Novotel Clarke Quay

Yeah, indeed a great increment.
Probably due to the increasing great demand for NCQ, that's why NCQ is daring to increase by so much..

But I dun care, I just booked my AD without hesitation, after waiting since August 2007.

happinessbliss

I also have a few muslim friends who can't come to my wedding bcos of the halal certification thingy
... but nevertheless, i will still dine with them a few days b4 my wedding...

virene

Hi Daphne, cinammon rm has a pillar at the side of the room.

Cheeky_cheek, dun worry too much abt the wine. I opted for one barrel n one bottle per table. In the end consumed more than 2 barrels and extra bottles of wine but they waive off my 3rd barrel and the extra bottles. Only paid for one extra barrel. But then I'm not sure if we really consumed a 3rd barrel and extra bottles in the first place

cheekychick

Holiday_ger, NCQ is very strict on perks...u can try thou

Virene, yeah its hard to monitor the consumption. Maybe they will show us the empty bottles/barrels or something but...i guess there has to be a level of trust, else i really duno how to confirm liao...

Daphne, cinnamon indeed has a pillar at the right side of the room when u enter (if i rem correctly). It depends on how many tables u have...if around 22 tables, mayb one table will be blocked partially i guess. Cos the projector screen is on the left hand side of the ballroom when you enter.

You've got me excited about the themes for the ballroom, after reading all your posts. =) I have yet to see the full deco for the different themes. Does anyone have any photos of the fully set-up ballroom to share? My wedding will be in Nov 08 in the pheonix ballroom.

happinessbliss

erm, i view cinnamon room when i was there to sign the contract... the room was not done up and empty.... but i dun remember seeing any pillars... cos i stated that i wanted pillarless ballroom.... Maybe i shld check again...

starskyz

Hi all, i was told to go and pay for the deposit cos another couple is keen to take my date.. but i've not negotiated for anything yet.. can someone advise whether this is normal and i can still negotiate after the payment? do we sign the contract when we pay for the deposit?

virene

Happiness&Bliss, the pillar very near the wall n not very big. I tink the projector screen is a bigger problem. As its on one side of the room, many of the tables on that side, especially those near the wall cant see the screen. They even put a table under the screen.

Starskyz, NCQ is very strict on its perks. At most give extra cards and parking coupons

rjwedding

wow, i forgot about the halal certifcation thingy.. thanks happiness for bringing this up.. will have to check with my muslim colleagues whether they mind anot.. anyway my colleagues will only take one table.. i'm not going to split them out.. think i rather pay the extra money then to split my muslim colleagues and vegetarian relatives out.. doesn't seems very nice leh..

lingandyang

Dear ladies,
i just met up with huiling. Confirmed my theme etc. I also checked with her again about the muslim and veg menu. Actually if we have a whole table of muslim or veg, novotel will outsource a caterer which is Halal certified to prepare 8 courses for them. However, if we do not have a whole table, but a few muslims/veg in a table, we have to top up for them additional $$. And they will have individual serving which is only 5 courses. Plus the food will not be halal certified, cos it will then be prepared by novotel's north indian restaurant. For veg, it will be prepared by Dragon Phoenix restaurant.

For me, i have about 8 muslims so i decided to have a whole table for them. Since they will be able to have really halal certified food and also they will have 8 courses.

for your info.

tinggy

hi cheeky_chick,
I topped up $200 and change the flower colour to purple and pink instead. I dun like the current garden theme of red rose only.

rjwedding

hi lingandyang: thanks for your info.. think i wouldn't have one whole table of muslim cos I only got 3 muslim colleagues.. will see how it goes when i give my invitation cards to them..

hi ting: for $200, are they going to add more things to the decor or just change the flowers colours?

ttbrides

hi lingandyang, thks for the info. my turn to meet huiling today.
i have lots of guest driving, anyone knows if i can request carpark coupons up to 35%?

ttbrides

HAhaha.. so is u.. i meeting her at 8pm.. she told me she got an apptment earlier thats why i was given 8pm slot. u meeting her what time? so that means later i can see u. hehe

my AD 22june, yours?

btw, there is a wedding going on. u can go take a look after ur meet up with huiling

rainydae

hahahha i wanted to meet her earlier but she say she got appt each half hr. so bo pian i stick to 7.30pm.

I am looking at either 31 May or 14 Jun..

Aiya if i know today got wedding then i wun have gone last sat to check out the wedding setup.

btw are u signing up alreadi or just checking out?

ttbrides

hehe.. ic ic..
For me, I have signed up last year. today is finalization of details for my wedding next mth. Hope to see you later

jayin_fairyland

Halo rainydae & crystal, i am meeting huiling at 7 later.. wahaha.. so qiao. we are the 3 consecutive ones. Mine is initially 7.15pm den she called me to ask whether i can make it earlier cos she got another one at 7.30-7.45. So its u, rainydae.. LOL.I just checking out the place.. Havent look at others yet.

virene

Hi Crystal, not sure if huiling will give u 35% but on my AD, the banquet manager told me that if i require more coupons, he can give me more.

rainydae

hi jiayin,

how do u feel after viewing it? my session with Huiling was onli a short 10 mins while i waited another 10 mins for her.

Crsytal, i didnt delay ur appt hehehe

lingandyang

HI rainydae,
my AD is 21 June.
I signed in 2006 so my package is not the latest one. I think they had increased their price.

Hi R&J and Crystal,
no prob. Glad to be able to share some info. :D I'm getting the combi theme too.

Personally i felt that Huiling seems much more steady as compared to the first time i saw her. Haa. Just my feeling lah.

rjwedding

hi lingandyang: think huiling had experienced all the bombing by us, that's why more steady now.. hehehe.. think too much pressure from us.. she already know how to handle us.. hehhe.. i will still wait for Jamie to come back to talk to her..

hi crystal: i remembered Jamie told me before that she can increase the carpark coupons if we need.. that's what she says lar.. not written in the contract.. think still can neg for that..

funfun08

ting,

Can I check with you what the top-up included for the deco?

I thought the flower deco is sth lik the wedding fair last Aug...

I asked Jamie that the next wedding fair shld be Aug or Sept... is still b4 my wedding la..
So can plan later on...

tinggy

I topped up flowers only. Because normal flower stand has only 18 -20 stalks of flower. I requested J & M (florist of novotel) to add more flowers on all the 6 flower stand plus the VIP tables. And the default flower stand only come in red roses, so i requested J & M to have a pink and purple eustoma. Actually, i dunno how is the final setup, i havent seen them too. But i had attached pictures of sample flower theme to them.
If i remember correctly, some of the flower deco used last year required topped up too. Because i saw some of the past novotel's bride, the flower stand is really quite bare.. But some of friends think topping up flower is abit wasteful..

jayin_fairyland

I was with Huiling from 7 till 7.25pm last evening. The ballroom was occupied so we did not get to see the place. But we did ask to see the bridal suite, which has a nice view of clarke quay.. The reception at the 7th floor is nice. =)

ttbrides

Rainydae> hehe, ya, u didn’t delay, my apptment was 8pm, when i reach at 7.50pm, huiling is ready to serve me.. hahaha.. :p

Alyssa> huiling told me the extra sash tie-back for the guest chairs is about $3.50 per chair. wah, I think not worth it cos quite exp.

Jayin> yes indeed the bridal suite is nice.. cant wait to stay over..

lingandyang & R&J> finally met up with huiling liao. Update time! Hehe.. For recep, I choosen red/gold and flower theme. For ballroom, I choosen dark grey and crystal theme. Fyi, if u need extra stand need to pay, she don’t have the exact price off hand cos she need check wif florist, but she says roughly about 75 or 85 like that. I choosen the bear hp straps and coasters as my wedding flavour. I have requested 30% carparking coupon cos I have lots of guest driving. Only problem I face is that she told me there is afternoon event going on my wedding day so she cant confirm what time to release the ballroom to me, can only let me nearer the date.. very sian, like dat I cant firm up my schedule. lingandyang & R&J, u got face this problem? what time she says will release to u?

lingandyang

~ R&J
heheh i think so. but i think its still good if you can talk to jamie.

~Crystal
Oh i din know reception also can choose the theme. huiling only ask me wat theme i wan and i choose combi theme. Table cloth i choose Red for VIP and sliver for the rest. Favors i mixed coasters and shower gel. hmmm she din tell me if there is event goIng on my wedding day, only said the briefing with captain is around 5pm. So i guess this is also the time we can get to see ballroom. . . ? maybe you try saying you would need the ballroom by 5pm? see wat huiling say. Btw i think she is now on leave. Maybe she will be back next week.

ttbrides

lingandyang> yes she is on leave till monday.. okie.. i try asking her.

the recep table can choose diff colour table cloth from the ballroom de
u can consider and get back to her if u wanna change

ttbrides

btw, lingandyang, there are a few coasters, and there is one which can slot photo. i've choosen that, then like dat got two function. hehe

lingandyang

~Crystal
ooh i see . . ok maybe when i choose my table cloth she just assume same as my ballroom. hehe. nvr mind . . i will check with her again. i also request for 2 easels. Cos i dunno if i need 1 or 2 so i ask for 2 first.

oh yah i saw that! initially i tot of choosing pepper and salt cos i find it quite cute. but seem like they just change the pattern, now is like 2 heart shape hor. The coaster i choose the one got flowers pattern one i think. find the design quite nice.
yah can slot pic also not bad hor :D i find their favors not bad right, range is quite wide.

rjwedding

hi crystal: gald that u've firmed up alot of things with huiling.. i haven't met up with huiling before, so don't know what time they can release the ballroom to me.. did u asked huiling the actual time they can release the ballroom to you?? tell her to give u a confirm timing say like a week before ur wedding.. tell her u need to do the scheduling of tasks lor.. die die must tell her to give u a confirm timing..

happinessbliss

Hi Rainydae,

Dun let Hui Ling's attitude affect u... Honestly, though i am not too happy abt the way she handle my case too, but i simply love Novotel's ballroom.... so my advise is do not let a coordinator spoil it and miss choosing a romantic place for your once in a lifetime affair...

starskyz

Dear all, i was at novotel last evening to meet Jamie and pay my deposit.. went to peek at the pheonix ballroom and saw Ting's ballroom setup.. the pink and purple flowers were beautiful.. =)

rjwedding

oh.. makes me so anxious wanted to see Ting's photos and hear her story.. i love purple.. hmm.. maybe can consider topping up the flowers like Ting did.. will let my HB know.. so Jamie is back from her maternity leave.. thought she will only be back next week.. so good, give her a call later..

rjwedding

let's wait patiently for Ting to come back.. normally how long before ur wedding date, NCQ will call and settle all these details with you (like the theme, wedding favor, table cloths, etc)?

mich55

How many coordinators they have?
I met with Huiling last wk, find that she very rush leh...is it because Jamie is not around then she very busy? We decided to take up Novotel too...like their ballroom & reasonable pr.

starskyz

R&J> i heard from Jamie that they will send us a checklist around 3 months before our wedding dates, and then will we settle all those details.. not sure if it's true, need others who had held their weddings to verify..

Michelle> apparently, it seems like there's only Huiling and Jamie handling banquets. their schedules are normally quite packed, back to back. But, so far my discussions with Jamie were pretty good.. She's bery nice and professional, altho the other parties arrived earlier for their sessions with her, she still walked me and my HTB to the function rooms before excusing herself.

tinggy

yoz all,

I am still at novotel bridal suite. haha. The room is great, big and with great scene. The banquet manager, Ramesh, was a super experience and patient guy. We really appreciated his help.

I havent got my picture from my photographer yet.
So far, most of the guests commented the ballroom had a very cosy feeling. I will post at my multiply once i get the picture.

My alcohol consumption was quite scary. Ramesh told us it was his first time that alcohol ran out so fast. When we were going up to change for my EG, my first barrel of beer was finished as my hubby agreed to serve beer during reception.
In total,
more than 22 bottle of hard liquors.
46 + 8 bottles of wine
1 barrel + 40 bottles of beers.
But some of my guests commented that the soft drink was serve abit slowly.
Overall, the foods were quite ok except the shark fin. Alot of the guests complained that it was too gluely. But actually, this maybe due to my hubby suggestion during food tasting, he actually requested the shark fin to be more gluely.

rjwedding

Hi Ting,

Gald to hear that your wedding went smoothly.. so nice.. Ur alcohol consumption really very high leh.. think i got to remind my HB not to serve any alcohol during reception.. keep us update on ur photos lor.. enjoy ur newly wed life..

starskyz

Ting> Congrats! glad to hear that the event went on smoothly!! i was there to view your setup that evening, went there to pay my deposit.. when i saw the pink and purple flowers, immediately i recalled that it was ur wedding!! hahaha.. i then told my HTB that you chose the flowers yourself tat why it looks different, he was quite impressed and said that it's a good idea to change the flowers too.. (i've not told him abt the top-up yet tho.. =P)

yap, your alcohol consumption sure scary man.. you brought your own hard liquors and bottles of beers? 22+ bottles of hard liquor, were u charged for corkage?

mich55

Thanks Starskyz

Ting, your guest drink a lot man....may I know how much u pay for 1 bol of wine & beer? Glad to hear that you went thro ur wedding smoothly there.