Noble House

wallflower

popie ~ we taking the middle menu, as usual, forgot the name aledy... the hotel stay my FH bargain 1. wonder if free beer more worth it though? :p having 40 tables but confirmed 35? wat u mean leh?

popie

hmm. cos i hvnt rsvp mah. n my guest list is about 40 tables. but after rsvp might hv less than 40. if we cfm 35, we still can plus minus 1-2 tables. so.... hmmm.... duno if the way i say is very confusing anot.

ariesta

Popieeee: btw, will u still do the shanghai night thingy? I know this song call Qing Ren. Dun know if fits your theme...Btw, do you need the bubble guns too? I can lend u that... btw popie, if you got 40 tables, see how, it will add afew minus afew one... dun worry, you can confirm with them abt 1 week be4hand....

OL: Lucky...i took a shot of brandy (less than a shot), and i can't walk straight liao.... yup, popie's rite, tink my free beer's like useless lor...not alot of ppl drinks tat...

popie

ariesta,
qing ren sung by who? dun think we will do the crappy shanghai tan thing which i was dreaming about. hahaha. cos hubby not very game. we still choosing our march in songs leh... wat did u use?

ariesta

popieeee: u gif mi ur email, and i go check the artist. =) my march-in songs was "I can't help falling in love" by UB40, 2nd march in was "Jia Gei Wo" by Alex Toh. Kind of lame, i guess...

popie

ariesta,
can email me at [email protected]

not lame lah. wat is important that it means something to the both of u. =) i was even thinking of using ke ai de mei gui hua. hahaha. hubby thinks i am lame. he keep laughing at me.

snowies

Hi Ariesta,
So sad, i didn't managed to get free flow beer also, got 1 barrel and waiver of corkage.
Btw, what your wine consumption like? And who did you order from. I womder would it be cheap if get from NB, then dun need to bring here and there if leftover.
I think it looked a bit cramp too, will talk to Juliet on this also. : P

OL,
not bad lar, still got free stay. me and FH thinking of how to get home on that day. All his friends are very good drinkers.
Btw, when is your date? Mine in dec also, now sourcing for PG and VG. Headache.

popie

snowies,
think ur package also not too bad. not to worry. hmm. i asked NH how they chg their house pour. its $35 per bottle. so better get from other wine sources.

wallflower

popie ~ yup. i got wat u mean... tin when it's closer to my big day, i'll encounter the same prob too. but like wat aries said, should be able to confirm 1 wekk prior

aries ~ i should be able to handle 5 shots at least hehe... but im quite "well-known" for being alcoholic, so may kanna sabo even more :p

snowies ~ i oso got 1 barrel free (only 20L leh), but only if i hit 38 tables bleah... wont be inviting more guests juz bcoz i wan more freebies, not worth it lah... me 15 dec, u? my PG settled by my BS, VG still searching, very tight budget. u got shortlist any VGs?

snowies

Popie,
Tat's expensive, what wine do they serve? From Aust?
OL,
me 23dec, hee, ~1 week after you. Have not shortlist any VG yet but was recommend one by my friend. Think i will be meeting her this thursday to see. Btw, where do you stay, me stay cck, can join me if you want to see see look look.

popie

snowies,
i think its australian wine. can call julia to double check. hmmm... i bought my wine from "the red cellar". u can go for wine tasting at no obligations. the outlet is at stamford court. they got a webbie too. u can go hv a look see. the cheapest wine starting at $13 per bottle. but really taste like ribena with alcohol. u go there the consultant will guide u n teach u to drink wine. quite fun. went with hubby. almost drunk there. hahaha. drink too much.
http://www.st*rcellars.com.sg/home.asp

as for VG. i signed up with this co called moments of us. http://www.momentsofus.com/ they were recommended by my hubby's friend who happens to be our AD photographer. u can hv a look. but no comments about them yet cos hvnt used their service. only met up to sign deposit. but the guy we spoke to, terence, is very nice an friendlt. no harm calling them to find out.

ariesta

popie: paiseh, hav not sent you yet... coz new hse super "backdated" no internet one...

Snowies: beer, tink 1 barrel is okay. nowsaday not alot of ppl drinks beer bah... Like recently my fren's wedding, ppl were drinking hard liquor!!!!! just 3 of us drinking beer at the table.... OMG....now ppl more into wine and hard liquor, beer no kick =)My wine consumption was like 30 bottles, hard liquors, 2 bottles.... Some wine sellers lets you return the remaining wine consignments. its not too bad. I've got my wine from a fren, too acidic... btw, yup, theirs are australian wine.... dun know abt the taste however....

OL: hahahaa, just rem get veri good bros tat can help u to book it. coz my wedding, no one sabotage us coz when ppl ask us to drink we told them tat we will return later... but coz of the good timing of the photographer and our brothers, by the time the photoshoots ended, the dinner ended too... so we had to queue up immediately to wait for ppl to leave... Muahahahaha~~~~~

wallflower

snowies ~ i have actually met up with 3 VGs, shld be confirming one of them... later... :p they r aspire, qp wedding works & icando. personally i prefer icando. which VG will u be meeting? CCK too far, me staying aljunied leh

ariesta ~ i scared its my own bros who sabo me in the end ah haha... coz they r my drinking buddies mah :p

ariesta

OL: true, no point getting more guest coz of freebies... its not worth it... coz the freebies they give out not worth the cost of the extra tables.... =) btw, u stress upon ur bros ur responsibility after the banquet... they will not sabo u too jialat...

popie

ariesta,
thanks. =) hahaha. the song very funny. i hv heard it before liao. haha. very hokkien ge tai stlye one. hehe. think i will give it a miss. cos wait all my guests laugh till fall off the chair.

popie

gals,
i jus wana say something about veron. i think she is really very good and nice and customer oriented leh... u noe.. i ran into some troubles with my invitation card wordings cos of parents and grandparents. n veron called the printers and even asked around her colleagues and everyone to help me find out if it is correct. i am really pleased an impressed with her service. n she is really patient. 3 cheers for her.

snowies

Hi OL,
till now i'm still not very sure of the company name. Anyway i will be meeting her this Thursday at 8pm in her office at town. Let me know if you wanna see. My email add is [email protected]
Btw, does the VG you shortlisted has any website or samples that i can view also?

Hi Popie,
Agree, your VG makes quite good video, hand very steady.
Btw, tks for your wine recomendation, will do some research from here.

popie

snowies. no prob. =) good luck on ur search. if u need anything else feel free to let me noe.

my AD in 60days. haha. i think. around there lah. mixed feelings...

popie

ariesta,
reno done liao. my mum even gave me some utensils and cutlery which she has kept in the store room for some time. u noe mothers...they like to buy pots n pans. hehehe.

getting my PS pics next week. can upload for u gals to see when i rcv them.

dinner banquet. need to cfm list again lor. last nite was jus doing up the ang pao box with hubby. cant remember wat u used for ang pao box leh... refresh my memory??

ariesta

popieee: mi mom the same, long time ago she redeem some water heater thingy, so she gave tat to mi too...muahahaha, veri clever hor... but its good tat they give us these stuff, coz we will nvr know how to buy them one, plus save us abit too... =) btw, u must show mi ur PS pics!!!!! where did u go??? i'm veri excited!!!!!

my angpao boz was borrowed from another bride...its got 2 bears on top of the box, the middle had a red organza bow (like a gift).

popie

ariesta,
clever ger. hehehe. borrow from other brides. we bought our boxes from daiso. n wrap with wrapping paper from daiso. abit cheapo lah. hahaha. all in all spend less than $10 on 2 ang pao box. cos we split banquet cost lah.

i went changi boardwalk, lower pierce reservoir, and tanjong rhu - pebble bay, for PS. yah. collect, upload liao, will show u

snowies

Hi Popie,
pls let me see also, coz i also haven't start thinking where to go for PS. My PG recommended Bali, but have already signed up with BS. : (
Hi Ariesta,
i liked your sunset picture, where is the place? Near Rasa Sentosa?

popie

yes yes. snowies. dun worry. u also got share in viewing the PS pics. =)

BS no hurry. i feel, depending on whether u wana go for overseas PS anot. if onli local n doing MTM, give urself 6mths before AD enough for MTM and PS liao. that was how long my BS took to come up with everything including photos for PS.

ariesta

Popie: hahaha, not i clever, the bride was veri nice... keekee... but i luv her angpao box, veri interesting! But then hor, ang pao box, onli used once in a lifetime, so dun waste too much $$ on it. Ur PS sounds soo nice!!! must show hor...

Snowies: hmmm, i dun know, my PG say go where i go where...keekee....but its at a beach that has a bridge linking to another seudo island at sentosa..tink sentosa got alot of interesting places to take pics, got lalang, got this pond area also veri nice....

popie

yah. u r rite lor ariesta. the bride really very nice to have given it to u. hehe. i took pic of my ang pao box. next day show u all. see u all got comments anot. hehe. i duno if its nice. duno presentable enough to be used anot.

linty8

Hi, can I check for noble house, do they actually allow you to lock up the make-up room during the wedding dinner itself ? in case there are things which u need to secure, but there is no one to jagar...

I got 2 barrels of beer(120 glasses)but half way thru the dinner,the beer had finished and i have to top up with 1 more barrel of beer,according to one of my bro,he observated that not much ppl drinking beer instead were drinking red wine but still the beer still finish so fast,but no choice cause cannot moniter the beer but can moniter the red wine which we bought along.

ariesta

OL: hahaha, i put the ang pao boz in my hotel room...so no need ppl to jagar.

Andrew: interesting... maybe not alot of ppl drink beer, but they drink alot???

ariesta

popie: ur box is okay, but on the simple side..how abt adding some organza or flowers on the box? i've got some violet and campagn organza. if u wan, i can pass them to u....

popie

organza then too flowery liao hor? hmmm. i bought 2 photoframes n got some wedding bears to place on the box or beside it. hvnt really decided leh. hehehe.

ariesta

popie: the wedding bears will be a nice touch! Or a stand up PS shot of you and ur hb...also quite meaningful...keekee~~~~~

windcloud03

Hi ariesta and popie,

I am back! Wow, this thread is suddenly active again...phew I was so busy preparing for the wedding that I didn't really check back here...My AD in 2 weeks time, feeling a little excited now...

A & B

popie

A&B.
all the best!! are u on leave already? or still working? i can sense ur excitement. hehe. somehow. maybe cos i m excited myself. how's all the preps so far?

ariesta

A&B: urs on 2 weeks later??? Check the system okay? coz hor, NH's system can onli use either IBM or Apple, must check for the photo and video coz for my case dun know y the video can't be shown..... If u got Ipod, tink can use too...keekee
All the BEST TO U!!!!!!!!! hows the guest list and AD programme? Need any programme samples?

Popie: hahaha yup... great minds think alike! but hor u so fast start on the box liao... keekee veri gan chiong hor...

windcloud03

Hi popie,

Yes, yes, feeling really excited...I am glad that everyone in this thread are sharing their personal experience and happiness. Well, we have lots of things to do, think next time if my son or daughter were to get married, I will just give them a sum of money for a honeymoon marriage. I am still working now, not taking leave until 2 days before my AD which is on 1 Jun 06.

A & B

popie

ariesta,
me not gan chiong. its cos these are things which i can do first. so i do. got alot of GDL things n wedding invite things not yet done. so those can do, do first. i am juggling between marriage and a part time course, and some other personal commitment. very stretched. alot of things need to start doing early. sob sob. hehe.

A&B. me too. cannot take leave actually. i am onli taking leave 3 days before. think need to go n clean house, pack up here n there, n do any last minute things before AD.

wat else we need to do on the last few days before AD?? need to forward plan. hehe

windcloud03

Hi ariesta,

Wow, I read your posts on your experience. Worth taking note. I did asked them about playing of mp3 and wma songs and they told me that their systems can only accept vcd format. You mean their system can only accept IBM and Apple notebooks? I thought should be compatible to all? They don't provide any cable or projectors? That's very out-dated. I intend to use my Dell notebook for playing of the dinner music and I have cut an vcd compatible disc for my video presentation and march-in songs.

Yup, prepared the guest list and sent out all my invitation cards...just now only...haha. Planned all the AD programs as well. Phew... so many things to do and not enough sleep.

A & B

windcloud03

Hi popie,

Haha, all of us are preparing to clean up our house. I think the last few days are to prepare yourself physically, mentally and psychologically for your big day. You need to settle other admin stuff like taking your wedding gown, photo album, photo frame, GDL items, roast pig, meeting bros & sis & MCs etc way before the days you are clearing your leave...

My plan is pretty detailed and concise. But it depends on how you want it.

A & B

wallflower

hi popie & A&B, ur companies so strict on taking leave ah. my present company quite flexi, but me searching for new job. abit hesitating coz of leave issue. but then, hard to find new job now :p

aries ~ how did u transport ur ang bao box to hotel while u had the dinner leh?

windcloud03

Hi OL,

Hehe...anyway no need to take leave so often, save up for your honeymoon...Even if you take leave, you also won't be doing much. Most of the things can be done during weekdays. The month of May has been particularly kind to me, already have 2 Public Holidays and Polling Day another day OFF for me.

Actually, in my opinion the ang bao box should be guarded by at least 2 of your sisters during the dinner. You wouldn't have time to transport it to the hotel. Don't put in the banquet manager room for sure. Some couples may choose to use the ang bao money to settle the dinner bills while most others will use a cheque or credit card to pay. Try to talk to your family to plan who will take charge of the ang baos.

A & B

wallflower

A & B ~ no honeymoon, tight budget... maybe will juz pitch a tent at east coast hehe... :p ya, im thinking of getting my cousin to be my ang bao box security guard tat nite
i was his the other time, now his turn to "repay" my kindness hehe...

popie

A&B,

my planning quite detailed also. jus checking lor. scary. i already fixing date to meet my bros & sis when my AD is in july. hahaha. ariesta already think i KS to hv done up my ang pao box liao. hehehe.

u noe... my house gets dusty very fast. so i think we need to clean the house one last time few days before the AD.

actually ang pao box is a big problem. now that u all mention, i really need to get some one to be security guard. we intially wanted to put the box with our parents. but they need to walk around to toast the guest...

ariesta

A&B: so where u going for ur honeymoon??? anyway, NH hav projectors but not veri good. coz their system can onli take certain IBM laptops too. but my fren's wedding (at NH too), the effect was quite good, but she didn't do video, so still dun know abt their video.... Hav u tried out ur DELL Laptop? Coz hor, wat we think is that maybe NH is just anti jap laptops..keekee (coz we onli try jap laptops and IBM, toshiba, sony all confirm cannot)

popie: of coz i tink u ks, coz hor, my helpers hor, only got like 2 weeks confirmed warning from mi...muhahahaha, but then i got tell them be4hand so not too bad ...coz hor, some stuff, really can't do early... Table arrangement hor, can finalise on the actual day, coz some ppl will not be able to turn up wan... anyway, think the GDL will be handled by the parents, except the delivery part ba...mi mom veri clever, my GDL no need to do delivery, she "held" a gathering with all the relatives tat will receive the GDL things, so when they leave hor, we just hand the stuff over to them. veri simple for mi. hahahaha~~~~~~
ang pao boz, yup, a big pbm, coz hor their bridal room not veri secure one. ur jewellery also dun put there. U get ur bridesmaid to safekeep the stuff for u.

OL: for mi, i assigned 2 ppl to transport the box to the hotel, they start to transport by 8pm, M hotel was like 5mins drive away..think they made it back by 2nd course.