Orchid Country Club

lydia

Any reviews or comments on OCC? Their packages quite cheap although far....thinking of caterng buses to ferry guests there...
And normally for venues like this, what is the 'norm' ang pow like? Trying VERY hard to persuade hubby to do it in a hotel.

omega

hi lydia,

i attended a wedding banquet at OCC in jan this year. The ballroom is big and looks quite grand. The entire place looks nice, at least i think it got quite a nice ambience.

yah there was buses catered for ferrying guests.

hmm yah I agree its far, some people may take cab there, so I dunno whether that will affect the ang pow rate. However I dun think the ang pow will fall below $60.

one more thing is, the food is not bad ... the waitresses there are mostly teenagers ( I think there looks like part time waitresses) which to me is good (not sure how others feel), cos of the closesness in their ages, I think it creates a uniform look.

last is they also allow u to have a 2nd march in using their buggy car. So it looks quite nice and different.

sereneoh

JJ, i attended my cousin's wedding there last year..quite a nice place...in fact i would like to have mine there if it is not that they need a minimum of 45 tables.
I am not sure which restaurant you are interested in. I understand that there are different restaurants providing the food..but the one that i had was Gim Tim Restaurant. Anyway, you can check out their website : http://www.orchirdclub.com/

regards, Sereneoh

raymond

i plan to have my banquet @ orchid country club early 2002. anyone have recent experience there. how is the food and environment there?

My hubby just attended a wedding last night at OCC. He liked the ballroom and the whole ambience of it. The ballroom is big and no pillars in the middle of the room. The stage was well decorated too. He said that the bridal suite overlooked the golf course and the swimming pool. Will be quite nice for the couple but a bit troublesome for guests who don't drive. As for the food, it was a vegetarian dinner so can't comment much on this. Hope this helps.

ac

I am close to booking the Grand Ballroom at OCC.
Any girls here also booked that place ? Share share ?! I don't want the deluxe room, wonder if I can exchange for something else. Anyone did likewise ?

The package (528++/598++/688++) includes :

1. Free flow soft drinks, mixers and Chinese tea throughout dinner for 4 hours
2. Complimentary barrel of 30L of beer
3. Waiver of corkage for duty paid hard liquor (max 20L)
4. Seat covers for all chairs
5. Red carpet aisle with fresh floral columns
6. Fresh floral centre piece for VIP table and reception table.
7. Wedding drive in on bridal buggy with dry ice effect
8. Five tier model wedding cake with top tier real plus individually wrapped chocolates for all guests
9. Champagne fountain with a complimentary bottle of champagne for toasting
10. Exclusively designed wedding invitation cards baes on 70% of guaranteed attentance (printing not included) and guest registration book
11. One night stay at bridal suite with welcome amentities and american breakfast
12. Complimentary food tasting for 10 persons one month prior to function date
13. one night annniversary stay in deluxe room
14. Free shuttle bus to and fro Yishun MRT
15. Complimentary parking for all guests
16. $1000 discount off the package if booked before 31/01/2001 and a choice of either 1 table free or 1 complimentary 30L barrel of beer !!!!

ray

Hi AC, I will be having my wedding @ OCC in coming Jan.

I don't know whether you will be entitled after getting item 16. www.bbngg.com is having a promotion with OCC, juz tell them u are recommendation by BBnGG.com, u will get additional barrel or table.

Also, the wedding card OCC is giving is not so nice. As for the deluxe stay, my package does not include but only a restautant voucher @ OCC. You can try to neg for additional corkage.

ac

Hi Ray, item 16 already confirmed with OCC. should not be any problem.

As for wedding card, agree that it is not so nice, but then i don't care about this. grin. People usually throw the card after the wedding anyway.

as for deluxe stay, i was trying to push my luck for 1 more barrel (but failed), on top of the 2 x 30L that I will be getting FOC. 8)

do let me know what i should look out on the actual day once you have gone through your wedding dinner ok ? Best of luck to you.... 8)

ray

i don't thk they will go it to u. 1 barrel about $500+ while 1 night stay 100+ only.

actually with bbngg.com offer, u might get additional barrel. chk with your sale executive on this.

ac

ray, actually, now i already got 30L + 30L extra (herworld brides promotion). i was just trying my luck for more L as my guest as mostly drinkers.

what else can i trade with the 100+ ? *headache*

meow meow

does anyone else have any experience with OCC? Care to share? I've liased with Serene before but she doesn't give us the impression that she is very keen to entertain us. Do they have any other sales personnel?

rabbitwsk

Hi Meow2

Check out Andrew! He is very prompt in replying my enquires.

ever

hi rabbitwsk,

are you holding your wedding at OCC?? juz wondering if my choice is correct, cos this thread not active since 2002!!! OCC dont seem to be very popular hor...

by the way, meow meow posted her query in 2002...

rabbitwsk

Hi ever, nice meeting u here... when is urs? U booked already?
aiya, thread not active doesn't mean anything... maybe pp are waiting for more pp to tok here

the pl is no doubt nice and me and my hubby like it very much. Food is nice, i attended wedding dinner there before and ambiene is great.

Hv faith in yr choice... me support u... cheers.

ever

Morning rabbitwsk!!

glad to see your reply.... Thanks!! will be holding it next jul... but, its only a tentative date.... not confirmed yet... how about you?? you already married or chosen OCC for the banquet?? when?? heehehehehee... ask many qns hor....

ya, quite pleased with the ballroom... juz worried that people might find it too far...

rabbitwsk

Good morning ever

Where u stay?
No worry of far cos u know that they have feeder bus at 10 min interval, right? So u hv not confirm but jus block. Mine planning Oct/Nov 04.
In my mind, this pl is my first choice cos we stay in AMK.
But my hubby is still looking around like Dragon Gate and so on... where did u gone to bef deciding?
U book ur bridal package from where?
Me also a lot of q cos I am only starting to look around...

ever

Hi hi!!

ya, and they hav a shuttle bus for the guests for an hour prior to the dinner, i think.... we only went to concorde hotel, but realised that it cannot accomodate so many tables... their max capacity is 46 tables, so we're worried that we may exceed this quota!! hahahahhaa....
lots of tables hor... no choice.... didnt source for other venues cos we dont really like restaurants and most hotels are too exp!! so, settled on OCC loh!! (",)

so, you waiting for the almanac (tong-shu) to choose the date also?? me booked my bridal package with J&M, a shop in tanjong pagar.... getting my ROM stuff from them too!! oh, when's your ROM?? before Oct/Nov 04 or on the same day??

its ok... me also ask a lot of qns!! can learn more mah....

rabbitwsk

Are u only in this thread or somewhere?

Wow, easy choice for you. We are still looking the date also. I have ROMmed in May... in our new nest in AMK.

Sorry but where is J & C? i hv went to a couple at that area too... very exciting when trying gown hoh. Especially like Allure and Dang's gown, and felt comfortable w the designers.

when's ur ROM?

wj

first of all, i wanna say dat u're v lucky to have secured OCC.

i wanted to have my banquet at OCC but they're fully booked(my date) so i settled for getting a room to 'chu men' there instead....its d onli place/hotel up north n i totally love d ambience...too bad i wont get to march down their super long aisle

i know there r posher places in town but since my my new house n MIL's house r all up north, OCC simply means less time spent on d road (n more time to nap :p) on my big day!

ac

hi girls, since this thread is active again. i can offer you some experience if u need. i had mine at OCC in oct 2002. it was great !

rabbitwsk

Hi wj

when is ur big day? where will u hv ur dinner then? OCC so 'la ku'?

One thing I like abt there is big car park... no need to bother about complimentary car park...da da...

how long u book in advance of ur big day at OCC?

ever

Hi rabbitwsk!! congrats!! so you've already ROMmed.... mine's in Nov this yr!! so excited!! oh, my bridal shop is J&M, not J&C... J&M is a few shops away from the House of Etiquette... while J&C is at Riverside Point...

Hi wj, didnt know OCC is so popular...

Hi AC, thanks!! will post some qns for you!! heehehehehee....

wj

my banquet in nov n it happens to be a super hot day dats y must book early lor....i called them in jan 03 n they(inc other hotels n restaurants, also gone liao) told me dat for my date ppl usually book 1.5 yrs ahead!!!

it's really not bad when it comes to value for money...plus i go crazy over their reservoir view!!!

me having it at safra yishun now (imperial garden, same chain of restaurant as occ i was told) n i went for d food tasting last week....love d food!!!

i wasnt too happy about d deco so d mgr, may, told me dat she will change to newer ones come nov :D

ever

Morning!!

hi wj, which date is your banquet held?? my ROM is on 8 Nov...

ya, must book at least one yr in advance hor... but now, me still waiting for the almanac... hopefully, the tentative date that we booked is an auspicious date! then, we'll not fret over the availability of the ballroom... sigh...

me also worried about the deco of OCC ballroom leh...

hi AC, how's their deco?? hopefully the flowers stands that they place along the aisle are not old... scared the flowers look very old and fake... can we request for rose petals along the aisle?? oh, did you use their buggy for the 2nd march-in?? thanks in advance for answering my qns!!!

silver

Hi ever & rabbit,

Saw you gals name here so come in kpo. I attended one wedding at OCC grand ballroom not long back - very nice and grand place n they used buggy as 2nd march in which we find it very unique. So you gals can fang xin...

wj

morning ever,

see, i told u my date is super hot! my actual date is d same as your rom date :D!!!!

silver is right. if ur using OCC, then no need to worry about their deco oredi cos i think its good enuf (unless ur looking for a REAL theme like garden of eden, masquerade etc la kekeke)

evon

Hi ladies...
Well well...I also dun really dare to come in and post cos no one is here..tht OCC is not as popular...

Hi rabbit..nice to see you here..u mean u r looking @ occ as well

rabbitwsk

Hi Evon

Nice to see u here too.... Ya, now i here and there la. OCC is my 1st choice thus must come talk talk a bit :p

U also like that pl. My hubby like that pl too... still he wan to look around.

Cheers...

rain

I m new in this thread..have been active onli in my bridal shop thread..

I have booked occ in the beginning of this year..in nov 17th which is a wkday..wanted to choose 2nd of nov..but tik taken up..

Can i ask u gers few questions? the theme of the occ is standard or we can tell them wat we want? like the flowers deco can we request wat flowers we want?

evon

Hi rabbitwsk..
ohh..it's ur 1st choice too? hahaha...when's ur wedding huh? if earlier than me i can at least take a look at ur deco

field

hi Evon,
had my wedding at occ early tis year, if u are keen i can send the some photos of the deco for my wedding

rabbitwsk

Hi Evon

Our plan is 2nd Oct but subject to wheather its a gd date or not :p

actually, dinner no need to choose gd date one, right? Only the married date?

rabbitwsk

Rain, welcome to this thread...

Bascially they hv 2 theme, u can get the info at the website. I think u hv to stick to one of them.

If i no remember wrongly, they allow guest to throw rose petal ... so sweet hoh! I wan that for my wedding. In fact, if bgt allow, everyone will get 1 rose

rain

Hi rabbitwsk,

thanks for the info..

ya..tht's sweet..hehe..imgaining guests throwing rose petals..wow..

btw, when is ur dinner?

did u have ur photoshoot at occ?

Hi field,

can i take a look at ur fotos of the deco for ur wedding?

ever

Hi Hi!!

Hi rabbitwsk, if your traditional ceremony is on the same day as yr banquet, then you'll need to choose an auspicious date loh...

the two themes are either peach setting or ivory setting, rite?? juz worried that their flower stands & the flower arrangements look old and used!! you know, the stands that they place along the aisle?!?!

the guests can throw rose petals??? great!!!! i liked this idea very much!!! are they providing the petals or do we need to get it ourselves??

Hi field, do you mind sharing the photos with me? Thanks!!!! juz click on my nick for my email add...

rabbitwsk

good morning ladies

Rain, i hv done my ROM but not traditional and photo shoot. Went see see look look for bridal package but not decided yet.

Ur wedding this year?

My planned wedding time is next year Oct/Nov. I think better to block some dates with the rest/clubs soon. Perhaps to cfm dinner pl by this mth and no need to think anymore.

BTW, can be book a several dates with the club first? Waiting for the book to come but scare by tt time no more gd dates liao.

rain

HI Ever,

when is ur wedding? u saw their peach and ivory setting leow?
hmm..wondering which one is nice?

Hi Rabbitwsk,

My wedding is this year 17th of nov..coming soon..heheh

u have chose ur bridal shop ?

field

hi ever, i've send it to U

Rain, can i have yr e-mail pls....

hi rabbitwsk... great ideas... heehee coz i also used tat for my wedding which is on valentine time day, so had a stalk for rose for all the ladies... and with the extra roses, we made into rose petals for them to 'throw' at us during the 1st march-in

rain

Hi Field,

Will go and retrieve mail later..
Did they allow u to see any pictures of the two setting b4 deciding?

ever

Rain, i made a tentative booking on 11th jul 2004... didnt see the two different settings... only understand that from the sale co-ordinator...

i booked my bridal package liao... at J&M... you??

Thanks, field!! think ivory setting will be nicer, rite?? peach colour sounds more "chin-na"....

rabbitwsk

Good day ladies
Hv a good lunch?
Rain,
Me not yet get the bridal shoop but already have these in mind:-
Dang & Allure.
Still thinking cos these 2 shops offered very diverse package. In fact, Allure no package, its a-la-carte.
Went to YC to see but not my taste though they hv good package.
Is ur package gd? I hv not been to ur shop yet.
so u PS liao/

Need to settle the dinner pl 1st then come back to see gown agin.

field

Hi Rain, they didnt show me any pict.. i got to see it from the magazine, and went down once where there is a wedding goin on, to look at their setting
they had ivory as well, think ivory look more 'romantic'
Happy Preparation!

rain

Hi Field,

Did you take ur photoshoot at occ?
ya..i oso tik ivory more romantic..

But is their flower stands & the flower arrangements look old and used?
The rose petals which ur guests threw at u and ur hubby are sponsored by occ?
Paiseh arh..asked u so many qn..*blush

Hi Ever & Rabiitwsk,

My bridal shop is the wedding present..my ps is 1st of sept..

Both gowns abt to ready..

tiking of going occ for my photoshoot..

potatochips

Hi field,

My wedding is on 15 nov & my banquet will be held in OCC.. very headache with the preparation cos left with only 3 mths.. : ( can u send the pic to me so that i can get some ideas? my email address is [email protected]

Xie xie ni..

field

Hi potatochips, l've send over

Hi Rain, didnt have my phootshoot at OCC.. cant remember why, think b'coz have to get ltr from occ, but i didnt do tat...
the flowers on the stand look fresh to me, think they're real one, not very sure also leh..*blur*

i brought the roses myself dun think occ provided that.. but u can check with them

rain

Hi Field,

Saw ur fotos..wow..u looked gorgeous tht nite..u and ur hubby very compatible..*wink wink*..

Okay..will check wif them..

BTw, u used their invitation cards or u source frm outside?

Hw was the food in occ?

ling ling

I'm new to this thread, hope I am welcome here!

I've also booked with OCC, mine is in Dec.

Hi Field,

Can I take a look at your photos too?
My email address is [email protected]