Merchant Court Swissotel

• Thread starter Thread starter bb
  • Start date Start date
hi hi!!
morning ladies!

Yup yup...me back after missing for a while as well. been pretty bz lately.

bearyhugs...me still have not confirmed anything leh...cos both MC and regent all don allow me to book yet...cos me AD might change to early 06...so none of them are opened for 06 as yet

Yah...the lounge is the prob for regent. I don quite like it as well...i like MC's recep area...so exclusive. I can't wait to see the new themes. have not gone down to take a look yet.

unyx, besides the difference in package price, i don reckon there will be any change in the deco...maybe certain perks for weekdays might be different to weekends...but think it's only like 1-2 perks that is different only.

meixia, my hubby got to bring the cash to the cashier at the lobby to pay... then they bring you to a special room to count the high pile of cash loh... didn't pay by credit card even though can earn points because my hubby doesn't feel safe with so much money in the room while we sleep... and also not safe to bring to bank... so he wanted to clear all my cash.... good thing it was enough to cover .... just need to top up about 1k by card. : )

Wah Jane!! that's so wonderful...enough to cover everything. I think most couples will do that right? Carry such an amount of cash...feels so unsafe :p

Hihi ... wow! I see so many familiar names here .. tat's good... hehe.

Hi Unyx,
Mine is on a saturday. Dun worry, the decor and theme will be the same for both weekdays and weekends. I think the main diff is in the menu package itself lor. That's abt it.

Hihi Bearyhugs,
So, u renovating your house now har? hehe .. you must be feeling very excited to see the "finished product" after renovating, rite? hehe .. Me also just finish renovating my house abt 1.5 months ago and trust me ... you can expect LOTS of cleaning up for your house.
But, its good to have a house that truly belongs to you and your hubby.

For your ROM in dec, will you have any other contigency plans in cas it does rain since Dec is likely a rainy season?

Hi BugBear,
You postpone ur wedding to early 06 liao har? Also good lar .. can reckee more around.

Hihi Jane,
Oh .. so, after dinner and the guests have left, you and hubby go to a room har? I tot is the banquet manager go up to ur suite to count the cash one? No har?
Ya lor ... you very good leh, only have to fork out $1k difference. Me keeping my fingers crossed too.
Actually, me initially tot to pay all by credit card but come to think of it, having to bring back the huge sum of money the nect day also not safe .. so might as well pay the money to the hotel 1st, then at least can have a peaceful sleep. haha .....

Meixia...yah...i think more safe for me to postpone...else later AD, and no where to stay...very cham
So now, i kind of relax lor...cos afterall not many hotels accept bookings for 06.

Also glad to see the thread is active again. Thought everyone had been so busy lately.

Meixia, yeah, MC had offered us a solem room if it really does rain. But it's jus that it's been my dream to have an outdoor wedding. :>
Renovation can be a bug headache man... Actually took us a whole 5 months to confirm our contractor and finally, reno started two weeks ago. So u've fully furnished your place already? Bought all your furniture liao? We still sourcing ard for sofa.

Bugbear, since your AD postponed to 06, u stil have lots of time to play with. No wonder u can relax lah..

By the way, think it's ok to bring the cash to the nearest bank to deposit the next day unless like Meixia, your wedding banq happens to fall on a saturday. My fren's wed banq was on a friday like mine and she brought the whole lot of cash in a bag to deposit into the bank the next day. Quite convenient leh...

Heheh..bearyhugs...yah...since it's most likely to be postponed, so i start to dilly dally :p

Hhmm...must go checck out what banks they have near MC

Hihi .......

Bugbear,
You have not bought your love nest har? Where you intend to buy?

Bearyhugs,
yaya ... reno is a BIG headache!!! You have to confirm so many things with the contractor beforehand and you have to finalize the colour, design and those misc stuff.. Its really a big issue. Some more, you have to have enoigh money ready to pay ur contractor, but ur furniture and stuff. *peng*. But hor, once you see the finished prdt of your house, you will be very happy and proud of your house and all the trouble is worth it lor. Meanwhile, just bear and grit it.

Yap. me fully furnished liao. Really siong ah .. haha

Ya .. i also tot of bringing the $$$$$ to teh bank but mine is on a sat,and banks are closed on sun!!!

Meixia, i bought my lovenest already...now in the midst of developing. Hope they can finish by end of 2005
u must be so relaxed now that ur hse reno is done.

Hehhe...i also think likewise...dinner on Sat, bank close on sun..maybe get parents and siblings to bring a bag each and help bring those cash back...hahah!!

haha Bug Bear,

The moment i think of my mum and bro to bring the cash back in bags prompt me to think of thr robbers who had just robbed a bank!!! hahahaha....

Anyway, i think also not safe for them to bring back the $$$$$$$4 cos its so late liao. I think i will just pay MC by cold hard cash the nite of my wedding lor. safer this way ... me scaredy cat .. haha.

hi meixia,

i don't know if they will come up to your room, but do let the banquet manager know you are paying by cash so that they don't close the cashier so early... they will wait for you to count loh... i think very few people will pay cash like us... hee.. so when they saw that big pile of money, they also scared... all go to a room and count and count....

hihi Jane,

Orh .. so, we are the banquet's manager nightmare har? hehe .... Ok. I will make a mental note to remind Michael when i meet him 2 weks prior to my wedding. Thanks!

....... 46 more days to my BIG DAY!!! haha ....

ask for Sazali as the banquet manager if you can. His service is really good and he is very experienced.

Really??!! Ok ... will ask for him then. I'm having my food-tasting on the 30th. Just wondering wat i should take note of during the food-tasting? Thanks .....

<font color="aa00aa">Meixia n Jane</font>, can chg banquet manager wan meh? I thot it is suppose to be a fix one? Meixia, thot yours is Michael?

I am very worried of miting the impatient or "bad" banquet mgr. Some ppl, depending on their mood, chg their face all the times. Afraid of miting someone with bad service.
193333.gif

Izit really that hard to get perks from MC? Dun wish to pay deposit, then discover we miss out on certain perks &amp; things like that in a package. Any advise fr your gals? Thanks!!

Hihi Unyx,

Michael is my wedding coordinator, whom I liaise with for all the pre-wedding stuff. He also arranges the food-tasting date for you, when to pick up the wedding cards and for you to bargain any perks with.
Then, on your actual wedding banquet, there will be another manager running the show. He is called the banquet manager. He will be in charge of he banquet. That's why you will have 2 diff persons serving you for your wedding.
Hope my explanation is clear.

Erm.. as for perks from MC, i think its really up to individual. You have to know what you really need from MC, such as seat covers. Do not bargain for perks just for the sake of it lor. As long as MC can offer most of wat you need, i think its ok liao. This is my thinking lor .....

As for me, i already paid my deposit 1 yr b4 my wedding. Along the way, i made some changes to my for my dinner and my coordinator was willing to accomodate me. So, oeverall, I think i have no bad experiences with MC so far.

WOW! Like to come in here... response always speedy! haha...

hi meixia... thanks! You gave me a good explanation. hee...

I think MC's seat covers is a complimentary, isn't it for your case?

haha ... you are welcome!

Nope ... MC's seat covers not complimentary one. Must bargain for it and they will give complimentary only if you confirm a X no of tables. Otherwise, the seat covers are priced at $2 per pc and you can bargain till $1 per pc.

meixia, the banquet manager is usually assigned based on their work schedule. But i requested and they tried...

for food tasting, you can change the fried fish to steam fish, give comments on the food... eg. too saltish, too sweet, etc... not fresh enough, etc... change the desert and cooking style if need be...

*HUH!!* Then i think i better chk with them again on the seat covers.
Then how abt the beer huh? Anybody bargained for more than the given?

Unyx, u looking at the latest packages izzit?? Cos the latest packages for Aug05-Mar06...comes with complimentary seat covers...but the packages are about $30+ more than previous packages. I personally feel that it's quite tough getting more perks from MC. they are quite strict with their perks. but no harm trying...u never know

Jane, if after the food-tasting...i wish to try some of the changes, eg: change fried fish to steam fish or change dessert...is it possible to arrange for another round if i pay?

halo bugbear, yup, I went to MC few days ago. Haha... I thot I was seeing things abt the seat covers till you cnfm.

Meixia, do u mean you have to pay for the seat covers @ your time of booking? Hmm...

I tried to "bargain" for alittle perks. But after 2days, it's yet to be settled. haiz! Feeling that they got so much business that they simply give you the 'Take it or leave it' attitude. Very sad leh............... *sob sob*

I think in customer service line, especially for such reputable hotel, shld not hold such bo-chap attitude. Whether they are agreeable or not to the things we talked abt, they shld at least get back to me. *disappointment*

Hopefully they get back to me by tomorrow.
193581.gif

Wow... this thread either moves fast or remains silent for long long time. I think Unxy had really revived it. Think I agree with Meixia that MC really sees how many tables u confirm with them before giving u the perks. For us, seat covers was complimentary since we have 40over tables. As for beer, they would give u one 30L barrel FOC, I manage to get another 20L free if I can confirm a certain no. of tables too. At best, think they would only give 60L complimentary. Try your best to fight for that if u have the bargaining power like high no. of tables. Bargain for wine corkage waiver, rem becos that's going to be the hidden costs.

Gosh... coz me got alot of quesitions mah... so the thread moves fast due to the speedy response fr you gals. hee...

bearyhugs, isit conv for you to tell me how many tables you are holding? Then at least I may guage. Thanks.

Good Morning Ladies!!

Jane,
Ok then. I will try to give comments abt the food. I 'm scared that i am too busy eating to forget to give comments!! haha ...

Unyx,
Like wat bearyhugs mentioned, cos the new package is like $30+ more ex per table than my exiting contract, so, that's why i do not have free seat covers in my package. But, i think Michael will give me free seat covers liao cos i had confirmed over 42 tables liao.
When you mean that you tried to bargain for a little perks, what are the peks that you had bargained for? Maybe you can tell us and we can see if there's anyone who can help you?

Hi Beayhugs,
I haven't tried to talk to Michael abt the extra 20l of beer since i had just confirmed to increase the no of tables. Think will talk to him when i meet up with him 2 weeks prior to my wedding lor.

hi bugbear, think you can ask your coordinator if they allow you to try the food tasting again with other cooking methods as long as you pay... in fact, you can try asking them to let you try the different styles on that day itself... just tell them in advance... like fried and steam fish...then just pay for 1 more dish.

meixia, you won't forget to give comments because you will have a piece of paper to write all comments on.

Unyx, i had 44+2 tables. So bargained for free seat covers, free 24 bottles wine corkage waiver, free 1 more 20l barrel beer. i agree with you that they have this 'Take it or leave it' attitude because they know they have a queue of customers waiting.... since they are near MRT and they have one of the 'cheapest' 5 star hotel rates for banquet.

hi meixia, we asked whether they give additional nite stay, they give me 2 reasons: 1) subjected to availability. 2) unless i take 45 tables, else no confirmation. So since this is the case, in the 1st place, they might as well say no additional nite stay unless booking of 45 tables. Then the 'subjected to availability' is an extra lung language. Waste of time for both sides.

When I ask abt the amt of beer they can pvd, he gave me impatient &amp; irraited breathes.
"Telling me off" for jumping from addl nite to beer! I was thinking... Isn't nego part of the game? Dun tell me ppl simply take what is stated in their contract &amp; sign it without asking this and that.

I dun see anything wrong when I suggested for addl nite, but if they write in the contract abt subjected to availability, then in the end, they can say dun have. Every word is in the benefit of the hotel. Then what is left for the customer? I wasn't even persistent on taking the addl nite on the following day after my wedd. Why they worry?

The first meeting with the coordinator was good. The after service, my God! *faint* Overall I like the hotel, but dun see eye to eye the way they handle things.

He said will chk for me, but if the coordinator dun call me by today, I will call in to look for another coordinator. If only coordinators earn commisison, if so, their svc wld be better.

Unyx, who is your coordinator? is it michael? i had bad experience with michael before,.. he needs to be pushed to do work... never initiate to call me for collection of cards and food tasting. i have to always call him to chase him and ask him and he will say he will check and call me back... but never call back... many times already... there was once i even sarcastically ask him... you sure you will call me back by today? what if you don't? he got a shock. Anyway, he didn't call back again!

about the invitation cards, he told me i can collect 2 months before... i think... but when i called him, he said not here yet... still printing... then 1 month before, he still say not here yet...then i got worried as i need to send out the cards already... but he didn't feel apologetic at all.. i even ask him to chase the printer and he laughed... he said his other clients getting married in 2 weeks' time also haven't collected their cards! i nearly fainted! BAD service!! real BAD!

Unyx, depending on which package u are looking at. Cos if u are looking at the latest Aug-05 package, then the seat covers are complimentary, but the package price also increases by about $30+

Yes, I am looking into the latest pkg.

jane, not very nice to put this coordinator's name up lah... but u know, i know loh... hahaha...

haiz... headache arh! Hope he really put heart into things &amp; feel for the customers.

Hihi All,

Wah Lau ... Michael's service really tat bad har? Maybe i haven't "lin-jiao" his bad service so i got no bad comments up till now. Till now, he has gievn me my wedding cards and he even called and chased me for how many cards i want and my food-tasting date leh. *scratch head*

Unyx,
Can you ask for your 1st coordinator in this case? Think if you let him know and say that you are more comfortable with the 1st coordinator, he shuld be able to change for you lor. You try and see how instead of you vomitting blood over him. Dui Bo?

Hahaha... meixia, up till now, I only got 1 coordinator lor... hee...

You + Jane + me are actually talking abt the same person. You say good, Jane said otherwise, me only starting already this bad. Dun dare to imagine later part arh... Yiks!

Got other coordinator or not huh? Any good recommendations are welcome! haha....

If Micheal comes in here &amp; see our comments abt him, he may get so upset or angry till he burst! Maybe me shldn't say bad things abt him... Afterall, I only met him once. kehkeh...

i did tell michael about this website... last year. hee... told him to read... but he said maybe... but too busy.. haha..

anyway, he was so blur each time i call him, he doesn't remember me even though i chase him for things SO MANY TIMES already... then he asked Jean to take over me cos he said he is busy.. .haha... he also can't stand me. anyway, Jean is better loh... can negotiate... more flexible though still rigid...

Hi Gals....i also don have good experience with Michael. I personally have not met him. I talked to him over the phone and he also gave the 'bo chap' kind of attitude...in the end, my friend who had her wedding last time at MC, passed me the contact for another coordinator...and i feel that his attitude is better than 'u-know-who' but still, they are very strict with their perks...maybe cos they have a long queue of customers and one of the cheapest packages around.

Unyx, i think for most hotels, they will tell u 'subject to availability' when u request for additional nites stay. i got that 'model' ans from other hotels as well

Eh Unyx, i never say Michael good leh ... i just say he only gives me the cards on time and the food tasting date, as compared to Jane. Dun think his customer service is up to the "good" custmer service level yet lor. hahaha ....
Btw, i also asked Michael for additional nite stay and he also say "subject to availability".. but since mine is on a weekend and is in Dec, i think confirm+guarantee surely no availability one. So, i think i no chance liao. haha ....

Aiyoh Jane ah ... you really told him abt this website har? How u tell him? haha ..

Hahaha... Meixia, I like your saying of 'confirm+guarantee surely no availability'. Haha... That's what I thot!
Aiya... I nvr say u mark him good, but compare the svc he pvd 2wards you &amp; Jane, u are luckier loh...

The jia-lat thing is that the couple may already be bizi enuff prep for the wedding. Yet still have to remember minor things &amp; chase after them. Very poor thing wan leh...

Bugbear, who is the other coordinator you were talking abt? Business good, all the more should have humble attutide mah... Without all the couples, where will they stand?

Jane, then u were served by Jean? In what ways is she better than xxx?

Jane, hopefully he 4gets abt this wedsite. Else he'll really "burst with joy" upon seeing his name mentioned so many times in here.
193955.gif

Unyx, their business is really good lor...they are not afraid of you not going to them...cos their package is good and they are very exclusive...with 1 ballroom and the reception area is very exclusive too...so they are really not worried about it.

hey! they dun provide projector. Other than renting fr MC, anybody know how &amp; where to get one when your big day comes?

Unyx, wow... so much comments on Micheal. Not sure if he's reading this thread. In fact, I've never met him myself. I've liased with Jean all this while and it was FH who's been negotiating with her n bargaining. We managed to get waiver for the ROM venue this dec. So not so bad for us but we would like to get more wine corkage wavier if possible. Only managed to get for 18bottles. Unxy, we confirmed 42 tables.

hi gals! it's friday! *yeah*
216287.gif

bearyhugs, where is your ROM venue? Which day? Scarley I pop up to your event, can? haha..... *juz joking*

wine cockage waiver is not a complementary? I thot no charge wan leh...

Unyx, i think sometimes corkage is a killer...unless u purchase wine from the hotel...else sometimes they charge you 30+++ each bottle.

For the new package, i think the number of corkage waived depends on the number of tables u have. 1 bottle each confirmed table...I doubt they will waive off all corkages...but if anyone managed to get that, pls let me know :p

Hihi All!!!!

Its ... FRIDAY!!! YEAH!!! haha .... Me happy mood liao .. cos me MOnady on leave too. hahaha .. dun envy me hor. keke

Unyx,
Yap. MC never provide projector one. If you want lobang, can message me at [email protected]. I got lobang from 1 guy. He rents projector at $150. Can test upon request. Think the price is reasonable lor.

Aiyah .. since we choose MC liao, dun always think on the negative side lar. Must think positive .... then we will feel happier mah.

Let me tell you a positive side lar ... If I am not wrong hor, other 5-star hotel do not provide free food-tasting one. You will have to either pay half of the stipulated price per wedding table or you do not have free food-tasting at all. So, i think we considered lucky liao lor.

Do i make your day? hehe ....

Hi hi...

I managed to see MC's new theme already! Went there yesterday to peep peep. I quite like the stage deco and the floral stands. Think it's nicer than the previous theme...but a little disappointing for the VIP setup and the centrepiece for the rest of the table...but must say that the overall is better.

I must say that the overall feel is very good...very comfortable.

bugbear, does it mean that if we were to book 42 tables, we can enjoy corkage waiver of 42 bottles of wine (be it each bottle per table or not)? Coz some tables may not be taking wine leh...

I agree that the VIP seats &amp; setup is of nothing special. And I think, only the chairs of the wedding couple are decorated with ribbons, rite? I choose MC coz it give me a very relaxing mood. Machiam @ a spa resort. hee...

Meixia on leave? What's up huh? Hee... (kpo). *envy*

Did anybody manage to find out whether we can choose the flwrs to use on our wedding day? What flwrs do MC provide?

Hi Unyx, according to the new package that i am looking at...it is stated as "No corkage charge for one bottle of wine (750ml) per guaranteed table". I would assume if you have 42 tables, then 42 bottles waived.

Yah lor...i am really very disappointed with the VIP and table settings
And i also agree with you that the moment you walk through the entrance into the ballroom...the feeling is very comfortable...unlike some hotels, the moment you walk in...the feeling is terrible...just feel like walking out immediately.

Currently, the flowers that i see on the deco is roses and lilies. Did not ask if we can opt for other flowers or not...

My god. Bugbear, U mean their new package is able to offer corkage waiver for each confirmed table? So good!! Must call them to enquire liao.

Hi Unxy, ROM venue at MC's poolside terrace lor. Sometime in Mid Dec.

Actually, for projector wise, u can also try borrowing from your own company. That's what both me n FH intend to do. Already sounded my boss out and she is ok with it except that I have to transport it myself.

bearyhugs...i am not confirmed leh...but the above sentence is what i copied from their package, which i interpret as 1 bottle per confirmed table...then again, each table price increased by abt $30+...so i guess they factored the waiver costs into the new package...so if you calculate from the previous package, it should be similar

HELLO ALL!!! Miss me??? hehehe ...

Aiyah, i yesterday on leave cos i went down to my BB to try my EG and tea-dress and to shop for my mum's clothes for my wedding lar.
Its .. 39 days more to my wedding!!! hahaha .. I keep counting down to the pple ard me and my mum say i very "heng-jia" liao .. haha.

Okok, back to our main topic. U mean the VIP table set up is not nice har? How could it be har? I tot the VIP set up should stand out among the rest of the tables? Elaborate leh ... why disappointing? The table-cloth of the VIP is diff from the rest of the tables? Explain explain .. faster!!!

As for flowers hor, initially i wanted to change to roses cos i tot will still be using the initial decor of lilies. But, now that the decor is made up of lilies and roses, i see no point to change liao. So, i think i will stick to it lor.

Unyx, actually hor, i think very ma-fun if u wanna change the flowers cos hor, you may have to top up for it and u will never know how the overall effect will be like except on the day itself. Scully not nice how?? So, to be on the safe side, if u think MC's decor is ok, then leave it lor. Anyway, you should bet he highlight of the night mah .. keke.

Eh, explain to me abt the VIP set up leh. I very "kan-cheong" ... haha.