Noble House

windcloud03

hi popie,

i signed up only on wed. Yes, if i knew, then i would probably have waited during the wedding fair. anyway, most important thing now is to get as much possible from the banquet manager. Think Julia is not that experienced, she still has to seek advice from Veronica, Anthony is new though and he seems friendly. I will call my parents and in-laws to go down and nego if necessary. My AD is on 1st June 06, Thu. So should not be that difficult to book. Initial estimate is 50 tables (a big big hole in my pocket) but I am cutting down to around 40, thats why I nego for the 20 litre beer.

A & B

ariesta

A&B, Popie: yup yup!!! Veri rare to see NH giving concessions~~~ tink the fair would be good but then afraid by the time got fair, dun hav my date liao... So nbr wait for the fair...

windcloud03

Thanks for giving tips that guests can park at the public car park. This is another downside of NH, guests have no complimentary (expected to pay for the $2 fee). How much is the parking at Prince Edward road?

A & B

popie

A&B, one thing to take note tho, at NH, the main hall can oni contain at most, after squeezing everyone in, 42 tables. the rest will go into the private rooms. n there are no tvs for u to pipe ur live video to. so if there is a high possibility that ur tables will expand beyond 42 tables, u might wana reconsider ur venue.

i m saying this cos i had the same problems as u. after thinking very carefully, n discussing with my parents n in-laws did we finally decide to take NH. the venue is really not very expandable. =)

ariesta,
sorry. missed ur PS. how was ur PS?? everything went well?

ariesta

popie: hahaha~~~ It was raining on my PS!!!! Sob sob!!!! soo sad... i purposely chose Oct so tat will not kanna the rainy season, in the end still kanna it... sucks!!!!

popie

ariesta: oh no! then how? did u hv to postpone ur PS? hope everything turned out fine tho... i have frenz who kena rain on PS. but the photos turned out really good. so dun worry. =)

windcloud03

hi popie,

thanks for the reminder. actually i am reducing the tables to around 40 tables and below, hopefully i can squeeze everyone in the main hall and the sides. discuss with your parents and in-law, i am sure they will be understanding to know this fact. i was at NH to talk to the banquet manager and there was a wedding going on...managed to catch all the 43 tables in action, like a marketplace, so noisy...but there is no choice if you have a lot of relatives and friends and trying to accomodate a tight budget.

cheerios
A & B

ariesta

popie: hahaha~~~~~ we still had to go on wif it mah... got to pay $$ if change to another date as we hav already started the indoor shoots... the sunset was nice... hahaha~~

A&B: since u took 40 tables, will u be bookin the whole place???

popie

A&B,
yah, both sides are very nice abt accomodating to the limited space n budget we have. hehe =) i also went down to hv a look when there was a wedding. agree. very crowded. quite cramp to b precise... =) hehe. but everything else is so nice abt the place.

ariesta, even if u book 40 tables, the private rooms will still b open to the walk-in customers. but they will enter the restaurant from the side door. they will not enter from the main entrance into the banquet area. already asked my coordinator abt this. also went NH for dinner once when there was a private function going on. we were led in from the side, i.e. where the sofas n alcohol closets are.

btw, which BS r u using? nice sunsets... definitely look good in photos one =) must b v dreamy n romantic.

oooh. so exciting!!! 2 public holis next week. hv a great week ahead everyone.

ariesta

popie: hahaha~~~ my BS is French Bridal. Abit sad abt my PS coz mi MUA got mi eyes one big one small... soo sad... selecting pics on 5th Nov...Oh NOooo~~~~~ Bawahahha~~~~ Sentosa was my 3rd choice, but the sunset was indeed beautiful... u hav a great wk too! Enjoy and make full use of the 2 hols!!! So wat BS u using too????

windcloud03

hi ariesta,

yes, probably around 3/4 of the main hall, the banquet manager agrees to close the side along if we won't be using that stretch with the pillars blocking. But they will still be opening to the public for walk-in diners.

regards
A & B

ariesta

A&B and popie: i see, tats quite nice...btw i was tinking abt wat u guys say tat the place will be abit cramp, actually u guys can tink of it as cozy mah. It will b quite fun! but must take care wor, coz i know of 88 restaurant also veri cramp, such tat the waiters there actually accidentally poured some water onto the guests. So u guys may want to highlight this to NH bah...

popie

wahahaha. cosy! hehe. true lor. then turn to left can talk to 1st uncle, turn behind can talk to 4th aunty, and turn right can talk to 3rd daughter of 2nd aunty. hehehe. crappy... holiday mood. that y like that.

ariesta:
how u noe ur photos will turn out looking like eyes one big one small? dun worry. wait till u select photos then u see lor. photos out liao must share ah... btw, my BS is seletar broadway @ AMK.

ariesta

popie: hahaa~~~ yeah man, then they can all yak away!!! hhahaaa~~~yup yup... will share, share. btw i know its one eye big one eye small coz i got use digi cam to take pics after the makeup...veri sad lor... going to tell my MUA abt it!!!!!

blissfulme

hey ladies,
i wet to the NH wedding show last sat.. pretty gd, with nice food and free Style Wedding mag. but i booked my banquet with them in sep, coz i worry by the time i go for the wedding show, all the dates will be too late for me liao. so i juz go n soaked in the atmostphere. my sales is Veronica very nice lady.

Ariesta, u use french bridal? i juz went to U-bridal last sat for 1st gown selection, kinda disappted with their EG. they seemed to have downsized to a 2nd-storey shophouse.. so crammed. even the fitting room is makeshift with curtains only. so they squeeze tailor, sales, fitting, studio n display area all into a tiny 2nd floor. am considering shd i switch my pkg to french bridal.

Dear A&B,
wat wedding biscuits are u talking abt? are they for wedding favours for the AD, or the giveaway cakes for GDL? they show us a pic of like 14-16 piece of chinese pastry, meant for DGL, $18 per box. nice pkg.. but exp leh

popie

Bliss,

my coordinator is veronica too! =) yah. agree she is very nice. always serve me liang cha when i go n meet her. hehe.

u mean NH also supplies GDL cakes? is it the cantonese kind, like got all the "marry daughter" pastry? tink the traditional pastries cost abt that leh. i am a teochew myself. intending to get traditional pastries for the older folks at home. they cost abt $17 per box too.

ariesta

Bliss: actually the EG at FB also abit cannot make it.. but tink i quite lucky, or 'contended', managed to find one tat i like. FB got some nice EG, but veri limited lor... Best if u can look at the EGs at FB first ba. WG-wise, its quite okay, (i lov their champagn gowns) but they hav veri little low back gowns ba. Btw, BLISS is having wedding fair at taka.. can go there and look see look...

Bliss, Popie: ahaha~~~ my coordinator is Veronica too!!!!

windcloud03

Hi Bliss,

Yes, those chinese biscuits are $18 per box nett. They told me that I could exchange the mini-chocs for the biscuits but have to top up around $6 per box. I am trying to negotiate with them to check if I can get lesser boxes in exchange for all the mini-chocs. The biscuits can be served to the groom and brides' relatives during AD. We will be getting our own wedding favours. Try to negotiate with Anthony or Veron.

A & B

popie

A&B, u mean if u top up $6 per box, everyone of ur guests will get a box of chi biscuits? so u r chging ur favours provided by NH to something u will b buying urself?

popie

piggymin, i din get free flow of beer. i din neg for it too, cos no need to. we will be providing wine also. wine plus beer would b enough to last whole nite liao. =)

rowen, wat did u win?

ariesta

hi piggy, i've got free flow beer, but thats the promo for tat particular month onli lor.... did not bargain for it... sigh veri hard to get concessions from NH....

popie

ariesta,
i second you on that man! really quite hard to negotiate with them. but they are not rude. that's the thing. hahaha.

piggymin

orh.. thanks wor.. seem like NH is reall strict leh.. =p

wa seh.. so lucky!
If we had paid the deposit le, can we use those vouchers still?

windcloud03

Hi popie,

Yes, either you top up with cash for each box or try to exchange the mini-chocs with a number of biscuits that you want but definitely not 10 mini-chocs to 1 box of biscuits as they kept saying the biscuits are more expensive. Not one guest per box of biscuits...then I think it will be very expensive.

I will be getting my own wedding favours...currently sourcing for mini-bears or keychains for a budget of $1 to $1.50.

A & B

windcloud03

Hi ariesta,

I have some contacts for wedding favours, if you are interested, give me your email so I can forward to you. Most importantly, set yourself a budget as some really nice gifts are above $2.

A & B

windcloud03

Hi piggymin,

Try to negotiate with them, I think they can be persuaded. Getting 20litre free flow of beer is only available as what they mention you need to get the most expensive menu. However, try to up the table from 30 to 35 and tell them to give u the free beer if you getting the 2nd package. Ask them to waive the corkage as well. Be tough, ask your parents and in-laws to go with you!

A & B

Try to talk to the manager; Veronica cos i have signed up the package with her.Very nice lady and she is willing to listen to your needs and wants and will advised you what to do nad will try to throw in whatever she can...

ariesta

andrew: hi there!!! hahaha~~~ (Xian Xia Shou wei qiang) U signed up during the fair??? wat u meant by wedding date on 29th, but dinner on 30th.... Ur wedding = Rom??? hahaha~~~ i confuse easily... i agree tat veronica is veri nice, she helped me to convince mi hb to take NH... but im just sad tat they are charging mi GST, CESS, and Service Charge (actually i tink she waive off one of the charges but most restaurant normally charge NET price mah...)...but then hor, so far, tats still one of the top restaurants to hold dinner wor... hahahaha~~~~~ btw, i got a fren holding at NH too, 1 mth after mine... hahahaha~~~~

ariesta:

No i book my package on Aug but acutally going to hold my wedding on Nov 06 but my parents told me that 29/04 is the best date for me and my wife so have to push forward,so when we went down,you have already paid the deposit so no choice have to book the dinner on the 30/04 but my customery will be on the 29/04 then check in the M hotel on the 30/04 for the dinner.

but i think the serivce charge is wavied they only charge GST and CESS,but even they charge both GST and CESS the package still not so x as compare to hotels.My wife and i actually like the set up.

ariesta

andrew/Charlotte: thanks thanks for comforting mi... hahaha~~ maybe coz NH was actually out of my budget, soo im abit sad ba... but then hor... no regrets. coz soo many good reviews abt it... except my MIL ba... hahhaha~~~

popie

hello andrew,
u r not the onli one without free flow lah. so dun worry. i also dun hv. i actually compensate with wine lor. bo bian. but veronica shared her experience with us. told us depending on ur guests. if u supply beer, usually 1 barrel will be enough to last the night of about 35-40 tables. cos most ppl will drink wine anyway. think u should talk to veronica about this. she can help u plan. cos she will be the one running the show for the dinner that day. she got alot of exeprience leh. anyway my coordinator is also veronica. find her very nice n zai.

ariesta, ur photo very nice leh!!! hehe. simple n good. take at roadside also take till so nice n pro. hehe. like the whole world stop for the 2 of u like that. i like!

ariesta

andrew/charlotte: i booked it may/June. tink then got some beer promo thingy lor....

popie: hahaha~~~thanks.. but thats not the best pics.. these r pics tat i tink is nice but not suited for the album....hahaha **Thick skin Thick skin*** The photographer veri good at catching the moment... ***actually we posed for a long time for him to take pic.....***

Hi popie:
But not so bad cos she gave mi a barrel of beer then if not enough then top up now looking ard for wine cos i found a wine factory near my hse willing to sell mi wine for $13/- per bottle then if cannot finish can return back to them

popie

hey u guys,

wat kinda wedding theme u going to hv? are u intending to make it like shanghai nite or something? anyone tailoring cheong sam? hehe. i got alot of wacky ideas. but think everyone think i siao. hahaa.

popie,
i did ask them abt the theme but i think we are not allowed to choose cos according to them they will use the same theme for every couple unless they come up with new themes. What kind of wacky idea you have in mind like to share.