Novotel Clarke Quay

jaimeteocx

Hi ladies, Im Jaime. Im also NCQ bride and will like to know more abt the wedding package? Any of you have free helper room? And how u all think about huiling? Btw I also need the map of NCQ, pls send to me at [email protected]

Thanks alot

Hope to hear from you guys soon.

ttbrides

R&J, i will be having about 45-47 tables too. HEhe.. same same. Thanks for the info, do update us once huiling reverts on the theme, I really hope there are other themes. And so happy that I can use the new cake in June too.. yeah!! btw, what theme is Yvonne using that day?

Jaime Teo- hi, I don’t think there will be free helpers room..

ttbrides

Hi Jaime, my sales person is huiling.. erm.. so on.. i will rate her average only ba, i find it hard to contact her via phone, no offence.. tis is my personal experience with her. btw, when's ur wedding?

Hi Yvonne, i like crystal theme too, cos they will sparkle when light dim but on the other hand i afraid that it will make the room feels "cold" and "bear" becos of the branches and colour. Rose will look more intense. so am still deciding.. i am aiming for silver table cloth to brighten up the room.. not sure if it will look nice.. Yvonne whats ur colour?

jaimeteocx

Hi Crystal, my AD will be in next yr Nov still long way, my sale person also huiling, ya I agree that she is very on, and she is my secondary classmate but not close to her. Yet she don't give me any good offer.

ttbrides

Hi Jaime, i think is not her, just that she had to abide with NCQ policy, NCQ generally is very strict with their perks cos their table pricing quite reasonable.. only card and carpark coupon can ask for more.. dont think there is any1 with free helpers for this year.

yvonne_ecclesia

hey girls, i chose the dark silver for the table cloth. my vip tables are red. makes the ballroom nice and elegant!

hi michelle! the wedding magazines costs depends on how many you want to print. hmm, maybe you can let me have your email. i give you some details, and you see whether you are interested!

ttbrides

Hi Yvonne, may i know roughly how many barrels of beer and bottled wine consumed? cos i would roughly have abt the same number of table as u.

and what time did they release the ballroom for you to go for rehearsal?

thank you

jaimeteocx

Hi Crystal,

My friend is also a NQC bride next yr Mar, she have free helper room n 2 nite stay, She told me that she ask for a very long time than they agree. Can you send me NQC map? my e-mail add: [email protected]

rjwedding

hi ladies: the ballroom really looks wonderful.. way above my expectation.. Ramesh told me once the lights are dim, the effects will be better.. don't know what takes huiling so long to reply me. nevermind, tomorrow is my food tasting, i see i can get her tomorrow anot..

hi jaime: your friend really get a good deal.. most of us tried for very long time also can't get the helper room free.. i only got the 2 nites stay and I pay for the helper room.. is ur friend's wedding on weekdays?? probably weekdays then they can give free helper room. not too sure..

ttbrides

Jamie> ur frd so gd to have free helpers room..

R&J> u got 2 nite stay, is it becos u signed up during NCQ wedding show? .. i only one nite, so weird. guess mine is the most basic package
i dont know how to bargain ba.. btw, huiling also didnt reply me, i email her since 2 May.. hai..

moon_27

I also request for free helper room but they also rejected. I think most of us are experiencing the same thing. NCQ are very strict in their perks.

R&J, how come you have 2 night stay? cos I tot even if you sign during the road show, they also refused to extend another night.

tinggy

yoz Yvonne,

I also having 48 tables. I was so worried at first that the ball room will be too small. But after seeing urs, i think 48 tables is still not so bad.
My turn is coming soon 25th may. Getting excited. I am also interested to know how many bottle of beer and wine that you used up. I will be gng to Giant to purchase bottle of beer on top of that free barrel of beer.

honeybunny

Hi NCQ btb, I am currently considering to hold my wedding there. Could anyone please share with me the following information

1) Rates for 2009 - weekday & weekend
2) min for Phoneix Ballroom?

Should I contact Huiling or Jamie? Which one is more accommdating and flexiable to work with.

THanks in advance

rjwedding

hi ladies: i signed up during their wedding fair last year, so got 2 nites stay.. but no free helper room.. the only few things they increase for me is cards and parking coupons.. hahaha.. my sale person is Jamie.. So happy to hear that Jamie is back.. I will call her later, since I'm going down for my food tasting later..

hi ting: relax n be a pretty bride.. looking forward to hear ur story.. cheers!!

Dear yvonne,

Please kindly send me details of your Wedding Magazine.

Dear ALL,

Need to clear some doubts.
Hope U ladies can assist me.
Few days ago, after I showed my Mum my list of guests-sitting-arrangement, she mentioned that she all the while thought
(Groom+Bride) + (Groom's Family) + (Bride's Family) are all sitting at the same VIP Table.
However, I clarified that my way of arranging my guests at the 2 VIP Tables is actually very commonly used and is the only method that I know.
I had placed (HTB + ME) + HTB's Family at 1st VIP Table then my Family at 2nd VIP Table.

The next day, I checked out with some frens.
One of them mentioned that she had ever read about the arrangement which my Mum had mentioned.
Meaning that Groom's Family had paid for the BanQuet.
For the commonly used method which I have used, it means the Newly-Weds had paid for the BanQuetz.

Any CommenTz???

xuer21

ermm xuelun,

i dun really get what u mean... but as nowadays banquets are paid by the couple themselves thus, it does not really matters how the arrangement is like... couples pay themselves then the groom decide how many tables to give the bride family etc...

as for the VIP tables..in my case, i am only having 1 VIP table.. cos hor.. i dun like the idea of seperating into 2 VIP tables although its very common now...

moon_27

Dear Xue Lun,

I think it doesnt really matter on the arranagement. My arrangement is also the same as you and most of the weddings I attended is also of such sitting...

Dear Michelle,

Coz last Dec, my whole family attended my cousin's WeddinGz.
Hers is also 1 VIP Table.
But we strongly believe her banquet is fully settled by her In-Laws.

Anywayz, I dun think I can fit both my HTB's Family, My Family, HTB and I & my Grandma into 1 VIP Table.
In addition, my Mum has requested for 10 Tables which we will include 1 VIP Table for her.
Meaning 1 VIP Table + 9 normal Tables...

Had just checkout with my Daddy.
He feels akward to put the 2 Families together.

Mummy feels that if put 2 Families together, 1 Table food definitely will go to waste.
However, if placed into 2 separated VIP Tables (1st VIP Table = Newly-Weds + Groom's Family + Groom's relatives) (2nd VIP Table = Bride's Family + Bride's relatives),
when my Family is attending to guests, our relatives whom occupy half of the 2nd VIP Table can still help themselves to the food.
Sounds logical to me...

happinessbliss

Dear Xuelun,

Some hotels do have big table that can seat up to 18 people... In the olden days, Groom family and bride family will sit together at a table... this means the groom family "invited" the bride family to the banquet... in the olden days, wedding banquet are usually paid for by the Groom's family.... nowadays, usually we split up the Groom's family and Bride's family table...there if a saying is both family seated seperately means the couple is paying for the banquet themselves (or both families did contribute)... but i dun think anyone will notice the seatings ba... hope i help to clear some air...

xuer21

xuelun,

haha y u like writing letter to me le... no la.. at first i wanted to seperate both families.. but in the end.. i decided to go according to my ROM arrangement and that is me, my hubby, my aunty (who is suppose to look after my grandmas), 2 grandmas, hubby's grandma and both side parents... total 10 just nice lor.. whereas my sis they all sit with relatives..

it is logical and msot couples are doing that now.. i attended my fren's wedding in march and yes, their arrangment was similar to urs.. but hor.. i dunwan ma so i jsut request for 1 VIP table lo.. more traditional ba..and which i feel both families in future are so call relatives liao ma.. so why seperate... haha
and besides for me and hubby, we dun mind how ppl thinks lo as in who pay so long we enjoy the process...

ya my mother also requested for 10 tables.. but hor.. cos the banquet is me and hubby pay all by ourselves so.. my mom will return all red packets back to us also..

Dear Michelle,

Paiseh, me so long-winded till U feel that I was writing a letter. =)

Dear Happiness&Bliss,

Thanks alot for your explanation.
It definitely does help in clearing my doubts. =)

Btw, for those who will be solemnising on the AD, may I know which Solemniser have U booked?

rjwedding

hi ladies: i just had my food tasting yesterday. although went smoothly, but pretty disappointed with the food yesterday, not really up to my expectations. here are my comments:

1) Grand Lobster Platter (Spring Roll, Drunken Chicken, Egg Omelet & Gold Coin Meat): Lobster too tough, seems like overcooked. Chicken too salty, will be changing to Jelly Fish instead.

2) Shark's Fin Soup: Shark's fins too hard.

3) Poached Chicken with Ham & Kai Lan in Oyster Sauce: Chicken too bland. Not much taste. Will be changing to Braised Stuffed Chicken.

4) Steamed Garoupa with "Traditional Classic Style": The sauce is good, but presentation not appealing. looks very messy. HB don't like the presentation, so changing back to Hong Kong Style instead.

5) Poached Live Prawns: Nice. Well done for this. Prawns very fresh.

6) Stewed Mixed Mushrooms with Broccoli: Pretty nice. I like broccoli alot. But sauce wise not fanastic. Will be changing the sauce to XO sauce instead.

7) Steamed Fragrance Rice in Lotus Leaf: This is the best out of all dishes. Very good.

9) Cream of Mango with Pomelo: Very good. Not too sweet. Just nice. Like this too.

So that's my comments on my food tasting. Will be making lots of changes to my menu.. we met up with the chef after the food tasting, the chef is fine to make the changes to us.. so gald that one thing off my list now..

ttbrides

Hi R&J, good to change to jelly fish, i find it good. I have selected that.
i change my mini octopus to spring roll, so i never tried their spring roll before, is it good?

lingandyang

Hi R&J,
so nice you met up with the chef after the food tasting. I also tot i have a chance to talk to him but then no leh. All the while is the manager who explained to us.

I actually agreed that the food wasn't really fantastic. Maybe in the beginning we have too high hope for their food.

I also find their shark fin too bland. And the mango pudding presentation is really not very appealing hence we change to your choice of dessert 'Cream of Mango with Pomelo'.

Hi Crystal,
i actually find their spring roll quite nice. maybe it is hot and freshly made. Wat do you think R&J?

ttbrides

Dear lingandyang, thks for the info and same as me i didnt get a chance to meet the chef.. mine is also manager who explain the dishes to me..

rjwedding

yup.. the spring roll is good.. hot n crispy.. i think it's a must have for the platter..

my mil requested and insist to see the chef.. so bo pian, the chef got to come out and see us lor.. actually i didn't know about it, i went washroom then when i came out, i see my mil n hb still inside the resturant then i know she requested to see the chef.. the chef quite good leh.. patiently explaining to us and ensure us that he will do his best to accomdate to our requests.. my hb is so angry with his mum.. he says his mum got so many comments.. hehehe..

vividz

Thanks for the info, I'm choosing Hong Kong Style for the fish, hopefully it's nice looking, hee hee. my food tasting will be next week, will let feedback on the food again.

ttbrides

hi lingandyang, my AD on 22 June 08. i am waiting for huiling to contact me cos i tot abt 1 mth+ before she should contact me to firm up things, but i havnt hear from her yet .. or i shld be the one calling her to fix date?

lingandyang

Hi R&J,
oh i see. haaha! cos i read from the thread that the chef will come out and explain to us. so i was like expecting the chef to come out le. Then in the end, the manager just thanks us and say bye bye. -_-'' and we like huh . . just like tat huh. Ops no chance to see chef hahah!

Hey Crystal!
my AD is just 1 day before you! 21 jun 08! oh actually i emailed huiling after my foodtasting, and ask her when can we meet. But she never reply. then ytd she call me and ask me when can we meet her up, and i think she din see my email. Guess too busy bah. I think if you worry you can give her a call? since we are just 1 day different only, guess around late May is time for us to meet her le.

rjwedding

hey girls, anyone got the directions to NCQ? i got some malaysian relatives, so need to provide them with directions.. thanks!!

oh ya, just to inform all of you, Jamie will be back from her maternity leave on 1st June. Yesterday the chef told me one..

starskyz

dear ladies, do you know what are the colors themes of the drapes and table clothes available for the phoenix ballroom? i'm trying to decide and match the color theme for my WG and EW..

starskyz

lara, thanks!!! are those colors for the table cloths? i rem the colors for the drapes at the stage are brown and pink, not sure if there's other colors..

my htb and i are hoping to do a green and cream theme (green, being a significant color in our lifes), but seem like it's difficult to stick to it with the table cloth and drape colors..