Orchid Country Club

thks for the advices. ya perhaps can follow pierced's advice, pour into empty bottles. but how do they control the liquors? will the banquet manager request that we surrender all our wines/liqours before the start of dinner? i'm just wondering if somebody 'smuggle' in the liquor then they may not realise also wat.. saw some relatives did that in other banquet, perhaps cos that was a restaurant so the waiter/waitress bo chap

we have not signed our contract yet, but would do so soon as we have more or less set our mind on OCC already. only have abt 40 tables, probably not much room for neg.

hehe jatling, same as wad i tot too. save money...but dun let the OCC ppl know lei.
groom2b, mebe u can ask if they will waive off the duty first den see how.
received ur link on ur fotos liao. so is that ur WG in the foto? pretty n sexy hor....:P

hmmz control ah? i dono whether they do it for us not.neva ask them about the controlling part yet. I know wad mi fren did was to ask someone to be i/c of the liquor for him den when the staff needs it den go look for them. wonder if tiz is better.

yo jatling... how come i nbr received...

hmm... gals i juz curious how can u all trf the non duty free to those duty paid bottle... cos for martel i remember that the pouring part is bery small one leh... duty free one dun hv the ball bearing one leh...

they will sure know one rite... cos if u change the bottle they will know tat is open b4 wat... a few bottles think ok lah... but if u are bring more than 10 think they will suspect rite...

oh... maybe isit better tat u tell them ur intention of doing tat and see wat they said lor... cos they 1 duty paid reason is due to the laws rite...

hmm... groom2b... since u hvn sign the contract maybe u can be honest and tell them ur intention and see wat they said lor... if let them found out... like abit not nice leh....

Jxnc,

I will try to organize another wine-tasting session at the start of next year as I am sure everyone will be busy with X'mas preparations while I am busy with my wedding preparations :>

Matt

Hi jellytots77 sorry can I hv ur email?

Oh the btt part if u using martell either u free the pastic cover outside...the brown part only den the cap of the cork or so call the ball bearing part will able to take it out for u to pour den cover back....still the same as Duty Paid keke...I done that! my bro help me to remove the pastic part... if u dun want avoid buying martell buy other kind of hard liquor den there won't be any stopper like martel.

yo jatling... my email is [email protected]

hmm... isit... i nbr knew tat... u so smart hur... anyway... me also dun hv any DP hard liqour bottle lah... whahaha... think need to go and buy anyway... since my bro friend got lobang on tat...

Hi jellytots....if u hv frz's wedding using dutied paid hard liquor do ask them to keep for u cos that's what I did as well...or if u hv frzs working in pub or disco they sure got lobang!

hi rabbit...congrats to u :d
not too bad...rushing for my GDL this sunday, in fact very gan cheong...so afraid to miss out anything...gosh...
now looking ard for red wine, see the pricing if it's ok to my pocket :P

so how are you? everything a ok?

Vone, everything is great!! The wedding so fast over liao... I got my wine fr Matt... v value for $. Taste is fantastic!
Now busy with biz lor...

Wow GDL liao... fast hoh
I understand ur xin qing...

Get gear to be the most beautiful bride tt day...

Cheer

Hey, u got PS link or something like tt to share?

really? hey matt...quick send me ur list leh :P

GDL really going to be a tough one...hope quickly get over it...hahahaha...

ok will send to u...how abt urs? n ur AD pics?

hmm...cannot send pm to u?

tough as in boring also :P hopefully lor...

sure...

it was great!!! couldnt be better :P hopefully AD will be like this also

yo jatling... aiyo...no really close friend getting married ard the corner leh... maybe will try and ask ard lor... kekeke... anyway me got lobang for liquor lah... if u need it then tell me lor...

yo von... i also 1 2 see ur pix... kekeke.... can email me...

yo rabbit... i got send u email leh... u so busy until no time to reply me isit... sob sob... juz joking... juz dun forgot 2 email can liao

wow this thread is very active..

i think i'll try all the methods

seems like lots of things to take note of. still trying to check out those traditional stuffs, like GDL & an chuang that kinda thing. me not the bandang type, but if can do things in the auspicious ways then everyone will feel better i guess

von,

I have sent out an invitation to you regarding about my wine-tasting this coming weekend.

Hope you can make it and test the wines.

Matt

hi people,

how do you all decide on the venue decor?? understand that there are 3 color theme right? do u go down to discuss or via email/phone??

anyone tried asking for other flowers except the roses that OCC provided?

Hey there JXNC and pierced,

The wine-tasting last weekend was postponed and will be held this coming Sunday. Are you two interested?

So how did ur trip go?

matt

Matt,
yup, forgotten to get back to u... ppl sick lah, memory also failed... heehee.. Count me & FH in for coming Sun's wine-tasting... where's your home? Email me your address leh... time's fix around 1pm rite?
Btw, FH has got something to do later, so can onli stay a short while...

pierced,
got back from your BKK trip? how's it? bought anything??

JXNC,

I have emailed you my address once again. My home is in Tampines. You can come around 1245 too if you all have a later appointment.

See ya on Sunday.

Matt

Can anyone advise how many dishes are we entitled to if we chose menu I(the 538+++ menu).is it 8 or 9 course including dessert?I am going for my food tasting next week.any advise which dish is good??thanks a lot for your help.

Hi PP, ask the coordinator to suggest to you, he should know more. Mine have lunch there many times so she s able to tell me which is good.

helllo everybody,
juz came back fr mi trip yesterday. den went for a wedding dinner in the nite at grand copthorne.
so Matt, so sorry to have missed the postponed winetasting.

so did many turn up??
JXNC, yup mi trip was very fun! bought lots of stuff and ate a lot! haha... so how was ur phuket trip? didnt get to ask til now ya..

PP,
Thought your OCC coordinator got gave u a copy of the Banquet Menu, which of those dishes that u can choose from prior going to your food-tasting... Anyway, the $538+++ menue is a 9-Course including dessert...

Pierced,
So u r finally back to homeland after enjoying a super-long holidays in BKK.... Can see that u have totally enjoyed your shopping har..
heehee... phuket was fun but pity happened to rained quite heavy on sat's nite hence didnt get to shop much enough... maybe planning a trip up to BKK in Jan or Feb, to get revenge... heehee

Me going to view OCC this coming sat.May i ask other than viewing e ballroom,do we get to view the bridal suite as well?Wat are the norm things we should bargain for?

Hi JXNC,

So u are here huh?hw come nvr go into OCT05 thread?btw,u hv signed e contract w Andrew liao huh?did u request for another complimentary room for helpers?

pjen
Aiya, me got follow the Oct'05 thread lah... juz a bit bz this wk to go in to post any msg mah..
So u gg down OCC this sat, what time?? My FH & me will be at OCC this wkend & Xmas wkend as well. He chop a booth, selling some 2nd-hand items... come & visit me lah...

We have given our deposit to Andrew over the counter last sat cos Andrew informed us that there's someone eyeing our date liao, but have yet got time to sign the contact with OCC... most prob. will arrange to do so this sat since we both will be down lor... nope, no compli. rooms but we might be converting our anniversary 1nite stay to use as on AD, for helpers or relatives...

As for the viewing, yup u can get your coordinator to let u view their bridal suite. Besides that, we also requested to "peep" at their Presidental suite (can upgrade if u top $300), must see how "grand" mah... heehee
Depending how many tables u confirming lah, u can try bargain on corkage charge wavier (for certain qty), additional beer at cheaper price...

Hi JXNC,

hehe u same as me..got follow e thread bt pretty busy oso...i cant post everyday on every thread i join..heheh

wow sei u all so happening ah?sell 2nd stuffs..me oso wan leh..wana sell away my clothes tat i cant fit in..stil new leh throw away beri "sim tia"..i wana join can anot

btw,hw much deposit hv u paid?u champion hor haven sign bt pay liao..my $$$$$ beri hard to earn bt hv black & white 1st b4 signing..keke..

me lookg at 60tbls leh..i wana bargain for free corkage leh cos too many tbls i cant afford to b charged..some more my frens all wine lovers..FIL & my papa hard liqours lovers..
if i wana keep e room for anniversary use,they dun give day room meh??so miao ah?i wana change n makeup there in e evening leh..

jxnc,

They got this 2nd hand thingy ah?? hmmm would love to join but these 2 weeks are simply crazy man.

I will send you the wine list later. Hope you had a good time last Sunday.

Pierced,
Got any nice pics to share with us?

Matt

hi JXNC, hehe ya i totally enjoyed mi holiday. wah, rain in phuket. datz a let down! it didnt rain in BKk for the 2 wks i was there. was super hot instead.

got second hand fair ah? hmmz, i see if mi FH can make it den i can go down n look look see see. keke
so how was the gathering at matt's? got drink until face red red not?

Hi pjen, yup u can view their suite as well. we requested to view their suites on the day we were there.bargaining wise, we didnt get anything much more except to change the anniversary stay to the same nite so got 2 rms instead. but maybe u can try asking since u got 60 tbls.things like corkage, ask if can waive off totally lor.

i oso same like JXNC lei, i paid up already to cfn mi date but i havent given mi contract yet. still holding on to it ( ages liao!) as we need to make changes to it. was so reluctant to hand over the $$ but no choice. FH says if give over the contract n later we want to make changes again, might be difficult.

hi matt, things muz be busy now ur wedding drawing nearer. how's preparations?
pics wise, dunno if its nice. muz wait for mi to download first n see. was too lazy to do anything yet aft i came back.

will share when i download.

Hi Everyone...

*MERRY CHRISTMAS AND A HAPPY NEW YEAR*

Stay Happy and Pretty/Handsome always :p

let hope that everything went on smoothly for our banquet... of cos at least hope tat we can hv breakeven for tat... *crossing fingers and toes*

Dear all OCC GTB & BTB,
Guess u all wont be seeing me anymore in this thread... my wedding's been called-off... due my FH's marriage blues... we have juz broke-off last nite...
Thx for all the advise u ppl have been giving... sorry not to be able to join u ppl in future.... Take care!!

** Matt,
Thx for the wine-tasting session... at least I knew how to appreciate wine better now..

Gosh JXNC... no matter wat happen, do hold on to urself and be strong ok

U can still pop by say hi when u r more comfortable.

Take good care ya...

Dear JXNC, I hope you are feeling ok. Like wad rabbit said, u can always pop by here.
anyway, hope to chat wif u further at msn.

hey gals n guys,
wow....today my 4th day of work so many things to clear...sigh...

i oni hv my PS pics...i hv sent the pics already
feel free to comment...

btw...wedding was great! my videographer did a great video montage before our 1st walk-in, tears are just rite at the corner of both my hb n my eyes :P

pierced,
lucky thing you're back...the tidal asia disaster was so scary...

yo jxnc... be strong and we are always here for u...

yo von... how come i got no pix hur... anyway glad u enjoy ur wedding... hmm... hope to see ur pix really soon ya.....

anyway.... HAPPY NEW YEAR and enjoy ur holidays

yo von... ya care to share more on ur montages... i hear fm my friend is someting diff fm those normal montages... oh... ya my friend attend ur wedding lah.. kekeke

hey evon, care to share ur pics wif mi as well?
great to hear dat u had a wonderful wedding. muz have been beautiful to have tears at the corners of both u and ur hubby!

yup im glad im back but lucky thing i didnt choose to go phuket onli bangkok! itz so sad now watching all the news and seeing the horrible disaster. to thk it was so close to home!

yup yup matt and teo having wedding tiz month.
guess matt muz be busy wif his prep now.
might not have changes yet rite to theirs coz they collected theirs in 2004?

halo brides from OCC,

Yes, my wedding is in 2 weeks time. Very busy with preparations and Guo Da Li is this weekend lor.

Also got my wedding pictures oredi...

Matt

hi everyone and anyone,

who wishes to hold their wedding banquet, I strongly recommend OCC. I just held mine there and it was PERFECT. I couldn't ask for more. The coordination was right down to a T and the support from the crew, the service was more than excellent. My friends who were scouting for a venue for their wedding this year looked no further after they saw my suite, the view, the romantic atmosphere, the decor, the food and best of all, the $. Although people initially complained about the location being far from the city,(there are alsways pros and cons), they were wow over by everything else. So, I would strongly encourage wedding couples/ couples to be to give this place a shot.

Sincerely,
Eileen