Noble House

windcloud03

Hi Andrew,

Thanks for the fast response. My friend has contacts for wine but there are like $23 per bottle (similarly you can return if unused). I think $13 is a good deal but must taste before used. So you have confirm your wedding package?

A & B

Hi A&B:

Lastest good news,last nite when drinking with a grp of buddy and found out that one of the buddy brother is working for wine factory and he told me that he can get a better deal for me, i will find out more from him first then let you know.

yvo

Hihi everyone,

Been busy with my AD preparations which is e coming 21 Jan06 so seldom comes here.

ariesta & poppie: My preparation so far so gd lor, waiting for my wedding cards to be printed. I also dun have free flow beer leh so tnk its quite common...hee...still tnking if i shld order a barrel mah...as for theme, i intending to use disney music for all my 1st & 2nd march in, 1st presentation of gifts & also for my video & photo montage...a BIG fun of walt disney music...hee...as for decor since cant change their decor also so ahv to remains lor bt act as compared to some other placse i've seen, e decor at NH is reali ncie & their ceiling is 1 of e higher one, looks spacious & nice (^_^) oh yah ariesta, your PS is reali nice esp e one on the sunset...simply love it :>

A&B: I dun remember how much is the parking at Prince Edward Road but will check it out & let you know when i go dwn to collect my invitations next week or e week after (^_^)

ariesta

yvonne: thanks thanks... the walt disney music sounds good. i tink there's one bride using "Be my Guest" for the presentation of first course. hahaha~~~ think its veri nice! (or is that u???) hahaha~~~

popie: i din really thot abt wat theme to use lah. thinkin of using their garden for some dance if possible... but dun tink i can afford to rent a sound system lei...

windcloud03

Thanks, but I think most people will park over at the UIC building carpark since it is only $2 after 7pm. However, I would have to advise my guests that they will not be getting the 'make-people-feel-good' complimentary carpark ticket. No choice, no exceptions from the NH managers.

A & B

popie

hey all,

jus back from chalet over the weekend. tool leave today. hehe. very good rest. =)

anyway, i am not intending to spend more money on beautifying the venue, cos i think its already very nice. but thinking of making it shanghai theme n maybe use shaghai night music. n make the whole thing very cheeena. haha. duno how it will work out. still thinking. =)

yvonne, sounds good. u must b very excited now with ur preps. but dun stress out k? must remember to sleep n rest well.

ariesta

popie: ur shanghai night sounds cool...u and ur hb can go and do a shanghai tang entrance... wif ur hb wearing hat and scarf wor... tink pretty cool...Ur EG going to be CS to match the theme????

popie

ariesta,
i will definitely get a CS to wear at some point in time during the dinner. haha. i hv a fetish for cheena things. i might wana get that fur thing that the shanghai tan ladies wear around. hehe. depends on whether hubby game enough to play along with me. hahaha.

hows ur wedding preps so far?

ariesta

popie: haha, i agree, cheena stuffs are pretty cool... Beside CS, I luv their wooden/paper hand fans too... btw, how abt laced fan to go along wif the CS??? I tink it would be pretty cute too.. maybe ur hb hav fanatasy wif shanghai tan ladies too... hahaha~~~ ***MAD ME***

well, popie, so far didn't really prep for my wedding yet lei.. making a list of wat to do... but not really doing anything... starting on the video for my pics liao... album, in my BS's hands. guest list, still abit too early to settle... guo da li... not yet... this is first in my list... hahaha~~~

How abt u???

popie

ariesta, your suggestion sounds good. hehe. yah. will sit on it n discuss with hubby. haha. dun think he has fantasy for shanghai tan. he likes contemporary stuff. buy abit of teak wood furniture also cannot. hehehe.

wah video ah. do yourself? or sub-con to pros? u very advanced leh. haha. i still renovating. not even gone for first fit. wait till my renovation settled then the rest will flow in together, i hope. haha. who are u getting for ur AD video n photo?

ariesta

popie: im planning to DIY the "video"... but see how wor... i finally got a flat wor. can u pass mi ur reno contracts??? any issues working wif them??? hahaa~~~ now veri happie, after waiting for 2yrs finally got a flat!!!!

good thinking to settle the reno first... coz the house most impt thing wor... btw, my hb's fren will be doing the AD photography. tink he's been freelancing for the past few years wor... will post his link later... he is more of the journalistic type.

popie

ariesta,

i am in office now lah. tonite going for pilates class. send u some details later tonite k? after 9pm most likely.

ariesta

hi popie, sorrie for the late reply... been busy at work, earning OT for my reno... hahaha~~~
Thanks for the info!!! btw, can pass mi the contacts of strategic???

popie

in ur mail liao ariesta.
wahahaha. earn OT for reno. then u better work harder, then u will get a very very nice n porsh looking house. =P

popie

purple rain. sorry. no contacts from me. i am using the favours from nobel house. cant be bothered to go n do extra. hehehe

ariesta, dun worry lah. u dun hv but ur FH hv rite? hahaha.

popie

ariesta,
dun worry. jus do simple. do the flooring first. the rest slowly build up. got money all spend one short also heart ache. u do a bit at a time can DIY alot of things. can eventually save alot of money. =)

ariesta

i see... yup, im planning to get the floor and electrical wiring done up first... hahahaa~~~~~furnitures, must wait first....keekee.. wait til got sales...

popie

ariesta, me too waiting for sales. hehe. furniture not yet buy. wana buy deco to hang on walls also. hehe.

ariesta

hahaha... sorrie, mia soo long...
just back from overseas...

popie, i was tinking of getting a x'mas tree...keekee... can improve the atmosphere... i saw some veri cute lights, can hang around...

popie

wah. where u go? this thread so quiet without u leh... no one chat chat with me. hehehe

yes yes!!! the other day i went concourse and saw all the nice xmas trees. really feel like buying one home. my house still not ready yet. else sure buy. hehehe.
saw cute lights? hehe. u like the lights of xmas tree? buy xmas tree so u can hang the lights. hehehe. =P i v naughty hor? always suan ppl.

ariesta

popie: no lah...i really got tat idea lei... coz i tink x'mas tree with lights very nice...gives the hse a festive look.. love it! Mahahaha~~~~
without mi of coz lonely.... im sweet, nice, and talkative mah...(Puck) hahaha~~~ i went to thailand... got some wedding favours wif my fren so much tat we got xtra 200++...omg...

All: lelong lelong, got wedding favours to sell. to subsidise my hse reno cum wedding banquent abit...interested fellows pls email mi at [email protected] note tat i'll be slow to reply coz my company has banned yahoo mail....

popie

wahahahaha. so funny u. wat wedding favours u buy? aiyo. i really cannot be bothered leh. hehehe. jus take watever the restaurant going to give. me no time to think so much. hahaha.

yah. agree lor. got xmas lights really very nice. hehe. maybe i will buy for next year. hehe. then can dance around the tree... =P

ariesta

mwahahahaaa~~~~~ i bought some candles wor, handcrafted and was placed in a small little wooden box, pretty cute...keekeee, aiya.... i wanna kanna psycho'ed by my fren lor... soo scary wor... hahahaaa~~~~ Hmmmnnn~~~~ idea wor! Dancing ard the tree, why tat reminds mi of the cute indian dance mah! mi frens already got a tree for their new house!!!! tinking of buying 1st this year then next year.... Mwahahhahaha**Evil Sinister Laugh**
if we buy just be4 christmas, will be cheaper????

popie

hehee. u suddenly turn into a gremlin. sniggering here n there. hehehehe.

sounds cute leh, the candle in the box. hehe. must be very pretty one.

think they will sell xmas trees but very limited selection lor. dun think will b any cheaper cos the trees so big. definitely take up space in the shop, so they charge u for the rental. hehehe.

ariesta

wah, charging rental??? i hope not!!!! sigh, i do like the xmas tree, lightings.... best of all, presents!!!! yummy!!!!!

i take pic of the candle-in-box and yaya infront of u later... Mahahahaah~~~~~u got celebrate xmas????

popie

haha. then i go neh neh nee boo boo. hehehe.

dun really celebrate xmas. but it is a good time to gather with some old friends. so if there are ppl available, will go meet up with them lor.

ariesta

hahaha~~~ for my case is that my family r not christians, but we celebrate xmas religiously! Mahahahaa~~~ we got "santa" giving away presents, cousins singing carols... a xmas party.... hahahaa, it's a big production! but i prefer it when i was a kid... now my turn to give the kids presents liao...sigh!!!!

jojopepper

hi anise,
you can check out the packages from:
http://www.tunglok.com/index1.html

go to banquets->weddings and then choose noblehouse.

hi to everyone here,
i'm also having my AD dinner at noblehouse.

popie

ariesta. that is really very funny. hehe. but it is heartwarming to noe that there are still families like urs. these days everyone jus do their own stuff. sianz...

hi anise n jojopepper. =) when are ur ADs?

ariesta

popie: yup yup!! i tink its really rare. really wanna preserve this tradition too!!! but dun tink it will last lei... my older cousins starting to drift liao, now im hanging wif the kids....... btw u know when to look for veronica for the banquent thingy??? my wedding's in 4 mths lei....

HIIII jojopepper!!!

anise, btw, the prices are not inclusive of GST, SERVICE Charge, and CESS. hahaha

windcloud03

Hi ariesta,

I think there is no Service Charge, therefore max is 5 + 1 = 6%. This I check very carefully...haha.

Btw, that day I went to the Tung Lok teahouse at China Square level 3. I was having the ala carte buffet. The food was thought to be good but maybe because they do mass production for the buffet, it was not that nice. The curry gravy crab was bland and some other dishes were too salty. Only the deep fried soon hock we ordered 4 servings.

Hopefully, Noble House serves better food for mass productions.

A & B

jojopepper

hi popie & ariesta,
my AD is on 9 dec 06, supposedly very hot date..
how's preps for both of u so far?

hi A & B,
we actually chose noblehouse over hotels cos the food is gd (and huge servings!! haha)
let's think abt it this way...if the standard of the usual ala carte dishes is very gd, the standard of their "mass produced" dishes shouldn't be too far off even if standard drop a bit.

windcloud03

Hi jojopepper,

Yes, I certainly hope so. There is a rule which I will enforce on the banquet manager. Please SERVE the dishes HOT! I believe guests will prefer have a plate of nice, sizzling warm dish. In this case, if the food doesn't taste that good, then the heat will sort of cover that up! A nice trick...hehe

Wow, you still have some time to go before your AD. Ours is on 1 Jun 06.

A & B

jojopepper

hi A & B,
good one! i must make sure they serve the dishes hot for my dinner too
definitely hot food will please the gastrics more, unless it is the cold plate la...

ya...i still have ard 1 yr to go.
how long in advance will u be going for the food tasting??

ariesta

A&B: hahaha, u always right me when i say abt the service charge lei.... hahaha anyway, tats a good idea, i do like it if the food is served hot, all good food are HOT!!!! of coz minus the cold dishes..kekekee.... btw have u did ur preps for the dinner???

windcloud03

Hi jojopepper,

I plan to have the food tasting probably 2 months before the AD. Get a weekend when everyone is free and both sides of the family can get at least 5 a side. The only downside is that I can't persuade them to waive the half-price charge they are imposing for the session. However, I will try to switch some of the dishes in the menu though. My dad is very particular about food and will spare no effort to alter or even upgrade the menu...what the...<sign>

A &amp; B

windcloud03

Hi ariesta,

No lah, just trying to count the chickens before they are hatched. I really need to check the cost and extras (wine, favours, biscuits etc).

There are a couple of things I would want to settle with the banquet manager. I need to know if they have flower petals to be given to guests or included in the decorations. I think will also want to change the carpet from red to other colours (like brown, gold or white). I don't know why but I just don't like red carpet. Maybe because I am not a star ;)

A &amp; B

sha08ron

Is it necessary to go for wedding shows by tunglok to book banquet? Any difference in things that are included in the package? Do people juz walkin and ask for booking for their preferred dates or they can ask to block the date they want? Maybe can enlighten me on the procedure. My intended date is Sept/ Oct 06. Issit too late to book with noble house? Thanks for your reply...

Sharon

windcloud03

Hi Sharon,

No, you need not go to wedding shows from Tung lok. Yes, find out more about the different wedding menus and package details they provide in their website. If you have decided to have your wedding at any of the Tung Lok restaurants, you can go down to their venues by making an appt with the banquet manager. For Noble House, you can look for Veron or Julia. My coordinator is Julia and she is a nice lady. It should not be too late but try to block out the date early to avoid disappointment because people can book up to 1 - 1.5 years in advance. Especially if yours is a weekend or a hot day. Noble House collects a standard deposit of $2100 regardless of how many tables you book. Then your date will be secured. Try to discuss with your partner and parents and go down to view the place. Have fun planning and keep checking back this thread for more information or you can leave your questions. I believe the rest of the brides or bridesgrooms will be glad to help.

A &amp; B

ariesta

AB: tink they got flower petals on every tables lei, but u must confirm wif them. ahahaa, im tinking firesparkles but afraid will cause smoke/fire alarm....dun know lah... many stupid ideas, all not feasible...no red carpet???mahahaha~~~ i diff from u lei, i quite like red carpet... i know abit obiang but .......hahahahaa~~~~~~~

windcloud03

Hi ariesta,

Yes, but we are planning to ask our assistants to get a flower basket to sprinkle flower petals at us (kind of waste). Haha, red carpet don't really match pink gown. I will have to call and ask them, so many things to consider...<sign>

A &amp; B