Noble House

hislove

Hi yen,
the last time veronica told me no extra charge for VIP tables..
but i tink like wat Trazz said.. i better check wif her again..
pay another $15 for dessert.. that's madness!

greece

Hi Jess - the other time I found out the cost of changing the desserts are like ranges between $8 - $12 for mango pomelo and yam paste per table. Not sure if the charges varies for the no. of tables reserved...cos mine is above 30 tables and a weekday though... or perhaps the costs maybe higher due to the increase in GST as well???

While sometimes is difficult to get them give more disc., etc..they quite firm in a way :p

It was written in the agreement when is the 2nd instalment due, prob u cld refer to it & it was me who called up them to find out if they still wanna my 2nd instalment...they seems not chasing hard on schedules so we have to depend on ourselves to keep a lookout

hislove

hi Greece,
thanks for ur advice..
i still procrastinating.. haha..
too bz wif my work to think abt my wedding
very determined to settle some outstanding stuff by tis week.
will update here.. hehe..

hislove

Yup! called NB to asked if they want my 2nd instalment today.
Can't believe I'm doing the chasing..
btw.. if want to change dessert to mango must top up $8 per table..
forget it liao..

beegeok

hi Jess,

u mean they will not call to advise on the payment?
that time their staff told me they will call to follow up...
wow $8 per table for juz changing the dessert. I not changing too.

hislove

Hi Mrs C,
They didn't call me..
I was told early tis yr to pay in May.. hehe.. but they never remind, I oso forgot..
Until I remembered I must give them my photos to print for the wedding favours..
I'm going next week to pay up eventho' when i called them, they say pay by tis week..
again they never call.. so i take my time lor

ya.. no point changing dessert by paying more, as most people may not eat them.. haha..

cheekychick

Hi Jess, can i ask wat u mean by 2nd instalment ar? Im considering Noble House too..Its not like hotels where we can pay up when we check out rite?

hislove

Hi cheeky_chick,
we can separate our payments into 3 instalments at NB.
1st is the deposit to block ur booking
2nd instalment abt 3 mths before AD
then settle the rest on AD itself.. after dinner or check out.
actually this arrangement works for me & my FH... not so taxing

cheekychick

Hi Jess, meaning dat we can choose to place a deposit first then settle the balance after AD or can be like urs in three instalments?
I emailed them already & a very nice guy with a super long name replied...too bad i cannt book for late 2009 yet.

hislove

Hi cheeck_chick,
I'm not sure abt choosing.. hehe..
i just follow what they told us.
Best is u check with their staff..
wah... u already starting to book for 2009?

movenpick

Me and my FTB are oso considering NH as our wedding banquet..would be gtg down this weekend to "chitchat" with them...hehe..btw would they give us the whole restaurants for 36 tables? are we able to select tables to take if not possible? Many thanks to your commments..appreciate that

hislove

Hi Movenpick,
yes. they will give u the whole place..
at least that's what they told me..
Don't think it's big enough to divide or close off areas
I'm getting 35 tables + 2 reserves

movenpick

thanks jess! great to hear this..=)may we know what are the different the wedding favors they provide? do you manage to negiotiate with them for free stay or free beer? keke...it is mission impossible? =P

laetitia

Hi Movenpick,
You considering NB too?
Their wedding favours include chocolates or postage stamps (set of 4 with two stamps for local postage and two stamps with your pic). They need at least 2 months for printing of the stamps tho.

Jess, out of curiosity, how many invitation cards are they going to print for you? I am getting a bit concerned cos I need many cards for my colleagues

hislove

hi movenpick,
yen explained the favors liao..
i'm neither getting free beer or free stay coz my package is not the their prestige or best package..
i found them hard to negotiate.. sigh..
I chose NB coz of their great food & overall gd price.. & intimate environment
but their perks are almost non-existence! hehe..

Hi yen,
me not taking invites from NB.
exchange it for pre-diner cocktail as i'm combining my church wedding invite wif dinner invite into 1 invitation.
Way nicer than their invites. hehe..

laetitia

Jess,
You managed to exchange the invitation cards for pre-dinner cocktail? That is much better bargain than what they offer me - two bottles of wine. I really do not like their cards but my fiance and I have decided not to spend $ on something which people will not keep. sigh...

movenpick

thanks Jess & Yen for sharing ! =)

(Re: Yen) Yes, we are considering NB becos we like the ambience, food and location as well. =) Well, we understand there is trade off like dun have free flow of beer, a nite stay (for non-Prestige package), etc...

Instead of today, we went yesterday to have a look at their wedding banquet as well as to discuss with them abt the package..we must admit they are a quite firm in their stand,.seem hard to get "freebies" from them...hahaha...for every change like from Soon Hock to Garoupa..prepare to spend more $$..

We have quite a large number of tables abt 30+ so, among the Tung Lok (except Fullerton..no $$$), this fit some of our requirements

the personalized stamp luk cute!! even the choco casing luk exquisite, in a plastic transparent casing..unlike those in a cardboard box...=)

However we realized they dun offer ang pao box, what about you, where to source for ang pao box? DIY?

"yi feng qian, yi feng huo"..(one dollar worth for equivalent amount of goods)..hehe..want cheap and good...so no this and that...we think it is more about the beer and wine that we have to think and factor into the overall cost..

As for one nite stay, have to book nearby hotel lor =)

hislove

Hi yen,
how many tables u have & which package u took?
is it weekends?
i tink the exchange oso differs wif the no. of tables & package u book rite?
so u took their invites in the end?
ya.. no point printing out of ur own pocket..
For me, I still got 2 print invites 4 my church ceremony guests so it makes more economic sense 2 print everything together & take the cocktail.

Hi movenpick,
so have u signed up yet?
Me got a DIY angpao box
never heard hotels give that leh.. hehe..
usually guests siging book will be given, rite?
noblehouse one old sch.. haha.. me not using..
usin my BS one. hehe..

movenpick

(Re: Jess) We just tentatively reserved a date but yet to sign on the dotted line. Sorri but am blur here, is it the normal thing to go down and look at their drafted contract and take home and read and repeat it several times before signing on the dotted line? =P How long is the duration, from the time you negotiate with them till the day you sign the contract?

Tot is the typical norm for hotels to provide ang pow box one leh? Yes, signing book will be provided but din see NH version.BS provide signing book one leh har? Mine don't seem to have leh?

beegeok

movenpick, i signed on the spot.
i didnt know can take home the contract or to reserved a date before signing.
anyway, we do not wan to waste time and transportation to go back again and again.
But it is important to read the contract carefully.

i am not sure about the ang pow box and the guest book. Normally bridal shop provide guest book. U can call ur bridal shop and ask ba.

hislove

hi movenpick,
ya.. mrs C said it all liao..
i sign on the spot oso..
but i did make a tentative booking a month b4 signing the contract at a wedding fair..

movenpick

(Re:Jess & Mrs C)Thanks to both for your response.=)How many wine to cater for your wedding? Are you taking up the wine offer from NH or you bring your own wine?

(Re: Jess) Could you share what is the differences in perks compared to getting it in wedding fair and non-wedding fair period? Thanks =)

Btw, when will the Ghost Festival starts and ends in 2008? anyone any clue?

greece

Hi Jess...I saw your earlier msg about your no. of tables 35 + 2 reserve...and you managed to get them to allow your wedding event to be held without open to public??? How do you manage to negotiate this with them? My no. of tables are the same as you but still they could not reserve the whole function hall for me even though my AD is on a weekday.

hislove

Hi Mrs C,
nah.. it's okie.. we're all here to share info ah!!

Hi movenpick,
generally, at wedding shows, restuarants & hotels have like tie up wif certain credit card companies, or jus to drum up marketing, will offer perks here & there.
But for NB, they gave me 10 persons food tasting free from non weddings show package of 5 persons free.
Then 1 free table for every confirmed 15 tables.
That's all.. so nothing fantastic oso.. haha..

Hi greece,
I feel sometimes they can talk but never gurantee wan..
i guess for me they could jus say to appease me..
i rem asking how they can open up to the public when their place already so small..
Now u ask me that, I better call either Joyce or Veronica to make them commit to this..
if not, i'll be super infruiated..

movenpick

(Re: Jess) Thanks, that works out to 3 free tables for you..=) at least got some savings..haha..

Yesterday, we went down again =P to conclude our negiotations and signed the contract..we tried our best to negiotate but unsuccessful..but ok lar, becos we can't wait to another wedding fair (dunno when it comes for NH) and even so, we are taking the chance not have a desired date..and the price may subject to change according to the manager...becos they have not change their prices for approx 1-2 yrs + liao..and esp with the extension lease for another 2 years...

We dun think they will stop other customers from coming, unless you manage to book the whole place , 55 tables..*grasp*..wat they confirm us is that there will be only one couple having wedding on the same day.

laetitia

Jess:
Sorry for late reply. I book their midrange package, only 20 tables, weekday. Maybe that is why we did not have the bargaining power. haha..
We checked with Focal-Ad again and figured that the cards will cost us another $250. It is not worth it - would rather spend the $ on other things.

hislove

Hi movenpick,
ya. gd to settle ur dinner venue early.
less headache later

Today, i called them to find out abt allowing the public in.
Guess wat? Veronica was bz.. can't talk to me, supposed to call me.. but didn't.
super irritating!
i having 2nd thots abt NH.. but my wedding in 2 mths plus.. oso can't do anything.. sigh..
Pls don't get affected by me.. mayb coz i never get anything down black & white.. only based on their words, so get worried lor..

laetitia

Jess, My understanding is that if you book large number of tables, they will close the main section to public. However, they may still accept guests in the side rooms (to the left when you face the stage standing at the front door) and at the back (separate entrance).
Cos I book only 20 tables, they will only give us the central area - separated from the rest of the dining area by wooden blinds - we have even less privacy but my hubby and I are ok with that.
Did Veronica give you the floor plan? Maybe you can get a rough idea of the table layout.

laetitia

Jess,
Your big day is two months away - don't get so worked up over this cos to change the location will be rather late and too expensive. But hearing from many others, the food at NH is good.
Concentrate on the good things so that you are the happy and radiant bride on that day.

greece

Yup Jess...not to be too upset cos most of us here faced the same prob @ NH...well, I rem the other time I went to Spring Court restaurant at Chinatown, there's a wedding couple having their banquet at the 1st level and they only occupied about half to a qtr section of the hall and the rest are public having their dinner but the couple are still enjoying themselves...and ours aren't that bad cos we have at least having the main hall and still enjoy some privacy

movenpick

(Re:Jess) understand how you feel..for us, we did observe the ground situation when we went down the 1st time to NH. For the couple, they occupied the main hall and the left side tables and as mentioned by some, the right side are not only shielded by blinds but they are in the inner room, hence they wouldn't able to see anything much.And since you have 2 mths more to go, just be a happy bride ba....there is no perfect wedding and have to pay much more for more "privacy" =)

movenpick

(Re: Jess) you are not alone, we did even write to Veronica, but she didn't response...and when we met up with her, we were put on hold for more than 1/2 hrs..however, we understand she is quite busy so we didn't take to heart. After conversing with her, we found she is quite a nice lady and capable in her work, proactive person. So dun think she deliberately ignore you ba..

hislove

hi yen, movenpick & greece,
thanks for your kind words..
called NB today to confirm..
ya.. like wat u gals said abt closing up certain areas, it's true.
Public can still come unless i book all 58 tables.
I'm upset more coz of their flippant attitude.
I got to chase them. Like until now, eventho' i asked them, they still hasn't confirm they got my photos for the wedding favours printing.. ah..
I noe it's a small thing, but woudl appreciate at least a respond.
started wif their salesperson at the bridal fair where we signed up.
Bt i must admit Joyce, one of their staff there is their saving grace. She's helpful.
My parents are so sweet.. they say they can help me pay like 10 tables more.
But no lah.. never want them or anybody else to pay the extra for that. waste $ for nothing..

laetitia

Jess:
Think Veronica is very busy. From our experience, NH usually takes a few days to return our calls. And it is usually one of the other staff who returns the calls/emails.
58 tables is 20 more than your current. Must make sure you can fill them up or the tables will be wasted.

heat

However I feel it's pointless to get all 58 tables because 20 odd can't be the stage or the brides clearly... and u hv to take the trouble to separate the important and not-so-important ones...

hislove

hi yen & armando,
no lah.. me not gonna get 58 tables just so to get exclusivity.
i tink it's not worth the $.
I chosen NB coz of the intimate environment..
guess i shouldn't focus on that now. hehe..

I'm feeling ok already.
Thanks for hearing out my fustration..
sorry if i upset anyone here
me just take a step at a time..

laetitia

Jess:
Glad you are feeling better about it. Don't let these things affect your big day. Think that with 38 tables, you have most of the dining hall and should be quite cosy.

hislove

hi Yen,
yup! coz i got other things to worry abt my big day.. haha..
jus kidding..
really thank God i have frens so willing to help..
makes the planning more fun..

donicat

Has anybody requested for hotstamping for the invitation card? They said our package does not include (ours is deluxe) and we have to top up if we want hotstamping...

donicat

Hi Mrs C,

With hotstamping, the wordings will be printed directly onto the card. So there will be no inserts for the wedding card...

i just wonder whether they really charge additional cost for choosing this type of printing...