WOW.. ur MIL really gave you no face on your most important day.
Ur MIL have son complex , so she always see you as enemy stealing her son affection.
Does she only act nice when you are with ur hubby? I know my MIL is full of smile when my hubby around, then back to her b*t*** face when only with me. MIL wants her son to treat her better than his wife. When we went cafe and choose cake slice, my MIL always choose more expensive one. Then she gave me a "victory" glare.
MIL problem always tough . Hubby protect his mom and MIL act victimised when we complained about her.
actually, that's what i thought of before. she's unhappy that her son can no longer give her 100% attention but shouldn't she understand? we are already 'giving in' by staying with them for this period of time but i really want to move out.
and now that u mention, yes. most of her 'sarcastic' remarks to me are made when my husband isn't anywhere near me. there was once i did feedback to my husband and he said that i was thinking too much and that's how my MIL talks. but from what i remember, i don't recall her making such remarks in that specific tone. if she's joking, i know. like for e.g there was once when my husband and i made an appt with the hair salon to get our hair done for our upcoming wedding. my MIL knew and wanted to go on the same day too, but we told her to go earlier because our appt was at 3pm. (btw, all of us uses the same hairstylist) so when we went down at 3pm, my MIL havent even started dying her hair.. so we had to wait for around an hour or so. i stepped into the salon first and greeted my MIL while my husband went to the gents. when he came in, he immd sat beside me n talked to me.. the hairstylist and my MIL was whispering sth when the hairstylist jokingly commented "wha u nvr see ur mum ah?" then my husband was like "got ah". so he shuffled between sitting beside me and going up to my MIL n talk to her. that's when i can see that my MIL's replies were very cold already and i sensed she was unhappy. but i just kept quiet.
then when finally it was my turn ard 4pm (my husband was still waiting), i was sitting nxt to my MIL. throughout the whole period, we didnt talk, AT ALL. my husband was sitting at the other end of the salon. then while my MIL was steaming her hair, the hairstylist washed my hair and when i got back to my seat, my MIL was done too. the hairstylist ask "so who should go first?". initially i replied anything so i'll leave it to the hairstylist to decide. but immediately, i changed my reply and said "oh let my MIL go first bah.." as a form of 'respect'. u know what my MIL commented? "ya lor. just let her sit there and wait" - not with the joking kind of tone. u can see the sarcasm n unhappiness from her face. its not like we were talking n joking thruout at all. both of us DID NOT talk a single word, and out come this kind of comment? of course my husband didnt hear. but i feedback to him and we had this tiny argument because he said that's how the mum talks & that i was making a big fuss. but the last thing i know, the mum has nvr talked sarcastically to anyone before (maybe except me).
and as per my previous post on the photo taking one when she gave me that sarcastic comment too, my husband wasn't beside me at that moment. so... yea. i guess she only does this when my husband is not around me.
sigh.
My friend just share with me yesterday.. We have to treat our MIL like our own mother.. Her MIL even told her that she is glad that she has my friend as a daughter in law coz she don't have a daughter..
I guess i will be having my own tough fight when I stay with my in law after my wedding..
Correction: You have to treat your MIL BETTER than your mom!
When you buy gift to your mom, your MIL wants too. She expect even better gift and more respect because we follow hubby family.
It's just against my rule of why I should treat MIL better when my mom is the one who raised me.
i PERFECTLY agree with this. apparently on my wedding day, my MIL wasnt very happy that im so close and keep talking to my relatives rather than talking to their side. and she also got quite unhappy when my relatives talked to my husband n i together n take pictures. she expects us to be closer to the guy's side.
i dont get it. whats wrong huh????
When you buy gift to your mom, your MIL wants too. She expect even better gift and more respect because we follow hubby family.
It's just against my rule of why I should treat MIL better when my mom is the one who raised me.
i PERFECTLY agree with this. apparently on my wedding day, my MIL wasnt very happy that im so close and keep talking to my relatives rather than talking to their side. and she also got quite unhappy when my relatives talked to my husband n i together n take pictures. she expects us to be closer to the guy's side.
i dont get it. whats wrong huh????
i agree on this completely. ^_^There are also Monster-in-laws who raise daughters to terrorise their husbands and cannot let go of their child. Just realise that in laws should never interfere in a marriage and cause it to breakdown. Mama's boys and girls should not bother getting married to cause pain to others. Just stick to parents until they die.
My MIL went to the fortune teller AFTER my marriage and ask about the marriage.
Fortune teller said "extremely good match". She LL.
is your htb a mamma boy to start?Hi... im new to this thread and sad that i have to look for an outlet on this topic. Sigh...
Would like to know if there is anyone with a MIL who is nice but passive aggressive?
Im having problems dealing with the way she does things but HTB doesn't see it as an issue. He always says that thats how his mom is and she has no ill intentions.. i know that but it still bothers me. How do u manage ur HTB and get him to be on your side? I feel quite alone in this because i cant tell my mom (who will definitely be very worried for me)
TBH i didnt use to see him as a mamma boy.. he is filial, the kind that will wake up early to do grocery shopping with her, respectful, caring etc. I actually like that about him. She was also not demanding so we were rarely in a situation that he needs to pick a side.is your htb a mamma boy to start?
TBH i didnt use to see him as a mamma boy.. he is filial, the kind that will wake up early to do grocery shopping with her, respectful, caring etc. I actually like that about him. She was also not demanding so we were rarely in a situation that he needs to pick a side.
But after the engagement, she started telling me some expectations in private (without my HTB around). And some of these expectations were inconsistent from what was told to me before the engagement. E.g. she told me for the past few years that she is open to us staying with my mom since my mom is a single parent. But since the engagement, she has told me twice privately that we must stay for at least 4 mths with them after the wedding, be it our BTO is ready or not. its not a big deal to me but it kind of make me trust her a lot lesser these days. She also makes decisions on our behalf e.g. family trip to happen a month after our AD when i don't feel like going on that trip. But the way she put it is like FYI we are all going to this country after ur wedding. I dont feel like i have a say in things, and HTB feels that she is just being nice to include us in family trips and dont see the issue with that.
Yeah agree just feel sad and lonely that HTB doesn't see my point and often downplay my concerns...u will take some time to adjust...
its not that she is a bad person.. its human nature...
when we see u a little bit here and there, we present our best self to u..
when u see us daily, in and out, u will see our laziest, self-centre self... humans ba
Hmmm..I kind of disagree with the perspective about whether one should treat MIL better or worse than own mum because it's the heart and sincerity that matter.
It seems to me that such a mentality already clearly sets a negative context to begin with. Maybe we should search our own souls and think about whether we have genuinely treated MILs with pure love and sincerity.
I think the difference with our own moms and MIL is that we can be who we really are with our own mom but always more tactful around MIL? Like for myself, im a vocal person at home and my mom is used to my personality.. But my in laws are more reserved and i dont think they can accept the real me / what i say might offend them since they are not used to it. I think i treat my future in laws with love and sincerity but still will feel abit uneasy and not natural around the in laws. Kinda tiring.
I'm willing to try to have the right mindset but i'm not sure how best to manage the in law relationship whenever an issue pops up. I'm in a situation now that i would like to seek your advice... before the engagement she used to tell me that after the wedding, we can stay with my mom who is a single parent. So i had been telling my mom this for the past few years and she is very happy. But after the engagement she is telling me a different thing. I don't dare to question what changed her mind, yet i dont know how to inform my mom that my MIL changed her mind. Im worried that if i manage this poorly, the relationship between my mom and my MIL will be damaged as well. This leaves me really frustrated.. should i tell my MIL honestly about how i feel?You think there are differences and that's why I said there's no true love and sincerity here. If you love your hubby, you'll love his family and treat them like yours. What's the difference? Sure, you would be more tactful with a MIL compared to ur own mum but that doesn't mean there should be 'uneasiness' or worse, 'tiring' experience. All these to me sound rather immature because it's like you haven't thought enough before getting married to your man. I also see little value in ranting here together with 'like-minded' people who will only reinforce your negative perceptions of DIL and MIL relationships. More often than not, you'll not receive or digest valuable advice from like-minded individuals but further justify the way you have handled DIL and MIL relationship. I think you need alternative views like why some people could have very harmonious relationships with their MILs? Luck? I don't think so. It is more of having the right mindset, sound judgments and choices.
How do u manage ur HTB and get him to be on your side? I feel quite alone in this because i cant tell my mom (who will definitely be very worried for me)
I'm willing to try to have the right mindset but i'm not sure how best to manage the in law relationship whenever an issue pops up. I'm in a situation now that i would like to seek your advice... before the engagement she used to tell me that after the wedding, we can stay with my mom who is a single parent. So i had been telling my mom this for the past few years and she is very happy. But after the engagement she is telling me a different thing. I don't dare to question what changed her mind, yet i dont know how to inform my mom that my MIL changed her mind. Im worried that if i manage this poorly, the relationship between my mom and my MIL will be damaged as well. This leaves me really frustrated.. should i tell my MIL honestly about how i feel?
Reading this thread makes me so depressed!
My MIL to be is also weird and have her own set of rules, which I cannot understand and don't agree with. Can also sense that she does not like me and think of me as the bad person stealing her son. Gives me black face often when I go to their house. I will be staying with them after the wedding. Cannot buy own house due to some issues. Seriously hope she will not give me so much trouble!
Reading all these post made me think about my late MIL. Dont get me wrong she is a wonderful person. She never had a daughter so she treated me as one. We spent days shopping, going for groceries and helping her with the house. She doesn't demand me to help her in any way and that made me want to help even more. I am glad she saw her son and I got married before she passed.
The good ones leave too early. Never got a chance to do my part as a DIL. Never got a chance to help me through pregnancy etc.
Its such a shame cancer got to her.
For those who have wonderful rs with MILs- dont be complacent.
For those who doesn't have a good rs with MILs- try and try again.
Good luck. Cheers x
Reading all these post made me think about my late MIL. Dont get me wrong she is a wonderful person. She never had a daughter so she treated me as one. We spent days shopping, going for groceries and helping her with the house. She doesn't demand me to help her in any way and that made me want to help even more. I am glad she saw her son and I got married before she passed.
The good ones leave too early. Never got a chance to do my part as a DIL. Never got a chance to help me through pregnancy etc.
Its such a shame cancer got to her.
For those who have wonderful rs with MILs- dont be complacent.
For those who doesn't have a good rs with MILs- try and try again.
Good luck. Cheers x
Oh dear. Even in the best cases staying with MIL is tricky trust me.
She does not like you? Wah, sure gg.
Hope your husband to be is good at handling.
He said he will handle it in a neutral way, see who is right and who is wrong.
When he say this hor, I know already. Confirm not everytime I will win one. But then again. The mother is good in creating trouble, I prefer to lead a peaceful life. So confirm cannot be my fault!!!
Haha... still, FML
You getting married in October this year?
Try renting maybe if things really get messy..Yup!
Try renting maybe if things really get messy..
How old are both of you btw?
I wish but he is not able due to family commitment and family financial issues.
27 and 33. why?
I wish but he is not able due to family commitment and family financial issues.
27 and 33. why?
Intend to have kids soon?
That might help...
Nothing is permanent.things can change.financial situation can improve if you both work hard for it.at the present moment try to make peace with ur Mother in law.since u already know her style,just acknowledge it and dun let it get to u.focus on ur marriage with ur husband.that would be the most important.
Yah my HTB say don't let her affect us. Haha! He ask me to just ignore her if she's being unreasonable.
Have kids will help. Trust me..
Easier said than done though.