Novotel Clarke Quay

tinggy

Actually, we expected such high level of hard liquors that is why we bring so many bottles of hard liquor. But we are still quite shocked that some guest complain not enuff alcohol.

And i brought 48 bottles of tiger beer from Giant and delivered to Novotel. As it is cheaper to bring bottle of beer than to open a new barrel of beer. one bottle is abt 4.50 + $6 of corkage = $10 serve 3 glasses.

30 bottle = $300 = 90 glasses ~ 1 barrel of beer.
but 1 barrel of beer is $600 ++
And at least the left over bottles of beer can bring home.

No corkage charge for hard liquors. Actually, we brought 22 bottles of hard liqours + 1 big cannon bottle of martel.
Wine from novotel, $23 ++ per bottle.

prissie_tan

I'm considering Novotel bcoz I've heard gd reviews on the food & layout of the venue (pillerless)
can any1 share with me the photos and layout of the venue?
Also will there be projectors available?
1 thing i read though is that there will not be any red carpet for the march-in.

starskyz

Ting> i'm impressed.. you have everything budgeted for.. esp your handling of bottled beer, it really something we all can learn from! thanks for sharing with us!

your guests sure can drink man.. hahahha.. the hard liqours are duty paid ones? are we able to bring in those duty free ones? sorry, me ask alot of qns..

prissie> i dun have pics to share, but it's better if you go and view the ballrooms.. you'll have a better idea how they look like.. altho there's no red carpet for the march-in, the aisle in the middle of the ballroom is clearly seen as a walkway with the crystal/flower stands situated at the sides. =)

lara

Starskyz, it was indicated in the contract cannot bring duty free leh.. n i think all hotels dun allow guests to bring in duty free wine/liquor.

ladies, how much beer do u all think is necc for abt 35 tables?

rjwedding

Hi Ting: after your calculations, think i should get ready abt 30 bottles of beers just in case.. but will NCQ charge you if you didn't open the bottle of beer at all? also what's your guest's comments about NCQ's wines?

hi prissie: there will be projector provided.. you can refer to the older posts, as some of the ncq brides did post pictures of the ballroom and themes.. like mentioned by Starskyz, it's better for you to go down to take at the ballroom itself to have a feel of it before u make ur decision..

tinggy

70% of the hard liqours are duty paid. The rest, we pour into duty paid bottle. NCQ didnt charge me for those non-open beer. Nobody commented abt the red wine. But the white wine was good.
hahaha.
Actually, alot of my guests commented that the food was so so only. haiz...

mich55

Ting,
Thanks for sharing on how to save on the alcohol side.So the corkage for beer is $6nett...worth to buy on our own...

The 1 wine per confirmed table can choose between white & red?? mixed??

i feel food is subjective & diff expectation...hotels' food usually not as good as restaurants...i think...but is the ambience we looking for right?

funfun08

Ting,
really appreciated your idea on saving!
anymore tips we shld take note?

Is giant having the cheapest beer in the market now?
for the $6 cockage fee is count per bottle or count by liter?

Let us know when u get the photos ya!
Congrat!

busygal

hi.. i m new in this thread.. my wedding is in nov this yr and so far i have met up wif huiling oni once.. i find her not bad. guess i m lucky since i read so much negative comments on her.

funfun - $6 corkage is per bottle, per can will be $3. from wat i rem the amt is not nett. it comes wif ++. do correct me if i m wrong.

can someone advise how i can differentiate a duty free hard liquor from a duty paid hard liquor? can i tell straight from the capacity of the bottle? i read normally duty paid is less than 1 ltr whereas duty free r 1 ltr. is that true?

thocat

Hey plp,

just want to know how do i go abt getting the wedding cards from novotel. do i need to email Jamie and ask her?
do they have many card designs or only one standard one?
thx u

ttbrides

Hi gals, im busy for the past few days didnt log on, was having my gao da li and distributing of cakes.. HEhe

ting, your hard liquor consumption is very high.. i only intend to bring 5 bottles of hard liquor.. and also may i know how may table u had? so i can oso estimate my bottled beer.

rjwedding

just received call from Jamie.. will be meeting her on Jun 21 to discuss the dinner stuff.. think it's lingandyang's wedding that day.. see can pop by to take a look..

what i should be preparing for that meeting??

mlh

Ting,
i read your post, thanks for sharing, very helpful & details.

I am holding wedding lunch instead of dinner (all fully booked), hence i think the beer & hard liquor consumption may not be as high as dinner!

But we did prepared for the beer, red wine & hard liquor for our guests.

We cant pleased everybody, i am sure you have tried your best to make your wedding perfect and i think it was wonderful (dun let the feedback from your guest affect you).

Enjoy your newly wed life..

lingandyang

Hi R&J,
wow so fast you know your final meeting le huh? think i gotta ask huiling. Yah tat day is my AD. Hehehe. :p

I'm not sure wat to bring too. Gotta confirm with them.

rjwedding

jamie said 2 weeks before my wedding date to meet up.. so i choose jun 21 lor.. actually jamie said not need to bring anything.. just bring my hb n myself.. hahaha.. she's so funny.. anyway i will bring my menu along to make sure they corrected my changes to the menu.. what else?? hmm.. think that's all.. hope to see lingandyang ard lor, the pretty bride..

lara

hi ladies, i juz had my food tasting today.. feedback frm my fren, parents n in-laws is the food is so-so only.

rjwedding

hi Lara, which menu u choose?? think their food standard dropped leh... my food tasting also not that fanastic, so did alot of changes.. hopefully the actual day will be better...

lingandyang

~R&J,
oh hehehe, wat time will you be there? Do say hello to me, cos i guess i may be pretty confuse tat day so i may not notice you.
No pretty bride lah, just a normal bride.

Yah when i asked huiling, she also said the same thing, just bring along myself. wonder if they have a standard answer to everything hehehe.

~Lara
I'm also have slight disappointment with their food. Maybe expectation too high. Find their food pretty normal only. Although my in law were quite satisfied. I guess mainly becos my family and i eat always used to eat outside food which is very é‡å£å‘³. So to us we find the food normal. But my in law, they used to eat home-cooked food which is more healthy and 清淡. So to them, it is really good. :p

cloudie_07

its great to find this forum with all NCQ couples sharing your experience
i'm considering in taking up the package of NCQ to hold my wedding in dec 2009 too..
wan chk frm u guys isit true that we need to pay the deposit of $3K 1st, then afterwhich NCQ will draft out the contract to sign. My concern is wat if pay le, and the contract does not reflect the items that we negotiate for?

Hi ting,

I read that you brought your own beer in. I do fear my beer not enough. Mind if I ask is how many ml beer that you brought in?

rjwedding

i will be meeting jamie at 4.30pm.. think still very early for you to come down to the ballroom.. u must doing ur makeup during that time.. i don't think will stay till 7.30 or 8 for ur wedding lar.. will see how lor.. see whether we are fated to meet anot lor.. hehehe.. ;p

we also think the food too bland already. we also not so used to the taste.. think really up to individual taste buds.. we can't satisfy everyone's taste buds right??

xuer21

oink,
normally its read the contract terms first then sign then pay, so b4 u sign u can determine if there is any mistakes anot lo.

tinggy

I buy those normal coffee shop bottle. I cant remember what is the ml. But I brought 48 bottles, luckily only finished off 40 bottles.

lara

Hi R&J, we chose Pleasure but changed some dishes. I think actual day will be worse than food tasting leh.. afterall actual day is mass production.

Hi lingandyang, i think the most disappointing one is the shark's fin. my family n i tried the food at Dragon Phoenix during CNY this yr n the food was much nicer.

Ladies, i emailed huiling n she told me corkage for bottled beer is $6+++??? I thot it is $6 nett?

busygal

hi lara, you mean is triple plus and not double plus ah? I rem she told me is wif some plus but not sure how many. but even if it is wif all the plus, it is still much cheaper than getting the barrel. so barrel is 600+++ rite? or double plus? triple plus is 10%+7%+1% issit? confusing..

can i check for the invitation card rite, we can go n collect 3 mths b4 the AD base on 80% of the no of table we hav in the contract? wat if 2 mth later we cfm the no of table is goin to increase, r we suppose to call huiling to inform her so that we can go down t-dragon again to collect the excess. is dat how they works? normally inserts are printed how early in advance?

bitbit2318

Hi Happygal,

You can just call T-Dragon to inform them that you need extra card for the extra table. Normally
they will fax a request form to Novotel to inform them of the increase. So no worry they will take care of that. Inserts are usually printed on the day you go select the cards.

I am also a NCQ bride. Wedding in June. Just meet up with Jamie yesterday.

cloudie_07

so corkage charge for beer is $6++ is it?

It is for bottled beer right? Is it refering to the size sold in kopi tiam? the bigger one?

earthsea

Hi everyone, anyone having solemnisation in one of the function rooms before the dinner? Do you know if NCQ will decorate for you with table skirting and flowers? Or need to pay extra?

funfun08

there's 3 different size of the beer, anyone can clarify which volume size?

Earthsea,
Jamie told me tt they will use the aisle's flower/crystal to deco and same chairs from the banquet ballroom.
No need to pay extra, unless u wan to upgrade or add sth la..

I still dun hv the chance to take alook on that ballroom.. anyone hv pic?

cloudie_07

hi mich,

thank for your clarification. =>

wow funfun,

bottles still gt diff size ah?? luan..

so isit muz specify the beer corkage according to volume in the contract??

tinggy

I just tell T-dragon I need 50 tables of card. They didnt check so much too.

As for the beer is the normal coffeeshop bottle size 633ml.
We didnt specify the beer corkage in the contract. Hui Ling jus sent us email the details of the corkage for beer.
But one thing very important to mention in the contract, the price of additional standard room. As the rate of the room now and later during ur AD will be quite different.

rjwedding

hi lara: i also take the same menu and making changes to it.. we can only pray that everything will go smoothly for our wedding lor..

lingandyang

Lara and R&J,
i also took pleasure package and changes some dishes. hope that the standard would be at least up to satisfactory.

rjwedding

today is 2nd day of June.. Lara & Lingandyang, both of your wedding is coming up.. remember to update us ok??

last weekends, i've completed most of my DIY stuff.. felt so accomplished.. now another step closer to my wedding in Jul..

lingandyang

R&J,
sure no prob! i also glad i've done most of the things le. Time passed so fast. But actually haven't seen any pic of combi theme yet leh. Anyone has pic on this?

ttbrides

Hi lingandyang, have u done your guest list yet? Im in the mist of doing it. I was wondering if I got 21 colleagues coming, can I squeeze 11 pax in one table? Will u be doing that?

Ting, have u tried that and it is too cramped?

tinggy

actually, i have a few table with 11 ppl. But hor, i dunno whether is it cramp or not as i was not in the table. Btw, I asked for 12 ppl VIP table. Novotel has 12 ppl table for VIP table only.

lingandyang

HI Crystal,
i'm also still finalising it. Actually for my side is still quite ok as i dun have much frens. oh actually i tot of doing tat too, having 11 pax at 1 table. I tot we couldn't do tat so actually have some difficulties. Maybe i try doing tat too.

Hi all ladies,
actually today i'm quite frustated over something. Last thurs i email huiling about our final meetup, which she replied asking me when is a convenient time for me to go down. So i just followed the timeline they give us, and suggested 1 week before my AD which is 14 June. Actually before tat, during our last meetup, she also said is around this time and also reminded my to give her all the info, like my photos to display on screen etc by 14 jun.

however since i replied her on fri morning, i nvr get her reply back so i decided to call her today. I was suprised when her colleague told me she was on 2 weeks leave and will only be back on 16 jun. so of course i will not be able to meet her on 14 jun. I tot it is only right to at least told me that she will not be able to handle my case anymore and pass my case to perhaps jamie or some other coordiator.

HOwever, i dun think she pass my case over and hence i was like being hang in mid air. If i nvr call, i will still be waiting for her reply. Anyway, the colleague told me she will get jamie to contact me and i'm still waiting. BUt then i'm really quite disappointed.

Just wanna get this off my chest.