ah

i agree with blim on the album part,, by then,, at the point of u selecting the photo,,juz cannot resist lor,,, i think is juz woman nature!!

Sigh... cannot resist one... :P

Hey, if you pple wanna a gathering, can come to my little humble house, no worries.

Anyone planning to have free seating for their colleagues of 60 pax?

Bao Bao... whoa.. from your posting, can feel the maternal love your mum had for you leh.. My opinion? Hubby side is ok cos for guys don't have pin li mah.. for bride side, at least give a token sum of $$ lor... little bit also can... it's just an appreciation for raising you all these years.

Miata ~ my FH planning to have free seating for his 10 tables of kids leh!!! i dont really like the idea,, but then i will still leave it to him

blim

My mum... She don't wan leh... kip asking her to take a few tables money but she don't want.... But nvm me every mths still give my mum money and every year bonus i give her 1K.. And she say treat this as the banquet money loh... My mum so sweet i really can't bear to leave her...

And the nicer part is my daddy say he wanted to invite his frend, you know wat he say. He say the tables money he pay himself... I think my parents is goin mad like me....

I think i will cry on my AD

Ladies, I learned this trick from other threads. Try this - Schedule a few rounds to select the photos. By the 3rd or 4th round, you should have cooled down somewhat and could easily eliminate more photos liao... And before you step into the bridal shop, keep repeating and reminding yourself that you have budget constraint.

Brambles,
Oops :p so sorry to leave u out. cos this morning too many things to do liao so not able to catch up with the previous thread.

Baobao,
Me same same situation as u lucky our mothers are understanding if not very siong one hor.
in fact my mum also want more tables to invite her friends but i will try to persuade her later to keep to the minimum as i do not like the feeling of too many unfamliar faces lor.

Miata,
thks for sharing yr photos. still hav no time to c but i believe shld b nice as u n yr hubby is quite beautiful couple.

blim

no bra strips only the cups....

Aspire
Yap lucky i have a understanding mum.... Hey where my email, since morning i been waiting till now

baobao,
still very busy leh....later okie! b patient!!!
so hav u try out yr nu bra? Good support???

Miata,
I like yr white gown oso, esp the lace made u look like Royal princess. Wise choice. btw, is yr gown MTM one or OTR?