Merchant Court Swissotel

• Thread starter Thread starter bb
  • Start date Start date
Hi Bugbear,
thank you for the info!!!

Morning Gals...

Meixia, me also not quite sure about that...maybe they will like setup 2 tables in their smaller function room then invite ppl to go there and view? Don reckon they will use their ballroom...unless they organize wedding fair
Me also very excited to look at the new deco...heheh...

keep me posted if u heard of anything ok? thanks

cefindre...no worries about that

Onz lar! Me surely will inform you once u hear any "feng-sheng-cao-dong" .. haha.

You also keep me posted should you know lar ...

Hi there anyone of you brides took wine from Merchant court on the actually day? I heard that their corkage is $15+++ then plus my wine I bought is about $20. Added together is about $35. If I can get wine from there cheaper then might as well. Anyone of you has got the wine list and prices from merchant court?

Rebecca, maybe it's better if u can arrange with MC to hop down the cellar to take a look at their collection? Yes, i think it would be cheaper to get from MC's contacts.

Went down to spk to MC on their solemnisation pckg @ poolside...

They can only provide parking for up till 25%... My co-ord said max liao
Sigh, most of them driving... *headache*

Hi Rebecca, I also asked them abt their wine. Some ladies here asked me to check with them on wine provided by their suppliers... My co-ord told me its $28+++ per bottle, and must order by the carton. Means if unfinished, u can take back, coz u paid for it liao. There will not be any corkage charge though. My coord is willing to let us taste it one day to see if its smooth or not lor.

Still waiting for them to see if can throw in the foc b/f... last time was telling some of u gals that b/f is separate charges from the rm... *crossing fingers*...

Cashewnut, from what i understand is that Merchant only has 1 ballroom. as for smaller rooms, i don think it can fit 10-15 tables...maybe 5 tables only.

I am quite new here. I need to hold my wedding dinner early next year. MC is one of my choice. From all your discussion, MC sounds good. But I would like to hear something which is "Negative" on their package/service, if you have experienced or heard. Thanks a lot.

Hi jojo...basically i think Merchant is a very safe hotel...in terms of food and ballroom, etc...

As for the 'negatives', i think the coordinators are strict with their perks...and i heard that they have loads of temps as service staffs. and personally, i don quite like the current deco. I think this deco is already like 2 yrs old...

Hi BugBear, thanks for the comments. I actually went down to meetup with one of their sales executives, some weeks back. It looks like that they are not flexible enough to add perks. For example, they count seat cover of $2 each, they don't have free flow of beer for weekday package (some hotels do that for weekday at least), no suckling pig, scallops, or abalone in weekday menu (to save $$, I am mainly focusing on weekdays:p if possible)... anyway, no much good perks compared to other hotels ... and it is hard to negociate with them too ....

Sky, do you manage to get some more perks from their standard package in your contract?

Jojo...yah...this is what i encountered as well...everything that i asked for, they all say no, no, no. they keep stressing that their price as comopared to other hotels very cheap and stuffs like that. The only thing that i managed to get was the seat covers...instead of $2 each, they offered at $1 each...cos i have abt 45 tables. sigh...

So which other hotels are u looking at? if u are looking at weekday, i am sure u have a lot of choices. Hyatt? Marriott? Grand Copthorne?

Been missing in action for some time. Hi Meixia, finally met up with Kai, your photographer. Still considering through his package. Thought it was a bit on the high end though.

Hi bugbear, are you sure you can't negotiate further? MC waived my seat covers and I had 45 tables too. One of my frens had dinner there on a weekday with only 35 tables and seat covers charges were waived too. Try and try again. Good luck!

Hi Bugbear, thanks for feedback. I was thinking of around 30 tables which is even less than their min requirement. I believe it is hard to negotiate on anymore perks. Besides MC, I am also looking for Intercontinental and Carlton, which are near MRT, easy for working guests to come if I hold my WD in weekdays. You have any comments on those two hotels?

Hi bearyhugs, do you know who is the banquet manager handling your friends wedding? Mine is Jean, and it is hard to talk to her about more perks.

Bearyhugs...u managed to nego for seat covers waived ar? ah yo...then i must go talk to them again when their new package is out! thanks for the tips

Jojo...intercon ballroom is nice...but i am not too sure about the food...Carlton food is not too bad right?...but i personally have not seen carlton ballroom...so could't really provide u with more info. sorry

hi gals, i've tried asking for free flow fm MC oso, really cannot lor. sign.. lets say if i've given 60 litres of beer, will it be enough? & roughly how many bottles of wine will be sufficient for the nite? please advise.

Christine, whether 60L is enough for you really depends on how many tables you have and if your guests are really hard core drinkers. I've got friends' wedding of 40 tables and they couldn't even finish 30L of beer. More went for wine instead. So be prepared to pay for more wine.

I was also given 50L complimentary too. Doubt that it would be enough for 45 tables.

Hi jojo, intercon ballroom is great with high ceiling but understand that they are the only hotel which is imposing on and extra $50 per table for all wedding banq next yr. Conrad's food is excellent but their ballroom has pillars. So really got to consider.

Hihi Bearyhugs,

U met up with Kai liao har? Price steep har? Erm... are u referring to their package as per advertised on web?
Anyway, u still have time to go "reckee" ard 1st ...

Ya lor -- u managed to bargain for 50L free beer har? U got 45 tables on a wkend or wkday? Cos, now i confirm got 40 tables on wkend and i try to bargain for another 20L free (i already have 30L complimentary) but they refused leh ...

Teach me leh. How u do it? U already confirmed 45 tables tehn u bargain for it or wat?

Thks ....

hi bearyhugs, thks for the advise. ya, i think nowadays alot of ppl go for wine instead leh, i got additional 30litres beer free lor. think tat should be enough la, i'm catering for 42~45tables, wonder how many bottles of wine is enough. my frd actually order 100 bottles which 30% can be return 1 lor. but MC corkage charge is $15+++ leh, she only willing to waive 24 bottles. still trying hard to get more.

am new here....also thinking of MC as my AD venue...how much per table?any comments on the food?only been down to c the ballroom but no more wdding package left at the front desk...

Christine, may i knw when is your AD?m looking around teh same number of table as u...do you happen to have the contact of your coordinator...

Christine, seems that you've got a better deal. Additional 30L on top of your complimentary 30L? That makes a good 60L already. As for the wine corkage waiver, I guess that's the max that MC can offer. Mine was only 18 bottles. I've confirmed only 42 tables thought we expect 45 tables. Guess we might hav a little more perks if we can confirm 45 tables.

Christine,all the best to you negotiating then.
Do u hav any contacts for wine then?

Meixia, yeah. Met up with Kai already and he's been really nice. We would be sourcing ard for more.

Bugbear, so hav u decided on MC already?

Morning Gals...

bearyhugs, me still have not confirmed yet...cos me still waiting for the new package to come out...for Aug05-Dec05.

Alphy, are u looking at weekdays or weekends? I hav their package...if u are interested, can PM me.

The package that i have on hand is valid till Aug05.

wow christine seems to have the best bargain so far. All the best to your bargaining, brides-to-be! In summary, i got 24 bottles wine waiver, 50l beer, seat covers waived and some extra invitation cards for my 44 confirmed tables. Don't commit more for the sake of perks as there will be many absentees on actual day... i had about 20 absentees. Good think i confirmed 2 tables less than my expected attendance, so just nice loh. : )

Bugbear, you really have to fight for seat waivers! You had 45 tables!

heheh...Jane...i will...i will squeeze them dry. Me now waiting for their Aug-Dec package to be out, before going to squeeze them :p
Thanks for the support.

Was wondering if anyone here deals with Michael?

I was sorely disappointed that when we made an appointment with him, he didn't even bother to turn up or inform us! We had to keep calling and eventually, he sent his assistant(who was very inexperienced) to speak to us.

Needless to say, I wasn't interested in what they had to offer since Michael evidently has much better things to do with his time!!!

bugbear,
For 35 tables, should be 30L beer free so if u have 45 tables, confirm can push for up to 50L beer and definately waive seat covers.
I took less than 35 tables so Michael said if i can go up to 35, it will be waived.

Hi Rally,
Just curious -- urs is on wkday? Cos, i tot min for wkend package is min 38 tables?

Cos, me taking wkend and with just 38 tables confirmed, i can't seem to get any waiver for seat covers.

hi hi...anyone knows if the package for Aug-Dec 05 is out??

Rally...really ar?? in that case, i must work on my nego skills liao...that time i talked to Aaron...everything also say cannot
maybe cos my date isn't something that he is interested at that moment. He told me that he can give me the seat covers at $1

Ah yo...they delay again and again hor...the last time told me beginning Aug will release...when i called them beginning Aug, they say end Aug or early Sept will be out. Sigh...they waiting for 7th mth to be over izzit?!

Beary...heheh...so paiseh, i have not decided on any yet...but now shortlisted to Regent, Hyatt, MC.
Cos regent and hyatt seems more flexible on their perks...so i waiting for MC to release their new package, then see what else i need to top up (eg: seat cover) and see what is the final price i looking at, including wine, beer.

Hi bugbear,
All the best to you then. Umm... actually, I've also met up with Sunil from Regent before too. Quite a nice chap. Too bad they didn't have our dates available.

Keep us updated lah.

jus attended a wedding at Merchant court. Would like to highlight the brides to be that you should "warn" your guests of possible car park full and redirect them to Riverside pt carpark in advance. It is quite frustrating for the us in a way wen we learnt dat.

The pte reception area is quite big and nice. The food is okay. I would say the best dish is the shark fin. They serve the dishes fast in fact too fast at times....On a whole, okay experience.

Hi Inc, What about the deco?? Is it a new theme?? Or still the previous one with lilies and bird cage??
Thanks for sharing your experience

Bugbear
I find the stag deco a bit old (due to the colour) and the wallpaper is brown. If i m not wrong, it should be the old theme. However,the floral stand along the aisle is quite big and nice.

Thanks inc!
I still waiting for their new theme to be out. Dunno when then i can see the full setup

Anyone reeives the package for Aug05-Dec05??

the ambience there is very nice. new theme & pkg is up. may find more details when u mit up wz their coordinators. cheers.

hi Unyx,

So, the long-awaited new theme is up? Can share the theme with me? What is the main flowers made up of? how is the ballroom decorated like? Romantic ambience?

Pai seh .. ask so much .. but i gan cheong lar .. haha. Thanks in advance.

<font color="aa00aa">Meixia</font>. I regret not taking any photographs that day *though i had e camera*
191358.gif

Hmm... Me not gd at description. Will try my best.

The wedding I went to that nite... Their choice of table cloth is peach on top of wht. They used wht napkins. (color combinations can be arranged, but they only have wht &amp; peach col).

Centerpiece is a glass bowl of water wz wht roses &amp; floating candle. *romantic* But I forgot to asks whether color or flwr type can chg or not. There are also flwr stand along the aisle.

The couple tat nite had choosen a fountain as the deco. Carlton provides ice sculpture for your choice too. Erm... I dun really know how to describe their stage, but overall not as bad as the prev ones which the coor showed me thru photos.

There are 2 screens @ both sides of the room. They dun pvd projector. You'll have to come up with you own device or rent fr them @ $250. If you intent to use up both the screen, then you'll nid to prep 2 helpers to play your pix @ the same time. *err... hope u get what I mean*

You have the whole reception hall &amp; ballroom to your wedding day. Very pte event it'll be. Very english style deco. Very class &amp; relaxing.

KK... tat's all I can rem for now. Hee...

Think the best thing is arrange a miting wz the coordinator. They'll be able to give you the full view!
191359.gif

Hihi Bearyhugs!

Yap .. really longgg time never come in liao. hehe ... miss me? :P

Wedding preps coming along fine .. i hope. haha ... anyway, its like less than 2 mths to my wedding and i am getting al mixed feelings. Feeling both scared and nervous and fidgety all over .. haha. Headache over the guest list now ... Aaargh!!!
How abt you?

Hi Unyx,
haha .. thanks so much for your description. I have been to see the ballroom and cocktail recption decor .. so i know how it is. i just want to know how the ballroom is set up lar .. okie. i can know hoe the decor is like some how liao.
Anyway, me going for food-tasting on 30th Oct .. so can take the chance to peek at the new decor.

Thanks again!!!

hi all! me back! hope you still remember me...

meixia, your wedding coming soon... so exciting! remember to keep cool and stay pretty. Don't be too stressed. Everything will be fine... and you will be so relieved when the guests shake your hands and say goodbye... you can then go back to your room, remove makeup, wash up, bathe and eat your supper! The best part is eating supper. If you need to count the red packets, it's really tiring... though exciting. Hee.. i counted the money with my hubby that night and paid off the bill with cash before eating our supper and bathing and of course finally sleeping.... at about 3am.

Meixia!! Long time no hear from you! your wedding coming real soon liao huh!! Did your coordinator asked if you want the old or new themes?? If can, take some pics to show us k

Jane!! long time no see, no hear!

Hihi All!!

Unyx,
Ok. Sure will!

Hi Jane,
You are back!!!! Welcome!!! so, how's your honeymoon? Good??
Haha ... indeed i am stressed now. But, will try to keep my cool lar. :p
Oh, so, you paid by cash that very nite har? Who will come to your room to take the cash? The banquet manager?

Bugbear,
My coordinator informed me tat there is a new theme liao. So, i presumed that all weddings will be having the new theme from now on ....... so, i nv ask him if i can opt for the old theme. But, i think i will go for new theme lar cos i heard the new theme got roses which are my fav .. haha.

Ok, once i got pics, will share with u guys!

Meixia... forget to ask you arh... U taking wkday OR wkend? Other than the food, will there be any diff in their decos &amp; such?

Hi Bugbear, u r back too!
So have u decided on your hotel finally? Sunil from Regent? By the way, I jus attended one of my fren's wedding at Regent. Not too bad but jus that the reception lounge is a shared lounge with the rest of the hotel guests so felt that it wasn't that private enough.

Hi Meixia, Jane, unyx, I'm currently in the midst of preparing for my house renovations. Jus started two weeks ago. So now pretty excited to see the final outcome. Now I more worried for my ROM in Dec at MC too. Jus pray and hope that it wouldn't rain otherwise, it would dash my dreams of having an outdoor ROM solem.