Noble House

popie

summary. i think i got lao hua or failing memory or something. hahaha. i need summaries all the time. did i miss anyone out??

A&B 1 Jun 06
popie 8 july 06
jojopepper 9 dec 06

ariesta, i think i miss all the action here. duno y. din catch any of the postings after the last time i posted. hmmm..

anyway i will do my food tasting couple of months before AD bah. wana use that opportunity to talk about GDL n those customary things. Veron din tell me when to go leh.

A&B, yes. hot food definitely tastes much better than cold. which reminds me i must tell them to make sure also. think they will try i guess. cos need to prepare so many tables. they definitely need some turn over time.

sharon, sept/oct is the chi 7th month? or chi 8th month? if it is 8th month then better act fast. cos heard from my mum this year got 2 7th months. the 8th month will be very hot. long awaited. can talk to veron. she is the banquet manager. she will b the one running the show that day. if u sign with u, u will liase with her direct. think that would minimise mis-comm.

ariesta

popie, where u lately??? buz wif the xmas shopping???? =) here still not much action lei... hahaha, tink cos its hard to tok abt food for too long...hahaha~~~u know 4 more mths to my wedding and still hav not decide on the food... hahaha

popie

wahahaha. duno lah. been here n there everywhere. my renovation headache. drive me up the wall.

anyway, wat food u talking about? ur menu not decided ah? or wat?

windcloud03

Hi popie,

Yes, how many tables do you have? I think one way they can do that is to wrap the food with keep fresh foil. I just attended a wedding dinner at Marina Mandarin. Surprising different from other hotels, the food is tasty and warm. I saw the foil wrapped around each plate to keep it warm except the cold plate (1st dish)..haha

A & B

popie

A&B, that is very impressive. they actually take the effort to wrap. quite alot of cost incurred too. i think i will hv about 40 tables. quite a tight squeeze. how about u?

windcloud03

Hi popie,

You have around the same tables as mine. Julia told me to put a tentative figure first so I put 35-40. Yes, it will be slightly tight especially they will slot tables on the left side as you walk in from the entrance. She told me to try fill up the left first. The rest will be slowly built up towards the right (with pillars). Actually I was at NH to view one of the weddings (around 38 tables). It's noisy and cramp because of the number. However, the ambience was good. You can ask your MC to request your guests to move out slightly to view the stage during video presentation, toasting etc. Try to maximise the floor plan beforehand.

A & B

popie

A&B
oh yes. u r right. it is quite tight. i too went down to see a wedding with 38 tables. but i think on the right, only 1 or 2 seats per table is blocked. so if that is the case, i think i will put my helpers in those seats. i m now thinking of a good way to arrange my guests such that those who are there will not get blocked. those who get blocked are my helpers. hv u started planning ur seating?

windcloud03

Hi popie,

Good idea to put your assistants or close friends who wouldn't mind sitting behind those pillars. Don't put your relatives there...haha. Yes, I have started to draw and map out the lines. Your relatives and parents' friends should be situated in the middle of the hall. For the sides, it should the couple's friends. However, do you want your parents to sit with the groom's parents? My dad says it should be separated. It is causing some distress to us. Because the bride's parents insist that they must sit with the bridesgroom's parents. Chaotic, but I think there is no hard and fast rule on this.

A & B

popie

dear A&B,
did u get the seating plan from nobel house? think they got 1 copy with all the circles to represent tables. i think i will get that copy n work on that. easier.

think about where the parents should sit, depends on how many ppl u putting at the red table. i initially tot it would be better to put all the parents at one red table. so tat they dun look like they are fighting the gulf war. haha. but i still hv my grandparents. then they wont fit into 1 table. so no choice hv to seperate, one of each side.

if there is really not enough seats then explain to ur parents to sit seperate lor. else will b difficult for u n hubby also.

ariesta

A&B: yup, no hard and fast rule for the table arrangement...tink diff ppl diff customs... either u checkwif ur papa or u get ur wif to readjust ur fil expectations...this is small thing, best not let the relationships sour coz of it....

popie: the banquent food lor... not confirmed yet lei... hahaha~~~~everything all not done...

windcloud03

Hi brides,

I called NH last week and found out more things which may be useful to you:
1. Piano can be used but advisable to play only 1 or 2 tunes.
2. The carpet is brown (only 1 colour) so hope it will blend nicely with your gowns and suits.
3. The flower petals and decos are all red roses. They do not have other colours or flowers unless you make special requests.
4. The smoke effect now comes together with their imported bubble effect (cool).
5. No helium gas if you want to prepare your own balloons for extra deco of the restaurant.
6. Wine stated is at $35++ per extra bottle. Thought I should remind since is rather expensive and we have not tasted it yet.
7. Food tasting should be done at least 3 mths before your AD and you can squeeze in 1 more person to make it 11.
8. Food tasting at half price cannot be negotiated no matter how I bargain. BUT some of the dishes can be swapped and tell them to keep the food warm for the sake of your guests.
9. If you don't want the red/white wine (at 1 bottle per 5 tables reserved), try to negotiate for hotel stay.
10. Try to fill up your tables from the left side first (when you walked into the entrance) since they have no pillars blocking.

Hope the above helps.

A & B

popie

A&B.
good info u hv there. n the dry ice n bubble ting sounds cool. u mean they are going to blow bubbles when we march in!!! oh my God!!! so pretty.
i read it in some threads some where, maybe this one in the earlier posts, that the NH piano is out of tune.

if u wan balloon contacts let me noe. i got 2 here. i bought helium before. the smallest bottle was $60. think can blow abt 100 balloons. bought that for my friend's bday. we blew 100 silver balloons for her room. hahaha.

popie

A&B,
i duno leh. i dun play the piano. but i jus happen to see other brides complaining. u shld go try it out urself before the AD. sometimes things are not totally truthful in this forum. everything is so subjective based on other's opinions.

anyway, u've got mail.

windcloud03

Hi popie,

Thanks! I got the contacts, will call them. I got heart-shaped balloons...so will need a lot of helium...haha

A & B

popie

A&B,
all the best. i m sure ur photos will turn out very nice. i made some furry hearts to deco the backdrop for my ROM. it din look very pro cos i made them myself. but surprisingly it looked great on pics. think ur balloons will look even nicer.

r u getting silver ribbons or something shimmering to tie the balloons? i went to an anniversary dinner which they did that. initially they tie it to the table number stands. when VIP walk in they got the ppl at the table to release together. very very very nice n romantic. u might wana consider this.

windcloud03

Hi popie,

Thanks again! Most of the things are also hand-made by us especially during our ROM 2 years ago. We created our names on styrofoam and came up with our own guest book. Though not professional as you said but it's our heart and effort for creating our unique brand of wedding. We always believed not all branded stuff purchased will look good but how you make it look like your own style.

We got some pink and red balloons. Yes, you have a good idea of asking guests along the side to release together. I think will have a hard time to retrieve the balloons back though...keke... unless NH gives special permission for us to do that...

A & B

popie

oh yes. hahaha. quite true hor. haha. din think of that. hehehe. u can make the strings extra long lor. such that after the release the strings still dangle down n is within reach. but one thing tho, u will find alot of jumping kids. they will be busy trying to catch the balloons. but it would be really magnificent. hehe. imagine balloons being released as u walk past... hahaha. i m day dreaming.... jus after lunch. tat's y.

yurieve

hi all NH BTBs/Brides, can i know if u girls hv any idea if they will accept bookings for about 15 tables only n on a wkend?

thks in advance for all ur help!

yurieve

hi all NH BTBs/Brides, can i know if u girls hv any idea if they will accept bookings for about 15 tables only n on a wkend?

thks in advance for all ur help!

ariesta

A&B: thanks soo much man!!!!! 4. "The smoke effect now comes together with their imported bubble effect (cool). "--> soo cool cool cool!!! yipee..... hahaha

windcloud03

Hi yurieve,

Try to call them (Veron, Anthony or Julia) and ask. I don't think they will reject if the place is available (depends if it is a hot day). There is a standard deposit of $2100 but not sure if applicable to yours. But the main hall can accommodate up to 52 tables. This means you will only use up less than a quarter space. It is still possible to share with walk-in guests. Is it for a ROM reception or small party?

A & B

windcloud03

Hi ariesta,

No worries! This thread is about sharing info and exchanging ideas. Hope we all have a good good dinner and wedding night!

A & B

popie

ariesta,
wats up with u? so long nvr come in n post liao. hows ur house?

A&B,
ur info about the smoke n the bubbles really get us all very excited. hehehe.

yurieve,
think u should chk with NH staff. its clearer that way. they are very friendly n no obligations. ask for veron. she is very nice. strongly recommended. she is the banquet manager

windcloud03

Hi popie,

Did I make you all excited...hehe? Hopefully the bubbles can make the wedding feel more magical by storing your happiness and joy!

A & B

popie

A&B

u definitely made me very excited about the march in. i work with children. n been playing with alot of bubbles recently. haha. n i suddenly realised that i really like them. it gives a very calming feeling. hahaha.

ariesta

popppieeeee: hahaa, been getting to work late soo didn't hav tim to post...hahaha, so how's ur xmas??? btw, the new year, u planning on the countdown celebration??? hmmmnnn, u work wif children, so r u a teacher???

A&B: Happy New Year!!!! we r excited coz ur list was pretty detailed mah... and also i've been reading abt the bubbles march-in, sounds sooo romantic.. but didn't tink NH would hav it too...
hahahaa~~~ NH is cool!!!!

popie

ariiiiiesta. go to work earlier lah. then can post. make my day more interesting. hahaha. xmas boring lah. i was cleaning house. ahahhaa. wanted to clean once before all the carpentry come into my house. moi not teacher. new year, i jus back from my friends' house. was watching the countdown together on tv. haha. how exciting is that?? hehe.

3 cheers for NH!!! really no regrets. haha. ppl may say cheena. but I LIKE!!!

windcloud03

Hello brides,

Happy New Year!!!

Have a great great year ahead!!!

For those having their wedding in 2006, have a blissful and wonderful marriage ceremony including myself...hehe...

A & B

angels

hi hi gals,

I am booking NH for my wedding D for next year too. I am quite concern on the "walking-in guest", will it kinda affecting the "atmosphere" of the night banquet? Any comments on that?

popie

A&B n ariesta n all NH BTB.

happy new year!! ok. abit late. day 2 into 2006 then wish u. hehe.

angels. i went to NH for dinner once when there was a private function in the main hall. we were took to the private rooms without entering the main hall. so i think it should b ok on AD.
so when is ur AD? congratulations on choosing NH. welcome to our NH family. =)

angels

Hi Popie,

Thanks for the comments =) Happy New Year to you & the rest BTB 2006 too!
My AD in SG is on 5th-Nov, my FH & i like the ambience @ NH. Its simply great (or even better than some hotels)! heehee ^-^

popie

angels. tat was our sentiments too. hahaha. hubby n i went to recee some hotels n restaurants within our budget, n NH is like our ideal. hehe.

ariesta

popie, angels: wif their new bubbles machine, its even nicer!!!! hahaha, coz i just visit NH and "gate-crashed" another bride's wedding on monday. the bubbles make the stage looked soo dreamy!!!

popie

ariesta,

very good leh. hehe. u recee for us. i m so excited about my march in now... hehe. thinking of getting some sparklers or buying more bubbles for more ppl to blow. esp the kids. they will be so excited. hehehe. i m going crazy.

windcloud03

Hi angels,

Dun worry abt the walk-in guests! With a wedding, I dun think they will interfere with your dinner. Probably they will enjoy their feast and come over to toast a few rounds with you! Haha...

A & B

angels

Hi Popie,

Do you mean we need to "buy" the bubbles?? I suppose the foam should provide by NH? Customer service mah.. =P

Hi A & B,

Thanks.. i am also lookin forward to the date too.. heehee, btw when urs AD?

windcloud03

Hi angels,

My AD is on 1st June 06. The bubbles are provided by NH so no need to buy. It depends on the sequence you wish to provide that effect.

A & B

popie

angels,
i was thinking of buying more bubbles for the guests. maybe as a wedding favour. so that as NH blows the bubbles from the machine, the guests, esp the kids can blow the bubbles too. then the whole restaurant will be filled with bubbles.

ariesta

A&B: paiseh no idea, wor...
popie: good idea! its going to be super romantic!!! hav u thot of having 2 types of march?? Im now tinking of having rose petals for guests to throw for the 1st march-in and sparkles for them to light up for 2nd march-in... tink a little variation ba....

popie

A&B,
y not u call n ask veron? think she will be able to tell u.

ariesta,
2 march in ah? not sure leh. mine will be a military march in. duno can march twice anot leh. think wana keep the fringes simple so that can focus on the military march in. hehehe.

ariesta

popie: wow, tats cool! love the military march-in!!! still can hav 2 mah. 1st one military march-in (WG). 2nd one in EG mah... muahhahaha~~~~~ sigh, my hb not officer. onli civil defence.... 1st one to run to bomb shelter when any war happens....muahhahahaha~~~~~

popie

wahahhaa. good lah. then save. when got war, he can take care of u when u hiding in bomb shelter. hahaha. mine cannot. he go war, i fend for myself. hehehe.

yah. think will hv 2 lah. btw, u tailor CS anot? i duno whether to tailor anot leh. or should i jus buy. hahaha.

ariesta

tink tailor hor, more fitting to ur body. but hor, maybe u take a look at the "Marketplace" first. Some brides are selling their CS, if right size, maybe can save some $$ lor. up to ur budget bah!

anyway in the event of war, we will probably hav no time to hide liao...