Merchant Court Swissotel

• Thread starter Thread starter bb
  • Start date Start date
bugbear, dun leave me out of any info yo! I haven't signed with MC, muz know more abt it also. Do share with me hor?

meixia, didn't u saw the deco before you signed up? Coz you seem alittle "offsite" when it comes to the wedd setup. This sat you going for the food tasting, maybe can ask them also, hor?

bearyhugs, ROM @ poolside, so nice! Day or night event? Day event can be so sunny, u can have a bikini or beach wear theme! Kehkeh...
Night is of a more romantic theme. Wow...
Sorry, too much into my own thinking liao... So wanna share with us your decos or anything fr your ROM?
Dun forget to share fotos arh...

Unyx...i also have not signed up with MC yet. Bcos i postponed...and they are not opened for booking yet...their current package valid till Mar06 only...i looking ar Apr...

wah bugbear, your wedding in 2006! And if I am not wrong, meixia is in this Dec. So nice. She muz be looking fwd. hee...

I wanted Saturday, but they tell me most of the saturdays are "chop" liao! Haiz... So no choice, I stick to a Sunday. Piang! Nvr know that booking of wedd @ MC has to be so early. So bugbear, u better book real early when u know they open for booking to apr06.

Hi gals! I'm planning to have my wedding at MC too but only in 2006, what is the current promotion package? Anyone can have a copy, I'll very much like to take a look. THanks alot

Usually when are they open for booking? I heard that must book one year in advance.. i have no idea how to go about doing the banquet thing..what should I do first?

Hi Sel, I dunno abt the other gals, but me is to look for a date first.

The very first thing your ideal banquet venue will ask you is for your date of the event. You better give the really desire date you want, coz if you wanna chg to other dates, it might have been "chop" by other ppl (unless the date/venue is not that popular).

Note the venues you like, then chk your budget. Then call the place up to arrange a mitting wz their wedding planner.
Very simple hor? Have fun! Hee...
217674.gif

Thanks unyx!
Hmm I have a few places in mind whereas my bf's first choice is MC, but he's open to other places too..when should i arrange meeting if my date is in jul/aug 2006? Meet up with planner in Jul 2005?

hi all, i am back from leave and mc. hee.

i just told michael that i got to know some 'good' recommendations from this website and asked if he has seen before... he said maybe he should see it when he has time.

jean is better than michael in a way she listens when i talk and she will call me back when she said she will. michael never loh... for bargaining of things, michael will say NO straight away, whereas jean will check and sometimes ok...

for flowers, you can choose any flowers you want, if not, by default is white lilies.... i was told sunflowers look nice...

Hi Sel, the current MC package is valid till Mar'06 only. If you are looking at dates after tMar'06, you can still book, but have to pay $30nett extra per table
Which other hotel are u looking at? I would suggest that you look at Jul'06 instead of Aug'06...usually i think they will increase prices starting Aug...

Unyx...yah lor..MC is really VERY popular...that's why have to pay additional for advance booking. Initially i looking at Nov 2005...but bcos my hse not ready...so have to postphone lor. I want my hse to be ready before AD...so now i have quite some time to dilly dally.

Hi bugbear,thanks for your info! But I'm alittle confused hehe..you mean from Mar06 increase price or Aug06 increase price? Usually what is the package period?
Do you have the list? Can send to me via email? my email is [email protected]

Wow.. can see that this thread getting quite active these days. Hi Jane, was wondering from the way u mentioned, u seem to be keeping contact with Michael. U know him personally?

Hi Sel, think fi u were to enquire one yr in advance. It's more than enough. I booked MC in April this yr for my wedding in May next yr. So that's abt a yr before. It really depend on how hot your date is going to be. Like 12th Dec (12/12) is quite hot this yr.

hi bearyhugs, i don't know michael personally. If i know, i won't be saying bad things about him. hee... and thank God, i don't have to keep in touch with him since my wedding last year....

Thanks bug bear, I think I most probably gonna have my wedding in 2006 so maybe next year,have to look out for bridal shows liao..then can make bookings haha..btw when do the hotels usually hold the bridal shows?

Btw gals, I read from another thread that next year (Year of Rooster), hotels increase price for weddings coz its a good year to get married.. Didnt know that man..

Hi Sel...yah...most hotels that i enquired all told me that they are not increasing this year, but increasing next yr...cos i think it's the 'golden rooster' year or something like that. That is why i am trying very hard to get my shortlisted hotels to open booking for 2006

Bugbear, oh I think MC is really quite efficient, the pacakge you sent me is for Sept05 to Mar06, so fast they came up with the quotes! Shucks my dinner only planning to be in later half of 2006..argh

Heheh...Sel, in that case, u either pay $30nett for each table and book with the Sept-Mar packgae...or u have to wait for the new package to be out. I asked the coordinator if i am looking at early Apr, they also cannot let me book with the current package. Asked me to pay $30nett additional for each table or wait

WAh..then its gonna be 808 for the weekend!
... I'm looking at around sept or oct 2006..think I really have to wait for the new package deal

bugbear, saw the fotos you sent. Actually the VIP table settings still ok lah... Maybe it's the color combination of the fotos that makes the table look dull. The only thing i dun like abt the setting is that only the wedd couple's chair are decorated with a ribbon.

hey meixia, how was your food tasting? Who is your coordinator? Sorry arh... I 4got.

Jane, since your wedd is last yr, do you mind sharing your wedd fotos with me?

I've decided to hold my banquet @ MC. Somehow magaged to finalise everything during my meeting with the coordinator. Will sign after they've had my "contract" prepared. Hee...
218706.gif

Morning Gals!!

Unyx...Congrats!! So good that u have finally settled. Yah...the VIP table setting still ok...the normal table setting is a little miserable leh...or maybe i have seen another hotel and find their deco really good...so i was thinking of talking to MC florists and see what they can do

sorry unyx, i don't have any soft copies photos with me.. anyway,i think their table setting quite nice... mine was the stone and little bamboo one...

Hihi All,

Sorry .. i MIA for some time liao. Hope you gals did not forget me!!!
sigh ... me busy with a sudden audit till 3rd Dec (and my wedding is on 4th Dec!!!!) and with 33 more days to go for my wedding, it seems that more & more things are popping out of nowhere for me and my bf to do!!!
sigh .. busy, busy ....

Ok, anyway, enough of my grouses. Yap, i had my food0tasting on Sat liao. Overall, ok lar. There are 3 couples having their food-tasting on that day and the food serving is BIG man. Quite large and generous with their food serving. Both my future PILS and my mum are happy with it. Of cos, there are a few dishes not to our taste, so i have alreday written the comments down and to wait for Michael to call me back lor.

Also, cos that day got wedding mah, so i also went to peek at the decor. Eh, actually hor, the decor quite nice leh. I find that the centrepeice for the normal tables are quite romantic, cos of the roses petal floating around and the candle will be lit in the bowl of floating roses petals.. so, the effect quite nice leh. But, i think the floral stands along the aisle are a bit too tall liao, as a result, the 2 stands in front of the stage may block some of the view for the guests at the back. So, maybe i will not want to put 2 floral stands there lor. But, overall, ok lar. The pink and red table cloths make the whole occassion very "xi-qi-yang-yang" lor. Ermm.. but i also find the decor a bit too "garden-ing". But, i am ok with this. Think it looks better than the previous decor lor.

Ok.. that's all for now. Keep me posted of any more happennings, okie?

Lastly, unyx, CONGRATS TO JOINING THE MC CLUB!!!
Enjoy your wedding preps!!!

p.s. I gave out my weding cards to my friends these few days and most of them complimented on the wedding cards. I think the white wedding cards look much much better than the traditional red ones. he he ....

Meixia, I heard previously that MC wed cards are diff to handle as U always got to tie ribbons ard it. So how did u manage? Or did they come up with new designs?

All the best to your wed prep! Be a mei mei bride. N don't forget to update us on your wed prep plus photos if any. Rem to share with me comments on your videographer since we sharing the same one. Rem? Where would u be going for HM?

Hihi Bearyhugs,

Yap, you are right. The ribbons can drive you crazy. So, what i did was, when you got the wedding cards from MC, They will recommend you a printer. Since the printer provide the service of tying the ribbons and the gold strings for us, me and my bf decided to let them do the tying for us. IT only cost us $30 extra! Imagine all the hassle and how time-consuming it is for you to tie all these ribbons when you only need to pay $30 more for hassle-free!!! hehe ... so, you can do the same as me.

Or else, if u want more family-bonding, just rope in all your family members and tie your ribbons and stuff!

Sure, no prob! Will share any comments abt the videographer with you after i got my "end-result" from him.....okie? hehe ....

Erm.... HM har? Thinking of going to Korea next Feb / Mar to see the spring season and ski @ the ski resort. *dreamy dreamy* hehe .. but see if got extra $$$$ or not lor.... if not go Sentosa HM lor .. also out of country what ... hahaha.

Meixia!!

Must be all excited for you...33 days and counting down!

Good that you managed to catch a glimpse of the deco. I also feel that it's nicer than the previous hor...got improvement.
You managed to see the table settings with the tea light lit izzit? I din get to see that...probably that's why i don find the table setting attractive :p

What time did u pop by? Maybe i should go ard that time...heheh

Hhmm..getting the printers to help with the ribbon and stuffs for $30 extra is really good bargain leh.

You take care, rest well and be a radiant bride!

but the MC printer is more expensive. i printed my inserts in Hi-Tech Printer and only paid about $100 for 400pcs inserts and they printed quite fast.... they said 3 days but mine took only 1 day. The inconvenient thing is you got to go there and collect the inserts yourself.

anybody here book an extra room or gotten a free extra room stay fr mc for your frens?

meixia, u took any fotos on saturday? I think there isn't much to do after booking the banquet, right? only wait for time to have the photo shots only, right? hmm....

i'll go take a look at a wedding dnr this saturday! heee... see how's the deco like. the one meixia described seems good! ;)

Meixia, u mentioned pink & red table cloth. These colors for the vip or norm tables? The last time i went, it's peach & wht. You mean they have other choices? Then what is your chose on the color scheme?

Unyx, from what i know is that MC only has theme, but they have like 4 different coloured table clothes for you to choose for the VIP tables.

Take some photos if possible when u go peep MC can??

during my time, it was only white or peach to choose for guests' tables.... VIP tables are red i think....

You can choose white table cloth with peach seat covers or vice versa... i chose all white to look real pure... some chose alternate tables to have different colours.

Hi BugBear,

haha .. yap! I am getting more excited as the day goes nearer!! Yap .. the new decor is definitely nice than the previous one. Haha .. no lar. i did not get to see all the tea-lights lighted up .. just that there's a waiter who lit up 1 of the tea-light and i happened to see it. Looks nice & romantic .. so can imagine if tat night, every table is lited up, the effect will be better!!
I went at abt 6.15pm.
Good Luck.
1 thing though, dun go too late. Cos, after my food-tasting, my PILs want to go see again at the ballroom, but the wedding is already in progress, and they actually closed the doors at the reception hall to prevent pple from going in liao. (which i think is a good thing lor)

Erm.. Jane. If i am not wrong, i think it costs me $120 for 300 inserts and i also collected in 2 days time. Only thing is that i think Hi-Tech does not provide the service of tying the ribbons lor.

Unyx,
I got book a room for my mum. As for free room for my frens, i think i will be negotiating with Michael when i meet up with him next wed.
Sorry .. forgot to take my digital camera with me on my food-tasting. Yap. Once you have made your booking and paid your deposit, you do not have to do anything. Just take your wedding photos and wait for your coordinator to contact you.

As for the table clothes, its pink for the normal tables and red for the VIP tables.
This colour combination looks nice, so i think i will take this lor.

Hhmm...i think between 615 to 630 best time to catch the tea light lighted up huh.

Yah...i think it's really good to close the recep door...more privacy...especially when the loos are also inside the recep area...pracatically the entire section of the hotel is yours. This is what attracted me very much.

Ya lor ... tat's my thinking too. More private ........ and you can be assyred no stangers will come wandering in lor. hehe ...

Hi Meixia, congrats! Must be excited as your AD draws nearer,reading your description above also make me excited from visualising haha..

Just wanna ask, how much are we supposed to put down as deposit? 10% or more?

bugbear, me no nid to peep lah... i signing up with them this sat, so can officially go take a look. Wun give it a miss if i am granted the permission to take photos loh... kehkeh...

jane, i was also told that the vip tables are made up or either burgundy or gold. The guest tables are of white or/and peach.

meixia/bearyhugs, can u share with me which videographer svc which you've engaged? I've not found my AD video/photographer yet.

Morning Gals!!

Unyx...wah...u finished negotiating the perks with them already? Or doing so this sat? Yah yah...if you can take photos...share with me, pls? thanks!!

hi bugbear, not sure what perks to look out for.

gals.... any suggestions on what to look out for? Saturday is my last chance. need your advises.

Hi Sel,

haha ... that means i gave a very vivid desciption of MC ballroom .. haha.

For deposit, you just need to pay a sum of $3K on confirmation your banquet. That will do.
The bal of the money will be paid after your banquet.

Unyx,
Videographer i engaged is Kevin. He has a website for you to go into to take a look at his portfolios. His price is also quite va,ue-for-money, as per compared to others. If you are interested, you can email me at [email protected] and i will give you his details.

As for photographer, i engaged Kalyedoscope. You can under the thread of photographers and read their reviews. Find they are quite good too.

Same thing, you want their contact, email me lar.

How many tables are you looking at?Cos, the more table you have, the more bargaining power you have lor. Let us know, tehnw e can help you think. Its more along the line of extra barrel of beer, free seat covers etc.

hello meixia, u no gimme your email leh... how i gonna email you? Tried to send your pte msg, but u no activate it also yo... hahaha... Why dun you email me instead? Hee... Thanks in advance!

Me looking at ard 46 to 50 tables. Help me think arh...
219431.gif

haiyoh .. i where dun give you my email address? Its stated soooo clearly in my posting .....

K lar .. i em u later ...

unyx, since you are having so many tables, free seat covers, free 24 bottles wine corkage waiver and extra 20l beer are confirmed the min... try asking for 30l maybe? and 30 bottles waiver? food tasting for 10 people instead of 6.. this one sure no problem and ask for extra day room and extra night for bridal suite, more invitation catds, maybe 75% or 80% and more carpark coupons. good luck!

Hahaha... meixia, I am sotong! Your email sooooo big i also can miss out! Kehkeh...
I rcve your email. Thanks for the infos. As for the svc chrg... can u lower the price abit huh? hahaha... Thanks!

Jane, The corkage waiver & chair covers & food tasting thing, I am ok with it. I'll try other things mentioned. Hee... Thx.

Wow.... Moving fast this thread.
Unyx, I agree with Jane what u can negotiate with them. Since u can confirm so many tables, u would have more negotiating power. Food tasting for 10 is usually no prob. What u need to aim for is the wine corkage waiver and the free beer becos these two are usually the two hidden costs. If u can squeeze them to give u more perks in these, bet u can save lots of $$$.

Meixia, rem to update me on Kevin's services once u are done with your wedding. All the best!!
Thanks for sharing abt the ribbons tying. But I was thinking U've got to write the relatives' & frens' names first before getting them to tie? Or u jus need to slot in the inserts after they do the tying?

Hi gals, my bf and I have decided to book with MC
Got some queries, who best to liaise with and when best to go down so that I can also peep at how the decor looks like? Thanks!

bearyhugs, nego liao... they die die no waiver of extra corkage charge. i suppose to prevent charges incurred, you'll have to buy fr the hotel iteself.

Sel, u can call in to MC to speak to their wedding planner. They will fr there make arrangement for you. You may have to rqst say you wanna see a wedd of the day. They will arrange to mit you in the evening then.

Morning!! Its ... FRIDAY!!! YIPEE!!! haha ..

Bearyhugs,
No problem! Will definitely share with you how my video turns out.

As for the cards, what you do is that you pass over to the printer to print inserts for your cards and tie the ribbons for you 1st. The inserts will not be slotted into the cards for you. So, when you go back, you just write the names down on the inserts 1st and then slot it into your wedding cards and you've got it!
Usually, there will be a gold string tied at the middle of the card. So, you just slot your inserts through the gold string lor.
Eh .... am i making you confused?? hehe
Never mind if you dun get it cos when you reach there, you can ask the printer to show you how a complete card looks like. They got sample there.

Best thing to print your inserts is like 1.5 months before your wedding.

Hi Sel,
Congrats!! As for who to liaise with, you can read through our previous postings to decide. But hor, overall, MC is quite rigid lor. (as usual!

If you want to peek at the decor, best to fix an appointment with your coordinator cos they can check when there is a wedding for you to go and take a look at the wedding set-up. Just inform them that you would like to meet on a day where there will be a wedding held.

Good Luck!

hi bearyhugs, the ribbons is just a deco... doesn't help to close the invitation card, so you can always tie ribbons first, then write guests' names and insert. no problem. get MC to show you a sample of the card.

HAPPY DEEPAVALI!!!!!
Its 23 more days to my wedding!!!! hahaha ........

I just went to meet Michael last night. He briefed us on the procedure of the banquet, e.g what time to check in, what time to serve light snacks, what time to go for briefing etc.
He was very thorough too -- told us what is going to happen from our 1st march-in right till to our sending off of guests procedure. All in all, he actually kind of prepared me and my bf for what is going to happen.
We also kind of confirmed how many tables we are taking, the colour of the table cloths and VIP tables and he also showed us pictures of the new decor. Kinda of like confirming most of the banquet stuff ......... feel kind of relaxed now liao. Cos, at least i know what to brief my coodinators on that night ...

Micahel was very helpful & friendly too leh .....

How about the rest of you gals? How's preparation coming along?

Okie .. have to go off now to send wedding cards to my bf's relatives liao .... ciao!

Hi Meixia,
So very nice of Micheal to brief you both on the whole procedure; at least tat makes the two of you mentally prepared.

I jus confirmed the design of my WG today. So very excited how it would turn out. Also jus tried the first fitting of my ROM gown today and quite happy with it. Jus praying hard that it wouldn't rain on the day of ROM at MC.