Noble House

wallflower

hello... Anyone here who have already had ur AD dinner at NH? Can share your wine/ alcohol consumption? and whether u loogie or earn with ang baos collected? and the menu u took? juz curious... thanks!

wallflower

me again... did anyone show express highlights of the day during ur dinner? can they play both VCD and DVD? is their projection clear?

little_bi

Hi Ray/Linda

me & FH thinking of keeping things very simple, so ala carte shdn't be a problem. anyway, i oredi signed up with ted collection's wedding package to MTM my gowns.

the main reason why we don't want BS is also becos we don't wanna take PS. will just engage AD photographer will do.

so are you considering holding your banquet at NB? our AD not confirmed cos waiting for the 2007 tong shu to be out. most likely Q2 of 2007.

BTW, i saw you posted in the ROM June 2006 thread. So you are rom-ing then? if yes, we really have lots in common cos me & FH rom-ing in june too...

pinkybear

Hi Christine,
Its me again. I'm going to Noble House to take a look this weekend. I wonder if you can share with me the things that you negotiate with them about the package/perks? Or anything that I should take note of and to ask them? If its too private, you can email me at [email protected] . Tks!

summergirl

Hi OL,

i did show my express highlights during my wedding in feb this yr. i feel is OK. but my videographer said their projector seems to be not as good as before. i've highlighted it to Veronica, the mgr at NH. hope she is looking into it. i am using DVD, guess VCD also can...

i had 40 bottles of red wine & 3 barrels of beer & with a total of 42 tables, all red wine consumed.

wallflower

thanks christine! quite worried abt the costs actually, coz not sure ang baos can cover how much... and many of my FH's frens nvr heard abt NH b4!! i was so surprised to hear tat..

windcloud03

Hi Christine,

Wow, that is a lot of bottles! I am having 40 tables now and may increase soon. However, I was thinking of 2 bottles per table as mine is a weekday. I didn't know that you need so many...probably yours is a weekend. The projector having some problems? I have not go down for the rehearsal yet, probably I will take a look, thanks for the reminder.

A & B

windcloud03

Hi OL,

Don't worry too much about the costs! In actual fact, holding your banquet at NH is not that bad. It has the unique blend of look and it's a restaurant rather than a hotel. I am sure your ang bao can cover at least half of your tables. Yes, prior to this, I have not heard about NH. The reason could be that it is the central of the CBD and it is not advertising that much for publicity. From what I know, it is almost holding banquets, dinners and functions every day.

A & B

wallflower

hi a & b, cant help but worry, coz budget really tight... even if cover half of my tables (abt 35), we oso cant tahan haiz... save up save up!

popie

OL. dun worry. jus tell ppl ur restaurant is tung lok, n their eyes will open really big. haha. from experience. cos u tell them restaurant, noble house, no one noes. but everyone noes tung lok. hehe.

my AD is july tis year.

hows ur preps so far.

A&B, hows ur preps. me getting abit gan cheong liao. ur ad is in may??

summergirl

hi a&b,
mine is only less than 1 bottle per table leh..as compared to your planning of 2 bottles per table. i only had 40 bottles of red wines during the dinner.. think u get me wrong.. & btw, mine is a weekday... but nowadays, ppl prefers to drink red wine.

no problem with the projectors. my highlights played smoothly, except that my videographer says is not as clear as before.. he's more professional & he can see more details. no worries, they do allow u to try to play your highlights before ur AD.

summergirl

hi OL,

dun worrie, just tell ur guest is from tunglok. they will know. when i told my guest is at Noble House, they also asked me where isit, nvr heard before, but when i told them is under tung lok then they knows. quite a nos of my guest also give good comments when i told them my wedding dinner is at Noble house, saying their food is good. & the attendance is almost full...

the cost at noble house is much lower as compared to having dinner at a hotel. likely to be able to recover back the cost or marginal .. usually relatives will give more angbaos then frens(depends on your relation with your fren lah) & be careful when doing up your invite list lor...average ppl give ard $60 to $80, based on this average , u will be likely to recover. but it really depends...

wallflower

hi all, i started fretting when i told my colleague NH is under tung lok and each table is abt $600. she replied "huh... restaurant oso so expensive?!" then i tot, really ex meh... but i agree that ang bao is usually ard $60 to $80, hopefully mine will be tat too...

my FH works in an industry when drinking alcohol is a norm (or maybe habit), so my alcohol consumption may be sky high... my dinner is fri, and next day sat dun need to work some more... arghh...

popie ~ my AD is in dec... going to my BS for first MTM discussion soon... right now looking for VG. anyone got VG to recommend??

popie

OL. dun worry lah. think jus go with the flow n see how lor... sometimes hard to say also. my friend had her wedding at some porsh 5 star hotel also got un-auto ppl who give $20 ang pao!!! so this kinda thing also very hard to control. think the ang pao depends on the heart of the person coming... how sincere they feel about ur wedding.

hmmm. videographer, can hv a look at mine. www.momentsofus.com
apparently the crew is made up of professional videographers from the media industry. they were recommended by a friend

wallflower

popie ~ went to moments of us website yesterday, really not bad lor... will arrange to meet them maybe, after i meet 2 other VGs first. last nite met 1, but dun like... and tks for the assurance! i guess i MUST relax abit, AD in dec now aledy worried like crazy hehe...

popie

OL. dun worry. i hv been thru that phase. there was this phase i went into where i kept arguing with hubby complaining that he is too handsoff with the preps. hahaha. but onli to realise that i was being too uptight about it. as the dates draw near n u clear more n more things on ur to do list, u will feel better. y not start a to-do list. i did an excel spreadsheet of the programs n timing for the day, n things to do before hand, and when. found it quite helpful. cos u can fill in the blanks over time.

wallflower

popie ~ hmm... so there're phases for wedding preps?! tats new... but assuring hehe... so far me no complaints abt FH (yet?!), he's doing his part searching for PS locations. and tat to-do list i have a few from magazines, but lazy to use hehe... have u taken ur PS?

popie

OL, duno lah. maybe not everyone go thru phases. but i did. hahahaha. it went away already. we are now starting to enjoy the preperation process a little more.

hmm. i hv taken my PS. jus taken in March. hvnt collected photos yet tho.

the magazines todo list like a little KS like that leh. that was wat some brides told me. the schedule is way too early one. hahaha. but good as a guide lah.

windcloud03

Hi Christine,

Oops, I was referring to 2 tables per bottle of red wine. Yes, I do agree with you with the number of relatives and friends, you should be able to recover at least half. The bulk of the cost beared by the bridesgroom should be on his in-laws side. Thus it really depends if the in-laws are giving back the ang baos.

A & B

ariesta

Hi all, just done my BIG DAY last week... Just some tips to inform you gals/guys:
1. ALWAYS test NH's projector system. Their system can only accept certain models of IBM and Apple laptops. (Super sucks) I've got 2 IBM laptops, one can be used, but the other was not very clear. In the end my video montage could not be used as the format was not compatible.

2. Confirm and double confirm the number of tables on the day be4 the wedding. We confirmed 34 tables with them abt 1 week ago, on the actual day, they came and tell my hubby that they only prepared 31 tables. Some of my frens was telling me that they dun hav enuff food.

3. Pay wif check. if there is any issue with the food/service, we can still hav negotiable power coz the cheque needs to be cash in.

4. Check and double check your name. They printed our parents wrongly on the actual day. Luckily we caught that pretty early so not much harm was done.

5. 1st march-in, super beautiful, wif the bubbles. Veri nice.

popie

ariesta!!
congrats!!
thanks for ur tips. i went food tasting last tues. there are many details not cfmd yet actually. how can they only prepare 31 tables? isit the chef?? cos on my day of food tasting, the serving proportions were huge for some n small for other dishes.
wat fish did u hv for the fish dish? was it very small?

ariesta

During my food tasting, the food portion was okay... but think on the actual day maybe they onli prepared 31 so some tables had not enuff food. btw if u wanna bubbles for the march-in, invest in the bubbles guns, NH's bubble machine is onli for the stage. The aisle will be dry ice. Wat my hb did was that he bought 2 bubble guns, and during the march-in, the effect combined with NH's machine was beautiful!

snowies

Ariesta,
Congrats too!!
Erm, in the end, no montage for guest to see ar?
Check with you, is 2 bubble guns enough to make the whole area look dreamy?
Any short video clip or pictures to share?

ariesta

Yup in end not video montage, my colleagues were all laughing abt it today... pretty silly i guess... but the 2 bubble guns was for the entrance, the NH's bubble machine at the stage, in the middle, my frens blowing bubbles and popping the party poppers... kind of pretty cool for mi lah. My pics are still wif my cousin and photographer... keekee will upload come this sat (meeting them this sat)but my video of the march in is not working soooo sad!!!!!!!!!!

sspl

Hi All, im a newbie here, intending to plan my wedding at NH, can anyone ppls share their experience w me, i have only max 20 tables, looking at the deluxe menu.. will the whole place be used or wil they set aside partially for walk in guests? As i ve been to ppl wedding dinner, the whole rest can sit 50 tables but the couple only have 20 tables and they set aside the rest for walk in clients.. i feel so weird having other ppl looking at us.. Pls advice, tks.

ariesta

hi Sspl, they will set aside partially for walk-in guests. For my wedding, there was a group of ppl in the other area that was having the karaoke session. (I didn't know if this affected my guests coz my frens hav not mentioned it) For mi, the weird part was tat i mistook a walk-in guest as one of my guests. (but then coz this guy is my secondary school classmate whom i've lost contact for the past 7 years, so not soo bad)

sspl

hi ariesta, thanks for the reply.. i was worried abt it too, if they set aside for walk in guests, then somehow i willl feel weird sharing.. then somemore they got ktv, like so bad like tt.. how was ur guests comments abt it ah? I knod of prefer a more private event if possible, i was looking at the Jade at fullerton but can only hold 15 tables, i cant squeeze in w 20 tables right? So have to take NH.. But after listening to wat u have said, i kind of have dbl tots.. Dont reallt feel comfortable sharing my wedding w other guests... How arh?

ariesta

Sspl: For Small weddings like 20 tables, tink NH abit not suitable. There are alot of restaurants tat caters to 20 to 25 tables. You shld go for such restaurants for a more private affair. If u like tunglok's food, you can try the charming garden, heard not bad.
how abt the poney-jade (dun know the rite spelling)?It is at clarke quay, plus wedding couple can "sail" in on the bum boat, think tat's veri cool. Btw they are having some promotion going on wif SingaporeBrides. Click on the header for more details.

All: My Pics are out: http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/imariesta/album?.dir=d305scd&.src=ph&store=&prodid=&.done=http%3a//photos.yahoo.com/ph//my_photos

ariesta

hi iceblue, my BS is French Bride, personally, the service is ooookay, but think recently their policy changed so much tat it made other brides very unhappie. So think its abit different now. Plus the album sucks! =)Good luck on the bridal Studio hunt!

popie

ariesta,
saw ur AD pics. how many tables did u set for ur AD? looks a little cramp hor? i supposed to have military wedding some more leh. duno got enough space anot.

sspl

hi ariesta. i couldnt see ur photos of the banquet leh.. Did i lost the link or so, but i could see ur day pics and wedding shoots, so pretty.. can show me the link again so i can see see.. the CG is closed liao, the last intake for banquet is this june, but i only intend to hold my wedding next year.. now, i headache liao, duno where to hold at... Help..

ariesta

Popieeeeee: how r u??? hahaha I've got 34 tables, 30 in the main hall, 4 tables "exile" to the side. =) It's abit on the tight side but tat's onli evident during the phototaking. The aisle however, dun know if it can take a military march in. but tink you can ask verno, she should be able to arrange the tables abit closer together to give more space for the march-in.

OL: Thanks!

Sspl:
there's another link (from my hubby)
http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2106750747
Btw, how's the restaurant hunt? think Club Chinois@Orchard Parade Hotel (Min 20, Max 26), and Spring Court@Chinatown (Max 22) are not bad too.

ariesta

You can visit the tunglok website for the wedding package. www.tunglok.com
You can ask for the following:
waiver of corkage charges.
Some changes in the dishes...
Free flow beer...
In my case, they provided 1 wine per 6 tables.

ariesta

I got free flow beer...but tats coz NH was having a promotion then...anyway, during my banquet, i realised, not alot of ppl are drinking the beer lor... they were hitting on my wine...keekee...

wallflower

okie... tried to bargain for free flow beer but unsuccessful :p worried abt beer consumption, bcoz myself prefer beer heh...

ariesta

i see... Are they providing you with 30L of beer free? Do you hav alot of guests tat liked beer? Too much alcohol not good for the wedding couple, easily kanna sabotage by the frens...

popie

iceblue,
pls go n see from their website. everything is there. its standard for all. only when u meet up with the banquet sales ppl, then u negotiate.

ariesta!!!! haha. call my name so loud. me ok lor. AD in 2 mths time leh. hehehe. mixed feelings. i see ur wedding like so nice like that. thanks for the tips on the bubbles. think i will go concourse n buy bubbles for all the children. hahaha. still thinking.

wallflower

can't remember if they providing some free beer anot, will have to go hm then check :p but if my memory isn't failing, no free beer at all. maybe coz my wedding is in dec? popular period for weddings, we no negotiation power... me quite gd drinker, so no worries, yet...

popie

OL. my package din hv free flow of beer. veron advised no need free flow, cos we are also serving red wine. i dun hv package with me. but if i m not wrong she gave us 1 more barrel free. that amounts to 60L. n that is 60 glasses * 2 = 120. she say people prefer less of beer n more of wine now.

ariesta, i jus looked thru all ur wedding pics. hehehe. so nice. like the bubbles in the photos. really very nice. hehehe.

wallflower

popie ~ so gd leh... tat means 2 barrels free for u guys... only managed to get wine corkage waived and free hotel stay (only if we confirm 35 tables, coz we taking deluxe menu) how many tables u having?

popie

wah. u even got hotel stay? thats really nice OL. deluxe is the high end one? we hving 40 tables. but we cfm 35.