Noble House

popie

hi linda,

deposit is $2100. if i m not wrong its standard for all. u can go back n think after negotiating. but make sure u dun pay deposit first before u decide wat are the things that u want in ur package. cos when u pay deposit they will give u the contract n all the terms n conditions n all the things u negotiated for will b stated in that contract.

shininstar

I had my dinner ay NH last Dec. Generally, things went quite ok until nearer to the dinner. My coordinator resigned and I was "passed on" to julia. Julia did try her best. But NH can be a bit dishonest. We told them right from the very beginning that we would be using the piano and they promised to tune i in time. When I went down for rehearsal and trying out of our CDs, my cousin, the pianist realised that one of the pedals cannot work. They told me they had tuned it 1 week ago. Another middle-aged woman, dont know whether she is Veronica but that name kind of rings a bell, insisted they have tuned it lat week and that they could not do anything since they have tuned it. Then later, I was dissatisfied and the same middle-aged woman put me through to someone from the office and guess what, the lady over the phone told me that the last time they tuned the piano was in January 2004! At that point in time, it was December. So the time lapse was actually 1 year and not 1 week as the restaurant claimed.. Ha! In the end, they still tried to stall things by immersing themselves in preparing another banquet and ignoring me as I was doing my rehearsal at the piano and waiting for their reply. So I was real mad by then and marched up to my coordinator in front of another couple who came down to view the place I supposed, that if something is not done, I would pass it on to my dad to handle them and I told her to be rest assured that things will definitely turn out ugly. I packed up and left. Then, when I went home, I emailed a complaint to all possible in Tung Lok. Some chief Op. Of. came down on my banquet and the middle-aged woman was much better after that too. So beware, especially if you are using their piano. Insist on your rights. Tho' they are really reputable for their food and service, they can be a tad too much at times. *My dad is not really that scary or powerful. He is just tall and has this very serious demeanour..I am petite and looks like I am still in school altho' I am in mid-20s so they do not take me seriously, i guess.

summergirl

Hi Quan_gie,

I have rec'd ur PM, but i think maybe I post my reply to u here, so that we all can discuss/share...

Yes, NH do not charge 10% svc charge. & their pkg can be found on their website & is kinda standard, maybe u would like to take a look.

quan_gie

hi christine,

thanks for your reply. other than the standard pkg listed on the website, what other additional perks/freebies can neg for?

anybody manage to neg for other stuffs?

is it good to work with veronica?

summergirl

hi gie,

their pkg can be quite standard, personally, i feel they're not like hotel banquets where we could ask for quite a nos of perks... maybe can try waiver for wine/liquour corkages, & probably on the decorations stuff... they can be quite flexible though...

I've had my contract signed with Veronica, she's a nice lady, quite accomodating...

HTHs!

popie

hi gie,

i also signed my package with veron. she is really good. in fact she saved me from another banquet sales manager who was a real b****. apologies abt my language. but she really gave me hell even before i signed the contract.

hi S, how is everything?

sandralum

Hi popie,
so far so good lor...
banquet is end of next yr so hv not done any preparation yet... looking ard for bridal shop though..

How r u?

popie

i'm doing doing fine sandra. am scouting around for ID now. r u buying a new house? hows' the reno so far?these ID selection driving me nuts. very stressful. cos its so hard to shortlist a good ID.

quan_gie

hi christine,

the nett price per table is the listed price + 5% GST only? any other +++? the listed prices (weekend) are $498, $558 and $648. so the nett prices are $522.90, $585.90 and $680.40?

yvo

I'm new to this thread but will need some advise for NH. I've also signed up with NH & my wedding is Jan 06. Will need help on the following questions:

1) Since they do not have the compilmentary car pass, did anyone of you actually did try to ask them if there's any other way you can pay for your guest's parking?

2) NH is not providing any emcee, so most probably i will be getting my frens to be the emcee. Anyone have any emcee's speech to spare or how did you plan to go about the emcee thingy?

3) The package that i've booked does not includes the complimentaryhotel stay, any suggestion how do i go about it if i actually prefer to have a hotel saty? Did you gals booked directly with e hotel or NH can actually be the middle man but we pay for the hotel stay?

Reali hope will get your valuable advises. Thank you :>

summergirl

hi gie,

yes, u've to add GST & 1% cess charge...
Have u went down to check out the pkg already?

hi yvonne,

can check with them on the hotel bookings, they do hv special rate at certain hotels if i m not wrong...

popie

hi yvonne,

i tried asking them about parking. but they got no solution for that. their explanation was that they do not want to be responsible towards the mgmt if the guests loses the car pass, cos they need to pay $50 per car pass lost. also, it would not be nice to let the wedding couple pay for the lost. so they decided not to give. u might wana consider giving $2 in red packets. hehe. think parking is $2 per entry after working hours.

the hotel that is tied in with NH is M-Hotel. My package does not hv free hotel stay too. but i m not going to sign up for hotel stay. so not an issue for me. u might wana chk with ur coordinator, so that they can help u arrange for hotel stay?

ann_kam

Hi Sandra

Nice to meet u 2..
i been surfing this forum for quite sometime, just tt i not sure what to say so seldom post.

sandralum

Same here...my AD is still quite some time away so I haven't planned much..but still feeling excited about it anyway
Hope the food and ambience won't dim the wedding atmosphere..

ann_kam

Sandra, i not attending cos i have booked the date with them when they have a fair at club chinos few mth ago.

u going? do let me know what perks they offer u cos tt time they only give me 5% discount..

sandralum

Popie,
No la...just that it's quite disheartening to hear the complaints from ppl who have attended wedding dinners at NH. I have not attended dinners at NH myself so dunno what to expect. Hopefully the wedding show will give me an idea of how it'll be like...

Sometimes this kinda things also hard to say cos if u get bad-mood-waitresses or cooks serving u on the most impt day of ur life u really can't do anything...so hopefully the ambience and food will life the moods of our guests who come to send their blessings...

Ann, I walked in to sign my package so did not get much discounts...will update u on the promos at the NH show ...

ariesta

Hi All, i'm new to this thread. I also signed up wif veronica. its abit on the ex lor. soo nbr really wanna look at it again... hhahaha~~~~~

normally wat time will the restaurant end???

popie

Sandra, icic. for me i hvnt heard bad remarks abt NH so far leh. all my frenz who noe i booked NH said the place is very good for its food. n no complaints about service too. if your guests are sincere, i'm sure they wont complain. cheer up gal!

hmmm...when n where is the NH show? i might wana go down n hv a look. FOC?

ariesta

popie: well, my mil was complaining abt their food potion, not enuff. But recently my frens give an ROM lunch at NH, not bad, food definately enuff. But i dun know abt banquet.
btw, tink the NH will cost $$. u go to the Summary of Bridal show thread to check the venue, date and time ba.

egamibao

Popie,
the coming Tunglok show is at Nobel House itself lor...29/10 afternoon. I think its $18.
I'll like to see how the place is done up, whether cramp anot..lighting..music system..stage etc lor..so tt i'll know what to look out for next yr...

popie

ariesta,
icic. cos i heard from others that NH portion is good. quite alot. hmmm... not sure also. btw, i also signed with veron.

ahger,
orh... $18. ok. thanks for the info.

sandralum

do you think NH will be a little out of the way for the guest?

my hubby and i had quite a hard time locating the venue the previous time we went there...:p

popie

Sandra, have you booked ur package?

hubby and i had some troubles getting there initially too. but i think we can always beat that prob by providing guests with a detailed map or direction to the restaurant. think for drivers its much easier. wat i really like abt the place tho, was the parking. cos i m holding my dinner on weekends, that place would be traffic free and there will definitely be ample parking for everyone.

ariesta

popie: My hubby just went for a wedding there. tink the food not enuff for the guys. (Maybe too many guys in one table???) but the ambience is veri nice.

Sandralum: i tink NH shld be quite easily located. It's near MRT ma. tink popie's suggestion is good. I was tinkin of posting signs leading from the MRT to the restaurant.

sandralum

popie, ariesta: Ya I've booked my date already. It's on a weekend too. Thank goodness the map of place is printed on the invitation card.

It's not really near MRT leh... we tried walking too and took at least 15min from the MRT. No signage either so it's not that easy to locate UIC building.

If you drive, u have to turn into a particular road in as there's quite some construction ard the area so some roads are not so direct.

popie

ariesta,
icic. think tung lok is always like that bah. haha. up maket restaurant. cant be serving like chi cha stall like that. hahaha. tell our guests to eat light snacks before attending the wedding. hehehe.

wah... post signs along the way ah. think need to ask LTA for permission leh. but i think i will provide an idiot proof map that tells ppl where to stop n how to walk there lor. singapore so convenient, at most ask them to take mrt to raffles place then flag cab. hehehe. then those meanie taxi drivers will laugh. =P

jus had a heavy lunch. getting abit hyper. hahaha.

yvo

Hi popie,

thanks for your feedback on the complimentray parking... :>

So for ur dinner r u planning to give red packets of $2 each for guests who r driving??

My package also do not hav e hotel saty, am still considering if i shld book one...well mayb not..hee...

Ive got another prob, tt is most of our frens(esp guy frens) ride bikes but it seems that the carpark at UIC buidling doesn't allows parking of bikes, any idea where's the nearest place for parking of bikes?

btw how's ur preparation so far?

ariesta

Yvonne: U mean no carparks for bikers???!!! Oh no!! my frens also go by bikes!

Popie: i was tinking of asking the LTA ppl but dun know if it is veri troublesome, must design the cards.... haizzz.... hmnn, since the card got details, then nbr mind lor. can save on my troubles, mawahahahah~~~~ hahah i was tinking of serving my guests food first, cos my cousins are like hungry ghosts, so far all the dinners they go to, all not enuff food. but veronica told mi b4 tat cannot serve outside food lei.

Sandra: So whens ur AD???

yvo

ariesta: yup, the other time when we went there for recee, we actually saw a sign at the entrance of the car-park saying no bike is allowed in the carpark.

Not sure if this had been changed since the other time when we were there, its like more than half yr ago. Will be going down next weekend for test-print of invitations, will update you should there be any changes :>

popie

Yvonne: no prob. we all here to share share mah. hehe.i not giving $2 ang pao. too troublesome. think $2 per entry oni. not big sum. let ppl pay. think most ppl wont mind. if those really so ngiao, then ask them deduct from ang pao. hahahaha. auspicios number $*8 wwahahha.
i tot i ever saw space for bike parking. not sure. maybe hallucinating. but quite dangerous for bikes to go up. cos the carpark is long n winding leh... duno where is nearest also. is there an open car park next to UIC building? not sure....

me ah. still renovating my house. my AD much later, july 06. jus settled on ID oni. so quite chialat. this nov/dec shld b going for first fitting (duno is it call first fitting). go try cutting oni. the rest come later.

ariesta: i not sure if the cards got details anot leh. i think shld hv lah. hahaha. leave it to my guests. if i got extra time then i design somethnig lah. ahahhaha. so many things to do for wedding!!!
i also ask veron before leh. i say my helpers go earlier, can they serve abit of food first. like give me complimentary fried noodles for abt 20 pax cos they very poor thing. help me do work, nothing to eat. she say very politely said cannot. hahaha. think i ask too much liao. hehehe.

blissfulme

hey ladies,
i've also signed up with NH for my 19mar06 dinner
so glad to chance upon this thread.

my FH and i decided on this place coz it can accomodate very big crowd within our tight budget hahah.

i went down the place twice when they have a wedding dinner ..the place quite nicely done up leh..i mean for resturant standard lah
the price also quite reasonable. I'm comparing with pearl river at suntec, tung lok liang court, gim tim at grassroot club (yck mrt). also, some their chairs come with covers, moz resturants i asked charged u 6-10bucks PER chair.. so exp ar...

thou we already signed up for it, we have decided to go for the 29oct wedding show..hehe to have a gd look at the place and also to see the wedding gowns..coz im going for my wedding gown fitting end oct

hmm.. a few of u feedback abt the food portion.. if dats true im worried.. coz my PIL are very particular abt food.. but come to think of it, i tot usu wedding dinner always got many leftover?

ariesta

sandra: mine's 29-Apr-06. Hahaha, taking mi pics tomorrow. Veri scary, just saw the news tat the rest of the mth will be raining veri heavily!!!! Ohh Nooo~~~~~~

Yvonne: Thanks alot!! must find the bikers' parking lots. hahahaa~~~

Popie: yeah, the carpark is abit unfrenly, infact the last time we went there, damn nearly hit the wall... hahahaha~~~~ my hubby was veri paiseh... Actually, i dun tink tat asking them for fried noodles is too much. the whole banquent is cozting us $18k (for mid-range, 30tables), wats a plate of noodles??? but then tink NH's like tat, they dun really give much concessions one. So nbr mind ba.

liviakoh

hi bliss, u said u compared NH with Gim tim at grassroot club (yck mrt)... so why do u choose NH? hee.. coz i also now comparing these few restaurants.. please advice.. thanks..

ariesta

olivia: actually i also considered Gim Tim @ YCK grassroot club. The pros are that the food will be really good, prices are also reasonable.

The cons is the ambiance and location, the club looks okay but then its in YCK lor. And the deco looks abit old (i onli saw the restaurant, maybe the function hall will not be too bad, but then the management will be in-charge of the deco so i was not willing to take the risk, hahahaha). Another con is tat, they can serve up to 4 wedding banquets on the same nite!!! So then the carpark will be a problem, ur guest must then park in the nearby swimming complex.

ariesta

my mil didn't want bliss garden coz its in Expo. My hb family and frens are from the westside of singapore... Soo didn't even go to see bliss lor... haizzz, then qian xi was in farrer park. coz its veri near little India, so as u walk to the restaurant, got some coconut or something smell which i dun like. but the restaurant is oky, but deco like-wise not fantasic.

(can see tat i chose NH coz of the deco..) If ur family and frens got car, u can try Pioneer Spring in Mount Faber SAFRA. nice deco, good food just not accessible.

yvo

ariesta: Juz went to NH over the wkends, confirm that bikes are not allowed to go up the carpark in NH. But not to worry, there's a public carpark at Prince Edward Link Road - 5mins walk from NH :> By the way, when NH print the inserts for you, there will also print the directions to NH from Tanjong pagar mrt stt :>

popie: Happy trying of gowns & renovating of your love-nest (^_^)

blissfulme

hey olivia,
i compared NH with GimTim at YCK and Pearl River at Suntec..ended up with NH. Reason for not selecting GimTim is same as Ariesta, deco yucks leh and VERY limited carpark.. Pearl River doesnt come with chair cover, and u got to pay $6 per chair cover, which will make up to $60 per table. and dinner price is abt $500plus..so NH sounds the best liao. NH deco is nice, personally seen it twice, location is considered central lah..food wise no worry

hellokitty,
if u are an UOB cardmember, and is attending the wedding show this weekend (which is sat, im going!!) u get the following perks PROVIDED u opt for the 0% instalment Plan upon placing dep:
1) cash rebate of up to 15% disct on all standard wedding pkg
2) $100 dining voucher
3) waiver of wine corkage for your banquet..
i've emailed u my pkg

windcloud03

hi Bliss,

I signed up wif NH but I didn't know that I can get such good deals at the wedding show. OMG, 15% off standard wedding package is a lot. Anyway, I managed to get waiver of wine corkage and 20 litre beer for a secured 40 tables by signing up the 538++ weekday package. As for the mini chocs, my coordinator Julia said that have to top up $6 for each box of wedding biscuits which the other coordinator Anthony said was free of charge. But Julia seems honest enough to tell me that I have to top up for the biscuits. Hopefully, you can tell me your experience when talking to the banquet managers.

A & B

popie

oh Bliss, i din noe there were such good offers too. should hv signed up during the wedding fair instead.

A&B, when did u sign? i also signed with NH not during their wedding fair. wat a waste. could hv saved 15% rite? i got corkage waived too. think this is pretty standard. but hv to negotiate tho. they will usually give it to you. when is ur AD anyway?