Noble House

windcloud03

Hi popie,

No worries, it is not KS at all. In fact, I have already done up our ang bao box long time ago. Yes. the house gets dirty every now and then but usually we go to our new place every week to clean up. We don't open the windows so the dust is kept to the minimum.

Yup, either you follow ariesta's instructions to transport your ang bao box to your hotel safe. Otherwise, u need security guards all night...hehe

A & B

windcloud03

Hi ariesta,

Saw your pics, they are very nice. So envy! For us, probably will postpone our honeymoon till end of the year...hmm...maybe to Japan.

Wow, I didn't know NH is so anti-jap. But Dell is American, is it safe? Haha... I have already made an appt to test this weekend...AD is approaching fast..no time to waste...

Btw, around what time can you actually check in to M Hotel?

A & B

gillian

Hi BTBs,

We're still planning our wedding in 2007 and still cannot decide our venue (Noble, 88 Res & Chevron).

Can share some opinion or wedding pics abt Noble?

popie

ariesta,
agree lor. table arrangement till last minute will still hv changes. so tat one i not too worried.
GDL, my parents want to tpt them leh. so bobian lor. hehe.

A&B,
yah lor. think we try to air the house. so we open the top louvers. think we need to close it back. else really quite dusty. some more our unit is next to the road.

hi gillian,
u should go hv a look at the venues urself n compare.hmm. i personally fell for nobel cos of 2 reasons, the deco (shanghai chee-na style), and the food (cos its from tung lok). depends on wat u like.

ariesta

A&B: thanks! i tink all brides look the loveliest on the wedding day...groom will look super stressed out..keekee, my relatives all say my hb face black black during dinner... For M hotel, u can check in by 2.30pm.

Gillian: My AD is at below:
http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2106750747

NH:
Pros - can fit 50 tables. Deco veri nice! Veronica/Julia veri helpful. Food quite okay. Very near MRT. Easily found (onli mi frens blur sotong can get lost one).
Cons - Projector system can only use certain IBM and Apple laptops. Price of banquet abit high (ard 550 for the cheapest range, inclusive of the GST.). 1st course veri little. accepts walk-in-guests, but they will be separated from ur group. No free parking for guests.

I've been to 88rest during my banquet selection too...
88:
Pros - Veri cheap compared to NH, Middle range (~500). Deco also nice. Free parking for 20% of ur guests. bridal room veri nice.
Cons - Veri out of the way @ habourfront. Veri cramp, Max 33 Veri veri tight squeeze. march-in aisle not veri long, and veri tight not good if ur gown is the big type.

windcloud03

Hi ariesta,

Haha, yes, I am super-stressed...why your hubby face black black??? I think your father look sterner instead...haha...

A & B

popie

ariesta,
i m really worried about the video projector leh. cos so wasted pay money shoot video then cannot show during dinner. think must really go n test out before the dinner.

A&B,
dun stress dun stress. how many more days? got count down anot?

serenec81

I am interested in NH too...

Ariesta saw your photo, you look so nice and the NH effect is nice with the bubble!

I juz started to look for dinner place. Dunno where to start. Can someone tell me the price on the web for NH is nett or have to add GST and service charge?

Wat item can we negociate for when booking the table?

windcloud03

Hi popie,

Yes, counting down now... 2 weeks and 2 days exactly... I will be going down to test the av systems, hopefully not as bad as ariesta has pre-warned...

A & B

windcloud03

Hi S & A forever,

Try to go down personally to the restaurant and talk to the banquet managers. Look for Veronica or Julia. For us, it was Julia who is attending to everything. They have a lot of couples, business is excellent so make sure you checked your details (such as the date) before making any payment. The deposit is standard of SGD2,100. NH charges GST and CESS (total 6%) but no service charge. You can negotiate for a 20litre barrel of beer or hotel stay depending on your number of tables. They give 1 bottle of red wine per 5 tables confirmed. But for myself, I chose the hotel stay. You can bargain for more waivers if you have more tables.

A & B

popie

to add on to A&B, if u are intending to get married on a popular date, make sure u book at least a year in advance. the dates at nobel house get booked up quite quickly.

ariesta

A&B: dun know...but think its coz he veri stressed out...afraid things will go wrong ba...

popie: dun be stressed out...if possible, try b4hand can already... for our case, coz our laptops all cannot use, so had hard time looking for compatible laptops. plus the laptops were only available on the AD itself so got hiccup...

S & A: depending on the number of tables, u can also request for free cocktail, and usage of their garden.

popie

hubby and i dun hv labtops. so we also hv to borrow here n there. that is the big prob. hehehe. n think now they usually burn into dvd format. so worse. not every player is compatible. when i went for a conference, some dvds cant even play on the labtop cos of the windows player or something... hahhaa. think i m gonna make everyone paranoid.

ariesta

popie: hahaha....just to warn u, some of my frens had to delete all "company" sensitive information b4 they can lend us the laptop soo tat takes time too...sooo best if u start looking soon..get more than 1 compatible laptops to prevent last minute hiccups like "VIRUS ATTACK"

popie

ariesta!!! dun freak me!!! hahaha. tat is actually quite chialat leh... delete everything. how they back up the data. poor peeps.

snowies

OL: Sorry, had been busy for the past few days, have met up with the VG. Still dunno how to decide leh. : (

A&B: Congrats, wish you all the best for your AD, hope you will enjoy yourself. Have fun. : )

windcloud03

Hi Snowies,

Thank you! You enjoy yourself too...

Are you deciding on NH or others?

A & B

popie

snowies,

jus something to share. i was told by some friends that u should ask the VG to show u both raw n edited footage and see if u like the videography skiills, and the way they put the footage together after that. then talk to the videographer n see if u r comfortable working with him/her. of course negotiate for package to hv more things. like waive additional hours n things like that. once u comfortable can sign already.

my 2cts. duno if it will help.

serenec81

free cocktail is it the serving of drinks before wedding dinner start?
And use of garden??? for photoshooting?
If no use cannot take photo there?

popie

dear S&A,
yah. they are serving free flow of drinks before the wedding dinner commences. duno if u hv been there to see the "garden". it is jus an open air area where u can set up nice cocktail tables for ppl to stand out in the open to drink. cos it might get too crowded at the hotel lobby. also for smokers. =) hmm.. think can go out n take photos lah. there is nothing much to take.
hv u been to see the venue? i strongly urge u to make an appointment and go there n have a look and let the restaurant staff explain to u in more details. u will hv a better understanding and a better feel of the service they provide.

ariesta

S&A: yup yup....i agree...at first i wanted the garden so tht i can hold a dance there during the corktail, however,no time to source for sound system, so didn't really use the garden much... if u are having rom, u can use the garden too...but its pretty bare so need to deco abit....

windcloud03

Hi S & A,

Yes, you should make a point to go down to NH for a look. Btw, cocktail isn't free, additional $180 (I think). Everything is $$$ but it depends on how you negotiate with the banquet managers.

The so-called garden is pretty bare as what ariesta has described. Nothing in the open space but it is ideal for smokers. I saw some of the NH staff playing soccer a few times there when I was there in the afternoon getting some stuff from my coordinator. You may want to decorate the sides probably so it will not look so plain.

A & B

popie

yah. agree that the place needs to be decorated.

ariesta,
did u use the courtyard? how did u deco the place?

gillian

Thks Ariesta!

I've been both venues and Chevron too, all hv pros and cons.

U're right! Everything in NH is nice but $$$ counts. 88 fits my requirement but yet cannot fit all my guest.

Hai.... headache liao.....

snowies

Hi A&B, i'm throwing my banquet with NB, paid deposit already, AD end of this year.

Hi Popie, i was told by the VG i met that they will only give me the edited 2hr in DVD. She told me that the 10 hrs is just too long. is that correct?

Hi OL, let me know when you choose.

popie

snowies,
hmm. wat my VG told me was that altho their service last for 10 hrs or more, but they do not let the tape run for 10 hrs altogether. they will jus capture the important content. then they will edit n put it together in a montage, which lasts about 10min or so. they will also return u the unedited footage, depending on package. but i cant remember how many hours that will be. think its about 2 hrs too. but definitely not 10 hrs.

windcloud03

Hi ariesta,

I have just tested my video montage and songs. There are all running fine. The MP3 songs that will be played throughout the dinner will be done on my notebook. It works with the TV-out cable. The sound is good too. So no worries now.

A & B

popie

A&B,
wat is ur labtop brand? glad that it all works well for u. congrats. excited? 1 more week hor?

snowies

Hi Popie, the VG is saw also told me that. But for me, i will feel curious on whatever that happen on that day, so i dun mind watching the 10 hours since already taken. My friend also said that day he was too busy to notice anything, all recap after watching his video.

lil_bride

hi gals, I'm considering NH to hold my wedding dinner too. But my tables will be approx 35-40, which NH's max is 57. For my case, outsiders will still dine in NH rite? Would it be a contraint for my wedding dinner? Or will NH make efforts to 'partition' my wedding tables?
For those who have signed up with NH, mind if you could share your package and things that you managed to negotiate? How much is the deposit and when's the earliest to book NH if my AD is going to be Nov 07?

windcloud03

Hi popie,

Thanks! Mine is a Dell notebook. Feeling very excited indeed. I will tell you my experience later..hehe.

A & B

windcloud03

Hi lil_bride,

Yes, NH will still allow walk-in guests if your sides of the main hall are not filled up. Or you have filled up every possible table in the main hall which is around 52 tables inclusive of reserve, then they will open up the bar counter area or the individual dining rooms for walk-in guests. Yes, rest assured, it will be nicely partitioned and they will be away from the crowd.

It is best that you go down personally to negotiate with the banquet managers. Look for Veronica or Julia as they are nice people. They have 3 packages and it is up to you to request what you need or don't need. The deposit is standard fee of $2,100. It will be good to confirm your date asap as the good dates and weekends get snapped up quite fast.

You can view more information at the website www.tunglok.com

A & B

lil_bride

Hi A & B

Thanks for the info. Will look for Veron or Julia as recommended. Prob is, I havent got my date cos next year's Tong Shu is not out till Sep/Oct this year. Is it possible to book a tentative date now?

windcloud03

Hi lil_bride,

Oic, I booked my date around 10 months before my AD. I think to confirm the date, you need to pay the deposit. However, if you are unable to commit and book a tentative date, I think they will call mark down and give you priority first. If other couples want to book the same date, they will contact you to give an answer asap.

A & B

lil_bride

Hey A&B, thanks for the useful info. I guess it is better that i shortlist a few dates, just in case... If i mark down, do i have to make any payment?

windcloud03

Hi lil_bride,

Nope, shortlisted dates are not confirmed dates. Just tell them which are the few dates that you want but usually the popular ones can booked fast. So far I have noticed that they have wedding dinners almost every weekend (Sat and Sun) plus at least 3 of the weekdays. The rest can also be reserved for company functions, parties and walk-in guests.

A & B

popie

gals, dun worry. u jus book. yesterday i receive a call from noble house. someone wana book my AD for ROM solemnisation. 3 tables onli. they called to ask if we mind hving another function on the same day. we declined them. but was glad they called to ask first. so i think u dun worry. ur dinner is in good hands.

lil_bride

Hi A&B, popie
Thanks for the assurance. I think i shall go ahead and ask Noble House to mark down my preferred date.

ariesta

A&B: All rite! great tat the video and photo montages are working well! one more brand to add, they are really anti jap hor....lovely! how's the preps again???

popie: wow, tats veri nice and professional of them. sigh, mi tinks not all restaurants are like tat... i know hor, the shark fin restaurant at yio chu kang grassroots can take up to 3 wedding banquets on the same day....can't imagine the headache then.... keekee

windcloud03

Hi ariesta,

Yes, thanks! More or less it is settled... Only the helium and wine will know on the AD itself. The rest of the preparation are handled by the brothers and sisters.

Counting down now...

A & B

ariesta

A&B: post the pics when u r free!!!! Counting down... by the way, which bridal studio r u from? can email me your package? cos i'm now looking for a BS for my fren...

windcloud03

Hi ariesta & lil_bride,

My bridal package is from Yvonne Creative. I will try to upload some pics when I am free.

A & B