Merchant Court Swissotel

• Thread starter Thread starter bb
  • Start date Start date
heheh...yah...i loved orr ni...that's why the first thing i asked MC is whether i can change to orr ni or not...hahah...but then hor, i won get to eat also wot ;p

hi bugbear, u sure will get to eat wan...cuz MC will make sure u r served the first 2 and last dish / last 2 dishes... got 'head' got 'tail' mah.

BugBear,

Dun worry .. you will get to eat the full course too. When you have finished sending off your guests, MC will send the full course meal to you and ur hubby to your room for you both to enjoy the dinner. So, no worries lar.

yah... but all so cold! not nice liao... hee... i ate mine at 3am! i was counting angbaos and settling the bill before that... also bathing and getting rid of the thick hair gel with lots of pins!

Hahah...serious ar...i tot usually they will give you set meals from their room service...MC give you "head and tail"...so nice...but don reckon i will eat liao...think will be so tired...bathe and flop on bed and sleep...hahah
i am used to sleeping early...hehhe...think that day must drink 'redbull' :D

Hahah...Jane...i kind of expect a long time needed to get rid of all the hair gel/spray...heheh...think the hair can stand straight up right? ;p

hi bugbear...

yah loh... after standing for hours, still must stay awake to take out the hair pins and wash off the gel. Good thing my sisters help me to take the pins off... you can't count on guys like our hubbies to help loh... they are seemly helpless! haha... also remember to use conditioner to wash your hair to soften the gel before using shampoo. Easier to wash off this way... after shampooing, have to use conditioner again to finish the process... then blow dry and Zzzzz......... sounds tiring right? hee..

haha..gals, that's the excuse my hairdresser used to persuade me to get my hair permed. She said it will require minimal styling and easier to wash off on my AD.

But I'm unfazed..for now =)

Jane! I can understand your feelings!! I went thru that process for my PS!! haha .. Cannot forget that experience. After my PS, i went str home to bath after a long day. Guess wat? I used up 1 hr just to wash my face 3 times to get rid of the make-up and lots of conditioner for my hair before i can really feel my hair softening up! And i am already so tired after my PS.... cannot imagine how it will be like for my AD!

Not looking forward to this "hair-regime" ... haha ...

One thing to ask -- MC accepts cash on that nite of AD har? So, tat means i can count all my ang bao and pass it over to MC on that nite lar?

Hahah...yah lor...it's going to be real tiring that day...that's why i thinking of splitting into 2 days leh...tea ceremony 1 day, the next evening banquet...won be so tired...but that also means i need to wash my hair twice...hahah...

Yah hor...meixia...i should think that MC will accept cash right? Next day checkout that time then settle payment right?

2 days har? But, you will have to wash your hair 2 times leh ... haha. No lar, i think if want to be tired, then just tired the whole day in 1 day can liao. 2 days can spoil our hair!!
Anyway, we will be tired only once in our lifetime ... so ok lar. Just take it as an experience lor.

haha .. seems like only we are so concerned and affected by all these nitty-gritty stuff. Our hubbies only need to wash off their hair easily and can go to dreamland liao! Haiyoh .... not fair leh ... hehe.

I also dun know if MC can accept the cash on tat nite leh ... i also have not asked Michael abt this. Some hotels do not accept cash on that nite itself cos this means that the banquet manager will have to stay till midnite to count all our ang bao money. So, some may request to only collect the money from us the following day when we check out from MC.
Or if MC accept cash on our AD nite, then the rest of the payment can be paid either by visa or chq the following day lor.
Maybe Jane can advise us? hehe .......

This thread certainly moves fast. Think MC do accept cash and credit card. Alternatively, u can choose to pay partial cash and partial credit.

Hi Meixia, I've contacted your videographer. Think most likely, may take him as we've met up with him and seen his works. Not too bad and most importantly, price is reasonable. Hope it's the right choice. Thanks for your contact. Any contacts for AD photographers or any from the rest? Did u guys take any photos at MC during your PS?

When are u girls planning to put the photo montage or video montage? Before the first and second march-in? Or are u intending to play it thru-out before dinner starts? I'm planning to have both photo and video montage highlights.

hahh..bearyhugs, i totally agree with you. Tis thread moves real fast!

Abt payment, my coordinator just mentioned paymt by credit card...nothing mentioned abt cash payment. I really dun mind paying cash...imagine carrying so much money with you the following day...phew..sure will get paranoid man.

bearyhugs, for AD photographers, you may want to try Dai Alan . I heard from my friend that his skills are pretty good...I'm getting him too. Not too sure abt the sequence of the photo & video highlights thouo..perhaps u want to show them prior to ur 1st & 2nd march-in??

hi gals, on tt evening, the banquet manager will confirm with u the bill statement...

but u only need to pay the bill upon check out next day.

if u have a credit card, i would suggest using credit card to pay..cuz can earn credit card points mah...then later change for vouchers. which is what i did. However, i am sure they will accept cash as well.

and ya man! the hair!! grrr.... my hair becamer so dry after wedding leh...cuz b4 wedding i dye hair, then my wedding over 2 days..one day church, next day dinner..so have 'styled' hair over 2 days...and few weeks after that i went to my hairdresser to reset my curls.. so aiyo!! poor hair.. until i just keep treatment treatment my hair..

HI All .... Yap. This thread either lies "dead" or moves too fast!!! hehe ....

Bearyhugs,
Really har? You booked him for ur videography har? Good for you! I am sure you will not regret.
As for AD photographers, i am more into digital rather than conventional photos. So, i took Kaleydoscope photographer, which u can read abt them under Photography and Kaleydoscope thread. Their package is also quite reasonable and they are so fun-loving too. If u wnat more details just drop me an email again.

No lar ... me nv go MC take during my PS. Not enough time just for my indoor and outdoor shots liao ... haha.

You are planning to have both video and photo screenings, rite? If that is the case, then i would suggest you to play your photo screenings 1st before ur 1st march-in. After screening finish, the u march in. Then, video screening is for 2nd march-in. Separate the 2 screening so that you dun "bomb" your guests with too much at one go and you have 2 screenings separately to entertain ur guests.

Hi Lenz,
Ya. i know credit card can accumulate a lot of points... but like wat Shinde mentioned, we must bring the hard, cold cash with us back on the next day, then go again to the bank to deposit. Its a bit hassle and a bit frightening ... haha. Call me paranoid .. but i would rather do w/o all this hassle. hehe ....
Wah Lau! I 'm sure your hair is feeling terrible after all the "ordeal"!!! Btw, u did ceramic perm for ur hair hair har? Me also interested leh .... hehe.

hihi meixia,

oh..cuz for me i didn't bring back home the cash the next day. my hubby and i just immediately walked to UOB and bank in the $ the next day.
what my friend did was their parents brought back the cash that night and they only counted the $ when they went home the next day.
anyway, up to u lor..;)

yep..i did ceramic perm... but was like 10 months before the wedding.. so when wedding comes, the curls sort of gone liao..

I would suggest if u r interested in ceramic perm, u perm after yr wedding, cuz all the styling etc will ruin the curls, then will heart pain leh. if u want ceramic curls look for yr wedding, yr hairstylist is able to do that using curlers.

hi meixia,

wow! so shocked to see so many mails... i actually counted the cash that night and paid the hotel in cash. Then paid the balance with credit card. My hubby insisted we pay first though i also suggested to earn points using credit card to settle the whole bill. But he said he cannot sleep with so much cash in the room. Hee.. so we paid every single cent we collected.

i took photos at MC also for my PS. Quite nice..the cafe, sofa, lobby and even near the swimming pool.

As for hair perm, think you all should perm before that. In face, my makeup artist actually curled my hair that night and it looked really curly like real perm. So it won't spoil the hair as it will be straight after wash...

Hi Lenz and Jane,

Thanks for all your advice. Erm... i think i wll be like Jane lor. Count the monet tat nite then pay the rest by credit card. Like that more "an-xin"... hehe.

Actually, i am looking at permanent ceramic perm after my wedding. My MUA did curls for me for my PS and my bf liked the look and he keep "hinting" to me that i looked nice in curls lor. He say more mature looking ... haha. Crazy man .....

Anyway, i will be having curls for my AD too ... just thinking that will be going for ceramic perms after wedding lor.

Btw har, i believe that u both checked in to MC on ur AD in the afternoon when all the ceremony has bee done in the morning, rite? When we check in to the hotel hor, do we have to wait like very long for our room? Cos, like a bit funny to be wearing my gown and waiting in the lobby for my room key leh ....

Jane since u had your PS at MC, care to share your photos with me? [email protected]
I'm still deciding if I should go MC for PS.

Meixia, thanks. Will drop u an email for photographers contact. Anyway, heard so much abt digital and film photos. Some say film photos can keep better in the long run but u can play around with digital effects, e.g. photo collage with digital. How how? Still can't decide lei.

I'm already with ceramic curls now. So guess it doesn't make much of a difference to me.

Think I will prob have photo montage before 1st march in and video b4 2nd march in like what Meixia has suggested.

Anyone has ideas how u guys want to do the march-in? Like both sing songs and walk in or just normal march in?

Morning Bearyhugs.

Maybe we can discuss the photographers in your email to me.

Me also headache with the march-in. Actually, me thinking of asking my future PILs to march in first, followed by my parents and then me and my bf. My parents are for the idea but my future PILs say pai-seh ... dun wan.
Then, me have to think of other ideas liao.

How abt you? Tot of any ideas?

wow!! you are so happening... thinking of ideas for march in... for me, all very simple. just normal march in by me and hubby with a friend playing the keyboard in front. i also didn't have any slides, photos, or video to show... save money mah.. hee...

Meixia, for check in, your coordinator should call hotel and make sure the room is ready before you all leave for hotel. Tell them when the bride is expected to reach. don't worry, they are very professional one. my coordinator actually went earlier by 20mins to check in for me and when i reach, she just escort me to my room. : )

Meixia, maybe you can ask ur helpers to march in follow by u and hubby?? Thats wat one of my friends did...

Hi Jane, any idea when we can chk in?? possible to do so before 230pm??

Wah Jane, the hotel coordinator got so professional and "automatic" one har? hehe ...

I always tot all along that we must check in by ourselves one ... wah. Like that good lor .. like some VIP who dun need to check in and there's a personal butler to serve you ... hahaha.

Then, wat abt the MUA? Cos our suite need a card to access the floor level, rite? How will the MUA / parents go to my suite? Or i have to ask someone wait for my them at the lobby then bring them up?

Wow, so many ideas for the march-in?
I thought of getting hubby to sing a song and march in first initially then followed by me but in this case, we won't be marching in together then. A bit strange right?

Would it look weird to get helpers to march in first? Like a whole group of them?

Anyone of you getting professional entertainer or MC? Does Merchant Court have any speech for MC of the night? Are u guys planning to say anything o your guests that night?

bearyhugs,

for my friend's wedding, the helpers marched in in pairs, prior to the couple's entrance. It looks pretty ok.

I dun intend to say anything but will leave it to my friends (my emcees) to boast the atmosphere lor...

meixia, i think you misunderstood what i meant by coordinator... not the hotel one but my own coordinator who is my friend... one of my bridesmaids actually...

For friends and relatives to your room, i think got to pick them up from lobby... actually i am not sure as i wasn't the one doing the running and i really can't remember if you need the key to go up to rooms or just can take the lift up and press the doorbell..

Oh.... Aiya... i tot MC's coordinator so good ... chey... hehe.

Haiya ... me not thinking of getting my own jie mei to help out in booking the room in advance for me. Cos, i will either need to prepare another room for her or let her stay in the same room as me and my hubby. But, i dun wan this cos i want to let my hubby and me rest a while b4 our MUA come to do our make-up for dinner mah. So... think i will just check in by myself and mu hubby lor.
Anyway, thanks for ur info ....

Hi Meixia,
Thought MC can give a day use room for helpers? I've gotten that stated in my contract but it's of course subjected to availability. So u can perhaps check that out with them when it's nearer to your date.
: >

yah... i got a day room for my bridesmaids too... so after she checked in for both rooms, she just wait for me and escort me to my room before returning to her room to rest and bathe.

i didn't have time to rest at all. After removing the thick makeup and hair gel, my MUA arrived! Didn't have time to even lie on the bed or touch the bed at all... sian.. i advise you all to go hotel as early as you can to rest.

Thanks Jane,
So it seems that we have to wash our hair and clean off the think make-up twice that day right?
Such a chore oh no.....

Jane, have u got your PS photos to share? Those that u took at MC? I'm still deciding if I should go there. Thanks in advance........
: >

i am sorry i don't have the soft copies of my photos. i only chose 2 photos taken ... at the lobby sofa.

Hi Bearyhugs,

No leh .. i dun have this in my contract. Think i better check with Michael. Thanks!

Jane, wat time did u check in to yur hotel?

Hi Meixia,
I've contacted your photographer that u've given me. Thanks. He's realy friendly. We were talking for abt 25 mins on the phone the very first time he called. Would be meeting up with him next week to see his works.

i'm considering merchant court hotel. does anyone hv that wedding pkg for 2005? i can't seem to locate the info on their website

does any of you know also whether they cater for abt 120 guests?

thanks lots!

Hi starz11,

think you need to chk with MC directly as the new package is usually out in Sep.

The min capacity for MC is as follows: weekday 35 tbls, weekend 38 tbls.

Hi Star11, i do have the package for partial of 2005. The package i have on hand is valid till end Jul 2005. Their Aug-Dec 2005 is not out yet. have to wait till Aug2004 (just 2 weeks more).

If u are interested to look at the 2005 package, email me: [email protected]

Hi Bearyhugs,

Sorry to reply so late .....
Glad that you are happy with my recommendation!

Who did you speak to? Kai?

He a bit "lor-soh" lar .. hehe. But, i think its great cos at least, he tries to explain to you abt his photography stuff. Hope you will be pleased with his works when you meet up with him!
Do tell me more abt it.

Wow at least you gals can check in at about 2.30pm. I have a church wedding at about 2 so by the time I reach the hotel it would be about 5pm already. then after I attempt to remove make up, the MUA would be there to make me up again. Oh no! I really think I won't have time to rest until that night!

Hhmm...it's been quiet in here...

Anyone one of u know if the new package for Aug-Dec05 is out already? Any idea when their new themes will be released?

me new to singapore brides.. and this thread seems very happening!!

my AD is next year jul.. after looking at several hotels, think i shld be going for MC.. anything i shld look out for?? any advice wld be much appreciated!!

Do any of you have the email adds/contact numbers of the banquet sales at merchant court? I tried to email them to fix an appointment through their website, but so far, still no reply for more than 3 weeks now. Thanks in advance!

Morning Gals!!

Hi Meixia!! no leh...i still waiting for their new package to be out. Aaron supposed to inform me once the new package is out. I am also waiting to see their new themes...cos i don really quite like their current theme lor.

Dubdub!! U are here in this thread as well ar?? Bet u are also waiting for their new packages to be out yeh?

Cefindre...u can try emailing to [email protected]

Hi swerve...something to note is that as of current package, MC does not provide white seat covers...so maybe u would like to take note of that when negotiating with the coordinators...so far, i don think they will waive off that charge...but instead of $2 per seat...they will go down to $1 per seat cover

Hi BugBear,

Eh? I tot someone mentioned that MC will change their theme by end this year?? So, meaning the new theme will not be out till next year har? Me blur liao ...

yup...meixia...me just called up the coordinator and he told me that their new package for AUg05 will only be released late Aug
and they will definitley have a change in themes...just dunno when it will be released...he said something like MC will leave the mock up there so that ppl can come and look at it...maybe they will organize a wedding fair then?

Oh ... i see. Ermmm... me very excited to see the new set-up leh ......
Wat he mean by leaving the mock set-up there? Meaning as in the ballroom?? Cos, if the mock is always there, then i will like to go down to take a look leh ... if nice, maybe i can persuade MC to change the theme for me ... hehe.