Merchant Court Swissotel

bb

Is it comparable to 5 or 6 star hotel banquet food? A lot of hearsay, but I would love to hear from someone who has attended the banquet personally recently.

ssl

Hi BB

It's me again from the other thread. Personally I've been to a wedding banquet at Merchant Court though not lately (in Jan last year) The food was wonderful to me. But i guess it may differ from each and every individual as we all have different taste and likings.

tiara

Hi BB

I juz attended a wedding banquet at Merchant Court 2 weeks ago. I must say the food is good, so much better than 2 wedding banquets I've attended recently at Conrad and Shangrila.

bb

thanks ssl and tiara. tiara, u sure have many dinner to attend, dont u? hehe.. anyway, is the food at conrad v. bad, or just so-so? conrad is also on my list but yet to visit the ballroom. this weekend maybe.

kaz

Hi BB

A friend who has attended wedding dinners at merchant court for 4 times told me that the standard of food has dropped.

Maybe she got tired of the food there, after attended so many dinners there; The "xin xian gan" may be gone. *shrug*

tiara

Hi BB

Yah, I've got another two to attend in December - Conrad and Rasa Sentosa. Well, I must say I was disappointed with the food at Conrad coz it was on my list and I was expecting better food. The ballroom is ok, but kinda small in my view, oh and the stage too, very cramp feeling. If you are keen on Conrad, perhaps you can get them to decorate the stage in a different way, not to have too many things on it.

Merchant Court's food impressed me I must say.

Happy Shopping

bb

kaz and tiara and ssl, where would u all be holding ur banquet?

cldc75

Anyone signed up with Merchant Court recently or planning to held wedding dinner there? Can advise me who's the person you coordinate with? and what are the things included in the package?

Thnx.

cheer

talk to Martin Tang. He's nice n accomodating. Their std package come with only 1 barrel of 30l beer and no seat cover. But you can bargain for more beer and include seat cover FOC. I didn't sign with them eventually becos no dates available. Merchant Court is very very popular nowadays.

cldc75

Hi Cheer,

Thnx for your info.

I liase with Martin too, so far he told me abt the barrel of 30l beer & no seat cover, so I want to check with ppl in this forum whether anybody had negotiated for more beer or FOC seat cover successfully.

Thou Martin seems very nice but like quite strict leh.

popeye

Hi cldc75,
I liased with Dominic from MC & he refused to give me more perks other than the standard package...so eventually I did not book with them. They charged $2 for each seat cover & give only 1 30l barrel of beer...seem like they r very strict on that.

cheer

Hi cldc75
instead of 1 30L barrel of beer and no seat cover, I actually managed to bargain for 4 barrels of 30l beer and free seat cover for the weekday package, with the condition that I upgrade my package from the cheaper one (S$520+++) to the more expensive one with better food (S$550+++, if I remember correctly). This was the best that I got from Martin. However, in the end never signed up with them, cos all the dates that I wun was taken up. I was quite surprised cos I am actually looking for a Mon slot and they were all taken up. Maybe you can try

cldc75

Hi Cheer,

Mine is oso on a Monday, basically, i dun have much to change except the free seat covers and hopefully one extra barrel of 20l beer.

cheer & popeye,
By the way, do they offer pre-reception cocktails and one extra day room for coordinator?

*sigh* maybe i should oso source elsewhr huh...got any recommendation?

Cheer, which venue did you take up in the end??
Btw, heard your rom make-up is done by Sandy? I oso book her for my ROM in March, can email me your pretty photos? wana see her work and you.

Thnx.

cheer

hi cldc75,

forgive my intrudence
i think there is a mix-up here.... the "Cheer" u have been talking to here is not the one who had her ROM makeup done by Sandy....
i am the "cheer" who had engaged Sandy... and my nic is spelt in complete small caps

while the other here starts with the big C

hey Cheer, no offence, juz to clarify...
i am sure u dun want to b mistaken too

cldc... i have emailed u the links to my pics already

cldc75

Hi cheer,

I have well received your ROM pics, you looked great!

To both "cheer" & "Cheer",
sorry for the mix-up. :p

doris

Anybody out there has book wif Merchant Court for yr 2003? I am wondering whether their price list is out for yr. 2003. Thks in advance !!

christophernchristina

We would like to know how's the food recently. And how's the service too.

Last month, our mother attended a wedding dinner on weekend. According to her the food is not nice. The service not v. good too.

However, think some time ago I read from the forum that the food is not bad. But since that was some time ago, I would like to know recently how has it been.

louie

Hi Doris, the prices are out already... but valid until Aug 2003.

To all: Pls do share hows the food & service at mC? really tot MC was my ideal hotel, but after reading the comments, am quite disappointed!

Anywae, just to find out what are the things tat you can bargain for? Which hotels are more flex? Thanks

bride-to-be

jus to share wif u gals, i hv been to MC recently to find out more abt their wedding package. i find that their prices are pretty reasonable and personally i like the atmosphere there alot. as 4 the foods i hv not tasted before but got lots of feedback fm frenz that it's gd. As for bargaining, i try to bargain for free flow of beer, quite difficult unless you prepare to pay for more.

bunny-nov

hi cheer,
the rates are attractive but is there a min. table? such as 30? bcos i dun need so many tables

louie

Bunny-Nov,

To ans your qn, min for weekdays is 35 tables & weekends 38 tables!! Same here, I dun need that many tables that why its holding me back

btw, when's your wedding? Mine is July 2003

Does anyone know do they provide seat covers now without any charges?

bride-to-be

No, they don provide seat covers f.o.c. except 4 the V.I.P tables.

louie

Hi bride-to-be,

Thanks for the info... how much are they charging for the seat covers? Their prices may not be that worth it if seat covers chargeable

You booked your pkg with MC already, or are you still considering?

octbride

I have booked with MC last month. Why we selected this hotel?

- the food is nice (my hubby has tried it)
- couples of friends had held their dinner there
- one waitress per table
- only ballroom
- nice atmosphere

BTW, you don't need to have min. 35 tables. Mine is 30 tables (it's negotiable).

The person attending to us is LENA GOH. You can call her and chk out for more details.

Hope my info. helps.

neko

I'm really excited to hear about MC. I wanted to hold my wedding there too as I have read quite a lot of good comment from this forum.

I planned to have my wedding in Sep2003 during the weekday. Do I need to book so early? By the way, I'm still doing my research and still haven't fix on the hotel that I will book.

Is there any coordinator from MC that is particularly nice and easy to talk to? I hope to make some bargain too. Heehee. Because I think I'm not able to hold 35 tables. The most I can hold up to 30 tables. Hope that they won't charge more if the number of tables that I'll have is less than their minimum!

Gals, happy planning!

Neko

sushi

Hello Neko,

I read that you are enthusiastic about Merchant Court. Yes, I am a satisfied customer who has held her wedding there last December.

My coordinator was Lena Goh. She is really a very sweet and nice girl. We kept having last min. changes, yet she was so accommodating and helpful.

Give her a call and she will be most willing to assist you.

Sushi

neko

Hi Sushi,

Thanks for your info. I'll contact Lena when my date has been fixed. Good to hear that you are satisfied with MC. Must be a very memorable night for you and your husband. Congrat!

I just went to MC to get the brochure today. Just happen to get a peep at the ballroom. Unfortunately, the ballroom is not nicely decorated. I think a couple has finished their wedding the night before or in the afternoon, and the room was in the process of cleaning up. Quite messy :p I just try to imagine how it would look like if it is nicely decorated.

So how did you find the decoration? Is it nice?
Someone from another forum commented that the ballroom looks a bit old. Is it true (with all the decoration)?

Anyway, I'm really glad to hear that Lena is accommodating and I hope really hard that I can hold 30 tables at MC.

Neko

bride-to-be

Hi Louie

Yes, i think i will book with merchant court after sourcing a few hotels, i think MC suit me the best (me got tight budget)
. MC got good atmosphere and the price is not too expensive. I can't remember clearly what is the price for each seat cover, shld be around $2-$3 each. i don't think it is worth to pay for the seat covers, too expensive if you want to get all the chairs to be covered up.

neko

Hi bride-to-be,

I have looked at the chairs (without covers) at MC. (Just happen that when I went there they were cleaning up). It was not too presentable (my own opinion, though). Please try to take a look before you commit whether you want the cover or not. After you have signed up, it'll be too late to draw back.
To me, I also have tight budget. That's why the $2 or $3 per cover also means some amount to me (i.e 30 or 20 dollars extra per table!) I'm also looking around for hotels that fit my budget. I'm considering Grand Plaza, Marina Mandarin, Merchant Count, Trader and Holiday Inn. Very hard to make a decision! Any comment for these hotels?
Anyway, happy planning!

Neko

sushi

Hi Neko, Bride-to-be,

Haha, to be very frank with you, the chairs look terrible without the covers!! Oops, I am too frank here.

We paid $1 per seat cover. As we had about 46 tables, Lena agreed to give us a discount at $1 per cover, which we think it's reasonable. Well, this is additional costs once again, so you have to think very carefully.

That aside, my husband and I are very happy with MC. Food is fantastic, ambience is good and importantly, we feel that MC is not short of waiters/waitresses, which we saw in other hotels. I can't remember the exact details, but it seems like 1 waiter/waitress was assigned to 2 tables, which is very reasonable.

In some other weddings which i attended, they are all so busy, and guests are not attended at the soonest possible.

I think the ballroom is okay. We had the birdcage theme, which my friends commented is nice! It has a high ceiling and no pillars.

Do take time to consider and do talk to Lena.

Sushi

doodbug

Hi Sushi!

i think with 46 tables, u have alot of bargaining power where seat covers and beer is concerned.

I've booked my banquet with MC for the end of this year. How was the food ?

So far the guy who served me, Dominic, he's quite nice and accomodating as well. I didn't bargain much. But I realise that if you have 45 tables, you can bargain for alot more things!

in my opinion, the pink chairs really dont' look nice without seat covers - somewhat like conference chairs. these opinions are personal, of course.

neko

Hi Sushi and Doodbug,

Thanks for your comment. Haha, three of us also think that the chairs don't look nice without the cover!
My boyfriend also thinks so. At first he said that it will be okay to do without the cover (to save money), luckily that I bought him to take a look, and he immediately agreed that the chairs cannot do without the covers! Haha...
I'm seriously considering MC too. Any promotion package that they offer? I think I can only have about 30 tables in weekday. Hope that they allow that.
Sushi: So good that you can have 45 tables.
Mine will be less than their minimum. What kind of bargaining power that I can have then

I planned to give up some of the complimentary items and negotiate with them for the beer and covers.
Neko

cindy

My wedding dinner is this year Nov and have booked Merchant Court hotel last year Oct. Actually thinking of getting a Sat or Sunday around Dec this year package but to my surprise all has been booked and luckily manage to booked the Friday slot. I got the most expensive weekend menu if I am not wrong around $660+++ and confirmed 38 tables and Martin throw in free seat covers for me. Yes I totally agreed without seat cover it look horrible heeeeeeee...
I am praying hard the NE line will be ready by then if it is ready then it will be a very convenience place.. The menu looks good for the most expensive weekend package and it is a 9 course-dinner.

bride-to-be

Hi Neko & Sushi,

Thanks for yr frank opinion. It's quite reasonable if the seat cover is $1 each. But mine is only 35 tables, think it's quite difficult to bargain for such prices compare to yr 45 tables. By the way, how does a birdcage theme looks like? i was told that they only have the white lily theme.

neko

Anyone knows when with the NE MRT line ready? It will be a bonus if this is ready before our wedding! I intend to hold the wedding in Jun or Sep next year on a weekday. I quite worry about the turn up rate on a weekday esp at MC since it is not as accessible than many other hotels.
BTW, can we bring in our own beer to MC? (Trying to cut cost here andere

Neko

jt

Hi all, I'm intending to book with Merchant Ct. Anyone had attended wedding dinner there? How's their 1st course presentation?

grace

Hello Cindy,

I am intending to book MC for my wedding banquet too. May I know when is your wedding date, so that I can speak to Martin and try to bargain for the free seat covers too?

E-mail : [email protected]

leena

Hi Cindy,
I was impressed by their ambience and decoration. Can you do me a favour by letting me know the date that you book and your details. So that I can let Martin know and bargain for the free seat covers. I am intending to have my wedding there, too. Thks you very much.. Tight budget.

bride-to-be

Hi Neko,

I managed to bargain for $1 each per seat cover. maybe you shld try to ask for free seat cover and if that don't works, than u bargain for $1 each.
at least we get to save a bit of cost here, whew...i'm really sweating planning for my wedding, every cents count.

grace

Hi Bride-to-be,

Who did you coordinate with? How many tables are you having? And you book for weekend or weekday? Hope I can get the seat covers for at most $1 like you too.

neko

Hi Bride-to-be,

Wow so nice to hear that you can get the cover at $1. Same here, every cents count for me too. I will be going down next week to negotiate the terms. Hope that things will turn out fine for me too. A bit worried that they will reject my request as I'm not meeting their min requirement.

So who is your co-ordinator? Have you confirmed your booking? I believe it will be a great relief if the banquet is confirmed.

Neko

bride-to-be

Hi Neko & Grace,

My co-ordinator is Jennifer, she is quite a nice lady and most important is that she is not too stingy hee...

I have already booked 35 tables with MC and it is on weekday, what about you ladies? Neko, don worry too much abt their min requirement of 35 tables, read that Octbride get to hold 30 tables at their ballroom and furthermore yr banquet is on weekday. Just try to negoiate with yr co-ordinator.

Good luck to you girls.

neko

Hi bride-to-be,
I have called Lena, and understand from her that the date that I want is booked by another couple... and she told me that since my date is in Sep next year, I need to pay 20+++ extra to place a booking (since the price for Sep 03 has not fixed yet). I was disappointed with her replied. She also insisted that I need to have 35 tables. Maybe I'm too early to ask and she is certain that someone will meet their requirement. I have went to Marina Mandarin and also discovered that my date has been taken up by others... (wonder why is my date so popular, I just picked it from the internet! Do you believe it? Now I believe that the date that I've picked should be quite good
haha... a bit thick skin..
Finally I have confirmed my booking with Grand Hyatt today as they have the date that I want! And it's within our budget.
Anyway, I really thank you for the concern

Hope that you'll have a memorable and joyous wedding.

Best Regards,
Neko

bride-to-be

Hi Neko,

I'm happy for you that u hv finally found a hotel that suit your requirement. Wishing you a gorgeous and joyous wedding too!!

flowee

Hi brides 2 b...

I am interested 2 book MC for my wkdaz wedding banquet takin place end of 2003...
Had contacted Jennifer...
She mentioned ( like wat she told neko )$20+++ extra per table to place a booking nw since the pricin for Nov/Dec 03 has not fixed yet...
Din ask her abt the 5%gst thing...
Wonder if she will waive off the extra 2%if we were 2 place our bookin nw???
Heard tat she is pretti 'rigid' 2 give feebies...
Mind 2 share ur experiences on ur negotiation with them???

elmo2109

I managed to book MC for my wedding on a Sat in Sept this year. MC is very very hot, so book it fast. I think they know they are hot too, so they dun really throw in freebies. Maybe they know if you dun take, others will take it eventually.
The MRT line should be ready by Dec 02, so by that time, MC will be extremely hot.
The min table for weekend is 38 and they dun allow any booking lower than that. As I've said, they know they will sure get other customer who is willing to book >38 tables, so why they give in to you? They will suggest to you to take the weekday package.
I asked for free seat cover and free flow of beer but in vain. (I agree must have cover to look grand)
Becoz I dun serve shark fin soup, so eventually got some freebies in return. At the end, mine will be a 8-course dinner.
I was dealing with Martin and our contract is very detail (in case change of management).
I did ask for one server per table but he can't promise me.
MC is quite popular in this forum but I'm so surprise that most of my frens dun know MC. I was so proud that I managed to book MC for my wedding but they dun know what MC is, *vomit blood*. Waste my research.
I will be using the water fountain instead of the ice carving.
I've seen their invitation card, bold red, quite stylo.
If I were you, I will book MC now even I have to pay 20+++ extra per table (3% for GST not 5%) becoz when MRT line is ready, the only weakness of MC will become its strong point. I know they will sure increase their price like those 5-star hotels. You may take the cheapest menu to save money.